(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

yvonne
cc @ 18m... be prepared that baby falls sick almost every week.. either cough or flu or fever or HFMD or chickenpox or rota virus.. there's a whole host of germs in cc. His immunity level takes a few months to get used to it.. benchmark 6 months.

And during the times when he's ill, u may face more nagging by ILs abt the decision to send him to sch so early.

Not to mention separation anxiety.. some kids more, some kids less.

My elder boy started half-day childcare at 18m due to family arrangements.. kena HFMD twice, cough, flu very common... We pulled him out of cc when he was abt 24m & kena the 2nd time HFMD. For the 3 months that he was at home, he didn't get sick at all. But the moment he returned, the same week his cough came back. He started full day childcare when he was abt 33m. Now at 42m, his illnesses occur abt once in 1 or 2 months. Perhaps his body is stronger, perhaps the kids are older and dun anyhow put things into their mouths & can go toilet wash hands on their own.

wendyg
i also cleared the angbaos daily. heehee. but i have not bank it into his account yet.... maybe after the 15th day, after collecting all the angbaos then i will go

mei,
my chinese zodiac not gd for this yr..one of the worst

yet to clear the ang pows...clearing later...so that next wk can bank in during lunch hrs ;p

mei
ya now my cash flow a bit tight, i play around with the money a bit. Used boys savings to buy car, made husband promise to return the $$ by this year. I save for my boys via insurance and lump sum when i receive my bonus. But as of now it's wiped out. nvrmind la, still young, plenty of time to re-accumulate.

My fren also, "borrow" from her daughters' savings to renovate her new home. haha

Anyway, for ang pow, i don't save it for them. Same practise as my dad.. since he was the one who forked out the ang pow $$, all my ang pow went back to him at the end of the day. My sister's too. But he made sure our bank accounts were topped up to the brim for our daily expenses.

mei
maybe... but it's not financed 100% fr her daughters' accounts la.. just whatever cash she lacked she borrowed a bit. Aiya anyway she's the one controlling the bank balance ma. Same as me.

Janbb,

Pronounced as Ja-nelle.

Goodbb,

If you wan to order neo garden for 1st birhtday u just tell them and will have special rates just fax them the birthcert.

Anyone interested in taking over my PET PET XL. Bought too much that time...

got 3 pack. One pack use less than 10pcs and the other 2 are unopen pack.

Willing to let go at $30 for all. Pls pm me.

Wendyg/ Yvonne

I will not put my bb at any CC. It's a clear thought for both me and hubby as well as families. We will choose a good child care for our babies.
Not to mention, kids are learning very fast from their peers, so we do make sure to put our kids at where kids are well taken care of. Well, we have to trust God for this.

GONG XI FA CAI TO EVERYONE!!

re ang pow collection
my girl collected more this yr comparing to last year..haha..maybe cos inlaws more generous..haha

anyway, same as wendy, i don't deposit the ang pows into her savings account, deposit into her account only when i have lump sum coming in, at the end of the day, the amount we deposited is always more then the ang pows collected, i feel doesn't make much difference when's the money going in or out la. Afterall, we control where their money goes to next time also..doesn't mean let them have a rein of anyhow spending their money also ma...

wendyg,
yah, know wat you mean. Just have to bite the bullet and do it. We had a false alarm over CNY, fil felt numbness in his fingers and GP said could be mild stroke so quickly send him to A&E for a thorough check. Luckily not stroke but MRI showed there's infection in his spine and part of it had degenerated quite badly due to old age. Doc says have to take care and avoid any injury to the area otherwise it's going to affect movement in his hands and legs. Mil also quite weak and cannot carry my boy for long so most of the daily tasks like bathing, changing, carrying all done by fil. It's going to be tougher for them when my boy starts walking, etc. So it's a matter of time before I send him to cc. Actually I would rather do it earlier than risk having one of them falling (touchwood!) or having at accident at home.

You know lah, old people very stubborn, they won't open their mouths to ask for help. My fil have been carrying my boy home every morning and my boy is 12kg leh. We have been asking them to use the stroller or sling but he kept saying very troublesome. So yesterday my hubby nagged at them until they buah tahan and agreed to use the stroller. Simple thing like that also have to argue for so long. I rather be the bad guy and send my boy to cc now than to live with the guilt if anything happens.

Wendy,

Wa, I agree wif the rest of them.... Ur bb's ang bao must be v full in order to use it to buy car, etc etc...

I oredi open n bank in her AB liao.Not much though..

Brought my gal to my place's GP... But the med sucks!!! Can't recover.. Must have Paed's med.. but din bring her to the Paed. Her cough recover but cold still lingering...

wendyg,
My dad used to "borrow" our ang bao money too...haha! He used to own a carpentry business so cashflow is always tight. He always say will return but we never saw the money again *sob*.
I have already opened a savings a/c for my boy so will deposit all his angbao money in there. Probably will use it for his education so he won't get to "anyhow spend it" as well. Kids these days don't know how tough it is to earn money, they think money drop from the sky.

Yvonne & Wendy
mine too...parents will take our AP money..haha..even my salary for the temp jobs i work during vacation... i never got to spend them.

yvonne
ya my parents both in 60s taking care of baby. My mum also no strength to carry baby. She is in charge of feeding him milk & porridge & playing with him. both she & my dad hv to team up to change his diaper - 1 person cannot handle. My dad will bring him downstairs for walks. He used to carry him until i super complain that for my 5 day HK trip baby dowan pram & I was the one to suffer 10hr per day carry until my arms tremble & couldn't straighten. Then my dad used the stroller to bring baby for walks.. and now baby doesn't resist anymore. And my dad sees the effects of the training, hopefully will encourage him to be more receptive to our ideas.

last wk my mum twisted her hip area while taking care of baby, she said she moved too fast & twisted a nerve. took 3 days to recover.

I am the one to bathe baby.. i feel it's quite xin ku for them to do it. So every evening i hv to rush home after work, rush dinner & express ebm & shower... then prepare baby's bath. We had this arrangement from the time my #1 was born.

It gets easier as baby grows... with my elder boy now 3.5yo, my parents use more brain power than physical power.. hv to trick him to finish his dinner, wear shoes quickly etc.

godsent
my baby's ang pow not much. it's the savings accumulated over the years. Most of it belongs to my elder boy coz he's already 3.5yo.

yvonne
my dad dun borrow my angpow $$, my sis & i give it to him willingly.

I am also thinking of putting my boy in a CC.
do you all have any recommendations on a CC at Bedok area?
let him go half day to learn things also gd....

wendyg,
yah lor, it's quite tough for them but my fil very stubborn leh, we tell him no need to do certain things but he insists he can do it so sometimes also can't be bothered to argue with him.

Actually I'm seriously considering to become SAHM for 2-3 years then return to work force. My dept also not doing very well so secretly hoping they will close it and retrench me. At least I can take care of my boy myself and just send him to 2-3 hrs playgroup or pre-nursery instead of full day cc. See how things goes lah.

wendyg
germs???? maybe let him take some immunization?? i also duno lei. but at the rate i see he learn things, i think i shld let him go to a CC. cos currently at home, my in laws are too old to teach him things, they cannot even communicate properly with him. as for my maid, if she spends too much time playing and teaching my son, my in laws will say she eat snake -_-"

Babyling, what is your chinese zodiac? Mine is not good too for this year. Me is a rabbit.

During CNY, my elder son is sick, having fever and throat infection. Now recovered but keep on complaining tummy pain. See doc, doc said his tummy is ok.

Now my baby is standing up at all time. Put him on high chair also must see him, cos he can stand up by his own.

wendy
they dun speak english at all. only can speak teochew. but they always only... orhhh... ehhhhh.... hiyooo... to Javier. tats y till now, Javier canot really say words properly..

jess
my dad is teochew. he taught baby to say "gng gng", which means "bright". Baby will point to ceiling light and say "gng gng". Baby's first Teochew word

haha... at least ur dad still teach, which is gd. my ILs dun teach de lei.... they are those very old, traditional and not educated type.

anyway, i am trying to plan out my finances after the CNY to see if i can put my boy into CC. nw have maid liao, so abit tough to put aside another sum... headache...

hungry. stomach expanded due to over eating over last few days with all the cny goodies. now table empty. nothing to eat. hungry hungry.

back!! how's your red-packets collection over the cny?
not bad. vernon got 200 worth of angbao. pplus his bday 1 abt 500...
is ur chinese zodiac gd this year?
me ah, not very, say i got love problem :S
must wear alot of black

anyone year of rooster??
seems like rooster got bit of luck here and there. hope so...want to settle down on a perm job.

bb's Ang bao:
for last yr, we utilised bb's AB money for house expd as we just got to do up the new house. trying to save up this yr and last yr $$ for him. thinking of opening a mighty saver acct for him. is it good?

hubby's students r here, so noisy, but luckily, i closed the bedroom door so baby napped for nearly 2 hrs. Not feeling well though, sniffles started again yesterday. Hubby going for tuition at 430pm somemore, sian, cannot rest.

I remember some mummies were asking what else to cook for baby besides porridge right? Can try rolled oats. The Quaker oats also can but it's processed oats so not as nutritious as wholegrain rolled oats. Just cook with full cream milk or water (if you don't like it to be too creamy) for about 15-20 mins or longer if you want it softer, sprinkle some chopped raisins or fresh fruits like banana, kiwi, etc and serve....yummy!!!! It's much faster than cooking porridge and it's healthy and nutritious. Good for babies who are not drinking much milk becos a bowl of oats will contain about 130-150ml of milk...helps to increase their overall milk intake lor.

babyling, me same as you, sheep zodiac, one of the worst for this lunar year. gamble oso never win leh. every year got win one lol

yvonne, i gvae quaker oats leh. its 2 spoons of quaker oats, a tiny bit of condensed milk, and 2 spoons of full cream milk, or the milk that my boy can't finish in his previous feed. he takes it every morning after his milk feed. dunno why after a feed still hungry for food so i gave him that...

pixiepixel,
I don't want to give him the condensed milk...too sweet leh...so I give rolled oats

Verene,
Buy those fresh milk in cartons lor...can use Meiji, Pura, Farmhouse, etc.