Jess,
If only car plate, then okay. Mine actually also only car plate and slight scatches on the front bumper. But I made report (follow the new rules) at Toyota. And that Toyota guy said like "oh it's not only the number plat, the bumper needs to be change also, can't you see here and here is broken, etc". So then I asked to claim on 3rd party, as it's her fault (she reversed and knocked my car). Then the Toyota guy asked me to repair my car using my own issurance (but have to pay $500 excess) then get refund from 3rd party insurance. Then I asked how if I can't claim on 3rd party, then he said I lost $500 loh. Then found out the other party (that stupid lady) didn't admit her fault and they said this is called a dispute in insurance claim. Then dilly dally, called this one, called that one, until now still haven't settled the claim.
Then last weekend, we cannot tahan already. Went to one workshop and got our car checked. You know what the boss said (we know him pretty well)? He said huh, nothing wrong with your bumper lah. The most just get your no plate changed, don't even need to do paint work. Gosh, to us is good news, cos even if we can't claim at the end, only need to pay for a new no plate only. But then, think of the "professional" service rendered by the Toyota guy. He said I have to change the bumper leh. He tried to talk me in using my insurance.... so he is the one who is the winner (maybe he receives commission or something).
But then it's new law saying no matter how minor or major is the accident, you have to make a accident report. Wonder if this new rules protecting us drivers, or protecting the insurance co.????
Sorry for my long winded post. Have been keeping this for long time. Just wrote a letter to complain to AIG. But didn't put high hope on it, but I just want to tell them my unhappiness.