(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

LOL@yvonne 2
i dont like abt my mil is she is very kia si, and always lamenting (in a hidden sort of way) that she is super bz, just want her sons to "sai nai" her.
for eg., last week my pants splitted. so i bought them over to ask her mend for me. i know im asking a favor from her, and i wasnt rude anyway. she is an excellent seamstress, being a home economics teacher till she retired few years ago. her reply was "i try to mend lor, but got xandall leh, very difficult leh", then go on lamentinghow bz she is...wtf??!
sorry for cussing but i think she has more than enuff help. my maid does all the housework & cooking, my mil supervise only. yah lor, want her to do things she say bz, then she can say she go NTUC do marketing, ask my SIL to take care of my boy. then this time you not bz lah??!
i know taking care of our child is tough work, but those SAHM coping all ALONE how? need to do housework, need to cook, no time to bathe, pee etc etc. you have the luxury of having a maid, and SIL wat! we are more bz than u!
dont want help nevermind. i think shes those kind of weak woman who dunno how to say no. then will use the lamenting i-am-bz mode to say no in another way...really sometimes find it frustrating...

in the end i ask my own mom to mend. my mom was a seamstress before wat!~ hrmphff just that i dont see my mom regularly thats why ask my mil do...my mom mend on the spot for me...yah...i lazy to mend oso haha

sorry long post but i need to grouch too

i think wet market sure have coz my mil, my mom's wet market all have. they just take and slam the frog down onto the chopping board, the frog die on the spot. then they chop into pcs...
wah, "sa1 shen1" leh, i think go home must do a lot of praying for those hawkers heehee

I can't rem liao. Actually is egg white or egg yolk to be given after 1yo huh? I rem my MIL tried to give whole egg when he was 8-9mths. But i stopped her by showing a list of food suitable for babies below 1yo. Or you want to try egg white & egg yolk separately if Zander has not try eggs yet? Think after 1yo shld be quite safe for whole egg rite?

mylvera,
me dun expect anything in return from in-laws. Since they take care of my boy, i have to close my eyes to alot of things too. I will REN if small matters cos i don't wan to put hubby in a spot cos he also side his own mum de BUT he is reasonable la. My son recent birthday, his aunty gave $80 kiddy palace voucher but guess what, i as Mummy dun get to keep the vouchers wor, MIL keep it??? she say later we any how spend to buy ex stuff/toys which is not useful...like the playskool walker. With #2 coming along...more nonsense...no eyes ah!

EGG WHITE is more allergenic than yolk. give YOLK first... egg white to wait until after 1yo. If haven't given egg before even though now almost all past 1yo liao... then give YOLK first. wait 3 days to see any allergic reaction. After that can give white also.

Steph,

take back the voucher n give $80 cash for your son. tat's wat i did for my son ... mummy use the taka voucher while he get cash in his bank for same amt

just now i finish pumping, i set the microwave sterilizer, and the pump parts into the sink. then the pantry auntie asked me to reach up above the sink to get the small cups and stack them into the basket she was holding. when we finished the task, i turned back and saw this stupid corlick washing her coffee cup in the same sink, all the soap, coffee all running into my parts!!
AERGG!! super pissed. dont you have courtesy to check who's is that? can you take it off while i wash my cup please? or something like that? or use the adjacent sink lah!! then all my parts kena the soap and coffee, whats the point of me using child safe detergent??! i might as well use mama lemon (which some ppl does that) but i just dont like. really, no common sense one. somemore i heard she has kids too...
i had some colleagues who while i was washing halfway they just dunk the spoon into the basin. the spoon stir coffee one lor! then all the kopi splattered onto my parts, gotta wash all over again! really inconsiderate!

wow. so much abt MIL prob.
I feel very lucky that i dont have to stay with my ILs even though at times I feel that they are very good to me.

RE: Reunion dinner
Anyone has to go for 2 reunion dinner on this sun? I have an early one at 5pm with my parent's side before going over to my IL's side for dinner again. then go back to my parent's side for countdown together.
No matter what, I still prefer having reunion dinner with my parents side..keke

steph
ah, how come your MIL can *intercept* your boy's gifts ah? U can say u buy diapers fr KP.. they sell diapers, baby food etc, even maternity/ nursing wear, disposable underwear for preggie mums.

ok ok egg WHITE first...i more kia si so better go slow, no hurry, tks wendyg

i only have 1 reunion dinner at my mil side on sunday
i too prefer my own mom's prepared reunion dinner. that will be on sat nite

actually i will go ballistic if my mil keeps my son's gift...only steph so kind hearted not to kick up a fuss. thats good karma for your 2nd child steph!

Hahaha, oh my cute wendyg ;)
Preggie are like that lah... me really poor memory, almost wan to ask steph to start with egg white too. heehee ;)

Talking abt angpows, can i ask whether i can still give angpow during CNY cos my hubby's uncle which is FIL's elder brother just passed away last week. My MIL told us "no visiting & can't give ang pow" cos' belong to same family, same surname. My mum said ok for me to give my family side. Btw, i didn't attend the whole thingy cos preggy muz avoid. So who is right?

wendyg, pixie,
re: MIL *intercept* my boy's gifts
I can't remb if this is the 1st time...ang pow counted? cos last yr CNY, great grandma (hubby's grandma) gave $50 angpow to my boy for full month...guess what...MIL returned back to her mum aka Ah Ma(hubby's grandma) say we shldn't take angpow from old pple as they are not working????Got such thingy/tradition one meh?? We also gave ang pow to great grandma what? First full month ang pow also cannot accept ah? so i guess this year also NO ang pow for my boy from great grandma cos will sure kena returned by my MIL
Aiya, hubby also never say anything so what can i say?Sigh...
Oh for the KP vouchers, MIL say wanna buy umbrella stroller (backrest is net kind)...aiya, i let her be but i told her no cheap cheap one from KP, all above $90bucks! still need to top up!

Here's a tricky question. I have 3 cousins from my father's side of family. 2 of them married with kids. The eldest daughter has 2 kids and the youngest son has 1. Problem is the wife of the youngest son said she don't practice giving angbaos!!! How?? My aunty has been giving us big $24 angbaos since we were young so I have to return the favour and give her grandchildren right? I can't possibly give to my eldest cousins' kids and leave out the other one?? Or should I give a smaller angbao???

yvonne
if i were u i would still give, coz blessing right?! But i will give smaller amt as compared to others.

steph
crap la, my kids' great grandmas, grandparents all give them ang pows during first month, bday, CNY.

janbb,

den dun visit yr ILs side
jz visit yr side :p

tat's wat we are doing. we go to my grandma hse for "gathering". no red packets to b exchanged. but my hb side n my father side, we still give red packets.

steph, my hb's grandma oso give $$ to my hb and me (b4 i had xandall), and we always dont keep them.
i think reason is because grandma is not working, it is a lot of $$ (in their sense) if she packs every1 angpao...so we reject lor...not as tho we cannot take $$ from elders. my mom give me angpao, i take it what..

yvonne, give a small angpao if i were u

i have another AP qn too. my dad's bro, has 3 daughters, which means i have 3 cousins...the 1st and 3rd married. 1st cousin got kids, 3rd cousin no kids. but the middle cousin, who is wayyyyy older than me, is not married. very paiseh to give her angpao...must i still give? not married must give mah hor? but she is like way older than me leh!

nolah mei, my mom dont make dresses for sale. she sews bulk clothes kind last time

tea pot set KIV, all of us havent discuss abt it leh

haiyoh...wat say never give angpao practisc, bullcrap leh! all the angmoh's at my opic so excited abt giving angpaos, i even gave some empty packets to them somemore!

mylvera
So can be this "double standard" one ah. I told my hubby that i still give angpow at my parent's side. But he strictly say no & even check with my SIL who is also not giving at her parent's side. Hai, think i juz distribute $$ w/o angpows packet at my parent's side.

pixie
ask your mom what's the protocol for your cousin.

my grandma has been giving me ang pow since i was little girl, same $$$ amt thru the years! But now the difference is that i give her back a much BIGGER ap than what she gives me. So no worries that she will run out of cash. She gives to my kids too.

haroh, i think i will give my old old cousin bah...yi si yi si lor

janbb, your hb is non chinese thats why never give AP? or what? never heard of ppl not giving out AP before ley haha

pixie,

I thought only give to those who are younger than us. If older no need to give cos he/she is our "zhang3 bei4" mah. She not married and older than you, then you give her ang pao, to me, it's like teasing her that hor hor, you still haven't got married. Unless she is not working, then it's different story. My cousin who is not married and older than me give us angpao instead :)

qstn
Since I started working, i been giving AP to my parents and grandma. Should i start giving to my aunt? She the eldest aunt and now the boss of the kitchen. Every Sunday she will cook for family gathering, and she's especially stressed during CNY coz so many people over so many days. Hv to buy all the food, pack the fridge nicely, wash & cut up the ingredients, cook the dishes, and sommore kena from my grandma if the food is not to her liking (my grandma very good cook, but now she needs walking frame so hv to relinquish her position in the kitchen). My aunt is abt 60yr old, not married, stays with my grandma take care of her full time, put up with my grandma's "nonsense", serve her medicine, help her to shower etc.

so should i start giving ap to my aunt?

Steph
Oh ya hor, better dun visit you in this case. Lucky u remind me. I think I juz go to my parent's hse ba. Think not many plp can accept though is not close kin.

Pixie
No lah, my hb is pure cheena chinese, haha. Cos' his uncle passed away, that'y say cannot give AP this yr.

steph
Same as my mil leh, Teach my son called Ye Ye and Nai Nai. Feel so werid becos I am a cantonese, shouldnt that be used to my parent instead.

wendyg,
I will also give if I were u.

wendy, i will too coz she slog so hard...zhang bei too wat

janbb, oic, i tot wat
dont give nevermind, save $$ lor...

kam, noleh, those not married=eligible to take AP mah, no meh?

1. BP for baby cots - Inclusive of latex mattress, 100% pinewood + 7pcs bedding set

2. BP for babymallonline spree 3rd shipment

3. Desitin creamy ready stock (Only 7 pcs left!)

4. Strollers BP

5. Lansinoh milk storage bags 50pcs BP

6. Medela Breast Pumps inc Freestyle and PIS BP

Pls PM me more more info

Actually my cousin's wife also quite one kind. She don't give angbao and don't return any favours. After she gave birth, say she don't want to distribute cakes to relatives but all the relatives still gave their baby angbao and they accept. Then you know what...my poor aunty use her own money to buy bengawan solo vouchers to distribute to relatives who gave her grandchild angbao. So she's the nice mil with a nasty dil??? Don't give then don't accept from people right!?

pixiepixel,
Your cousin is same "bei fen" as you and older too so no need to give. I also don't give my cousin who's still single becos he older than me. Only need to give those younger than you eg. younger brother, younger cousins, etc.

wendyg,
I will give to your eldest aunty...yi si yi si and heng heng ah! Also considered elders mah.

yvonne
ya, dun give then dun take. Why dun u hint to her *wink*

I'm also considering giving my aunt monthly allowance coz we hv dinner there every Sunday.. she hv to cook our portion ma. So will be giving to my parents, my ILs and my aunt. Normally people dun give aunt monthly allowance right?

wendyg,
But if she's cooking dinner for you every sunday then should subsidise a bit mah especially if she's not working. Just tell her it's "mai cai" money lor.