(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph,
same feelings about the photographer u all talking about. Don't think i will go back.. haha.. I think my money wasn't really well spent. Did not feel happy!

morning all
i think gerrard has finally recovered. the reason why i say i think is becoz im still monitoring.. yest he still coughed a few times but no phelgm. today im crossing my fingers and toes that it'll all be cleared.

kitsune,
welcome back to SG- hope you had a good trip- sorry just quickly scanned through the posts so not sure of the details of your HK trip.

blessedbaby,
ur gal dont want milk? is it suddenly dont want or all along she refused milk? u gg holiday?

violetice,
when is ian's party? is the cake from pine nice? I am also looking out for cakes

ah, recovered liao...

luvv
how much u paid for the soft shoes? Clarks?

re: CX infant airfare
i thought the travel agt made a typo, but she said indeed CX infant fare was so expensive wor.

Wendy, EXACTLY, all the few chairs/sofas in the airport are taken up by weary travellers. Hiaz.

Kam, try the Johnson and Johnson anti mosquito lotion. Works for me.

Itok, just go to my blog www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com. All the details and photos are there.

mei, i always buy bak gua from the old skool kind of shop in ang mo kio...its opp a small cc...forgot which ave. good. not hard. the chilli one, really very hawt!~

cannot remember lah, always got a "yuan" in the brand, thats all i remember.
typical bak gua shop, red plastic bag (sama x1), and got a ah pek face on the plastic (sama x2)

i check and let u know

bak kwa
i like the free type

eh mcfluffy
i wanted to say.. your girl's eyes so pretty, no need professional photoshoot also can la

Wendy, thks..I did refer to that but didn't really know how to order or such...the cupcakes look so nice...

Any mommies already celebrated the bday or going to celebrate? Got any ideas to share. I am very bad with such thing. Just call catering...pending cake order...

Wendy, Mon 8 Dec was 'fan chang', such a hot day with the hot sun. And I thought Disneyland will be the coldest cos it's near Lantau island, offshore mah.
Sun was cold, we just took a quick photo at "Bauhinia" square before scooting back to our coach bus cos the wind was strong and it was very cold. After dinner on Sunday, around 8pm, we went back to hotel liao cos the aunties say too cold to go to Ladies street. :p

ave 4 bahkwa is good? Just a road across my house yet I never eat before leh!

Any mummies wanna meet up? School hols now... Feeling totally bored at home...

Luvv

How you managed your girl alone when you traveled last time? I will be traveling with my gal this time so still dont know how i am to handle baby on the airplane with many things! Any tips to share??

kitsune
alamak. why BF baby in toilet? So cham meh? Tot airport got lots of chairs??? For me, with the nursing cover, i dont care i jus find a place to sit and nurse. I nurse everywhere, even in cha chan teng (local restaurants), taxis, expos. I even nurse while walking around, carrying Rylee in my Ergo.

wendy
actually, in HK, the La Leche here is 10x more active than their counterparts in Sg, possibly becos Sg is far more BF friendly than HK, so here they gotta be more active to protect the rights of BF mothers. More ang moh here BF openly. Without nursing covers some more. But generally i think the people's mindset here changing. I jus went to a health check-up. Set up very local, but when i told them i'm still BFing my 10mth old baby then, they all say it's very good.

Handling baby in plane.
If got hubby around, always tell the crew to stagger your meals. They will keep one set and when u're ready, they will warm it up and serve to u. For me, Rylee cant be put down into bassinet so i held her thru out the entire journey while she slept. My hubby fed me my meal. Or if ur baby is not fussy like mine and u're traveling alone, perhaps buy one more seat if u can afford it? Pay child fare, not infant fare and gently lay her down with one hand while u eat? Other than eating, bring lots of baby's fav toys to occupy her. Nurse her or let her drink water while plane take off to relieve ear pressure. Best is when check in, ask ground staff to put u away from other kids, sometimes, other kids screaming will set off your baby. It's contagious. What else? Rem also to wrap baby up in thick clothing or bring comfortable blankie, usually, the aircon in the first row of seats where the bassiinet is, is damn freaking cold. Best of all, try scheduling the plane to be baby's nap/sleep time. She sleeps = peace for u, but again, check u're not seated near some other toddlers who might be screaming his/her head off and waking ur baby! Good luck!

blessedbaby
oh yah. Most importantly, when handling baby on the plane, u MUST maintain a clear and calm mindset. Its' true, babies can sense our anxiety level. If u're super anxious, she will be too. Just note down the stuffs u need to bring, separate them for check in stuffs and hand luggage types, then be calm. Even when baby is screaming. Just tell her calmly u're taking for her, going to do it for her, whatever. And be thick skinned. Dont worry about other passengers. Chances are they will sympathise u and those who dont? Heck care with them!

kitsune
forgot to tell u of cos Elements got nice baby care room lah...they actually won the best baby room in HK this year. Actually lots of new shopping malls in HK have, some u gotta ask the staff. Harbour City also have. Langham Place in mongkok also have, but u gotta ask the information counter and they will take the key and bring u there (super ma huan), IFC and Times Square in Causeway Baby also have.

mylife

Indeed your advises are helpful. ;) I will keep in mind... Paid for infant basinet and myself, so we are getting ready.. My bb is not a fussy type so cross my fingers that she will turn out fine.. maybe i am too anxious..

U use ergo carrier? ;) any good? I am so tempted to buy one, but then, my bb is chubby and i am a small type.. dont know if it's worth buying or not.. ;( or maybe i give it a miss...

Mylife, ya lor, I also nurse my baby everywhere in HK, in coach bus, at restaurant but must at least have a place to sit. At airport, don't even have a chair for this mummy. Hiaz.

Two thumbs up for the Elements Baby room, there's even a sign that says the baby room is disinfected every 4 hours. Cool.

Forgot to check how much was child fare. But then infant fare for CX was already so ex at $358 so don't think will pay even more bah. Anyway, their overbooking so 'jialat', I don't dare to fly CX again unless it's just me and hubby travelling. :p

Blessedbaby,
Your baby is the most intelligent of all. Can read newspaper ah!

Mylife,
Why must they lock the baby rooms? Imagine if BB poo poo, u will want to use ASAP.. U mean people will steal their baby mats etc? or it's a ploy to give the information counter staff more work to do?

Goodbb/Wendy,
brand of shoes - Bopy..paid $62 after 20% discount...

blessedbaby,
I brought her favourite toys! distract her during the flight if she's not sleeping, i even brought her favourite leapfrog caterpillar and played the music on board. When i was alone, got to eat real fast!..haha.. then sometimes when allow, i'll bring her walk around the doors area for a change of scenary..basically at 5 months, she was a breeze, can't imagine now...sure havoc!

blessedbaby,
wah ya..your baby can read newspaper!! shld ask the reporters to come liao...haha

wendy,
yes the CX fare was expensive but no choice cos that time PIL and hubby went over to china 1st, so i met them in HK after their china trip and we booked the tics together.

blessedbaby
Aiyah, ur gal not fussy then what u kancheong about? Kekeke. How come she knows the milk scandal and stop drinking ah? Hehe. For me, personally I like the ergo cos it distributes the weight of the bb to the hips instead of jus the shoulder. But the cons is it cannot face out, cos some people like bb to face out. For me, I believe in the saying that it's actually not good to put bb facing out cos bb will get I overstimulation and when they do, they dunno how to "shut off" the stimulation, and contd absorbing the stimulation. if they face in, they can rest their face
on ur chest. Jus MHO. Anyway, weight not a problem lay, ur a mommy, instinctvely u will be able to carry her even if she's older. I ever saw a very slim and petite mommy in HK carrying her gal who's about 4yrs old cos the gal wants to zzz on the shoulder!!

Kitsune
Haha. I ever nurse rylee walking up and down ladies market! With nursing cover lah, and aft a while she napped so I jus remove my boob but kept the cover on to shield her from the sunlight. During my recent trip to Macau, she was also fussing in the hotel lobby when we checked out, and all the waiting seats was taken, so I also strapped her into the ergo and nurse her standing up *lol* it has become normal to me cos my gal doesn't nap in strollers.

Blackbatz
Haha. I thnk becos they want to ensure the room is used by people with babies. Maybe cos it's mongkok and this area full of young punks. My guess is maybe the rooms were abused by people go in and smoke lah or do other stuffs? So now they restrict it. Me lo, kena rylee poo poo twice in that mall. That's how I know how ma huan it was! But bo pian gotta go cos poo poo ma, if not I'd change in the stroller somewhere else.

mylife
surely the clinics in HK/China will support bfg, o'wise even more kids will kena kidney problems. I think my company doc nowadays also more open to bfg. 3 yrs back when i was bfg #1, she prescribed me medicine and told me to pump & discard. wa, my supply not enuf, want me to throw?!?! I just took the MC and went home to zzzzzzz, didn't take the medicine.
Last month, she checked in her medical dictionary & prescribed medicine that's safe for lactating moms. hah, what a difference!

wendy
If u dun mind, I can pass u the nursing cover (hooters hiders) when ur here in HK cos me buying new one (nice prints!) and I got 2 (one wash one use)

Oh some clinics still promoting FM, trust me! I'm referring more on the attitude of the society here. Changing and starts acceptng the BM is good. Clinics wise, there are STILL medical professional who are outwardly against BF. Even in the wake of the melamine scandal, some still promote FM. I've heard of an expat who gave birth recently in HK hospital and got into a argument with the nurses where she delivers. She wanted to BF but the nurses scolded her n grumbled that she's interfering in their work cos they're supp to feed the bb and they find it easier to jus feed the babies (robotically I supposed) like factory way, all feed FM so they find it troublesome to carry bb to the mother to bf! Lots of other horror stories of the attitude of people in the medical line here. Some even scoffs blatantly at the mommy's effort to bf and say it's NOT the right way (this one came from a PD)!! Can imagine the amount of stress and worries a new mommy going thru with these people! So the easy way is to give up lo...for the uninformed ones

For mommies who are still BF, I bought this book Thomas hale's mothers milk and medications. Supp to be like the bible for lactating moms and reference for la leche as well. If u need to take meds, I can help u chk the risk and whether it's safe.

mylife
ya ya, check for me... the painkiller Synflex!
My company doc (GP) said not safe for lactating moms, but that's exactly what TMC prescribed me after my c-section... and they know i'm breastfeeding ma?!?! I take it when my migraine hits. Like nowwwwww. but the other day another doc gave me ponstan so i'm taking that now.

tks for your offer re: nursing cover. Hubby paid for my Giordano one - kitsune's recommendation. easier than trying to meetup with people, and i can use on the airplane liao.

morning all,

wendy,

synflex is safe for pregnancy but not during the last trim. tat's wat my GP told me. She said that they only remember wat's safe for pregnancy cos bb still in our womb, (more dangerous den breastfeeding).

I am using synflex for alot of things haha. was given tramadol for severe pain too. these are the medication given by my gynae.

morning all

News update...
Yunbb delivered her baby boy (#3) today at 8.01am. Baby weigh 3.45kg. She is now resting at TMC room 622b.

<font color="ff6000">*CONGRATS to YUNBB*</font>

steph,

ehehe nid more updates?

her labor short... went in at 12+ tis morning ... n started pushing ard 750-755am ... n 801am out liao

wendy,

ya... told her tat yday ... also told her to go hospital asap for #4 hahaha

her edd is 20+ dec ... she induce ... so not tat bad lah

hi mylvera/wendyg,

thanks for the comments on my boy's 1st bd. I decided to just go ahead and hold it but not a big scale one. serving cooked food and outside food. Not inviting my side family members my grandpa passed away this year also.

Congrats to Yunbb.

Shoes:
I bought 2 pairs of soft sole shoes for my boy to practice his standing skills every morning. grandma will bring him down to playground area and find support for his practice. I bought osh kosh for $25 and another pair baby bear for $18 form tangs.

mylvera,

her pushing very short but labour consider average leh...12+ - 755am...abt 7hrs? My labor for #1 is ard 6-7hrs so gynae say #2 will be faster. I abit scare leh cos dunno whether want epi or not. If labor is fast &amp; furious then no time for me to decide last min if i want...hubby say no need to think, just TAKE!pengz*

she induce?? no leh...she smsed me say no insert pill. Jus normal break waterbag n wait.