(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi steph

My son has this really really BAD habit of sticking his hand into his mouth so deeply, that he will puke! Really.. He is not even a supermodel lor... *shake head* Anyway, if we were to walk away from him, he will stick his hand into mouth, and sometimes so deep that he will.. eEERRRRR.. puke! =( So after his last feed at about 9pm+, we will sit by his cot, let him walk about in his cot. Sometimes we will carry him for while. But after a while, we will place him back into his cot as I want him know that it's late, bed time lah.

So by about 10pm+, he will start to act 'drunken'. Talk a lot and then he will shake his head from left to right (yes, really..). Knock his head against the cot sometimes. Shakes his head a bit more.. n then, knock out...

ahcapp
hahaha your boy so funny. can u record and post it on youtube.

those places u mentioned... too far for me lor.. Pg drive to those places very eat petrol.. so we just go to Ikea Tampines hee hee. Went once to Jacob Ballas Gdn.. my #1 enjoyed v much, and met babe babyship there too, with her family.

ahcapp
i am literally laffing at your last paragraph, your boy damn cute leh

so this is what you meant by rocking himself to sleep

my boy is flip here, flip there, can stick himself onto the wall (kind of), or stick 1 arm onto the wall and sleep kind, can really flip a lot...n then, knock out...

FYI, my boy will be tired every 3 hours, max 4 hours if we go out

wendyg...

I look at him puke.. I also sian liao. Puke = clean up mattress + bedsheet + change clothes + a lot of things lor...

I have not been to Ikea Tampines before. Really. hehhehe I stay too far lah. I love Jacob Ballas Garden! Very lovely right? =D It's a real gem!

pixel,

My son used to get tired after about 3.5hr to 4hr. but now, 5hrs+ also can. My hb and I dropped dead liao, my son can still go on and on. He better than Energizer rabbit! ;)

Could it be he has 2 rounds on his head?? Some said this means stubborness wor... dont' know true or not.. =P

ahcapp
not puke la... the "shake head" bit

2 rounds means naughty. my elder boy has 2. my grandma likes to comment on their "tsng", say very nice right in the middle of the head.

Ah Capp,
Have you tried switching off the lights? My boy used to be able to sleep with the lights on cos he sleeps at 9pm but we're still wide awake and watching tv...haha. Nowadays he gets distracted with the TV and thinks he can continue to play even though he's tired and it's past his bedtime. So I will switch off the TV and lights and usually he's alseep within the next 10-15 mins. But sometimes he just doesn't want to sleep so we just let him stand and walk about in his cot until he's ready to sleep.

ahcapp
ur son got 2 rounds ah? ppl say very SMART one leh, kids with these

i will drop dead if 5 hrs. last long weekend we go out, he oso hit 5 hours. i oso very sian...just dont want sleep the whole day

blackbatz
aiyah wasted, else can pass you easily mah...
special offer for you, you can pick from me or from my sis, take ur pick...other ppl got no such privilege leh

sorry, tell me asap coz i need to go off soon liao

Yvonne

Hmm... last time I off the lights for the whole house before. No use. But maybe I should try again tonight. Thanks for the tip! =D
I am sure you understand how I feel when our darlings refuse to hit the sack. Yes, we also did the same. We also just let him stand and walk about his his cot till he's ready to sleep. =D

Wendyg...

The shake head part ah. Maybe I should video it down and show it to my son when he grows up.

Aiyo.. 2 rounds = naughty? Oh no~~~

AhCapp,
yr boy very cute pattern hor. His action of shaking his head from left to right reminds me of my boy when he is 4/5mths old. At least he can self soothe/settle to sleep. I co-sleep with my boy so after milk, he will either settle to sleep or will flip/toss & turn until he finds a suitable/comfortable position (usually take 15mins) & then he will doze off to lala land.
Daytime - if he stay for 5hrs+ no nap, he will sure knock out by 8.30pm for his bedtime aft his last feed.

pixiepixel,
I know what you mean about sticking onto the wall thing...haha, my boy also do that. He will also stick one hand out of the cot to sleep or hold onto the cot railing and he likes to squeeze his head into the corner to sleep...dunno why? Sometimes we look at his sleeping posture also want to laugh.

Pixel

I only know that big heads = smart. Really. I have a classmate whose head is quite big. His nick is big head. But he is very smart. Did very well in his studies =D

steph
i think your zander and my xandall is sama sama...
if no nap, my boy will KO at 7.30pm, if got nap, will KO at 8.30pm (his usual bedtime) after his last feed.
mine also flip/toss & turn, but sometimes toss from 8.30pm to 9.30pm. very sian. i must act "dead". if i am awake, he will think i wanna play with him and he wont sleep

Sticking onto the wall to sleep..

This is something new. =D Wow, sleeping also so many patterns. All our darlings really unque! =D

Oh oh, my son also. The cot quite big mah. ALWAYS dig his head into the corner to sleep. Aiyo.. don't know why. Comforting?

Steph,

I kind of "ren meng" liao.. =P I think my son has grown already. He nowadays will push me away after his last feed. Hahahaha..

yvonne
ok so i am not alone
he "tiap" his whole arm onto the wall. then sometimes sleep liao, still can scratch the wall. so got scratch-scratch sound...very funny to see their weird patterns..
else, he sleep as though you are sitting like japanese style, legs beneath you, and you bow all the way down...and then, KO...face down

Ahcapp,
Sometimes old tricks might work! They keep changing their sleep 'patterns' so what they dislike before they might accept it now. Just give everything a try to see what works. I also trial and error to find out what is my boy's 'current trend'...haha.

pixiepixel,
Yes Yes!!! My boy also sleep the 'japanese style'...head down but buttocks high up in the air....hahaha...their pattern all the same. Sometimes I see already buay tahan so I will straighten his legs but he will crawl even higher and kneel down again. Super buay tahan the way they sleep...not uncomfortable meh?

yvonne
yes yes!!
i will straighten liao then he will crawl up and kneel down to sleep again

else, he will fold his arms towards his back like kena handcuffed at the back like that

not uncomfortable meh?

2 rounds = Naughty
Big head = Creative? I only know "Da To Da To, wo you da to, xia yu bu chou"

High forehead = Smart
Thick eyebrows = Stubborn
Big mouth = ?
Big Ear = Long life

Bebe,
use microwave? steam like steam fish...

Is this a boys thingy?? How come never see bebeyan, mei, mylife, kitsune, etc commenting about their gals weird sleeping postures?? Only boys come up with all these yoga poses huh??

Bebeyan,
Usually I will cook the pasta first. Then I will heat up another saucepan with olive oil, add the additional ingredients like bell peppers, mushrooms, etc to saute then add in the pasta sauce. Then finally add the cooked pasta, mix well and add some black pepper and parsley and serve.

Yvonne & Pixel,

My son also sleeps face down. Bottoms up. Praying position. =S I will also straighten his legs when he is fas asleep. Looks too uncomfortable to me. heheheh

RE: Sleeping Postures

Ian also sleeps like that, face down, butt in the air, or sometimes, he will sleep, his fingers near the play pen, scratching the net even when he's soundly asleep. Ha!

Chaye
If your bb doesn't have itchy fingers then ok. My girl hor, likes to peel and scratch. Luckily I gave her the chicken pox jab, cos tat time my neighbour's cc have then my whole floor gana!!! Tat CC hor, 10 kids gana in the class. Luckily my girl ok. Or else i faint. One of my nb had to cancel her girl's bday party, cos her hb and girl gana.

Wow Ah Capp, urs can sleep on his own? Mine still have to rock to sleep...now that he is 9+kg, very tiring..wanted to try cry to sleep but in same room as him and stay with in laws which doesn't help. Any tricks to urs?

Sucking and biting toys
Aiyo, mine now in the habit of tasting his toys. Used to just suck his fingers and still does after he crawls around on them and now he puts everything in his mouth.

Hey anyone arranging for gathering? I'm at Novena/TPY area..looks like there is a PG/SK gang but not so much of the central.

Longer wake hours
Yes, my baby is doing that and sometimes I really don't what to play with him after reading, singing songs, play some stacking toys on days when it rains and I can't take him out..chasing after his sister...any ideas? erm..actually for the older one I also dunno what to do...Sometimes I just want to nap but they are so wide awake or one nap and the other awake..

Steph,
Thanks, I will let u know how I can collect from u then.

I don't sterilize the cap, tube & double connector. Can lean the parts, heating can caused these plastic to melt so better don't. Valves & Bellow I also never sterilise, just pour hot water in a cup for 5 mins, Sterlise too much of valves and bellow can damage it pretty fast.

The tube won't trap milk, cos have the bellow to protect the tube so confirm wont have milk leak up.. I know medela swing's tube will trap BM.

The Cycles control knob is to control the frequency of the suction, is like whether suck fast or slow drag and let go. The other one is strength, that means pulling strength. U might want to test it on ur palm to see how it works, don't try on your breasts ah, I remember that it can stimulate delivery.

Never go full speed, very painful. I think I use like 1/3 during the initial stage then slowly switch to 1/2.

Chaye
If your bb doesn't have itchy fingers then ok. My girl hor, likes to peel and scratch. Luckily I gave her the chicken pox jab, cos tat time my neighbour's cc have then my whole floor gana!!! Tat CC hor, 10 kids gana in the class. Luckily my girl ok. Or else i faint. One of my nb had to cancel her girl's bday party, cos her hb and girl gana.

Sleep
Haha. Rylee also sleeps like that! Praying position! I dunno how to let her sleep next time cos i'm still nursing her to zzz. Becos she sleeps with us on the king sized bed, i cannot jus switch off light and let her sleep by herself. She will cry. Or roam around and attempt to climb down the bed! I tried patting her once, she laid down, and do the head turning left and right (usually she does this before sleeping) but failed attempt, then she will get impatient and demand for my breast.

Naps
Rylee still naps twice a day. Once around 11ish and once around 4ish to 5pm. Will sleep around 8ish or 9pm. All nursed to zzz.

Sleep
My girl also sleep in all sorts of funny positions. Recently cannot sleep cot cos too small for her. After last milk I have to let her roll on my king size bed for abt half hr until she find a comfortable position then KO. She will also climb up climb down I just catch her to lie down again lor. When she finally fall asleep can be half on the wall, half hanging of the edge of the bed.

Naps
My girl quite a few days only one nap especially if we go out she absolutely will not sleep anymore. Last few days wake up 7+, nap 12 to 2, at night 8-8.30 zzzzzzz
If at home alone with her sometimes she will take a nap abt 4ish but usually only 30-40 min catnap

Jess & mylvera: both of u r early birds.. ;)

Anybody hav travel checklist for baby? i'm afraid will miss out some items..

mylife: hope to mt up wif u and ur little princess Rylee in hk.. i'm gg on 4th Jan..

Mylife,

Wow, your darling so good. take 2 naps and still can sleep so early at night. *green with envy* Mine used to be like Rylee too. But now.. sigh.. Last night, we fed him at 9:15pm+. He finally knocked out at 10pm+. Phew~~~

Babe,

Actually, I didn't do anything. My son just suddenly pushed me away 1 night after his last feed. =( Mummy & Daddy rejection?? Hahahahaha... So no choice, I put him in his cot. It has been like this for the past 1 week+.

But, he will definately NOT sleep immediately. He will walk about (in his cot), makes lots of funny noise, shakes his head, play with his cot toy for a while... etc etc. Then he will slowly close his close, but continue to scratch himself (that's what my hb told me after 1 nights of observations). N BOOM!.. knock out.. LOL All this takes about 45min to 1hr...

Grumpus

So good leh ur girl can sleep on her own now. Then aft she falls asleep, do u carry her back to cot or u let her sleep with u on the bed? I tried and she will roll around but aft awhile cannot sleep she will start to whine to look for my breast!
since ur gal will take around 1hr, then what time u start ur bedtime routine orwhat time u let her start rolling on the bed?

Btw, u said she wakes up 7ish, and nap 12-2pm ..my gal also same leh. Sometimes also nap 11ish to 1plus or 2pm. Then what about her lunch ah? 2pm a bit late rite? Too close to dinner liao. Cos I'm mindful not to let her eat dinner too late cos she sleeps around 8ish so must give dinner around 630 to let her got time to digest. How do u know she doesnt need the nap or when she needs the catnap at 4ish? My gal also shows no sign of sleeping but when I bring her into room and nurse, surprisingly she will nap wor. This reminds me that I read somewhere that even though our babies may not display any signs of wanting to zzz, (cos at this age, they're too excited and keep wanting to play), it doesn't mean they're not tired. So I'm worried and must try to let her sleep lo

AhCapp
Don't envy me. I think she still take 2 naps becos recently at night she will wake up at "practice standing" and it'll take me like 2 hrs to pacify her (yes, even with my breast!) back to zzz. She will latch on, suck a bit. Unlatch, turn away, try to zzz, then likes switch in her brain tells her to change her mind, then attempt to sit up, stand up etc, I pull her down and the cycle continues for about 2 hours before she can finally knock out. Maybe thats why she "compensates" by napping more? I also envy ur boy can zzz on his own no need to nurse to zzz lo..

Lynn
I didn't manage to meet up with the past 2 jan08 mommies that came hk
kitsune was my fault, and wendy boh eng with 2kids. So yah, hopefully can meet u successfully!! Hehe. Can understand it's tough scheduling a meetup when ur on holiday with baby. But would love for our babies (born on same day and both starting with R!!!) to meet. I want to kiss kiss chubby Rayden!
which hotel u staying at and how long ur going to stay in HK?

Mylife
actually we had time on Friday 19th evening (dinner), but to get to Kowloon station we had to change trains.. ours is red/green line @ Prince Edward. So changed our mind & aimed for somewhere nearer instead.

mylife: i'm staying at Langham hotel..
is it near ur side? we having small celebration on his birthday on 3rd Jan wif only family members then 4th Jan flying to hk and leaving hk on 6th Jan nitz..

hi lynn
do u need any warm clothes for Rayden? i hv fleece pants & sweaters & a one-piece.. size abt 12-18m.

Ahchapp,

Javin is also like that dun wan to sleep at nite for the past 3 weeks. Only this week had some improvement. Sleep at 9plus at least i am not so tired. Dun wanna sleep somemore wan me to carry him walk around the house. Dun wan any other pple to carry! His day nap also haywire.
Morning wake up at 8am,if lucky he will sleep at 11.30 for like 1 hour then noon sleep at 3-4plus for about 1 hour. Eating also jia lat, feed so long like 30mins got to show him this and that then he open mouth. Else he will shut his mouth or just keep food in the mouth. Then a while later spit out!!! Need 2 person to feed him lor.