(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mylife,

Wha, u still have time to read books on babies. I dun even have the time lor. After wk go home is already so tired. By the way i think i should start reading now. Any books to recommend... I always tend to lose temper when Javin is cranky.

babe,

I am interested in the Little neurotree trial class. can provide me with more details? like the date and time? can my nephew who is 20 mths join in too?

angelsky
ah, u young child they serve u kopi already?
i started drinking kopi @ 8yo.. i see my granny drink, i also poured a cup for myself & put some condensed milk. No one stopped me wor...
and i liked to lick the condensed milk.. hee hee

babe
I am also interested? when do u intend to go? If possible, I prefer after CNY, cos now busy with CNY preparation and baby first birthday.

mylife,
Xavier changed a lot ah? he lose a lot of baby fats after falling sick for 1 week.

Re: Maid

angelsky,
You've got mail
click to accept invitation to view my blog!
To employ maid ah...i also thot abt it but hubby dun like the idea. So far, my PIL didn't voice out anything cos now both take care #1, still relax but i wonder if #2 comes along...can they really cope? I am still wondering how my confinement will be since MIL volunteer to do for me. Lucky i suggest to cater confinement meals & MIL also agree to the plan. I wonder during confinement how? at nite, who take care #1...me or MIL or i take care #2 & #1 sleep with MIL?Sigh...

Jacelyn,
by the way, what is the process to employ maid ah? Just walk to agency & select on the spot or from photo/bio-data? Maid also got many types...some specialize in taking care of babies, some old folks, some is just domestic hsework & cook nia right? but same salary hor.

shannonbaby, babe, my girl starting class this thurs there, but we are at the toa payoh branch. If anyone next time need referral, tell me k.

steph, i tot about even going for 2 months confinement le, if I can managed to find a reasonable one, but well, sometimes this is dream only. My mum says if they all go out and only left me and #1 and #2 home, since hubbie not around, then how am I going to manage if both cry and wanna eat at the same time, since by then #2 only 1.5 years. She say I sure feng diao. But I tot sometimes my #1 cry its becoz they are pampered and spoil her by carrying her all the time when she young since first grandchild, now all bored already, but she already so used to all the attention of coz will fuss la.

Agreed that times have really change...

i also provide my MIL with maid ( we stayed with them and also my 2 single younger sisters in law, bo bian becos my hubby only son)

I felt all okie to provide the maid for her so she can laid back abit but i am not happy when the rest of the family complained abt the maid...machiam i own them like that when they did not fork out a single cents...I always hear ppl complain abt monstor MIL but mine is really a nice lady which i dun mind to stay with.

it is just those single, unwed & childish inmature sis in laws can really be a nitemare....

jacelyn,
i've bot mickey candle. the figurines hor, can i just place on the cake myself? cos' hb have a cake in mind le.

banner i no need cos' no place to hang.

where to collect from u?

angelsky,
u getting CL ah? 2mths confinement..28days or 40days? Wah...so long leh...the food & red dates tea also drink until sian. So u going to follow strict confinement rules, no bath only sponge with herbs? My first confinement only 28days but i continue drinking red dates tea until 32days i kena sore throat & fever cos too heaty liao. I think 28days is enuff for me. Now only scare if #2 cry at nite for milk, will wake #1 up anot? Then if #1 cry/fuss, will disturb #2 anot? Now, #1 still co-sleep with me/MIL so i scare later he need either of us to go to bed la.

For newborn baby, izit feed on demand at nite if latch on? How often ah? That time for Zander i latch him every 2hourly at nite but for 1 wk only. I am thinking of doing full latch on at nite for #2...wonder if xiong anot?

<font color="0000ff">Kam,</font>

I know what you mean about cherishing and treasuring each moments for it will never be the same but sad to say, my lack of patience has never been my virtue. In fact, I'm pretty hot-headed and stubborn and "mellow" down only very very recently. Haha!

<font color="0000ff">pixiepixel,</font>

Yup, that's what Ian is doing. "Ngeh See" do things when I told him not to, warned him not to, smack him not to until I want to pull my hair out. Or his hair. LOL!

<font color="0000ff">mylife,</font>

I think I seriously need the book. Once you let me know, I'll go source for it. To keep my sanity.

wendyg, my parents very happening one, lots of friends and lots of church activities.

steph, yup confirm getting, i had one last time, now i wished i let her do more stuff and i rest more, so learn lesson now, this time i wanna do nothing at all :p frankly speaking, i like the food and the red date drink le, actually normally i like to drink such herbal stuff and eat sourish stuff, so piece of cake for me. I dont follow strict confinement rule, i still bath and wash my hair, but this time i will try to bath less and wash my hair less, coz really got some truth, coz after that my health did suffer slightly and to recuperate is really not easy, money spending too. Mainly wanna consider getting longer so that got more help at home, but see how, not cheap.

Last time, i latch, then after a while too siong, I actually pump more than latch. Day time, I will latch and then next hour i will pump and then latch and then pump, quite siong, but then can slowly build up the milk flow and milk storage. Then at night I pump before I sleep, then when I wake up, pump again. LC say too tired, also wont have good flow, so she suggested I just sleep well at night and then pump more regularly during the day time. So my day time is very siong one, like cow like that.

Mylife,

Agreed. There must be a reason, when our child behaved strangely, either visible or invisible to us parents. And yes, Hao Re is learning a lot of things, very fast and very keen to learn thing. I think he might start to talk very soon too. And also learning other motor skill like climbing, dancing, throwing a ball, kicking a ball, stacking blocks, putting block into the right shape and colour, it's the very important learning stage for him indeed.

What I was trying to say was it didn't bother me much that he was changing his behaviour, I just keep an eye on him and let him lead the way he wanted to head to. Some more for the last time, it was his teachers who was suffering, not me :) I am a super relax mum.

pixiepixel, violetlce, same with gwyneth, that day I told her not to throw her pillow on the floor, if she does it I will smack her, she grin at me and threw it on the floor, I really explode man, smack her tighs and told her the same thing and then can tell she look a bit shock but she still did it again and again and again, so each time she did it, i smack her. ANGRY.

pixel
dunno leh.. i guess when yueniang adopt the son, she maybe very young bah.. u know pple back then marry young one wor... so not surprisingly the son is 60-70yrs old and the mother is 80-90yrs old? so both look like lao ah pei and ah ma loh.

mei,
it's robert zhang son cos initially hb &amp; i r still guessing whether the son will turn up to be the angmoh one or robert zhang. but saw robert zhang offer joss stick so confirm is robert zhang son loh.. :p

mtb #2
any recommendations of confinement food?? i will be going for confinement food.. also getting a maid too cos my mum say she cannot handle 2 kids so bopian... my 2009 expenditure will go up.

superbee, its 2009 and beyond expenditure that will go up.

Forgive me for being sua ku, for the baby bonus, how much does #2 get? How does the dollar matching works?

abt whether to hire maid
i just think 1 person cannot take care of both #1 &amp; #2. if no need cook, wash, clean at all, still can mian qiang, but if bb cry, #1 oso need to eat etc, sure luan one leh...unless is PIL, then i think should be able to cope (barely maybe?)
maid's costs is the same as childcare costs is the same as nanny costs (works out to be more or less the same amount), this is bo bian $$ one...

superbee, exactly! both yueniang and lobert zhang's son looks as old as each other, how could it be??

angelsky, maid got govt subsidy if you have kids, so that part can save a bit of $$

hi all! long time never post. heehee... but those who are on facebook can see my Kaelyn growing day by day!

Can I check, how do u stop your breastmilk supply? mine is very little now... like at most 150ml every 12 hours. But i wanna stop leh. I tried cabbage, but doesnt work.

Mylife
Agreed there is always a reason for a baby behaves differently. My gal since last week, she has got separation thingly returned again. For me, I understand, as i am a SAHM. ;) My gal probably well know that everybody else come and go, but only mummy (me) will constantly stay with her, that's why she become more sensitive if I am away from her for a while. For the past weeks, my relatives came to visit us, one by one go away after a week, after that even her daddy (my hubby) goes away.. So she has a reason to cling onto me. ;)
I think this is a phrase, so it will go off soon.

Kam, my baby can dance VERY WELL. she can even make her own sounds and dance! She can dance when she sits, when she stands, and when she crawls. LOL

She not yet can walk well, but now are learning to walk up the staircases. Everyday, at least 2-3 times. She wants to tired me out.

Being a mum is not easy huh??

Mylife, can give me more details on the book? I am interested to know. ;)) Thanks in advance,

angelsky
ah, like that u're teaching your girl abt cause &amp; effect.. cause: throw pillow on the floor. effect: mummy smack me. She doesn't know that mummy smacking her means she's being naughty &amp; she gotto stop the bad behaviour.

My baby gets upset and cries when we use stern tone of voice plus stern look at him. Try it?

Oh my gal s down with coughing and running nose too due to teething. This is the 1st time in first year that she has this kind of thing. ;)
Can I check if I can still bring her for vaccination huh? Will the dr still give her the jabs if her coughing and running nose is still there?

blessedbaby
no i don't think doc will proceed with the vaccination if she's unwell. can delay a bit nvrmind la.
btw, teething dun cause runny nose/ cough. May cause slight fever, if anything.

nexyanne
lengthen the pumping intervals.. if now is 12hr, try 15hr, then 18hr, etc. your brain will get the msg to produce less milk &amp; eventually stop. If stop already don't go &amp; pump anymore to see if there's sommore milk. once the boobies are empty, the brain will get the signal to make more milk....

hi, my gal had been sick on off. LS. now so thin... going 1yr old on 24jan. but will celebrate on 12jan is her chinese bday. only simple celebrate. buy a cake let her cut. got any gd cake can recomm to me. thks

Blessedbaby,

Hao Re's PD said can't give jab when the child is sick. Have to be totally clear of the sickness for at least 1 week, 2 weeks is better. He said vacination can wait. If still give jab when baby is sick, may make the child more sick.

Climbing up the stairs - I am SOOOOO glad I have moved out of the double-storey house. Else, Hao Re will definitely be the same like you gal, going up and down several times a day. Now when we open the door, we must quickily block him, otherwise the next minutes, he already stands in front of the stairs and ready to go up/down!

wendyg,

I've tried at longer intervals, but I develop a fever and was sick for like 1 week... sigh...

Oh, any infant care to recommend near pasir ris? I stay at whitewater. thinking of sending my baby to infant sch now.

Steph,for me all the way is latch on at nite. Starting I will sit up and carry him. As time goes, I use lay down method. Both of us can sleep.

My baby is very bad temper. That day I didn't hold him properly then he fell. He cried for a while after that he scold me. Whenever we took the things away from him he start to scold and force his face until very red.

nexyanne
hum.. if u extend for 1hr each time shld be ok right? eg intervals at 12hr, 13hr, 14hr etc

maureen
wah how your baby scold u ah!!! that will be interesting to watch!

Maureen
hahaha. now my son oso got temper.
My maid ask him off the aircon, so he press press my maid went to press harder and off, he YELL and scream we tot wat happen, cry lor. So to pacify him, let him press again, and he was happy there after!!!

Oh now oso pretend to cry, he goes Ahhhh.... mouth open... Ahhh....

wendyg, i know, but that day i really buay tahan already, wanna explode. i used the very stern and angry face and even say no very firmly, she laugh at me le.

about separation anxiety, really cannot say things too early, just now, i wanted to go toilet she cry, end up i got to carry her to my room while i use the toilet. then my mum went to her to room and rest and before that she told my girl she will come back and play with her after keeping her stuff, end up she sneak off to her room, my girl realised my mum's room door closed, she stood outside and cry for a long long time. now really a little bit we dont do things her way, she will cry like kenna torture. until mucus also flow from nose, eyes super red, sob sob sob.

steph, thanks for the link, must read a while then can understand, that means all in all, they get 16k, wow, quite a fair bit, just nice for pre school.

nexyanne, i am in the midst of stopping now, also stretching hour by hour like what wendy said, it works for me tho

angelsky, same!! my boy also mucus flow from nose, fat tears, eyes super red, sob sob kind.

actually they cant talk to express how they feel so they use crying/shouting/whining to express their frustrations/anger/sadness. hence, to us, they may seemed like crying all the time but it is just their way of telling us what is on their mind. i always use this analogy to tell myself to "ren", and dont flare up everytime my boy cries
we adults can talk thats why we dont cry as much because we can tell each other "i am angry", "i am sad" etc etc. babies cant...they very poor thing oso leh...

Wow, so many 1st birthday celebration for our babies. I just held my girl's birthday bash on 27 dec at pasir ris. Great success n i got lotsa compliments from friends and relative. But dont think i wanna do it again...too much work. Here is the birthday cake n agar agar elmo. It is really tasty n I m glad tt the cake turns out to be nicely decorated.

2050900.jpg
2050901.jpg

Maybe we should all meet and let these clingy, wailing babies hang out with each other! Let them communicate, bawl themselves out since they can probably understand each other better than we do! Like self help group!

nexyanne,
Maybe u can also pump lesser in qty. Don't empty your breasts using the same interval first, then like what wendy mentioned, slowly cut by hr. I took ard 3-4 weeks to drop.

RE: Stop Milk Flow

I've stopped breastfeeding since baby turned 6 months. Just went for Pap Smear check and breasts check and gynae said I still have breastmilk! Now he gave me 2 mini tablets to stop the milk production! It costs $60!! Should I take it? Heard it's not good to take such pills.

elmo78
YOu got the cake from PG? I wanna do a sesame street theme oso, but dun wanna spend too much, I ordered agar agar oso, Hoho...

Elmo,
Nice cake..got agar agar want meh? Should have order then..less creamy. I must say their cakes are good. I ate my leftover lychee martini yesterday still tastes good considering the fact that cake was from last Wednesday. Was still soft and spongy.

Mei, Pixel and Superbee,
Yueniang said that she miscarriaged twice. That's why adopt Robert Zhang's son. She mentioned it towards the end like almost on her death bed.

Kam and Blessedbaby,
Zach can shake his butt to pop music..Eversince his brother showed him how to dance to the song "I gotta move it, move it" (Magdagarscar). Can imagine him telling me he going to Zouk out on 31 Dec next time to celebrate his birthday!

Mom2nat,
When is ur boy's birthday? Still at planning stage?

blackbatz
My boy's party is on 17jan sat, his actual day. I haven't even ordered the cake. In a dilemma, dunno wan to get a cake i like to eat, design not kiddy kind. Or buy those nice kiddy cakes. Haven't ordered my balloons yet. Sigh, I super busy lah, cos i have some album I am doing deadline tmrw. Chia lat, if can't finish, my hb will grumble liao.

Mom2nat,
U doing the photo journal?..Takes time le..Sending to HP to print? I'm also doing mine but now school reopens, will take me forever liao.

Aqua,
No problem.

i'm from the feb08 thread, hope you ladies don't mind me asking about birthday cakes...

Hi Mom2nat,
Can i know which cake shop does PG stand for?

Hi blackbatz,
Can i know where you ordered your cake from -- is it the PG shop?

Thanks so much!