(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

JanBB, you mean only for childcare fees? Preschool fees can use? YOu mean we cant take out one for whatever? How come for #1, we can just withdraw the money?

Steph, not sure if its the same St james that mei is talking about, the st james is a preschool/kindy, its at dempsey road. http://sjck.org.sg/

babyling,

Go for the tour, get to know about the teachers and school, and the schedule. Then "create" some urgent questions, then go to their centre without telling them to spotcheck on them..... how their interact with the kids, etc.

angelsky,
$3K bb bonus for #1 can withdraw. For #2, $4K bb bonus also can withdraw but not $6K CDA from govt, the other $6K from self can withdraw later i think after govt paid/match $6K to bb's acct bah. We can share & use #2 bonus or CDA for #1 medical or childcare purposes.
tks for the link

Kam,
must spotcheck w/o informing them ah? Cherie Hearts still ask me to call for appoint for school tour leh? Shld i call them then?

steph,

Sure they will ask you to make appointment. During the tour, sure everything nice nice one. You still should go for the official tour, to see if you like to environment and the teachers or not. You must like it, if not drop it. After you short-listed some centres, then do the spotcheck, cos only through spotcheck, the teachers will show the "true colour" mah :)

re: cash gift and CDA $$$
>>> Hello, ask the 2nd/ 3rd time mums la.
Cash gift can withdraw... heck, i directed it into my joint expenses account.. hv to pay for diapers, confinement lady, food etc
CDA - govt will match dollar-for-dollar with whatever u deposit, capped at the stated maximum. Eg for 1st child (after 17/8/08) and 2nd child, capped at $6k each. So u deposit $6k, govt match $6k. This $$ in CDA a/c cannot anyhow withdraw to pay for diapers/ confinement lady. Only for APPROVED INSTITUTIONS eg childcare centres (includes infant care, pre-nursery, what have u), some PD/ GP clinics etc. List of AI can be found here
CDA - only OCBC/ StanChart (but pls choose OCBC). U will be given a NETS card, but cannot withdraw cash from ATM. It's for use at AI. I use it at my PD clinic. Can also apply for GIRO from the AI, eg I apply GIRO with my #1's childcare ctr so every month i dun need to issue chq for his sch fees.
CDA - can use for all your kids. Not solely for #2.

re: fees on cc website
>> usually it's before subsidy, coz diffrnt mummies entitled to diffrnt subsidy amts, eg full time working, part time working etc.

hee orh...where to chk the subidy amount entitlement?

thk have to act fast to go for tour & shortlisted centre...time is running short

angelsky,
I ordered from sweetest moment, the stuff inside was pretty okie, most people are pretty impressed with the packaging.

I realised that I was the few lucky ones ordering from PG. Although, the lady taking the order also quite bo chap attitude, but the guy who deliver was so much earlier and even called to check if it is ok. Design wise kind of like 50% wrong. The cake taste pretty nice.

My boy got angbao more than toys, just 3 toys hahaha, the rest all clothes. So I am depositing all the angbao in his own a/c.

icy, i think i very thick skin, told all my frens, no toys and no gifts. Just come and share the joy and if really pai seh, give my girl a small ang pao will do.

helP!
just posted sth in my blog but when saving halfway, it said "error" then when i go main page, i cant find the entry that i've created. but the title is there. how to delete that title??

mei,
me also having same prob with video that i've uploaded
When i go to video page, it's in draft mode & video cannot be found?!? i tried to delete also cannot?Fedup

sorry to intrude... I m a Jul08 mummy and looking to buy a Medela freestyle breast pump from US site addalittlelove.com. Need 2 more orders to go ahead w the spree. If you know of any1 who is looking to buy Medela freestyle or PIS, pls look into this link.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2081856.html?1231999787

My 1st pump is dying and I really want to get a new one from this spree!
... oh, and I am not related to the organiser of the spree, jst a really desparate mummy.

wendyg,
thanks for the link. the max subsidy is $300 for full time working mothers.

by the way, in east area, any gd childcare centre to recommend?

hi icy,

u remember which BP u bought the pooh cake topper?what is the seller's nick?

teeth
dentist mention that the baby teeth will drop,so the gap plus the baby teeth gap will be filled up by the adult teeth

mcfluffy,

so sorry to hear tt the party didnt turn out well. nevertheless, glad tt celeste had fun. I think i m also one of the lucky ones to hv PG deliver the cake on time. Haha...i have some guests like tt too....stuck to their seat n refuse to move when it is cake cutting session. So sad rite....hee hee

2096396.jpg

We celebrated Elliot's bday on sat. So tiring. I din have time to take many photos. Such a pity, cos I made so many party packs, but I din take photos of them. This is his cake and agar agar.

babyling/steph,
Personally I didn't call up the childcare centre. I just drop in unannouced and leave them no choice but to "entertain" me...haha. I took leave to visit all the centres I shortlisted. I wanted to see the children and teachers "in action"...those organised tour no use want lah. Like what Kam said, must find chance to see their true colours. That's how I came to know how horrible some cc are...kids are crying and teachers are bo-chap whereas some places are very organised, kids are running into the centres happily, etc. I have already made up my mind which cc to send my boy so every now and then when we are in that area, me or hubby will go and see see look look to spot-check...hehe. So far my hubby also very pleased with the cc since he saw the kids there and find them generally well-behaved and happy.

yvonne,

Totally agree! And that's what my hubby observed. Look at the face of the kids, they should be happy. If you don't see that, meaning there are either something wrong with the teachers or something wrong witht their schedule/curriculum. And we actually saw that in one of the cc, all kids looked stone, blur blur look, no laughter, and no smile on their face, teacher also sian-sian like that.

Kam/Wendy,
Back to our fresh milk vs formula topic. Brought my boy for jab yesterday, PD said I can switch to fresh milk totally, no problem at all. She said she doesn't believe in all those AA, DHA, etc in the formula lah...haha. The only thing she recommends is fish oil as we do not eat enough fish unless we're eskimos...hehe. She said I can just give Scotts Cod Liver Oil or any other brand but have to watch out for the mercury content so it's good to compare a few brands. She doesn't recommend multi-vits or vit C, etc as it's better to get these from vegetables/fruits. Also said it's ok to start table food (of course it does not include fries and junk food) if it's appropriate but shouldn't give anything too sweet/salty otherwise we'll be the ones who regret.

I also asked about all those talk on MMR causing autism. Most of our babies are scheduled for MMR at 15 months mah. She said it's not medically proven and MMR is a safe vaccination. Since MMR is usually taken between 15-18 mths and autism is not diagnosed before 2 years old, that's probably where they drew the link. But she said the doctor or whoever who came up with this theory nearly went to jail becos it caused such an uproar in UK that parents refused to send their kids for MMR jab which lead to a measles outbreak. Anyway, she said if we ask any doctor this question, they will tell you that they send their kids for the MMR jab as well so there's really no medical prove of this.

VioletIce,
Eehhh, no definite answer for your question leh. Even if a brand of childcare is good, you will also have to see if the teachers in that particular franchise/centre is good eg. teachers in Hougang branch good does not mean teachers in the Punggol branch are just as good. There's really no choice but to spend some time to explore and find out on your own. It's worth it lah, spend some time to select a centre you're really comfortable with and spare yourself the agony of looking for another centre later on.

My hubby also say I very kiasu but now he sees my point of view and understands why I'm doing all these. He used to think that all centres are the same...duh.

<font color="0000ff">Yvonne,</font>

Understand what you mean but is there any type which is good. For example, Cheri Hearts, Montessori etc?

VioletIce,
Eehhh, again depends on what type of curriculum you want your kid to learn. There're pros and cons for different cirriculums so you have to decide what's more important for you or rather what you child enjoys most. Based on my experience, most cc will give you a brief outline of their centre's cirriculum and time-table when you visit them but these information are usually not available online.

Yvonne,

Thanks for sharing the info from your PD. So you decided to switch your child to fresh milk + fish oil? I never heard about the MMR links to autism story though. Thanks for sharing.

VioletIce/babyling:

hehe..... no shortcut here leh. You have to go and look for yourself. The style of the teaching, ie whether montessori or not, it's up to your personal choice and whether you believe in that philosophy. And what is your intention for you to put your kid at cc - play, learn, study? I never wish my boy to be a little Enistein, so as long as he is happy, the teachers take good care of him, and he is learning through play, that's okay for me. Better don't need to attend classes type, just play play and play.

Another hint is to look at the turn-over rate of the teachers.

agree with yvonne.
to hb, he feels that all child care same. child care = child care lor.

mom2nat,
very nice cake agar agar! any problem with the agar agar bakery? what party packs u made?

pixie,
how? wan buy my tea set boh? my dad said SELL. haha. let me know so that i can pass to u by this wkend.

Kam,
I will introduce fresh milk after finishing all the formula...bought alot during promotion...haha. But not sure if in-laws are keen on the switch. Will also look around and compare the fish oil. This is something which I wanted to introduce but wanted to ask PD for opinion first.

VioletIce,
Me too...*pengz*...where got perfect answer one?? hehe...unless I own the cc then I can tell you which one is the best.

itz been a long time since i last posted...

I'm v buzi wif 2 bosses, e current and e new boss..

As for childcare centre..
I'm gotta search and start visiting aft e CNY..
"IF" i'm not workin wen he's 18mths then will drive him to school daily..

babyling,

drop by the cc again 1-2 months later.

Yes, how I wish I own my own cc, so that I am still working, earning $$ and to be with my kids, and fulfilling my dream :)

try to visit a childcare in the morning cos that's when the teaching etc takes place

afternoon is nap time

but if go suddenly, it may disrupt them teaching the children etc lor

violetice,
why stressed? ask urself what u want to look for in cc. do a checklist. think what u want ur prince to learn? ask ard ur family members if ur nephews/nieces attended any cc. ask ard for opinions/feedback. u can also go to the cc ard gg home time to ask feedback from the parents when they come pickup the kids.

most impt, what ur motive? priority? list down ur rankings, eg. environment, learning activities, ratio, school fees, distance etc. list them down and u will see better.

initially i wanted to put my elder somewhere futher from home but after thinking over abt logistics, i changed mind and placed her at void deck. else it's a rush every am and evening to send her and back from sch. also if she fall sick, someone has to go pick her back from sch fast/immediate. who is that someone? have to think lor.

list down and discuss. not only with ur hb but with ur caregiver, if ur caregiver is the one sending/picking child up.