(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Btw, how u know/conclude that looking back Isaac's crying is due to hunger leh? Hehe, u never offer food ah? For me that time rylee cried, my first instnct was hunger! I not so smart to apply ruyi oil and swaddle. Now ME looking back perhaps shud try all those U mentioned! Hehehehe

coz my breastmilk not enuf.. he didn't want to latch on coz flow too slow, nothing comes out.. but we thought he didn't want to eat. But sometimes we'd prepare some ebm in a bottle he also dowan.. those times he needed to burp. Needed to run thru a checklist to eliminate the possible causes. Aiyo i dreaded every night.. super stressed, my body not used to all the night wakings, i pump 1hr only miserable 30ml & the stupid ameda pump so noisy & if i wanted to pump elsewhere i had to bring out the motor, find socket etc..

2nd time round i already ran thru in my mind & prepared myself for all the midnight poo episodes, know better how to burp & swaddle newborn etc. A bit more clever than 3yrs ago lor..

i remember rylee is c-sect due to breech & u were quite sad u couldn't get your wish for natural birth.. and her bday 3 Jan issit? 1 day before my EDD.

morn..me back in action...busy at work for the past days...nw can read the posts
what is today's hot topic?

Morning all!

Today in very good mood. Cos yesterday night finally managed to catch a good night sleep. What we did was very simple - let my boy co-sleep with us. No more waking up and no more crying, yeah! Think it's the comfort and security that he got from us made him sleep soundly. Will probably have to continue to do so for another week or so, then slowly put him back to his cot again.

Good morning mummies,

How u all train them to drink from straw? like the pigeon mag mug. I tried a few times Javin still dunno how to drink from straw, always end up bitting the bottle.

Do you give fruit juice to bb daily?
Recently i have been giving javin 2 tbs of heinz bottle fruit juice. Cos daytime wking and mil not keen in giving him fruits to eat so got to resort to fruit juice.

Kam,

Javin also have the tendency to wake up in the middle of the nite crying. I'll give him my bolster(got my smell) he will go back slp again. Sometime cannot wk then i make him co slp for a while bring him back to his cot. If he slp with me i scare HB hit him during sleep.

<font size="+1">paging for pixie...</font>
i got 1 XL sealer diaper and 2 small sample packs of pigeon wipes. can i use these to exchange your mittens? your address? how much postage SAE shld i provide?

<font size="+1">paging for mylife...</font>
#1 child care centre closing a day in mar for event. am thinkin of go hk in mar since its her bday. mar weather bearable? i dun know what to do in hk. haha. u have any itinerary for 4D3N? everyth just prelim thots. not cfm yet.

<font size="+1">paging for all...</font>
anyone gg natas?

mei
can i volunteer some program for your HK trip planning..
1 full day @ Disneyland
1 full day @ Ocean Park
the other 2 days are the arrival and departure dates liao. Just walk around the hotel area for some shopping mall etc.. since March will start to get hot.

no i dun go natas.

Jacelyn,

Hao re has been sleeping very well in his cot, don't need any comfort. Only this week there is something happening, which we don't know why. So we resorted to co-sleeping until he sorted out whatever "problem" himself, cos we can't see, don't know and can't help. Just to make him sleeps better. He already has 2 hours less sleep than usual, as he goes to bed at 11pm instead as 9pm. All I wanna do is to make him sleep well. I actually don't have problem co-sleeping, as I am a very light sleeper, though hubby is not, but my boy always hugs me to sleep, leaving hubby plenty of space.

RE: Drinking from straw
Maybe you want to try to fill up the straw (those usual straw that adults use), then hold it horizontally and ask your boy to try sucking the liquid. Do that until you see him can suck very well, then put the straw back to the mug and he should know then how to suck from the straw. That works for my boy.

RE: Fruit juice
Fruit juice is not as good as fresh fruit. Not much (in fact very minimal) fiber in juice. Esp if you give commercial fruit juice, it's artificial to some extend though they claim is pure, is 100% etc. Why can't you give him fresh fruit? Not too difficult to prepare. Fiber from the fruit (and vege) is very good to help in the digestive system.

jacelyn
vitamins fr fruit good for baby. Weekends when u take over, give him some fruits la... compensate for weekdays..

Re dink from straw

Hmmmmm I oso dunno how TT develop to drink from straw ... is my dad bought one bottle of barley then just let her have a bit ..... then my papa wanna play with her thought she dunno how to drink. Put the straw to her ... she drink! And she drink alot and refuse to pass back the bottle to my papa LOL

morning mummies
mei, ok lah, sounds good to me....
mittens very light, i think 50 cents enough liao
do i need to provide u with my address for the SAE?

So clever hahaha

i put the straw to my boy's mouth, he still trying to lower his head to touch the cup rim. Sometimes i let him drink fr cup.. after every sip he will say "ahhhhh" like quenching thirst. so funny

Kam,

Co sleeping is amazing hor, can solve all probs :p My girl used to wake up every hr or so crying, dunno why also. But when I let her sleep with me she's fine, so she's been cosleeping with me for the past 3 mths or so.
Thinking of moving her back to her cot soon. *Fingers crossed*

jacelyn

does yr boy like water? if he does u can try when he's a bit more thirsty. also, sometimes they dun suck cos they dunno that when they suck got stuff mah. so it's kind of like a fluke waiting for them to suck one time then realise that they get water when they do that. One other way is using the adult type of straw and holding some liquid in the straw, put the straw to his lips and release the water, that way he will associate the straw with water, when u put the straw back in the cup, he will try to figure out how to get the water out.

mei,
i went HK for 5 days,
1st day arrival day - nothing much
2nd day - Disneyland
3rd day - walk around relax
4th day - Ocean Park
5th day departure day - nothing much

personally hor, i dun like ocean park. everything is very spread out and have to walk very far from one attraction to the other. depending on timing, also have a lot of china tourists which makes it a very bad experience.

QQ,
kids are very smart hor. I let my girl try milo from my packet once and now everytime she sees my milo packet she wants to grab it.
When i let her suck a bit thinking i'll pull out the straw before the milo reaches her mouth, she will use her teeth to hold on to the straw so I can't pull it out!

wendy,
ever

this morning, i told xandall wakie liao, cannot eat tutu anymore. so i held out my hand and asked him to give me the tutu. he spit out from his mouth and onto my hands. then i asked him where is the hanky? coz my mil always wrapped the pacifier with the hanky and put in 1 corner of the bed when he falls asleep. so he was looking all around the bed for the hanky, saw it liao, picked it up and pass me. then i wrapped the pacifier with the hanky he kept protesting, coz he wanted to continue sucking on the pacifier. i told him big boy liao dont eat tutu one...he sort of understands and stopped crying...
aiyoh...after the fever, he 'dong shi" a lot liao leh...yesterday he tried to wrap the pacifier with the hanky himself and give me the whole package. damn funny

good morning...mamas....

CIO

Last nite, tried the CIO method again. Jayden tried to climb out of his cot. Luckily i went back into the room in time...He was hanging halfway out of the cot. So probably he is one of those strong willed ones.

mandy
wow your boy quite agile.. is the cot lowered all the way?

grumpus
ever what?

I went Ocean Park Dec 08, we spent whole day @ the higher part.. didn't bother to take cable car down to the lower part (sorry forgot the correct terms). Coz we joined a local day tour, reached 10am, depart 4pm.
We enjoyed the long walks coz weather was great. Breezy, hot sun.

My friend who lives in HK prefers Ocean Park to Disneyland.. she has frequent visitors' pass &amp; can go during weekdays at discounted rate. Her 4yo girl loves it.

pixie
ur son is so cute!!!
really is very dong shi. Javier also like tat. every morning before i carry him down to the living room, he will take all his pillow and pacifier properly, smile smile sit on his bed and wait for me.

grumpus hahaha TT oso know all packet drinks is nice de lor ... she will take out the straw from the back of the packet and try to open it she wanna drink!!!

2152142.jpg

my #1 at the end of a long day @ Ocean Park. He enjoyed himself very much, but didn't like the huge Aquarium.. maybe coz inside quite dark &amp; the fishes very big!

wendy,
meant to say that u all must always make the ahhhh sound when drinking so yr boy also follow u...

my mum always say now is the monkey see monkey do stage

grumpus
not me ley.. it's my dad. he's the main caregiver during weekdays. Tobey either says "ahhhhh" or "cup" when he sees our mugs.

This morning when we arrived at the school, saw some birds jumping on the floor. I told Hao Re to say BIRD, he didn't say anything. When the teacher said BIRD, Hao Re also said BIRD. Teacher won over mummy :-(

haiz,
my girl still cannot say anything coherent...everything is da da da or ba ba ba ba

RE: sitting on potty
those mummies who training their kids to sit on potty, do yr kids lose patience and run off?
my girl tends to get off by herself or when i scold her and tell her to sit down she will move by dragging the potty along with her

my baby calls everyone "mama". My dad, my husband and me... actually he can say "baba" calling my husband, but sometimes he points to him and say "mama". He even calls neighbours in the lift as "mama". my dad says so embarassing.

re: potty
i place tobey in a corner so that he can't move. And give him a book/ toy/ whatever to distract him while i make the "ng ng" sound for him to poo.

Kam
haha that's funny.

Jenny
I like the pull ups.. good alternative to Mamy Poko, which i find quite bulky. For my elder son 3.5yo.

jenny,

i used to order fr Goo.N but found that their prices are high. est to b abt 70cents per diaper. hence i changed brand.

i came across the brand when i'm doing some surfing and checked out their site. i'm currently using pampers (purple packaging) at nite time and drypers or pureen dry5 in morning.

found pampers smelly in the morning when baby wakes up...is this the same effect in your babies too?

jenny
i am using the orange packaging from pampers. i do feel it smells in the morning when they wear it for the whole nite. previously i was using huggies, which i feel is better.

wendy,
i lowered all the way down. I really had a bad scare yesterday.....

Do u go down to Ang Mo?? Maybe i have seen u there before...the prices there quite okie.

potty,
Jayden will say "ng ng" and point to the potty when he wants to pass motion. My mother has been training him.

yes i go to Ang Mo but not very often... maybe once in 2 or 3 wks?

my baby calls the potty "da". Stands for "da bian"

jess, the orange packaging is the comfort dry, i dont know why, i bot 1 packet, the tapes doesnt stick. so i sold the whole packet (used 2 or 3 pcs) for $10 to a malay mummy...
Javier oso very dong shi hor?
yest my mil bot a bunch of bananas. as it was quite unripe, she hung them in a part of the kitchen. then she pointed to them and said "banana!". so after lunch, she asked him want to eat banana or not, coz there were some ripe ones from the previous bunch few days ago...on the dining table. he looked at the bananas on the dining table, and looked over his shoulder where the unripe bunch was hanging. wah! good memory, and understands banana liao...

wendy,
sorry ah. stupid question to ask. can i know if too hot to go ocean park???

grumpus,
tks for the note on ocean park.

wendy/grumpus,
a...which hotel is reco?

wear singlet lor..
half of ocean park is on a hill, so maybe still quite breezy. Light cotton t-shirt shld be ok ba... drink lots water.