(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

2107057.jpg

Ur babies can drink from straw and sippy cup liao? Think I better start. Gave him Avent, but think it's too hard for him..

My #1 sleeps between hubby and I. Even if he's not around, we are still knocked out every night..Wendyg seems to be very "ONZ"!!

<font color="0000ff">BlackBatz,</font>

I TRIED to start him when he was about 10 months or so but failed lah, he didn't like water, lagi worse to ask him to use straw.

However, recently, been teasing him with straw and showing him Daddy and Mummy also using straw, he began to show some interest. With a little encouragement, aka clapping hands until like clowns, he drank to make us do it again. =S

blackbatz
I try avent sipply spout recently, he can automatically suck from the spout. For straw, Xavier also can autmatically learn. Water he is slowly.. with Glucose, he is super fast.. think Vitagen he would be evn faster.

Violetice, icy and babyling,
Was wondering if I should change to Mag Mag (Pigeon). I find Avent spout vey hard and will leak. Not sure if Pigeon is better.

Any comments from Mag Mag users?

blackbatz,
did u use the rubber stopper for the avent spout?
my hb was telling me that the rubber stopper acts like the stopper to prevent the water from leaking when bb is not drinking. when ur bb is drinking...the pressure of sucking will cause the rubber stopper to bcm invert to trap some water into the rubber stopper
but bb has to suck very hard

evening mummies!
brought my boy out today to vivo and chinatown, super exhausting. didnt want to sleep much. in the end got over hyper at bedtime....still, slept at 8.45pm, yay!

blackbatz
mag mag is good leh, but stage 2, my boy bite until the teat is rough rough, then my mil say dont give liao, i gave him the tollyjoy spill proof cup. which means he has to suck kind...but strangely enuff, he cannot link sucking to straws so until now still dunno how to drink from straw, but only from spill proof sippy cup....

blackbatz
I tried mag mag first, but the hole was too big, it spilt out. I have no choice but buy the softest avent spout (for 6m+).

By the way did u remove the clear round plastic rubber like what babyling mentioned? At first I dunno, i go remove then water gush out.

Anyway I think at this stage, they can learn todrink from straw already. One adv abt mag mag is can just buy the top to replace with straw not like avent, have to replace the whole thing.

Re: Sippy cup
I had tried sometime back but my boy cant use the spout well and it leaks quite easily...i use the combi one. any better brands for non-spill. is nuby good? I feel like getting a straw one to let him learn. perhaps can skip the spout stage.

Javier is staying with MIL yesterday and today. Can have some private time together. Hubby had took a week off this week to look after Javier cos my mum went back to help out on our family business in the market.

Mei,
NTUC closing at 5pm on sunday.

Re: reunion dinner
suddenly last min, my mil tell me 2 of her younger bros (unmarried) will be coming to have dinner with us. always last min notice. then my mum din get extra ingredients from the wet market. dun noe whether food still enuff...

super vain mummy:
I just had my brows done on semi permanent colouring. a bit painful after the procedure. pricking feel.

i use tommee tippee straw cup, but that is after Rylee can drink well from straw liao. When i first intro cups, i intro sippy cup, both Mag Mag and Avent. Seems like she takes to Avent better. But she showed us she can drink from straw really well, so we started "upgraded" her to straw cups instead. I dont like MagMag cos the cover like very flimsy and spoils easily (my gal can open it with her teeth) and u have to adjust it properly so that it wont spill. Tommee Tippee is good cos the closing very firm, my gal cant open it with her mouth...haha

pixiepixel
try letting him suck on straws when u bring him out to restaurants and u all drink from straws? Babies love imitating adults. Let him play with the straw first. He'll figure it out.

wendy
i stopped wearing wired bras ever since give birth cos i rem Mrs Wong's class say wired bras can stop milk production (if worn for too long) so i'm very paranoid. Until now, went out to shop for CNY (want to buy new bra), looking for nice nursing ones, the maternity shops here ALL nice ones are wired. The non wired ones all so-so only. They kept telling me can wear. But i still dare not cos i want to continue nursing baby.

re : pumping
erm...why arent u letting ur body adjust to how much Tobey drinks? Maybe i dunno cos me have never pumped, direct latch all the way. Pumping mommies very xin ku ah!

Bedsharing
Haha. Me too sleep with baby full time. We both enjoy it very much. But yeah, when the "need" comes, somewhere else lo. Initially have her cot next to our bed, now cot dismantled liao. Replace with a single mattress as baby's changing area. Can also double up as *ahem* area. But we still find it awkward cos have to be very silent in the room. wendy, u 10mins chop chop gao dim, all can do silently ah? hehehehe not that i'm noisy lah....but....

mylife
got leh, but he just cannot imitate us...nevermind, let him be on non spill cup for now...tomme tippee has very good cups, be it straw or non spill or transition cups...

re:pumping
i am still pumping, like wendy. more than what my boy is drinking...stockpile...so when i decide to stop, febm still can last xandall for another x no. of weeks...i still cant let go of pumping. fm is very very ex and i peifu those mummies on fm...the $$ you all have to fork out...i cant take it heehee

re: bra
day1 onwards wear wired bra liao. nopes, wont affect the output of milk for me...wire dont cut onto boobs can liao. but anyway, who wears the wire onto the cups??! actually, when the hours gets longer, sometimes have letdown, so the bra can add as a pressure to stop the leak; wonder will this reduce output? i.e. pressure on boobs?

verene
ey good ah, got quality time...
ur eyebrows do @ where? issit very dark now?

bedsharing
erm, i do the deed when bb is not ard e.g. weekdays...weekends no do no do
, he is light sleeper. but then again, got try before, but was on the floor, cold and hard *ouch*

pixiepixel,

I do it at erabelle...the jap concept one. my color is lighter. but can haf 2 touch ups till 2011. so now, it looks pretty natural. the artist keep pushing me to sign up for the eye liner. I refused cos dont want to spend more.

Re: when the needs come...
with those still bfing mummies, will u get let down if hubby touches u???

Blackbatz.. i using magmag straw cup for my ger.. its quite good easier than using spout cup.. but the problem is she will suck and spit back.. so everytime she drinks.. its super messy.

U can get a plastic straw, cut it into hals and let ur boy try.. its much easier to pick up drinking from straw.

<font color="0000ff">blackbatz,</font>

I find Pigeon Mag Mag not good because the cup kept leaking, probably because I didn't align it properly or something but some of my friends feel the same way. Using Tolly joy now and Pigeon from Jap. Not bad.

I agree with mylife and violetice!
Now that my bb is bigger, the pigeon mag mag dun work so well for her.
When she flings the cup around the cap will pop open and water splash everywhere. if never close properly and it tips onto it's side can also leak.
like rylee my girl will use her teeth to open the cap then drink...lazy girl...haha

interested to know what alternatives i can switch her to also

grumpus
get the tommee tippee straw cup. The lid is capped tightly with a "tak" sound, Lexie wont be able to flip open with her teeth!

verene
haha. If we do "it", we'll do aft nursing session, no letdown.

pixie
really can wear ah? i very scared leh. hubby also say i've come so far, better not risk it.

verene
yes, i still get letdown when my hb touches me, do do the deed after a pump, like wat mylife said

mylife
can wear leh, i got no prob at all
im those kind who wont get blocked ducts etc at all throughout the 1 yr so i guess im suitable for wired bras. maybe not suitable for those who gets blocked ducts etc easily kind bah...

yay, i finally tried a straw on my boy, he can suck liao
graduate to straw cups liao!

HI ladies, long time never come in. Ever I started in this new place, been so stressed and no energy to even come in. Erm..dunno if this is really the job for me...and people there all got their own clicks...Now juz trying to cope by the day n talk more to ppl...

Btw, Happy Niu Year..hopefully it'll be a good start after this!

grumpus
I oso use the mag mag one, the cap oso v loose. I might change to the other one, I forgot the name, my girl used to use the Dora one. But after sometime oso will flip open.

oh ok onz...i will go buy tomnmee tippee cup liao.

just went to NTUC to get some ingredients for tomorrow steamboat. alot of stuff no stock liao. the stock left 2 cans...and i just took it.

grumpus
Yupz.. My girl used that for abt 2 years. Can hold more water, can change straws, but after sometime the flip to open oso lossens, tats why ove rthe years, I think changed abt 3 times or so. I haven't tried tommee tippee cup... I think mothercare has.

mylife
errrr... stifle, use pillow to cover.. actually sometimes i'm half asleep, so no sound come fr me except zzzzzzzzzz. muahahahaha.

rE: let down
husband knows how to avoid... and i dun think of baby so no letdown also hahaha.

re: CNY Opening hours
>> My place Ang Mo supermart today open until midnight, then they close fr tmr &amp; resume operations on day 8. Such a long break!! Either their boss v welfare or their suppliers also close shop or they super rich dun need the business. We poor folks even hv to get back to work on 3rd day. *pooi*

Giant Tampines open thru the CNY.. normal shopping hours. whee!!! if nowhere to go, i will go there on 2nd Day, just take a walk in the aircon also good. These few days so hot. Wanted to visit Sentosa Flower Festival, but decided against it coz weather too hot, dowan to fall sick during CNY.

mylife, got the same problem with my gal's mag mag cup. Thanks for the tip. Just went to kp to buy the tommy tippee straw cup, put at my ils side first, if good, will buy another for my side.

wendyg,
Hahaha...you're half asleep most of the time? Like dead fish huh??? Haaa...hubby won't get "offended"?

Actually if co-sleep won't baby roll off the bed? Wendyg, you leave the room for pumping so baby alone on the bed? Not worried he'll wake up and climb off the bed?

My boy sleeps in a cot next to our bed but also feel very weird when we're doing the "deed". Like got third party watching leh....hehehee. And like what mylife said, have to be silent, cannot make too much noise...hahahaa

Wendyg,
My mum said that the overseas pig exporters are taking a long break. even if the local butcher wants to sell in the market, also got no pork supply.

yvonne
ah, so far his only complaint is that i don't get up &amp; watch TV with him...

when my baby wakes, he'll first sit up and look around, if can't see me then he'll cry. There were times when he rolled off the bed during sleep.. bo pian lo.. already took precautions by putting walls of pillows &amp; bolsters &amp; comforter.. hope his falls were sufficiently cushioned, just that he gets a fright.

Just managed to put Ian to sleep. He refused to sleep alone, even when I carried him, he also struggles and prefer rolling around on our bed. Argh. Took me an hour to coax him to sleep, want to smack him liao!
Irritated with Hubby because he's happily watching tv in the living room! MEN!

morning all mummies, happy nu year.

seemed like quite a no. of your babies have start drinking from straw. think i need to train deon too.

today maid will be flying back... no maid for the 2mths....sob...have to do things by myself but lucky 1mth at my mum place cos confinement. but after confinement have to start cleaning my new house. sian... hopefully by then new maid arrive.

violetice, why never ask hubby for help? Aiyah, my baby also the same, once it comes to sleeping only look for me cos she always latch to sleep. She will call mama mama when she wants to sleep, everytime hear her calling then xin ruan liao.

Happy chinese new year to all the mummies n babies.
Going to have reunion lunch at ils place soon but baby just started her morning nap. :p

Mommies, ur babies started to call mama? Mine still doesn't know how to call nor respond to simple instructions like u want this or that

Geez, my baby is stretching himself and sleep later..usually 9 pm but now 10pm. Same thing happening to you gals?

babe,

at leasts ur baby sleeps at 10, My boy sleeps at 12am or even later sometimes...if not, when he fuss, he will wake up in the middle of the night and refuse to go back to sleep..faintz

Javier tends to have bad dreams/nightmares at night, and he will cry in his sleep..need to comfort and pat him to reassure him. any other bb her like that?

verene,

my bb also cry in her sleep..but i jst ignore her ..a while later she ok liao...i tried to comfort n pat her, in the end she cried even louder :p

verene,
my bb also cries alot in her sleep. sometimes she will sit up and see me then just sleep back herself. sometimes need to pat pat and reassure her.

babyling,
sometimes my bb also dun want me to pat cos she's actually still sleeping and find it irritating. wat i do is just put my hand on her chest so she gets reassured and then she will quieten down

Babe, RaeAnne only started calling mama about 1 week ago. Previously she was calling ba ba.

verene, just put raeAnne to sleep at 10pm but she woke up just 10 mins later, sit up and cry, eyes still closed, end up I latch her back to sleep. Maybe should learn to ignore her like babyling and see what happens.

previously i tried to ignore/ pat backside etc, but he'd just cry himself awake. So i just latch him on to keep him quiet.. terrible habit but i guess i'm either too tired to bother or very soft hearted &amp; intend to spoil him to bits. Or both. For my elder son also, if ignore his cries, he'll cry himself awake. so previously, at the slightest whimper we'd drop whatever we were doing &amp; rush into the room to pat/ carry him.

i think it's more our fault than the kids' fault.. coz both my boys are lidat. it's how they fall asleep - in someone's arms or on my boobs.

first post of the ox year... happy lunar new year to everyone

Verene, so late ah? My boy also cries in his sleep but after awhile will sleep back. He will even sit up and then fall off to another side to sleep but sometimes if hit the cot will wake and cry. Morning I tried remaining lying down though he wakes up and cries, after awhile, he juz play on his own in his cot if he sees no movement. U may like to try..give it 5-10min.

babe,
he fell asleep when I switch off all the lights and both me and hubby lie down on the bed leaving him sitting on the bed. soon he grab his bolster and lie down also. perhaps at 1am or so. Javier sleeps on the bed with me and hubby sleeps on the mattress on the floor whenever my mum decides to rest earlier at night. usually he sleeps with my mum during weekdays.

happy new yr!!
just now very heartpain/guilty.
tried putting xandall to sleep early, coz could see that he was very tired, only had an hour's worth of nap in the daytime due to CNY vistings today...while he was tossing and turning, and about to doze off, my hb went off, and that totally woked him up. got so fedup, coz has already spent 1.5 hrs coaxing him to sleep, and all went down the drain as he was now uper alert...
hb came back and we exchanged heated words, blah blah...i think xandall felt the bad vibes and like very "dong3 shi4", knew i was angry that he didnt sleep sooner, tried to bury himself into my arms so that he can quickly go to sleep *awwwwwwww* that was super sweet of him, really felt like crying at that time....
afterthat, he really tried to sleep, could see it was for my sake, dont want me to be angry....sighs...wanted to hug him and squeeze him so tight haha

Wendy
Does tobey accept it if he wakes up and ur hubby goes in to pat him to sleep? Or must it be u? Cos rylee only accepts me! She will sit up on the bed every night at around 11ish, sometimes 12am if I'm not in bed by then. She doesn't cry, only sometimes, but if I go in, I'll jus gently lay her back down, and nurse her to zzz again. But if its my hubby who goes in, she will immediately cry VERY loudly! So headache! U see lah, HOW to hv #2 like that? Can't imagine having newborn AND a toddler who accepts no one but me!