(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

luca
the "grandpa" that u say is strong and rock tobey to sleep... that's actually my FIL and my kids see him at most once a week and he dunno how to play with them, only know how to watch TV. Many times he nearly dropped baby/ gave chunks of food and choke them. Once, he offered preserved fruit (sng buay) to my elder boy when he was 2yo. When he offers to watch 1 or both of them, i will politely decline.

ylim,
are u SAHM? Wow, yr boy very xin fu cos the mama is such a gd cook! For me, i dun use double boil unless cook bird nest nor slow cooker. I use normal claypot to cook for 2hr low heat also texture very nice & soft but i dun add so many variety to the porridge, normally is fish+potato+wolfberry+dried scallop or pork+pumpkin+wolfberry+dried scallop niah.

Yvonne,
I'll give ur method a try this weekend. Really lose confidence in cooking coz my boy sticks everything out after 2 spoonfuls. super messy and end up gotta feed him cereal. sianz!

wendy,
oh gosh! Hw old is ur FIL? Could it be the aging eyesight or brain that he doesnt know what is dangerous. Btw, Tobey looks so much like u.

wendyg,

My FIL doesn't even know how to carry his grandson, nor to play with the grandson. But then he is an old man already :-(

steph,
No lah, I'm FTWM. I don't add so many things at once, just 1 type of meat and 2 types of veg lah...haha...sorry I misled you. I only cook for my boy on weekends now...used to cook dinner on weekdays when we didn't have a baby...now simply no time unless we eat at 9pm!! But I enjoy cooking alot, maybe when my boy is older I will start cooking again. But the "man zu gan" is really great when I see my boy enjoying his meals so much and asking for more!!

babyling,

Funny how you all come up with short-forms for almost everything, and everyone seems to understand except me. But I am getting better in guessing the meaning of the short-forms :)

luca
he is abt 60yo. My dad is few yrs older than him and taking care of both my boys. FIL is lousy with kids, period. Ya we think his BRAIN got some wiring problem... offer sng buay to toddler. Never consider... full of preservatives, risk of choking etc. Complain that we don't come over often enough.. but when we're there (almost every saturday), he will be sitting on his sofa & watching TV, or go out with his kaki. He's too fat (or proud) to sit on the floor and play with his grandsons.

kam,
i learnt them from my frends via messenging. hee bad things is when writing emails or letters, tend to use short-form :p not a gd habit

wendyg....
my in laws also like tat de lei. i stay with them somemore lor. they also gt offer sng buay to Javier. make me so angry... so somehow i think they know i dun like them to anyhow give Javier food, so they stopped. end up nw they keep giving him those baby biscuits whenever he make noise.... but, which kid dun make noise.. he abit of noise only they keep saying shhhhh... shhhh...

im back!

mei, the manicure is ok...i would rate it abv avg. but im fussy about nails so some points lost along the way, but then again, it is better than a lot of nail shoppe in SG

Any disappointment, cooked pasta for my girl, actually found a slice of cheese in the fridge. Mix with tomat pasta sauce and melted the cheese and cook the baby pasta. Smells good and looks good to me. She ate first mouthful, wa her face lit up, then she ate the next 4-5 very happily. Then suddenly she poooooooooo the next mouthful out and shake her head - dont want to eat already. Still got 1 full bowl.

Steph, ur lunch really sumptious le. The pork knuckle looks really good.

Had a minor argument with my gf just now who is almost due. Seriously I was already telling her, dont want to talk about topics such as SAHM and FTWM, especially since she has not even delivered so she prob wont really get the idea yet. Plus, know her for so many years, so I know she would wanna win the argument. Sorry for venting ah, but do SAHM really look like its such a tai tai-ish job? Sorry to those FTWM, I know its tough to be working and being away from your babies too.

Yvonne,

So good that you enjoy cooking. I cooked for dinner on weekdays too before having Hao Re. But I don't enjoy cooking, but prefer the healthier meals for the family, and hubby wanted me to cook. Since I am pregnant now, most likely I will start cooking on weekdays again, have to plan well. I can't cook well either, it's all simple dishes, with lots of vege :)

Now in the evening, only give Hao Re fruits or yogurt or biscuits. Then 1 last milk feed before zzzzz. Cannot give him too much food already, if not all go to his big tummy.

angelsky, i rather be a FTWM than SAHM
so no, its not a tai tai job.
both equally tiring one lah

jess, ok, its actually 3 stops away from the technopark busstop, no.40. walk 1 min to the shop after alighting...so very convenient for me/u...

angelsky
your gf is currently working full time? Then see how during her 4 months maternity leave.. whether she goes crazy anot.

i prefer my life as a FTWM... i can't stay at home for long term taking care of them, i'll go MAD

Jess,

My FIL is 70 this year, if I am not wrong.

Angelsky,

Being a woman is tuff, be it SAHM or FTWM. Even stay as single or childless will still face lots of pressure from the family and societ......

wendy,
lucky u placed ur sons in better and safe hands. Cant imagine having ur FIL as babysitter, every sec will get heart attack hehe

Who likes inlaws anyway.. :p

babyling,
aiyo, wasteful indeed. So what are u feeding ur bb now?

luca
my MIL is fine.. she was the one who brought up her kids, even tho 3 of them were her stepchildren. Good cook, fast hands fast feet, knows how to play with them etc.
When my elder boy was ill & couldn't go to sch, we invited her to stay over at our place to take care of him for a week. No problem for her, and we could go to work with peace of mind.

Pixiepixel, wendyg, I kept telling her, I know its hard to be a FTWM away from the kids, but try 4 months maternity leave at home with no help, then we dicuss again. Its indeed tough, but you get to switch off slightly everynow and then at home, but with a kid, you are like 24/7. Then she tells me, its harder coz mummies goes to work, come back then get to play with baby and then sleep and then its work again. So I was like, you mean SAHM, shake leg at home, drink coffee and baby play alone, go to sleep on their own? No ma.

BTw, yup she is working full time now. You know what, she dont even need to watch baby at night, her baby is going to be with her in laws and she only bringing back on Sats till baby goes to primary school.

Talk about FIL, yup I saw such a FIL in my estate a while back, baby was 4 months, he was giving her prunes. My mum was talking to his wife, his wife commented, he anyhow one.

luca,
these wk, i feed her with white rice / brown rice porridge with threadfin, mee sua with egg. thking of cooking brown rice for her to try.

pixie,
wah so gd can go manicure & pamper...me sooo long (few yrs) never step into mani&padi shop liow. Now take care bb, nails cut short short.
hey, u saw my earlier post on the casio watch? u still keen?

Re: MMR jab
Today my son took the MMR and last jab of Pneumococcal. I asked the doc abt the egg, he say old school of thoughts liao, no need.

angelsky
she's thinking she will miss baby if leave with ILs.. and maybe she dun like her ILs but no choice. Aiya no point arguing la, let her go thru it and make her own decisions.

Re: Intro Egg
Can we start by introducing hard boil egg first? or scramble egg? or just the york & if no allergy then give the egg white? Apart from egg with mee sua, what else can we mix egg with to intro bb? in their porridge?

steph
intro yolk first.. hard boiled egg. No need mix with anything.. on its own also can. But u can also mix into his porridge.

wendyg
Yah lor!!! i was shocked! I tot 18 months, then PD say no need lah! Then he jabbed my son! hahaha
My PD today so zun visited my sil who just gave birth, then he told me 1st thing i walk in, tat sil gave birth liao.

steph, recession, paiseh, dont think will take the watch...
me do manicure the 1st time since i got pregnant till now leh, thats like 1 yr and 9 mths leh

wendy, not on leave lah, i went for manicure during lunchtime. grumpus's shop. near my opic mah

wendy,
no wonder ur FIL is so fat..

babyling,
i wish i have ur style, keep trying for new food.

Jess,
but its true isnt it? hehe :p

angelsky,
save ur breath arguing with ur gf, she'll know the "true colors" after she had delivered.

ylim,
Oic, i enjoy cooking too but not washing up.
When #2 start solid, i will have no excuse not to cook cos i can cook for both (#1 & #2 + hubby), 4 person is easier than to prepare for 2 pax
I wonder how my life will be when #2 is born...alot of my frds told me that they wish to be SAHM after having 2 kids. Mm...this is really a big brave step to take from FTWM to SAHM!

wendyg
I was gg to visit sil at MTE after PD (paragon). He went to see the bb this am mah, so prob he rem us, so mention lor. My sil go hops 730pm, 8pm give birth, tell me no pain, all 3 kids oso like tat, super fast and painless.

steph
my thinking is... the more kids i have, the more i need to work... need more $$$!!!
unless my husband is the type who earns like he can afford a $45,000 holiday @ French cooking school, then maybe i consider being a taitai employ maids to help me cook & do housework & chase the kids...

be FTWM is not easy, being SAHM is not easy either... doesnt mean be sahm is tai tai.

TaiTai= dun need to take care of kids and go shop everyday. haha

Mom2nat,
Your doc so advanced...Elliot took MMR early right. Are you giving him the chickenpox jab??

angelsky,
Agree, it's tough being SAHM...just as bad for FTWM. Woman got tough life man!

Kam,
I enjoy looking at recipes too...so aunty hor. I normally cook simple dishes...hao lian a bit lah (haha), I can do salmon & tofu miso soup, oyako-don (japanese chicken with srambled eggs on rice), grilled fish dory, pork chops, pastas, shepard's pie, fried rice omelette, japanese curry rice, claypot chicken rice....yummy!! I make myself hungry now.

Jess
I dunno leh, i think prob doesn't affect tat much bah. maybe you can ask your PD. Frankly hor, I never bothered abt egg yolk last time for #1 oso leh. Her french PD oso din say anything abt it, only when I come back to singapore then hear abt it!

Yvonne
I wanted to take the chicken pox jab. he say anytime from 14 months better, cos take too early, there is higher chance of catching the virus again. Hmmm...

RE: SAHM/ FWTM
SAHM not easy to be lor, not glam at all. I ask my hb take MC, he say he rather go to work, more relax, at home v siong, got so much things to do!! Haha,...

Yvonne - I'm not sure where to go yet. Still considering. My options are most likely:
1. HK Disneyland or
2. Australia - Melbourne / Perth

And I may wanna go in March coz my MIL will be away for a week and can;t look after my son so wanted to go for a short trip. But not sure whether shd or not..gosh..My main concern is more of my son's meals..what he can eat!