(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam
if made appt, maybe wait abt 10-15min. Must also choose the best appt time. I aim for the first afternoon slot, so that morning delays won't affect me, and i'm the first patient when they re-open after lunch. Yes i think they hv Saturday clinic. U can call them to make enquiries abt the price package. Forgot liao, but it's standard price. No one says Joycelyn Wong is expensive. And she knows i'm a bleddy cheapskate mum... i buy my own multi-vits from outside, so they hv no chance to charge me mark-up rates for their folic/ calcium/ obimin etc. and i only do the absolute necessary blood tests.. i skipped Oscar.

WK Tan... doesn't accept appointment bookings right? Hv to walk in and wait?

kam: congrats!
it is a gd piece of news for 2009

evening
ah, he bite u until bleed ah?! My baby sometimes clamp b4 sucking, but not on purpose... eyes closed, he's falling asleep & rooting & will anyhow clamp. but he dun use his teeth to clamp.. i think he folds his lips over his teeth and clamp. but when he suck it's ok la.
mine still latch on to sleep, but most day time & night feed he takes bottle coz i work.

mylife
u say not fair to Rylee.. but how abt #2? It's never fair to #2 coz he/she gotto share attn with jiejie even before born. Plan your logistics a bit, then go for it la. clock ticking hor...

congrats to Kam ! advisable to go back to the same gynae if the gynae is good and also it has ur records despite the long waiting time
for my gynae, the waiting time is also very long but gd thing is that he is a good gynae, so worth waiting

wendyg,

All the 3 links you posted said equally, if not more, good things about my gynae leh. Decision will be on the waiting time and $$...... hubby said leave it to me.

VioletIce,

Me not going to the CNY walk-in. Hubby say no, still, so I won't go.

Blessedbaby,

Jia you! The #8 slot on the list of Jan08mummies pregnant with #2/#3 compiled by steph is reserved for you!!!

Aqua/babyling,

Wendyg,

Dr Tan must make appointment. But still have to wait long long...... cos she has lots of patients, so usually lots of delay due to emergency operations/cases.

kam
oh have ah!? ok la, up to u. Husband and I dun like to wait.. so 2nd doc is much appreciated. 1st doc (Yvonne Soong) hv to wait long long even after made appt. Waste of time and $$ coz of CARPARK!

KAM CONGRATS!!!!!! Wa, actually looking at the # of mummies we have in Jan 08, now got 8 preggie means very productive le. kekeke.

JanBB, i drank coffee for my #1, but once in a few days, got craving le. She abit light also, but dont know if is my MS or the coffee. But you think about it, you delivered at 36 weeks le, if at 40, he will be heavier.

Went for OSCAR today, so far result ok ba, need to wait for blood test results to come back, no gender yet, and I LOST WEIGHT. PENGS!!!!

re: coffee & low birthweight
>> are they talking abt those coffee like starbucks? I think ang mo coffee has more caffeine than our local kopitiam coffee (haha just trying my luck)?? For the record, i drank 1 cup of kopi daily (weekdays) for both my pregnancies & my boys were *heavy* at birth hor. 3.5kg @ 37.5wk & 4.5kg @ 41 wk. And my elder boy is very FAIR.. and husband says my younger boy looks like girl.. means fair also ??

KAM CONGRATS
the thread moved so fast coz of you leh heehee

yes, i agreed with wendy, Dr Joycelyn Wong @ TMC is good. good reviews from many mummies in SMH. another one is my gynae, Dr Eunice Chua from TLC @ TMC, TLC and ACJ clinic is just beside each other. Both clinics always full house, 1 coz of Dr Wong, another coz of Dr Chua....
Dr Chua delivered my baby, and my sister's 2 babies....so 3 babies in my family under her liao...she has 5 kids (!!!) and is pro bfding and pro-having-more-babies. keep asking you to sheng, sheng, sheng!

i think both Drs must wait equally long but i enjoy my wait in the clinic most of the time...its like a rest from my hectic lifestyle. can stone there blah blah...

wendyg,
Same here, I didn't drink much milk or soy bean cos gotta control my weight but continue with my coffee, my boy also heavy and very fair. My conculsion again...it's in the genes!

re: coffee & low birth weight

Think not related right? I drank coffee for both preg too. #1 @ 3.58kg n #2 @ 2.48kg. both Fair and even being mistaken for gals. hair alot too ;)

Kam,
You're already 8 weeks into your pregnancy and showing no signs of ms?? Any ms for your #1?? If no then probably it's a boy again! Usually same symptoms means same sex right? Cos most people I know experience different symptoms for different sex babies...

Pixie,
ai, of course they ask u to sheng sheng sheng... so that they can earn earn earn $$$$$$$$.

ACJ clinic many patients waiting, but no need to wait long unless emergency case holds the doc up. I'm usually in the doc room abt 10-15min after i reach. Previous doc, sofa uncomfortable, wait until ran out of magazines to read, coz she likes to chitchat to her patients la... talk talk talk.. take long time.

i think the other 2 docs in ACJ are also very good, so they hv good business.

Kam, most definitely in terms of waiting time and $$, ACJ will hv advantage. Maybe u wanna consider other factors, like age of gynae? Joycelyn Wong has 2 preschoolers i think.. so maybe she is late 30s or early 40s. She was from KKH, then came over to TMC.

Kam,
My gynae, A L Lim also in his 60s (I think) but he doesn't even look close to it! Imagine my cousin who is 21 this year was delivered by him. I think experience really matters and must pick someone you're comfortable with.

Wendyg,
My gynae will give me free folic acid, obimin, etc. He also encourages lots of bed rest so if I want mc can just go to him...no questions asked! He will say "I give you 1 week enough??". He only charges me about $35-$45 for consultation and usually comes with free vits. My mum, aunts, sis and I are all his loyal supporters...just that waiting time can kill if we're going for normal pap smear. But preggy have priority so waiting time is usually 30mins to 1 hr if we make appointment.

babyling,
I don't mean no ms is gal. What I'm trying to say is if symptoms for #2 are similar to #1 then probably is same sex baby. But of course everyone have different symptoms when preggy lah.

Anglesky, pixie,

Yvonne,

Yup, no MS. For my #1, also no MS, very smooth pregnancy :) But the "symptom" not the same. When with #1, the 1st month I have very sore nipple and "enlarged" breast..... This one like feeling nothing unusual, as of now.

Wendyg,

Called ACJ clinics. Earliest apt with Dr Joycelyn Wong will be in Feb leh..... but I want to see one before I go back for CNY, so that I can confirm how many months I am at now.

yvonne
ya my doc also keep offering to give me MC, but i tell her NO NEED coz there's nothing wrong with me. my offc give me time-off for checkup, after the checkup i go back to work.

my office never give me time off one...must take annual leave *puiz* so i hoped for MC (bed rest) all the time when i was preggie...
diff company diff policy

pixiepixel,
My gynae also in TMC.

Kam,
Oooooh, feeling slightly different from #1, then your hubby still got chance of getting a daughter this time round...haha.

wendyg,
I also paiseh to take mc but it came in handy when I came down with a bad case of flu & cough. Co. doc only gave 2 days but becos medication given was so mild, it took forever to recover so my gynae "top-up" my mc for a week to let me rest and recover properly.

hor. i didn't fall sick when i was preggie... i don't remember if i did, but i dun think so. my ex-boss asked me why i'm not like other preggies who look pale & take a lot of MC, coz that's what happened to his other preggie colleagues. Everyone in the offc thought i was just getting FAT as usual.

wendyg,

my co. doesn't allow time-off to see gynae. They actually said I shouldn't take mc to see gynae also, should use annual leave. But I argued with them. Why an official mc slip issued by a registered gynae cannot be accepted? Then I challenged her to bring this issue up to her boss, the Director of HR, then she kept quiet and approved my mc. I usually asked for 0.5 day mc when I went for my routine check-up.

wendy, same
i think we both are big built, and have heavy babies, so hardly can get sick - no flu, no headaches, no cough, no fever etc (apart from my MS lah). still can run and chase bus, still can go to warehouse and check goods, still can jog, still can ML *wink*...
but hor, at the end of the day, my feet bore the brunt of the activities in the day, became elephant legs. my shoe all kena ripped apart by my water retention, hehe

pixie
i not big built, i'm just fat. hahahaha.
ya i think i still chase bus when i was preggie ley.
But i hv my fair share of migraine... so cannot get stressed!!!!
my feet didn't swell for 2nd pregnancy coz i kept them at knee level when i sat @ desk, rest on my CPU.
I didn't hv much nausea.. just lots of gas in stomach & discomfort lor. but can still work la.

Kam
my company dun hv such thing as half-day MC. I can save so many days MC if they allow!!!

poppin' in again.

CONGRATS KAM!!!!

Btw, where to fill balloons with helium ah? I remember someone compiled a list. Woodlands got right? TOmorrow my gal's bdae party. So many things not done!

wendy
nolah, you are tall, so looked a bit big sized...i think we ard the same height, no?
hey i rested my legs on the CPU too but i still got swollen feet/ankles. maybe walked too much...

very full from lunch, went T2...

I called the clinic. They advise me to see my gynae only after CNY. Cos I tested negative in late Dec, and only tested +ve today, though my last menses was in mid-late Nov. So might be still in very early pregnancy, and might not be able to see the baby yet.

Wendyg,

Agreed. At least ACJ is cheaper and shorter waiting time. May go for Dr J W for my 1st check up, to "test" if I like her. Then I can decide from there.

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

Everything in moderation bah. =p

<font color="0000ff">Yvonne,</font>

I think a cup a day is fine, just not excessive bah.

<font color="0000ff">Cheryl,</font>

Maybe you need longer period to take that medication. My menses also not regular.
You should start taking folic acid if you plan to have #2. At least for 2 months in advance.

<font color="0000ff">Kam,</font>

No worries lah, you can take more photos when your #2 comes out! =p

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

My Aunt used this to calculate for us all, she said "zun" except for one cousin.

I don't know conception date? =p

Kam,congrats. I have 2 female gynae whom I see them at KKH before went to TMC. Yvonne Soong and Sim Lee Ngor. Yvonne Soong delivered my girl when I am at KKH. Good gynae. Sim Lee Ngor half way go TMC then I didn't follow her there.

pixie
i'm 1.6m. not tall la.

Kam
i arranged for my first appt to be Wk 8 or Wk 10, straightaway can see heartbeat. The clinic asst said VERY GOOD. Learnt my lesson from 1st pregnancy.. go too early can't see anything and having to wait for next checkup was just *torture*. And waste $$ and waste time.

violetIce,

that's the problem with "unplan". I didn't take any folate acid pills. Poured in lots of caffeine and soft drinks and green tea..... Now have to diligently take in the Obimin pills and cut all the not-so-good drinks and go for a healthier diet.

wendyg,

Agree! Dr WK Tan doesn't see patients who is less than 8 weeks pregnant. But for my case, it's confusing, cos didn't know when which date did I conceived leh..... If go too early, really waste $ and waste time only lor.

Kam
then dun go so early lor. in the meantime u just take care &amp; rest if any spotting or whatever. and to be on safe side, try not to carry Hao Re.

ylim,
hee understood
ya i agreed with u that every pregnancy will have different experience
as long the journey is smooth &amp; mst impt bb is healthy. that is what mothers do want for ;)