(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

gd morning everyone

Blackbatz
did read about it lei...
are u planning to be a parent volunteer?

morning all

this is one of the worst CNY i ever had. On sunday morning, 1am my #2 had high fever, 39.4! Den that early morning, 5am, my #1 had fever. Brot them to see doc and was given medication + antiobiotic. Had a rest den we went to my hb's por por house for reunion dinner. During the dinner, my ILs, both of them!!! say that since sons are sick, just bring them over to por por hse the next day for F**King phototaking session and then GO HOME. CANNOT GO MY por por hse cos they sick. To me, if my side no nid go, then y shd i bring my sons over to the other end jz for photo taking session? Then my MIL told me this "my brother going to bring my mother to yr hse on wednesday. u n yr hb nid to work and come home late and cos it is so troublesome to wait for u all, I asked them to come for lunch" (sorry, but it is a direct translation). i was thinking ... so our working schedule becomes a "TROUBLESOME" event too?

Sunday nite, went back, my elder son had high fever .. 39.5 ! we managed to bring temp down so off we go for porpor's hse for CNY. we told all of them that my sons are running fever n jz "recovered". GUESS WAT??? my hb's aunty kept giving my son crackers/ cookies / sweets!! when I told them no, they gave me a black face! I fed up ... immed after the photo session, I told hb i wana go home. let the kids rest first b4 going to my por por hse for dinner. AGAIN THEY SAY TAT I SHD NOT GO VISITING.

On tues, my ILs came back early (cos I was not feeling well). I appreciate this and said, ok, wat's my fuss abt last 2 days?? so I managed to cool down.

Yday was on MC. My MIL's mother, sisters n brother came to my hse for dinner. My hb's auntie, as usual, went to give SWEETS n dried apricot to my elder son!! I was so tired that I went back to my room to rest aft lunch. When I came out for water, my MIL told me this "I tell u, later I am going to bring yr sons to my brother's hse n play" i asked her "my elder son hvn take his nap leh" she reply "nvm. go there nap" For goodness sake, I know my son well enuf. he will not nap when outside. AND WHO IS SHE TO TELL ME?? I m the mother of my sons n i cannot make decision for them? True enuf, they went there and came home after 3 hrs! n my son was there dancing n singing to entertain them! HE DID NOT NAP AT ALL!

After all these issues, I told my hb this "make sure u tell yr auntie not to give JUNK FOOD/SWEETS to my sons else I will ban her from seeing my sons. she can happily give all sort of food to my sons n when they sick she not the one helping to look aft! btw..this auntie is the one that fed my elder son PEANUTS when he less den 1 yr old!

sorry for my venting ... i jz cant stand it anymore!

becky_cat,
Maybe your girl finds the rice too dry/hard?? Try to add some soup to it then mash up the rice for her to try again?

Wendyg,
Actually I'm quite glad that our kiddos are now over 1 year old and eating more solids leh. I just let my boy have something from our table for dinner so no need to cook porridge and bring out...haha. For reunion dinner at my place, my mum cooked mee sua for him and I add in hard-boil egg from the fuzhou fishball soup and some fish and he gobbled it all up. Day 1 CNY, I just give him rice with soup plus fish and veg and he finished all as well. Yesterday dinner we brought him out for teochew porridge, I gave him sweet potato porridge with cod fish and steam egg and he happily finished all too.

wendy,
how cum all boy boy's name ah?? Heehee, u got good news to share ah, shortlisting boy's name again?? #3??? Haahaa. Btw your 2 boys are Tobey & ??

javier - jess
javin - jacelyn
xavier - icy
rayden - lynn chong
jayden - janbb
xandall - pixie
zander - steph

Oh ya, mummies...i know my #2 gender liao..
Is a ......................................
<font color="ff0000">GAL!!! Yeah Yeah!! </font>

I have shortlisted a few gal name, which one is nicer?
i) Jayna
ii) Jaymee
iii) Jayme

Cos gor gor is Jayden &amp; i hope to find a name start with "jay...". Anymore suggestions?? Thks.

mylvera
Oh dear, how cum both got fever? Eat too much CNY goodies? Take care &amp; cool down. Hope your boys are fine now, give them more water.

Jess
Blackbatz is a tchr.. she dun need to volunteer anything, she's being paid to do what she does. muahahahaha

Janbb
#1 is Isaac. No i'm not shortlisting names.. i'm listing the names that i can't remember due to my advanced age. If i hv another son, i'd like to name him David, but that's the name of my husband's cousin, so it's out of bounds. Too bad la.
ei, dun choose Jaymee/ Jayme, coz people are going to spell it as Jaime and she has to correct them her whole life.

Yvonne
ah, i prefer when my baby was less than 6 months old and only took milk milk milk. Dun hv to bother with solids/ semi solids. I prefer it when they're newly born =) just drink &amp; sleep, dunno how to flip, dunno how to scream, dunno how to fall down..

mylvera
arghhhhhhhhhhhhhh, these kind of relatives i won't bother to give them face. the only face i give will be BLACK FACE. who cares if it's CNY.

wendy
How cum u like this name "david"? Seem that is one of our generation's common &amp; "fav" name ;)
Ya, Jaymee &amp; Jayme is a newer version of Jaime cos' wanna find a nicer spelling of "Jaime".

mylvera,
totally agreed with wendyg..if i were u, i definitely will said with a stern voice to my bb so that indirectly telling those relatives not to give ..hee

janbb,
Jayna sound nicer

janbb
yeah, in the Bible, David is a shepard boy who knows God intimately.. and eventually became King, and Jesus was his descendent. It's a lovely name.

urgh i hate it when adults talk to my baby when they want to send the msg to me. I pretend i don't hear them. If they want to tell me anything, jolly well tell it to my face. Eg "Tell mummy that CNY once a year eat chocolates never mind la".

babyling,
i also put Jayna as my first choice as at now ;p Can't find anymore "Jay..." ger ger name so far. Afraid plp will tease her name if it is "jaymee" with the "mee" behind like maggie mee, heehee.

ooooh... Blackbatz is a teacher?? i see... kekee.... i also just applied to be a teacher lei, but no response yet... maybe gana rejected liaoz....

mylvera
take gd care of urself and ur 2 boys. i guess all elderly are like tat.... relax okie? i also always trying to come to terms with it as my in laws are also like tat at times...

JanBB
i like Jayme~ sounds nice....

wendyg,
hee...normally, i will tell my bb 'no, cant eat'

janbb,
there are other gal gal names as follows
1) jaydra
2) jayanti
3) jayla
4) jaya

babyling
normally i will tell the relative "No he is not allowed to eat that".

janbb
hey, u see the meaning of Jayme, u still want to use it? "to supersede (another) especially by force or treachery"
And Jayna has sanskrit origins. but if u're fine with it then why not?

Poor mylvera, hope you cooled down already. If I were you, I will talk to your kid indirectly (use the same method for this older generation) but loudly so that the auntie can hear. Boy, you just recovered cannot eat such stuff. Wait if you sick again, Mummy cannot take anymore leave, so Nai Nai and aunty (the one who gave the crackers) got to come and look after you. :p

well, i did told my son off in front of everyone. yet the auntie turn n gave me a black face n say "ABIT ONLY mah" or "I m jz giving Vit C (in form of sweet n with sugar coating??!!)"

my MIL gave baby chen2 pi2 mei2 (preserved orange peel), she said it was ok. Yest i told husband about it and he said "nothing happened to baby right?"

oh well.....

wendyg
Yup, saw the meaning behind, thks. Think only Jayna got 2 nice meaning.. "Bringer of victory" &amp; "god is gracious". Actually not so particular on the meaning, juz wanna a name that is easy to call &amp; rem.

ya, my hubby will say he also grow up this way. so eat this also okie wat.

last time when Javier started to eat porridge, my MIL keep asking me to add soya sauce or put black sauce eat can liao.... say last time her kids also grow up this way... faintz....

not so particular abt meaning?! ohhh, i'm VERY particular abt meaning. I thought names were all about the meaning... what the parent aspires the child to be.

u want name easy to call? Jayne lor... pronounce as Jane. Also easy for old folks to call. I think quite easy to remember, if too fanciful it's a bit tricky.

rani?! aiyo.
my aunt keeps calling my baby "Toh-bay"
duno issit on purpose anot. coz she's a upper pri sch teacher for abt 20yrs liao ley.

i hv an aunt and a colleague named Jayne. So i know how to call them Jayne =)

I thot Jayne will sound like "Jenny"? Was telling hubby how abt the little nyonya real name "Jeanette" since we were looking for the inital letter "J" too, haha.

Re: Meaning of name
Not particular in the english name cos' Chinese name will get master to calculate &amp; hubby feel that chinese character is more impt. Heehee, we very Cheena one.. Everything Fengshui Fengshui ;p Me getting more aunty too..

happy moo moo year! talking abt feeding food during cny, i was also quite pissed off with my hubby sister. i told her that my gal was having diarrhoea the whole week so cannot anyhow feed her. BUT she still say it's normal for bb to have diarrhoea lah and feed my girl kueh lapis, mashmallow in chocolate coating and chrysantheum tea. Wah lau.. i am really dislike her loh &amp; my hubby never tell his own sister off. Damn angry with him also. Just can't understand why some pple got no respect for the kid mother when we say don't anyhow feed the child. They think our child is animal meh?

ah... masters of the universe.

i hv a friend, she would love to hv 3 kids, right now 2 little girls so pretty, aged 3 &amp; 2. Her "master" said that if she were to hv another child, her health (and maybe wealth) would be badly affected. She is really heartbroken about it.

Jayne is pronounced as Jane.

Wendy, faint, I didn't respond when she called for her name cos I didn't recognise it. When I realise it, I was too 'paiseh' to correct her. My hubby just laughed and laughed. Then go home, start teasing my baby calling her Rani Rani. :p

wendyg
Hahaha... Toh Bay sounds so chee na!! My nephew is called Deron... my fil calls him "Dee Long" hahahah... This generation pple like to give weird names to their kids... Esp those weird spelling, change the "I "with the "Y" blah blah... heee...
If I have another son, I would like the name Elijah, but Elliot is a derivative from Elijah, so prob not lor. mah chiam same name. If my #1 was a boy, I might have named him Jayden... but lucky din, cos so common liao...

Janbb
Jayna sounds nice... or you can use the spelling Jana

mom2nat
jayna means "supplanter" - to take over by use of force. Not very nice meaning ley..

my 2 nephews are elijah &amp; ezekiel. aiyo my sister full of faith.

my BIL's name is Henry, my grandma &amp; aunt call him "Heng Lee".

actually i like the name Jordon.. named after the river &amp; basketballer. but 6 alpha.. so kena thrown out.

wendyg
We were not believers when I named Elliot. His name meant The Lord is my God. My hb was not too keen in this name. But now that we are believers, my hb say Elliot is a good name... faintz... He even say if got another girl, name her Ruth!!! Wah piang!

Hahaaa....my boy's name is Brien, pronouced the same way as Brian or Bryan. I didn't make it up, it's actually a variation of Brian with the same meaning of "Strong &amp; Noble". There was once the clinic assistant pronouced his name as "Brain Tan"...faint! I also didn't respond becos I really didn't know she was calling him.

javier - jess
javin - jacelyn
xavier - icy
rayden - lynn chong
jayden - janbb
xandall - pixie
zander - steph
jayden - mandygoh

Janbb,

COngrats for having a girl....just nice to have a girl and a boy and form a "hao" word!!!!

mom2nat: heehee! mi too didnt kw u r newborn..

wendy: Isaac is a nice name, datz my 1st choice until i heard my pastor talkin abt "Ray of light/hope" so i change to "Rayden" wahahaaa!

I was telling my parents to call him "Rayden" if not "Hay" which is his chinese name.
english name given by mi then my fil gav my boy e chinese name same meaning as Rayden but difficult to write...

Janbb: congrats on ur princess! juz nice 1boy 1 girl..

wendyg,
I didn't correct the 1st lady cos I was quite irritated when I realised she was calling my boy...haha. But I corrected the cashier by repeating my boy's name when she called him Brain Tan...*sigh*.

lynn
your pastor from...? NCC also?
your ILs also believers huh.

and i wanna tell u smthg... u like to organise parties hor?! yor FB so many party pix

Lynn, I like Rayden too, if I can get a 'hao' like JanBB then I'll use that name. Actually, I like Ray because the baby reminds me of a ray of sunshine into our lives. But RayAnne sounds more manly cos she can't call herself Ray for short so I chose RaeAnne lor.

janbb
some female names i can think of with "jay"
jaynielle/jaynay
jayvindra/javindrea
jayleen/jayline/jaylin

all made up :)

xandall is one year old today!
he is having 4 to 5 hours of awaked activities before he can take a nap, compared to previous 3 hours block. my nightmare is starting liao...

xandall got his name because papa's name is alex. so papa said, next time i call both of them, just shout "alexander!"...but xander like very singlish so we twist the spelling around...
steph, sorry, your zander sounds better than xander. i never "pai chi" your zander's name hokay

tmr go punggol and play mj...with xandall along...dunno how to play mj and look after him at the same time??!

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

Wow! Congrats! You're living my fantasy! Would like to have a girl too! Now can spend more money liao right???

Just to share something my mil told us this morning. One of my hubby's cousin (a lady) has a 20 month girl and they visited my in-laws during CNY. My mil commented to us that she send her daughter for all sorts of lessons eg. abacus, right brain/left brain &amp; music and she smacks her alot so her daughter prefers daddy to mummy. She told us this is not the way to educate children, blah blah blah....me and hubby just listen and I told her alot of parents send their children for all these classes, it's a personal choice so nothing wrong with that.

Anyway, I told my hubby that his cousin is a SAHM and she faces her daughter 24/7. Kids these days really know how to drive their parents to the wall and they're really good at it too. It's inevitable for her to discipline her own daughter. Our boy will reach that terrible-twos stage very soon and he will be just as horrible as any other toddler. My mil can't see that now but soon she'll realised her grandson is just as mischevious and "xian da" and maybe she'll whack him too.

Moral of the Story: Don't jump to conclusions and criticise other people's parenting skills until you've been there and done that! Children these days are different from our generation and it's really tough to discipline them. We are the parents afterall and we have their welfare at heart even when we're smacking them.

Hmmmm...perhaps my mil was indirectly telling me not to discipline their grandson so much...but heck, I'm his mother and I have the final say whether they like it or not. At the end of the day, if he becomes a spoilt brat I'm to be blamed for it even though I'm not the one spoiling him.

kitsune,
Juz a suggestion, u can also name your boy "Raeden" next time since u got RaeAnne ;)

Pixel,
my hubby thot of "Jaylin" too. But feel that "Jolyn" sound better that "Jaylin" leh.
And Happy Birthday to Xandall!!!

Violetice,
Hurry start your factory production &amp; hope u get a ger too then we can shop for dresses!!!
Ya, how's your dinner??

<font color="0000ff">wendgy, JanBB,</font>

We went for lunch at in laws' place for reunion dinner. MIL suggested lunch. Dog was kept in her room. PIL mop the floor before we came. MIL not happy because dog kept barking, wanting to come out. Once, dog barked so loudly that Ian jumped in fright! Hubby quite mad and almost quarrelled with MIL because of the dog again. I ate quickly, then brought Ian to one of Hubby's sibling's room and closed the door. Two of us were kept inside the room and MIL released the dog to roam around the house.