jess,
try DIY if wanna save $... it's very satisfying to see the outcome looks decent.. but of cos, need some preparation time to do so and well, may not reach the professional look yet...
mei,
u need pple just to blow balloons ah?

they got good lungs i would say.. 2-3 guys blow abt 50 balloons within 15 minutes. my hubby dont dare to blow balloons leh... so have to ask his friends to do it...
my party was held at carribean keppel bay function room cos i invited abt 80 adults. my hdb flat cannot keep so many pple esp additional 20 kids turn up and was running around the function room.
as for balloons, i bought the deflat ones and went to bugis b1(a candy shop) to pump the 28inch and 32 inch pooh mylar cos their price for the big ones are cheap $4.50 though the 18inch are $2. those party shop at bugis charge $1.50 for 18inch & 28inch cost $8-10 & above. or u can rent a tank as mentioned by icy.
aqua,
will contact u shortly. wanna ask hubby if he still want to keep for #2 or change theme nxt yr cos #2 due in june... hehee..
icy,
ya all r blown using human lungs(hahaha) except the mylar ones(helium) cos no budget liao...

i use those cake string ribbons to tie 3 balloons together first then tie it onto the long string of the mylar balloon. i anyhow coil here & there and thank god it didn't fall off.
crystal,
congrats! ur #1 is girl?