(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Good Morning, Mum
<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Happy Valentine's Day!</font></font>
kao_love.gif

Had my so-call V-Day dinner yesterday night at the food court at Raffles City.

Today is just another day for me.

Wanted to participate in the clubbing thingy but too stressed out ah..Next week also another stressful week. Sianz

pauline, jab should never be taken before it is due leh

MMR to be at 15th month....so your girl is still not time yet

how come your paed say can.....?

well, you know what industry we are in or your were once in....haha

ernmum / pauline
My boy took MMR at 12 months. My PD say 12 months can take liao. I tink nowadays no need to try wat egg first and wait until 15 months liao.

Pauline
How come jab hands? I tot thighs? cos more flesh?

Kitsune,
Normally, I delay my boy injection. 12 mth, I will a few months etc..Chicken pox jab I also stretch it..Didn't know chicken pox jab must take booster.

I think very stressful for baby to have 2 jabs on the same day...

<font color="0000ff">What do you love about your husband? Or, what is the thing you love most about him?</font>

I think I've never met anyone more patient and easy-going as my Hubby. Even though we have known each other for a very long time, he has always been patient and understanding as I'm the one with the hot-headedness and stubborness. He gives in to me willingly and sometimes, even make me see things from his point of view which will never occur to me if not for him. I love the fact that I can tell him my deepest, darkest secret and he will still love me for what I am. He's also a very good father and can take care of baby, showering, playing, changing diaper, bringing him out alone, the whole works. Very blessed to have him in my life.

<font color="0000ff">How will you be celebrating valentine's day?</font>

We celebrated Valentine's Day last night. Went to Margarita's at Dempsey Road. Opened a bottle of sparkling wine with raspberries in the glasses.

<font color="0000ff">What did you bought for your Hubby?</font>

I bought him the car head lights bulbs in HD4, which he wanted but didn't buy. A pair of Super Mario Boxers! And a pair of socks which imprinted "My Lucky Socks!" with 2 images of dices!
He bought me a LV French Purse which I've been eyeing for a while.

<font color="0000ff">How will this Valentine's day be different from the previous ones, since there is a baby now?</font>

Our babysitter took care of baby while we went out yesterday, the difference, I guessed is that we won't be celebrating on the actual day. Or maybe just with an additional tyke.

mon2nat, i have coz i always ship in bulk...re: lansinoh milkbags, pm me if you want

evening mummies, happy v day....

my boy has fever again...3rd time in 2 weeks! fever then recover, then fever and recover. now still running fever on and off. spiking high sometimes....super sian!!!

wendy, same about the chores at home. i do the nitty gritties...

ernmum
I not sure, but he told me the trying egg is old thinking leh. Anyway to play safe, mah take later and try eggs first lor.

Ernmum, my PD meant I can take both chickenpox and MMR at 15mths but the jab cannot be combined which means she needs to be jabbed on both arms so I decide to go with original schedule ie. chickenpox first lor.

VioletIce, is Margarita nice? I told hubby wanted to go to Dempsey but he said he check Hungrygowhere.com and the places with high ratings at Dempsey are all the pubs and we don't drink. So, end up at Blue Basil for V day lunch lor. Food is ok, a lot of grilled stuff but we love the main course: lamb shoulder.

<font color="0000ff">Kitsune,</font>

I love Margarita's! It has always been my favourite resturant. It serves Mexican food and it has one of the best Margarita ever! There's one at Faber Drive, another at East Coast.

Oh ya, received a postcard on MyGym open house at Marine parade on 28 Feb 09. Anyone else who is keen to go? Can have an unofficial gathering?

re: jabs
imo, i think younger jab better, coz they dunno what's coming &amp; can't remember much. If not for the price per jab for pneumococcal, i would've made them jab everything asap.

re: Valentine's
This morning @ Compasspoint 9am saw a man carrying bouquet of flowers &amp; box of cake. My husband asked me, "Do i hv to give u flowers". I replied "Like that also need to ask meh". But he knows i'm not keen on overpriced roses. Would like the occasional $1 rose thru'out the year, but seems he forgot liao... Lasttime b4 the kids came, he frequently bought roses for me until the market auntie knows him like friend.

tonight is so warm... we turned on the aircon. my #1 sleeps very well despite his cough. He says it's as though we were in hotel. hahaha.

** hey how was the neuro tree trial class today?

Good morning....everybody...

wendy,
thought u sign up for the neuro trial class on Sat??

Did u attend the CNY block party at your place yeseterday??

pixel,
went to rivervale mall to check out the disney CD. THink sold out liao. If u happen to see it elsewhere, pl inform me....

wendyg,
Dun worry, think u didnt miss much because it was in Japanese. LOL. They kind of have 15 activities in 1 hrs for the babies. Everything very fast.

Preview talk is more or less like the content on the website. The right brain (creative , language) training - works best for under 5yo.

Vegetables is the topic yesterday. Learn shapes, fast and slow,rough and smooth. Lots of Flash cards and songs, their tools to let children learn is mostly made on their own, have memory testng, some rough and smooth textures to explore, 5-6 mash veggies to let baby to taste, lots of music, sing songs abt colour, vegetables etc. QUite surprise to see most of our babies can remember the picture they see - blue or yellow dress cat.

But all dun understand cos Japanese. Quite a lot of learning but dunno how much baby can absorb. I look forward to the next lesson - Chinese, where I can know more.

I also attend the GUG trial, actually the 2 is quite a different teaching technique. The speed is really the major difference and of course the way they teach is totally diff - GUG more motor skills.

kitsune,
I am interested in the MyGYm openhouse, can give more details. My hb colleague had been recommending this to us, but I havent got a chance to go see. She let her ger join since 2yo, now her ger is 4yo, still enjoys it there.

My valentine was spend at KK A&amp;E

Benjamin suddenly had rashes and swollen ear, face all over at around 2am. Really scarey as his face &amp; right ear was swollen and lumpy patches was all over his body, hands an legs.

Apparently he is allergy to something that cannot be determine. It could be due to contact, food or environment. I suspect it was the toy that my MIL took out after keeping for long long time and never clean it before passing to the grandson and play.

Now his ear is still swollen and taking Antihistamines. What an eventful weekend.

Icy, here it is:
My Gym Open House
Date: 28 Feb 09 (Sat)
Time: 10am - 5pm
Venue: Blk 86 Marine Parade Central (Opp NTUC fairprice)
Email: [email protected]
*Bring the postcard and receive 1 free playsession worth $18 upon sign up.

Just called to enquire and shun bian register, open house (get to see what they do for classes) for 24months and below: 11-12pm on 28 Feb, bring socks for adults.

For their package, it's $300 for 8 classes, 8 sessions of free play PLUS 1 FREE session (open house promotion).

serene
hi, may i chk with u, the "lumpy patches".. issit a 5c red patch with like a pimple head in the centre? my boy has that on his forehead, neck, ear, back of his hands, thumb, and feet. GP says it's bedbugs &amp; gave some cream... Looks quite alarming (&amp; ugly!) but give it a few days it shld subside. Come into contact with smthg dirty i think.

Mandy
no i didn't attend the CNY party. i thought it was malay wedding until i heard the lousy karaoke.
i couldn't go for yest's trial session as my baby has runny nose. hope it will clear by next Sat.

in2grace,

Here is what I posted previously on my girl who is a picky eater. I think the key thing is to find out what is it she don't like abt her food. For my girl is texture. She hates mushy food and likes chewy food but is ok with bland tasting food. For your girl it could be texture or taste or something else, i dunno u hv to try and error lor.

Also, have you tried letting her self feed? Kids at this age mostly want to self feed.

Here are some stuff I feed her for lunch/dinner:
1) Carbo - Rice, Spaghetti, Macaroni, Rice Pasta, Brown Rice Pasta, Kway Tiao, Mee Sua, Bee Hoon
2) Meat - Minced Pork , Shredded Chicken, Fish (Cod and Threadfin)
3) Veg - Brocoli, Carrot, Cauliflower, Asparagus

Other things i do to get food into my girl. I give her a bowl and spoon and put just a few grains of rice or few strands of noodles etc to let her self feed. This way she won't make such a mess and her time will be occupied. And while she is occupied she will guai guai open her mouth and eat. For my girl the other thing is cannot give too big mouthfuls if not she tend to just keep the food in her mouth and then push everything out eventually. So small mouthfuls that she can swallow in one go.
I sometimes use my fingers to feed her too. For some reason she's a lot more willing to open her mouth.
I also trick her by pretending to eat one spoon then tell her it's her turn to eat. So she thinks she's eating the same food mummy is eating
Sometimes I 'tempt' her with whatever I'm eating then when she opens to take a bite, in goes her food.
Sometimes I also let her run around during mealtimes instead of forcing her to sit in the high chair. If I make her sit in her high chair she only eats 1-2 mouthfuls, if i let her run around and play she can finish the whole bowl.

Sometimes, my girl will also reject food for a couple of days but then she will be back to her 'usual' which is not eating much but not total rejection lah. So just observe yr girl and see how it goes the next few days.

You can check with yr PD about multivits which contain lysine. Lysine supposedly helps to boost appetite

I have tried Gymboree class this afternoon and my son enjoyed the 45mins session and to compare it with my previous trial class, their program is more structured so we enrolled him

Any mummies enrolled at Gymboree Harbourfront every Sat at 1PM?

Hey thanks Grumpus. I pretty much tried everything including letting her eat whatever we eat, pasta, etc. Maybe I will consider the vitamins and go another round of the various foods. Maybe she changed her mind after a few weeks. Thanks!

Fishia, my gal also giving me problem..really sian everyday come home scream n shout at her..ya I back teaching but I having a tough time in the new plc...arghhh..

Wendy, good for u. I dunno y I feel terrible not educating them...

Icy, u all like the class? Was telling Chloe that u guys were coming in the later half of the morning. Heehee..actually I haven't been doing homework with Abel. Juz let him go through it, got time then do some skills practice. GUG is more learning phonics/reading skills..so see what u like.

Valentine's Day
Nothing special. Just brought kids to zoo. Really feeling it's no more than another day. Really wish my hb like violetice got some sense of romance.

Then my gal today fever...

<font color="aa00aa">TRIAL CLASS: Little Neuro Tree</font>

<font color="0000ff">Didn't managed to take a lot of pics during class session as it wasn't easy with the door closed and they were worried about the babies being distracted by us.</font>

Classroom Environment
2162376.jpg

Trying to be studious Ian
2162377.jpg

Ian &amp; Jayden
2162378.jpg

2162379.jpg

violetice
wah, u still managed to take photos. Sat's class we did not take any. hmm... look forward to the class on Sat again

who is going to continue with the class on Sat at the Neuro tree? seems like some of you cannot make it....

GD MORNING EVERYONE!!!

<font color="0000ff">Morning Mummies!!</font>

Monday Blue again. =s

<font color="0000ff">Jess,</font>

Hubby took the pics coz I was outside, think he took before the person started the class, that's why only 3 of them where it should have been 5.
How did you find the class?

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

I emailed the pics which Hubby took of Ian and Jayden together via yousendit.com, let me know if you received it?

sigh, my boy fever still never subside leh...cham...2 weeks of fever liao...now running to 3rd week...marathon fever...dunno what to do really

didnt celebrate vday...just a normal day for us

mandygoh
ok, if i see, will help u buy. maybe you didnt spotted it well enough!

yesterday was the first day that i stopped pumping gradually. didnt stick to my schedule; pump only when super engorged. so i pumped at 4pm, and once at 2am this morning. i knew there were a lot of output, but i only emptied half of my boobs. a bit she bu de to let go, but then again, my boy dont like the smell of bm now. he pushes the bottle away when he smells bm...so its a sign to stop expressing for me...yay! liberation! mixed feeling lah actually

bm... got smell meh? i thought only thawed febm then hv smell.

jess
if this sat my baby is better, will bring him for trial, &amp; next sat also.

violetice
i find the class alrite lor. ours started with Jap first. so my first impression when the class started was: are we the students insteaD? keke..
but after awhile, not too bad. cos of all the flash cards, memory games etc....

wendyg
how is Tobey? hope to see u next week ya!!!

wendyg,

no ar, the patches are like 10c and some bigger still and not like pimples. It was the swollen in the face that I got scared of. Really scarey but yesterday he was better just that the ear is still a bit swollen and a bit of patches on his leg.

hi, how u mummies find LNT trial on sat?

i hardly understand the japanese they teach, and i dun remember a single thing once i stepped out!
qq: TT is fine, she is so active.
icy: paisey, my daughter was busy kicking the table during the class

pixie
my fresh &amp; chilled ebm no smell ley.. only smell comes fr thawed febm &amp; the hanky that i use to mop up the ebm if spill.

re: trial class
>> ah, they sit on those chairs? Are the parents nearby? My baby will just climb out from the back of the chair, &amp; likely hurt himself when it topples haha.

aqua
gd morning....
i also dun remember much after stepping out of the class. guess we will be more interested in the english and chinese class as we understand better. will you be coming for this coming Sat?

haha, agree with you that TT is so active. she is so cute...

<font color="0000ff">Jess,</font>

You started with Jap class? Ours is next week.

<font color="0000ff">wendyg,</font>

They sat on the chairs. 1 parent will be sitting on another chair right behind them.

kitsune
Thanks, will call and check. But I cant make it at that timing due to LNT trial. WIll see if Xavier can attend other trial.

Jess,
Yes QQ and lyn cant make it this sat, think they will attend the chinese class in another session. SO there would be 4 mummes next class.

Babe,
U already sign up ur boy for the course? I actually quite like it and prefer this to GUG, I like it in terms of the structure of the course, 1 hr is just nice, the 1.5hrs at GUG really tiring and the group was big then babies wondering all over the classroom. I want to attend the english and chinese to decide further, but so far hubby like it too.

aqua,
Its okie. I find it so cute that every baby responses so diff when the "toy" is taken away. Actually I only had a better idea what the course is abt after the preview talk.

QQ,
I actually thought TT very responsive, that is actually very good. I keep looking at her because her reaction so CUTE!!! She knows what she wants.

Guess what, the sticker that sinsen give after the class disappeared and I thought Xaveir drop it, then i found it in his poo the very next day. :p

While you were busy with the trial classes, I was busy with the baby contest. Hao Re won the 1st runner up!!!

Hao Re was shortlisted (shortlisted only 20 out of thousands!) for the LiveWell Baby Magazine Baby contest at United Square.

Saturday was the "semi-final". Hao Re was reluctant to walk and explore the surrounding on his own. He wanted us to carry most of the time. So I thought he most likely will not performed well for the contest. But who knows when it's his turn, where each of the contestant was asked to do a short cat-walk on the stage, this cute little boy kept sending out the ­飞吻 to the judges and audiences, which need not to say, amused the judges so much and his one is really the most engaging performance.

So made it to the final, on Sunday. Tested parents on changing diaper and clothes, and make milk at the shortest time. We came 2nd!

The 1st runner up prize worth about $500, including a exersaucer and a diaper bag (both from evenflo), and a goodies bag, etc. But missed the chance of being featured at next month magazine cover (only for the champion).

All in all, a good experience for Hao Re and ourselves :)