(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Jacelyn & Jess,

Oh wow, I thought I am the only one who is having all such problems. Me too! My son also nowadays very naughty, sometimes doesn't want to be fed much. We also need 2 persons to feed him. 1 to trick him with a big adult eating spoon, the other is to feed him with his baby food. He wants to be fed with a big adult spoon! Aiyo, his mouth so small, why does he want to be fed with a big spoon leh??

Yes, it's very tiring for us when it's my son's bedtime. Now we just 'ren meng' ("recongise fate") If after feeding him milk he doesn't want to sleep, we'll like stay with him in his room. But he will stay in his cot lor.... =(

I bet our darlings must have Energizer batteries in them. They will just keep going, and going, and going, and going......

Just to share how much Javin had change thru the year....

2025846.jpg

AhCapp,

At least ur son stay in the cot. Javin wants be be roaming in the room. If i feed him milk already put him on my bed tried to pat him he doesn't lie there quietly then i will have to prepare to carry him around liao. They really not tired one.... still can walk around shouting. poor mummy like half dead!

Jacelyn,

That's a nice one!

Me think about Aug/Sep, Javin has "developed" into how he looks now, a bit of the chubby-ness gone, and add a bit of mature look :)

AhCapp
ya lor.. my hubby say cos day time no one play with him mah. so he conserve his energy until we are home.... it applies for my boy la. my in laws dun really play with him.. and they dun let him watch tv.. they watch their own taiwan drama.. hahaha..
tats y when we are home, he is super excited... energy outburst...

Jacelyn,

very well done. =D U keep track of your son's look every month. I am impressed!

Actually, my son will stick his hand into his mouth to make himself puke if we don't sit next to him by the cot... =( Even if we lay on the extra bed in the same room also like that. He sticks his hand into his mouth, make those want-to-puke sound (eeeERRRRRHHHH..), we rush to him, he will laugh. *faint* But I must agree, carry our darlings now ultra siong. Back-breaking lor. LOL!

Jess,

Oh, maybe your hb is right! =D Heheheh Poor mummies & daddies, want to drop dead after a long day at work. But our dear darlings just want to play.. =D

Ahcapp,

Ya, i take picture for him always then i will seperate them in different months then burn in CD to keep lor. Maybe #1 i will do this #2 maybe no more time liao.

with 2 kids, the time just flies... don't see many 2nd/ 3rd time mums updating blog. only michelle (emma & ethan's mum) and babe..

hey babe
u know jessica lee? she's in the photo on your blog.. her daughter also in same music sch as yours? We're ex-colleagues.. she was my supervisor!

wendyg,
What was the temperature like in HK when you were there? You dressed Tobey in fleece...1 layer or 2 layers?

I just bought a fleece sweater from fox kids for like $20...intend to use it for our Sydney trip in May. Is it enough to dress my boy in long sleeve cotton t-shirt/rompers with the fleece jacket? It's going to be about 12 degrees by then?

Wendyg,
Agree with u wholeheartedly. Blog only once a month.

Ahcapp,
Same here. Zachary does the same thing too. Nothing to do, put the whole hand in his mouth. Dig until puke.

mei
lynn chong going hk.

yvonne
coldest (daytime) was abt 14deg. very very chilly when the wind blew!!! very strong wind! and i'm not even at seaside or anything. if no wind, still ok, like aircon u know? on the coldest days, tobey wore 3 layers on top - romper, sweater & thicker sweater, all cotton. 1 pair of fleece pants over his diaper. i'll also use my shawl to wrap him up.

he didn't hv runny/ blocked nose, but he started to lao-sai on our last day there (23rd) until today. Fever since Saturday. PD said may be some travel bug... ?!?!

i dowan to go HK liao.. everytime go, someone will fall sick!!!

for your boy, i would add a sweater over the romper, before putting on the fleece jacket. also standby fleece or wolly blankets?

if anyone needs fleece pants sized 12-18m, i can sell to u cheap $6 per pair, excellent condition I hv dark blue, dark green, grey pairs. total 6 pairs i think
also hv THICK cotton sweaters suitable for both boys & girls. Too thick for sgp aircon.

Kam,
Yes yes...please share.
I've only been to Melbourne before. But I know Sydney is not as cold as Melbourne so hopefully don't really need to bring so much thick clothing. Is May the rainy season??

Wendy
Aiyah, then u shud hv come meet me mah. No need to change train. Jus take cab 5mins away and about HK$20+ nia. After my mistake with kitsune (missed her call) I was on "standby" waiting for ur call

Lynn
Got ur mail. Are u staying at Langham Place in mongkok or langham hotel in tsim sha tsui? Both also quite near to my place. Wahhh very short trip hor? Hope this is not ur 1st trip to HK. If u wan, we can hang out at Tsim Sha Tsui's harbour city kids level. Got lots of kids shop there! *wink*

morning mummies

sighs, my boy got high fever on and off again. 2nd time this month.
i ask you ah, teething will have high fever or just normal fever?

wendyg,
Wahhh, 3 layers ah? I bought thick cotton long sleeve t-shirts and pants for him. So hoping I just need to layer him with another t-shirt plus fleece jacket. Hoping to travel 'light' - there's gonna be lots of other things to bring for him.

Jacelyn
Wahhh vey nice montage of Javin!

Lynn
Now HK also very cold, particularly this week! Forecast temp is around 13-18. But from 4th onwards it's 16-20c

Mei
Depends. Cos I dunno Sg price. U can ask Lynn to bring back for u?

MRI

Yvonne,
Normally, my boy has one luggage of his one. cabin size type of luggage, not the Thomas the train. Better to be KS. With kids, I think it's hard to travel light.

mei
just go with hubby, leave the kids!!!

yvonne
all the best to u! i deliberately packed more for my boys coz never know what accidents can occur... eg puke on shirt, spill food on sweater etc. We didn't buy a lot of souveniors, so went with full luggage and returned with full luggage also. haha.

Lynn
Thanks but my cravings all food leh! Keke like durian, putu mayam, Assam laksa, even economy char bee hoon!

Mei
Come come come!!!

mylife,
err recently after she fall asleep on my bed I just let her continue sleeping on my bed never move to cot cos she will stir once at ard midnight and another time at abt 3-4am and she will want to roll and dunno what again. If she is in the cot she will cry and I will have to go and get her. So this lazy mummy just dump her on the bed so that I can continue sleeping :p

For the afternoon nap, if I'm at home alone I will catch her for a short catnap at 4ish. But if I'm out or if I'm at my mum's place then she usually skips that nap. Not cos she's not tired but cos too much distractions.

At night, she takes abt half hr to fall asleep, so this is roughly her daily routine. Btw I don't feed lunch I feed her brunch.

7-7.30am Milk 150ml
9.30-10am Brunch (Rice/Macaroni, Veg, Fish)
12pm Milk 150ml / Nap
1.30-2pm Fruits, Snack (bread, biscuit)
4pm Milk 150ml / Nap
6.30-7pm Dinner
8-8.30pm Milk 150ml / ZZzzzzz

Wendyg,
The year before when hubby and I went to Phuket, we felt so guilty for leaving Jerome behind, especially when we saw other families with kids. This year, we brought both to Phuket. Tired like crazy..

Mei,
Let ur hubby try going out with the children. Within an hour, he will ask u to appear immediately or board the next available flight.

Yvonne,

For me, the weather in Sydney in May is just nice. Weather is just nice, around 15C (even in winter never snow in Sydney), day time still have plenty of sun, just add on 1 layer of fleece top would be enough, I think. Night time could be a bit colder, but it's management. I think to go Sydney in near winter time is good, as their summer is way too hooooootttt!!! Imagine the very old-style train with no air-con at >40C, gosh! Rain? No need to worry much. It won't rain like cats and dogs like here. Even if it rains, only drizziing and that's it.

Public transport generally IS expensive. Get the special ticket for travelling, like 3 days unlimited rides for train/bus/ferry, very good value for money. For a good harbour view, don't join the ferry tour, it's pretty much a waste of money. If you get the unlimited travel pass, just get on one of the ferries and you will have pretty nice view (similar to those if you pay for a special tour). Or if plan to go the Zoo, you have to take the ferry and the journey will give you a good view of the harbour bridge. Taxi is also VERY expensive.

Food wise, many different varieties and pretty easy to find food, Thai and Japanese (takeaway sushi particularly) food being the most popular, prepare to pay about AUD$10 per person. for a simple lunch, sit-in dinner, expect to pay AUD$30 per person. There are restaurants around harbour bridge on a high building give you fantastic view, but those will burn a hole in your pocket.

Too much to talk about........maybe you tell me what you want to know in particular?

mei
good also la, he bring the kids to HK, u go bangkok shopping hahaha.

blackbatz
no, he will ask the pilot to U-turn and ask mei to standby at the aerobridge to board the plane. haha
i can safely say, if husband and i were to go on our own, we'll really hv a much better time. At most buy nice toys back for them lor. But i'm only dreaming la.. need to find someone willing to take care of them day & night while we're away. Who wants?!?!

hey what's your blog?

i am just back from my VL.

Happy belated birthday to those babies who are born on 26 Dec 08.

I think i remember there are three babies born on that day and one of them is my darline boy, Eddric. The other one is emma's girl.

i had his birthday party on 25 Dec at grassroots club and everyone enjoyed themselves especially all the kids. =)

wendy, you tumpang your 2 kids with kam, and next time kam goes hols, she will tumpang her kid to you. its all about "you nan tong dang, you fu tong xiang"
its a win win situation really, if mummies dont mind other mummies to take care of their kid. i dont mind actually.

pixie
haore easy to take care, i also dun mind.. but i hv 2 boys ley... and tobey still being breastfed to sleep. i'm wondering... how??? I can't bear to have him cry ley.

ernmum
VL? LV?
how was the food? ISS ?

wendyg,

you plan around weekend lor. If it's weekdays, send them to your parents as usual, only after working hour, I pick them up. Or you pay for my leave lah :) And considerig your kids are willing to put up with this old auntie :)

Pixel,

Haha, great idea. But I would want to travel with Hao Re though, for now, at least :)

Kam,
Thanks for the info! We hate summers so always plan our holidays during spring or autumn...winter is too cold for some countries. We always go free & easy so usually do alot of research on our own but this time is a little different cos of my boy so we gotta plan around him instead.

Good to know May is a good time. I know transport is ex but we might still take taxi to/from airport since we have so much luggage plus stroller somemore. And we're definitely going to Taronga Zoo.

Are the pavements in Sydney stroller-friendly? We intend to walk to most places since we'll be staying around world square which is in the middle. Considered walkable to Darling Habour as well as The Rocks/Circular Quay area?? Are the restaurants baby-friendly and do most of them provide high chair?? Sorry to ask so many questions but the travel guidebooks don't normally provide info for children needs.

grumpus
U got any bedtime routine for Lexie or not? Or around 8pm, u jus bring her into room and let her roll on ur bed? Do u switch off all the lights? And do u lie down with her or u situp while she lie down? So nice now u don't need to carry n rock her to zzz liao.

Wendy
I hv the same situation as u. Would really love to go holidays with hubby alone but Rylee is still nurse to zzz and I can't bear to let her cry. Ask u ah, last time did u also nurse Issac to sleep too? Until when? And how's the transition ie how did he learn to zzz on his own. When did u wean him? Sorry for the many questions... :p

Today my ROM anniversary. In the past would have planned something with hubby, go short trip etc. Now with rylee no more chance hehehe. Stay at home watch kid. Muahahahhaha

Wendy: i'm keen on fleece pants, my boy is 12kg he's wearing 18mths clothing.. can fit him? i already bought jackets and pullover for him, for bottom not yet..

can email mi [email protected]

mylife: 16-20c is great weather..
heheehee! i cant remember which hotel i booked, gotta go hom and check only remember is Langham. Rayden needs to nap fr 12pm-3pm so i'll b gg shopping alone during his nap time.. Nope! not my 1st time to hk, i been gg hk yearly for few yrs wif frz but mostly is during aug their summer sales. Dis is my 1st hk Winter trip and wif "bb".

mei: i dont mind to bring bac e stuff for u if not bulky and heavy.. maybe u can ask mylife to help u buy first and i'll bring bac for u..

baby reaching 1st birthday make me reminisce every moment with her since birth. Feels a tug at my heart watching the videos and photos of her when she was so small and tiny. Don't we all?we must give ourselves a pat on our back for all the sleepless nights, sore nipples, engorged breasts, every tiny little bit of worries we have had for our little princes n princesses. Kudos to all of us esp those 2nd time mommies (not easy handling a toddler AND a newborn!)

Mylvera,

Sure, can open to anyone who is willing to leave your kids with me :)

Steph,

Nice one! Zander didn't change much leh, still as chubby and handsome. Almost every photo, he is smiling, what a cheerful baby!

Yvonne,

I don't think the pavement is particular stroller friendly, it generally has a pretty good size walkway along most streets, but usually full of people. Yes, those proper dine-in restaurants are baby friendly, service is generally very good as you pay quite a handsome service fee for it, no compulsory tipping as in the US. The Rocks/Darling Harbour is pretty nice. And yes, most of the places of interest are within walking distance.

Agree, baby+stroller on the train is pretty difficult. But you can take those airport shuttle to bring you from airport to the doorstep of your hotel, a lot more cheaper than the taxi, and they have plenty of space to put your luaguages, of course if $$ not a problem, taxi is the easiest.

Tell me after your trip if you like Sydney?

Steph,

Whahaha... U very fast wor! Zander dun have the "chubby" face after Jun. Seems like this is the same for most of the babies. Me did this yesterday during work time as boss not around!! Today also can come SMH so frequent.

Mylife,

I just crop the picture then paste in the paint and resize that's all.... Only need 15mins to do it.

wendy, i chose elsie in the end cos the grassroot ppl strongly recommend.

food ok

lynn, your boy is 12kg? wow....

my boy for the past almost 2 months dun put on weight tho he eats quite a lot if porridge

Kam,
Your last question makes me think if my answer is going to be negative??? I know Sydney is a fast-paced big city so will not be so laid-back but gotta go to big cities since 1st time travelling with baby, easier to find the necessities. Melbourne was rather nice, especially great ocean road...but been there before so thought to going to Sydney instead.