(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Blackbatz, ya lor, can't even remember the number of times I've asked myelf, "Why me?" lor. The LC did say that I may kenna again cos I kept pumping in Shanghai to clear but once back to Sg, look after baby plus working, can only latch but no time to pump. Kept on feeding my baby the painful side using modified football hold, now lump seems to be better, keeping fingers and toes crossed now. Well, I console myself lor, even though my BF career will not be the longest, at least I can answer to myself that I really tried my best.

Really ah, I thought the Mylar 18" balloons at $3.90 each cos it's Pooh design, then plus $2.50 for pumping, add up also $6.40, not much different from buying directly from shop leh. :p

It's a torture !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tate has been very cranky for past 1 week ! I have problem coaxing him to sleep every night ! Whenever time for bed which is ard 10pm, we'll put him down in his cot and off the lights. He will roll about for 5 mins and started crying loudly ! I got to carry him awhile, put him down and the crying start all over again !

So last nite we put him down to sleep in our bed and he sleep soundly after 10mins ! Today we tried but the trick doesnt work twice !!!!! I'm going crazy and I've thrown in the towel.. He's still wailing in the room and crawling abt with my maid looking after him ! It's been 1hr since he went into the room and he's still wanting to play ! I can hear him banging the door and playing by himself now. I'm gg to ignore him! I'm really v v v tired... :p

When will this be over for us.... sob sob...

violetice
i read somewhere that our babies now are starting to develop their own personality. And discovering their emotions. So when they encounter things that they dont like, it's likely more easier for them to have a meltdown and cry becos they dunno how to handle the emotions they're feeling. It's a form of maturity development as well. As parents, i guess we have to "lun" and keep calm and acknowledge their emotions (without giving in to them?) Perhaps ask the more experienced mommies here?

Chaye
HUGZ. It's a phase bah. I know how it feels like cos last 2 weeks, occasionally, Rylee will wakeup around either 2ish or 4ish and then just wan to practice standing on the bed unassisted or babble. It's kinda cute but at that hour, definitely not. At least Tate is doing it BEFORE u all zzz, try encountering at halfway thru your zzz and having to keep pulling him down. Anyway, my point is, look on the positive side. And relax. If he sleeps, he sleeps. But dont close door and ignore him lah. Perhaps, the more u ignore, the more he wants u leh? Did u set a bedtime routine for him prior to putting him to sleep? Try doing that if u havent? If u have tried everything and still like that, then just dim or switch off lights but stay with him inside the room, let him roll around until he's sleepy lo. Maybe it's jus a phase...pay attention recently if he's trying to learn something new? Cos i know babies this age is going thru a major physical development (walking, standing etc) and everytime they go thru this, they will be restless. Now Rylee gets better liao. I have some good night rest, dunno when the phases will come again..

Superbee
Didnt know u're preggie too! CONGRATS!

How come u all didnt add Crystal into the preggie list?

Icy
Xavier look so different from the last time i saw him!

By the way, wendy, mei, violetice
At least you all can tell your babies fake cry hor, mine ah, sometimes ah, play with something she's not supp to, takeaway only, will REALLY cry loudly with BIG FAT TEARS one leh. Not keng one ok. Really cry so cham machiam like she kena abandoned!!! So ke lian like dat.

wow, the thread is going so fast...just started work at my new place and meeting after meetings..I'm so tired...hardly even keep myself awake to do work or come onto forum...haven't even start the full flow of teaching and feel so siong already..

Little neurotree
Hey, any mommies wanna join me for trial for 9am class? Need min of 2 babies to start class. Paradiz centre just started new school and offering 3 free trial class. Now am scheduled for 3.30pm but timing not ideal for me. Want to pack lessons in morn so if can have lesson at 9am for my boy and then later go off for music for my gal at 11.30am would best so can go hm rest or have other activities in afternoon.
Refer to website for their programme. Abit similar to shinchida. http://littleneurotree.com/

<font color="aa00aa">Morning Mummies,

Thinking of going Pagoda Street to buy those "CNY" clothing for Ian. Any suggestios?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mylife,</font>

I am "lun-ing" definitely! Wanted to smack his butt several times but tried to restrain myself. Sometimes when I do smacked him, he will cry until very "ke lian", eyes reddening, tears welling, etc, machaim "Little Drama King!"

Funny thing is, even though I smacked him, he'll still want me to carry him, when Hubby or my sis tried to console him, he's inconsolable, he'll looked my way. If I still don't smile or looked stern, he will go into another bout of wailing until I carry him!

Sometimes, I really think it's a battle of wits and will!

And he's only ONE year old! My god!!!!!!!

hi all.. gd morning.

ya, my boy is also having alot of pattern nwadays. he knws how to get his way around liao. cry or shout for the things he want. not happy then give those 'so poor thing' face. at night also hard to coax him to slp. nw i can only put his head on my lap and then let him watch tv until he fall aslp himself....

tomorrow my hubby going for 2 weeks reservist liao. i duno wat is going to happen to me .... faintzz...

VioletIce,

Hang on there! Hao Re was behaving very strangely at school a month ago. It took him about 3 weeks to get back to his usual self. He clinged onto 1 teacher only, and didn't let anyone else touch him. And refused to play/interact with other kids also. When I picked him up in the evening, the second he saw me, he just cry loudly, like very ke-lian that complaining I "abandoned" him there for 1 whole day. But he was perfectly okay at home. When I dropped him at school in the morning, he was okay, so it's not separation anxiety, and there was no new teacher at school, so not stranger anxiety. No major development milestone achieved that 3 weeks, not teething, not feeling unwell..... just don't know why. His teachers had the hardest 3 weeks with Hao Re. Last week he was "normal" again. So if you want to find out a reason for Ian's recent behaviour, it's difficult. Just monitor him closely, if he is still drinks, sleeps and plays well, no worries, just let him self adjust.

<font color="0000ff">Kam,</font>

Thanks for your encouragement. Sometimes, I wish he can just tell me what is wrong. Haha! Mad of me right? So hard to understand what they're thinking or what they want sometimes. I hope he gets passed this phrase quickly.

Good morning everyone

Debbie, congrats!!! WOW ...... so happy leh

and Happy to all babies here!!! I am also planning for TT now plus my husband not in town I have to settle most of the things alone ...

mylife i pm you le ....

Morning mummies....

MyLife
Ya last nite he crawl crawl until he tired and fell asleep. He still wanna play until I off the lights in the living rm and it's really dark. When he sees there's still light outside he will want to come out n play !

Even tho he falls asleep.. it's not those deep sleep until next morning type ! he will still wakes up 3-4 times fidgeting here n there, cry a bit and when u give him back his pillow he doze back to dreamland... sigh.... No good nite sleep de...

I really hope that it's a phase and be over soon..

VioletIce,

When the boy starts to talk, and starts asking the 1001 questions about everything and anything, then we would think, how nice if he still can't talk :) Think positive and appreciate the very mmoment you have with him NOW! Everyday is a different day, each day is so unique and won't be repeated, ever, again.

chaye, violetice
welcome to the i-dont-know-whats-wrong-with-our-child club

mine's the same. put him to sleep nowadays has been so much more difficult. takes him an hour or so to doze off, roll around and play and stand on the bed, playing with the wall, even though he is super exhausted. he wakes up several times at night and cries like crazy. hold him he dont want, just arches his back. put him down he dont want, just cry/scream himself hoarse to sleep. stuff pacifier, he just cries and spit it out, just dont know whats wrong with him...he doesnt even wants me to touch him, and can cry for 15 mins non stop, i see his fat tears i also very heart pain...

last long weekend, i smacked him twice. repeatedly told him not to do xxx but he still "ngeh see" do, smacked liao cry with big fat tears too but still want me to hold. my hb holds him he looks my way too. super clingy nowadays, cannot even go toilet. in the end, must put him in the kitchen let him cruise around while i cook his porridge, walk off a bit will cry like there's no tomorrow

i wish this phase will just pass quickly too...

mei, go watch mobtv lah
yueniang no die, she escaped, but didnt tell chen xi, coz she felt very guilty if she were to be with him. she married the ang moh, chen xi married libby.
she adopted yuzhu's son, felicia chin found out in the end, then yueniang died in her sleep, machiam fufilled her duties liao lidat

typical ending leh
but i feel a bit kua zhang that yueniang is so noble/honourable/goody2shoes/kind soul
maybe such person exists in the past (when the world was more innocent), but now where got such person? like too wei da liao...

VioletIce,

This seeems to describe what Ian is facing now:

Symptoms of normal separation anxiety include increasing unease and crying when separated from you or when you show signs of leaving. He or she may also exhibit whining, clinginess or insistence on physical contact with you, shyness, unusual silence, and an unwillingness to interact with others, even if they are familiar.

mei you can watch it in youtube leh hahaha .... .i have mobtv oso if you want can watch it ... i watch a bit catch a bit cos I am at mil's shop yesterday .....

hey
i realise my son is going thru this as well, can be quite headache. cannot leave him alone for a moment if i go out without hb.. tat include when i bring him to kindermusik trial...

Symptoms of normal separation anxiety include increasing unease and crying when separated from you or when you show signs of leaving. He or she may also exhibit whining, clinginess or insistence on physical contact with you, shyness, unusual silence, and an unwillingness to interact with others, even if they are familiar

jacelyn, but even if you dont pay 1k a month, u need to set aside that much ma, she sick you pay, she go home you pay, her food how come you no need to pay? Add this, add that, it is about there already.

I was talking about my girl's routine, I realised the hardest time of my day is from 3 pm to 6 pm, thats the time wanna get her to sleep she refuse then mummy super sleepy but cannot sleep, then its too hot to do anything outside and stay in cannot watch tv coz morning watch already. AH!

pixiepixel,
Same same, my boy shows the same signs especially when I am alone at home. Must be in the same room as where I am, so when I am cooking his porriage, sometimes I will place him at the highchair and let him feed himself with bits of bread. Only when it comes to eating then he can be quiet for a moment.

Else he will be crying in his playpen, or I should mean when he would be carried inside. He would start to cling very tight to our shirt and start crying.

He will sleep while drinking milk and then suddenly like refuse to sleep, eyes open flip and flip and refuse to be carried.. then suddenly seemed like not sleepy anymore and play around for 1-2 hrs..

Now he dun even wat grandma to put him to sleep, even thro we stayed together.

mei
who is libby? => libby is a family friend of the Chens, she is from UK, she knows Chen Xi and yueniang as friends but eventually Chen Xi and her got married, and had 6 kids

felicia chin is whose daughter? => YuZhu -> her son -> had 3 kids, one of whom is felicia chin
so technically felicia chin's ma ma is not yueniang but yuzhu lah...

pixie,
oic. i no follow. bit here bit there.
yuzhu died??? what happened to yuzhu that bad hb?
that darren wong's son, what happened to him?
what happened to 715's first wife?

angelsky, i think not so ex lah, definately cheaper than 1k a month. my maid is with my inlaw now, i think got 2 kids need maid. both my mil and my sis's mil cannot take it when #2 comes along...

my mil gotta take care:
my boy
her mom
my nephew (k1)
my niece (2yo+)
(my sil is SAHM but she shakes leg nia so technically my mil is all alone. but my sil takes care of her own daughter, the 2yo+ girl)

so no maid oso cannot

my sis mil gotta take care
#1=16mths
#2=2yo+

they say no maid oso cannot leh

up to you, i know its a hassle...maid oso see lucky or not lucky whether can get a good one or not, but mils/mums/dads all old liao, they dont have energy like ours to take care of kids all on their own..even we have 1bb, we groan here and there and grouch so much in SMH, let alone 2 kids...i always think old ppl let thhem enjoy life. ask maid do housework, cook, wash, blahblah lor...

btw, go home the cost you will need to deduct from her pay so that one no need to fork out on your own...eat is not a lot, and if they eat healthily, shouldnt get sick so often...

just my 2cents, please dont get offended

mei
i tell u what
you call me, i explain to you on the fone. muahahaha
ur qns never ending leh!!

yuzhu died??? never show she died or not but she was saved from the trapped hut, she was in hospital, then switched to mental hosp...she tried to suffocate her own bb, yueniang brought her bb to let yuzhu see, but yuzhu dont want the bb at all so yueniang adopted him

what happened to yuzhu that bad hb? => lobert zhang ah, he lives leh. his father kena shot liao but alexandre (very lousy name) didnt shot dead lobert zhang. when at the last scene where the family paid their respects to the ancestral hall coz yueniang passed away, got show lobert zhang offering josstick leh...

Kam
Sometimes the major developmental milestones is not visible to us but it is developing in the baby's brain. So altho u said during the 3weeks u see nothing achieved with Hao Re, it could be something "clicked" in his brain. It need not be a MAJOR milestone like walking or talking but to him, he might be trying to figure out something hence the crankiness, fussiness etc. It could be he's figuring out why water flow from the tap, orhes tryng to understand different languages spoke to him and he's storing it into his brain, or he's wondering how certain things work. Whatever it is, theres a REASON.
Once he got hold of it/understand, he revert back to his normal self. A baby go thru many many phases like this. Just that it's especially trying for the parents cos 1) we can't see his/her brain functioning n developing, 2) they can articulate to us. A good book to read is "Whats Going On In There" . Forgot the author's name. If anyone interested, I'll post later but I read the book and it's really enlightening. Makes a lot of sense n calm me down so that I don't lose my patience with Rylee when she's in between these phases.

pixie,
haha. sorry sorry. i no watch bah. was inside bedrm with elder. she refuses to let me watch tv so i no choice got to ask here.

can ask some more?

mei, every qn i charge you $$

that darren wong's son, what happened to him? => alexandre kena death sentence, and his dad couldn't take it, got sudden heart attack, and from there onwards, huangs fell apart liao, coz left the old matriarch, the patriarch, and pan lingling

what happened to 715's first wife? => zhenzhu elope with a guy (didn't show who), she told 715 she wanna elope, he just ignored her and walked away. i am so pissed that he didnt even slapped her or what but at the oh so perfect world of TLN, 715 and yueniang wont do something bad, so regrettably, 715 didn't do anything to zhenzhu, and i think maybe divorce bah...if not how to marry libby rite

ask lah ask lah

angelsky
then bring her to shopping mall so that u can shop &amp; won't get sleepy... does she fall asleep in the pram?

pixie,
haha. can continue ask? haha. tks ah.

what happened to yueniang's "brother"? the one who supposedly married her but converted to bro.
did yueniang's birds nest biz expand?
no show cynthia koh after she left home?
yueniang married that ang moh as in real or fake?
why yueniang will feel guilty to yuzhu? is it cos yuzhu supposed to marry 715?

wendyg, cannot be everyday bring her shopping centre ba, well depends on her mood also. Sometimes she will kuai kuai, sometimes cannot.

pixiepixel, really, hmmm so actually not that expensive after all, bo bian, now i really need to seriously go think about it, because my mum's face has been really black these few days.

thaks qq &amp; mylife.

pixel,
robert zhang die leh. cos the one offer joss stick is yuzhu son(yue niang adopted son)... so that means the son is robert zhang's son and not the ang moh smith who also slept with yuzhu loh.

Angelsky
sigh, last time my granny took care of her 12 kids plus 4 grandchildren... all squeeze into 3 room Tiong Bahru flat. During night time all my aunties/ uncles hv to sleep at the same time, on the bed &amp; on the floor like sardines.. i slept on the floor with granny, my sister on her other side. Early in the morning 5am granny will get up to cook porridge for us coz by 6am i wake up get ready for sch, the porridge &amp; soya chicken is waiting for me in the kitchen.

times hv changed wor...

wendyg, you like me le
, 5 uncles but only 1 grandchild thats me la stay with her 7 days a week at Telok blangah. I sleep in the yao lan in the middle of the room, when toddler then sleep in the corridor, if not squeeze with her on the floor. You lucky still got porridge and soya chicken, me only 1 cup of kopi and 2 half boil eggs, else its only kopi and 1 slice of plain bread.

But indeed times have change.

superbee, you mean that lobert zhang lookalike is lobert zhang's son? aiyoh no wonder i keep scratching head...
but hor, think about it, lobert zhang son oso not so old. he is made up by mediacorp until as old as yueniang leh, all the white hair and moustache...how can be so old for lobert zhang's son?

mei:
what happened to yueniang's "brother"? the one who supposedly married her but converted to bro. => nothing happened. no further development abt him leh

did yueniang's birds nest biz expand? =>expanded. she very successful. the bank seized the house of the huangs, she managed to buy it back from bank, now become hotel lor

no show cynthia koh after she left home? => got, she came back, and very sad to know her lover died from heart attack (her sis's hb). she didnt touch the $$ she absconded from them. she put in bank and got interest. she ask yueniang to pass back to huangs on her behalf. then she go off liao, still as lonely as ever in the end...

yueniang married that ang moh as in real or fake? => she and the angmog TCC twice, both miscarriage so thats why she adopted yuzhu's son...so the marriage should be real lah. felicia chin oso say "grandpa treat u very well" to her ma ma

why yueniang will feel guilty to yuzhu? is it cos yuzhu supposed to marry 715? => coz she ran off and yuzhu kena raped mah, so she 4ever guilty. coz of her selfishness of wanting to be with 715, yuzhu kena trampled by lobert zhang...

Mei,

I have the banner. 6 figurines for the cake - Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, Donald duck, Daisy duck and pluto. I also have the paper plates, cups, napkin. If i have extra then i sell to you. Oh ya, Mickey candle as well.

wendyg,
Agree, times have changed. Really salute those mothers and grandmothers who single-handedly brought up so many of us...without domestic help, without husband's help and without in-laws help. Full-time SAHM with 3 or more kids is no easy job...tougher than any job we can find and no pay somemore.