(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

itok & Mom2nat

No more toys for my son till... 3yrs old? LOL I very auntie, cannot resist a good bargain =P

long time din cum in to chat. prob lotsa archive to catch up ha...

wanted to come into forum to let you know that my neighbour's kid toes were very badly hurt on the escalator wearing croc shoes. mind you, he was well behaved on the escalator of a shopping mall. toes went in and the mummy could see the bones of the toes. i saw the stitches on all five toes. terrible. she's encouraging her 2 1/2 yr old toddler to walk more now in order to improve the healing process.

i threw away my girl's crocs. couldn't believe the paper reports till i see with my very own eyes.

evening
ai, no need to throw away.. just take the lift...
my elder boy is wearing hand me down crocs.

hey blackbatz
are u considering #3? What did u do with your nursing cover? Can i buy over from u?

Wendyg,
Me can consider close shop liao!! What to do, that silly geomancer stared at me and said that my third child would be a boy. Two boys are turning me inot skin and bones. Cannot imagine my life revolving around 3 boys. Now my #2 is beginning to "fight" with #1 for toys and attention.

If got #3, should be accident. Can't sell liao. Will pass the nursing cover to my sister cos she's pregnant. Should have asked me earlier. I sold mom2nat the milkbags too. :p

Ahcapp,
I was so tempted to go sown after seeing all ur toys. U will continue to buy one la..Like Mom2nat,I have no place to store. Each time I sit down to play with my boys, I would look through each toy to see if it's worth keeping.

Evening,
Yep! My pupils' toe also suffered the same fate and in the same manner described by you.

itok
Isit the Flu bug? Cos my girl tested positive for the flu bug. and given tamiflu tablets. Now my boy ill. sigh. V poor thing when they cry and cry.

Ahcapp
Then I must be auntie oso... you come see my toys. Hoho...

AhCapp,

I went to the sale too but too late I guessed. All the stuffs which I am keen are either too dirty, stickers torn or such. In the end, didn't get much of anything. Bought Xmas presents which are clean and in good condition but suitable for other kids, not mine.

blessedbaby, I very slow on FB one, no wonder I never see.

mcfluffy, thanks, ya I also cannot imagine how come I so brave. But seriously after this, I wanna close shop already.

jess, thanks *_^

violetlce, thanks thanks. will try to take care, but with a #1 that is like an energizer bunny, quite tough.

mylife, hehehe, well lucky I went HK before strike, else no more chance man. The plan to Japan or Aussie next year has just gone out of the window. But the good thing is, my relatives will not have a chance to say I SOOOOOO LONGGGG as delivering still HAVEN slim down during CNY.

Luvv, thanks!!!! So many well wishes, 100% will take care of myself, or at least try to la. But then hor, leg itchy le, wanna go shopping tomo.

Actually I was quite hesitate if really a #2 comes along so soon, but then my hubbie say, since now already so tired, does not make much of difference, at least they both have each other to play with when they are growing up and my baby gal will also learn to share and love didi or meimei . But just that now everything we buy must be like X2 la for us.

re:wisdom tooth

I had mine taken out all at once under GA. When I had my braces down, I took out 5 teeth. That time I already wanted my doc to take out the wisdom at the same time, but he say 9 teeth, he was like WA, better not. So end up, I got to suffer 2 times for tooth extraction. Either way LA or GA both sucks big time since I tried both. After the operation, look horrible also feel horrible.

Ahcapp, my girl also hates porridge, actually she hates all things baby, except for her cereal, she hates puree and mashy stuff. I have been giving her rice with some dishes, tofu or steam potato or steam carrot. So far so good le, she loves the rice. If the rice falls out of her mouth, she even uses her hand to push the rice back. So if I wanna shut her mouth when I bring her out, its either the gerber puffs or some bread and plain water. The other thing is, also cannot
deprive her of her milk, no milk = cannot sleep.

mei, thanks, trying to enjoy,but so far the MS has been really bad. Compared to the #1, although MS but my appetite still quite good, this one, I dont really feel like eating. Worse look even fat.

QQ, Chaye, thanks lots, wanna join the crowd? kekeke.

itok, ya, no one to chat with me this time round while I wait, hope the wait is not going to be as long as the first time. but still early now le, I still got like 3/4 of the journey to go, hopefully everything will go on smoothly for me.

hello everyone

just came back from our Macau trip. So very tiring. Rylee simply hates those jar food...actually so do i, when i ate them...taste bllllearrhhh

Anyway, would like to ask mommies, how EXACTLY do u put ur babies to sleep ah? Apart from Kam (who says Hao Re goes to sleep on his own) and Grumpus who was telling me u need to rock and carry them to zzz...how does everyone does it?

I am STILL nursing Rylee to sleep on my bed, for all her naps and night sleep. It's easy but problem is i dunno how in the long run. I just nurse her, she sleeps, and i roll away. But this trip to Macau makes me think about future. When she's tired, and she's in her stroller and we're outside, she doesnt know how to just nod off and sleeps in her stroller. We tried putting the stroller flat and kept pushing, but now that she can sit up/stand up (means she's so much stronger now), she'll jus cry cry cry and attempt to get up. We persisted, and she cries louder to the point of wanting to vomit. Outside, the only other way of letting her nap is to put her into my Ergo carrier, close the hood and rock her gently, and she'll nap on my chest. Some mommies told me to sleep train her and do the controlled crying now that she's older, but for the life of me, i STILL couldnt bring myself to do it. I'd love to bring her for more trips next time, but i'm wondering how is she gonna learn to self soothe? Will this come automatically? Night time, she sometimes sleep thru the night, with little stirring, but when she does wake up, she needs my breast to zzz again. Comments pls?

I have not been active in this thread for quite sometime, though I pop by to read posts but din post anything. Been out of nowhere kinda of feeling, due to the economic downturn...I lost my job...but not too depressed so I can take a good rest. cos when the restructuring of my dept takes
place, I worked late almost every other day. For now, I am a SAHM. Hope that this will be temporary as cant really afford to have only hubby bearing all the expenses.

Mylife,

My boy have difficulty sleeping at night sometimes. We let him roll on the bed and fell asleep on his own. Sometimes, it is takes a short time but sometimes...it can be long. When he is in sleepy mode, we pat him and sing. It all depends whether he wants to sleep or not. If he dun want to, the care giver never gets to sleep. LOL

Congrats to all mummies who are preggie again.

I had postpone my plans to try to #2 cos no more working liao. till i settle down for a new job.

wendyg
yeah hor can still wear the crocs go downstairs cycling or to beach so long not shopping centres etc.
help... can give me discount code for acmamall. i lost my scb brochure

another way to cook porridge
dunno if you ladies are practising this but it sure helps to save time and attn spend on stirring porridge over the flame. i put rice into porcelain cup add water and a piece of meat and put inside rice cooker to cook tog with our rice.

BFG
nipple hurts. skin came off due to his teeth ouch. bfg hurts more now

mylife
me too. nursing him to sleep. when we are outside, he sleeps in the baby carrier (over the shoulder kind) whenever he wants to. quite worried. even tot of introducing pacifier but like regressing so at my wits end now. got idea muz share ah (my girl used to use pacifier)

verene
you taking retrenchment well... good luck in job hunting... hope you get good and understanding boss

angelsky,
#2 coming faster, good also la...can close shop eariler and more ecomical since can share lots of things...keke

mylife,
my girl normally will roll over and sleep on my bed only. if she can't, i'll pat her and sing to her but if she's not sleepy, she'll normally resist. When outside, she can only sleeps in her pram and her car seat. In her pram, when she's sleepy, i'll close the hood and push her around, with motion, she'll fall asleep when she's tired.

have you try the bottle? maybe you can start weaning her your breast so that she's not that dependent on it to fall asleep.

Verene,
sorry to hear that but on the brighter side, my fren got her job 3 weeks after she got retrenched...about 1 month back. YOu will be able to get one soon, no worries

Wendyg,
Are u planning for #3? Buy nursing cover and milk warmer.

Mylife,
For Zach, I notice he will fuss and cry loudly jsut before he is about to fall asleep. Once I manage to get him to sleep in the correct position, he will sleep comfortably.

Zach hates to be "lock" up in his stroller for long. While in Phuket, my hubby learnt to ignore his cries. Otherwise must carry him. So we had to put up with the weird stares from passers by. Zach can put up a big show, cry until whole face red and tears flowing down like river. Sometimes, after brawling for 5 to 10 minutes, he will give up and kwai kwai sit inside. After a while, he will just nod off.

Maybe can try to bring her out for more walks in stroller. For Zach, sitting in stroller equates to Kai kai. Till today, he has gotten over Phuket yet.

Verene,
Can understand how u felt. Been in that position some years back. This is a period of soul searching. Good luck in your job search.

evening
the code is SCB35. The other time i forgot the code, i telephoned the hotline and asked for it hahaha.

mylife
ah that's me, at night my baby is still 100% latched on to zzzz. I tried to pat him before, but even when he's v sleepy, he will "hunt" to latch on... u know, bobbing his head motion.. if he can't find what he wants, he'll cry... and i dowan to let him cry, so i latch him on.
For 1st 2 naps of the day, my dad rocks him then pats him, evening nap baby will be in yaolan. Weekends when i'm taking over, i will take the easy way out and latch him to zzz. but if he's not willing, i also hv to carry and rock.
hey, after your girl sleeps u roll away... i fall asleep tog with baby. hahahaha.

i tried pacifier, my baby dun like. he can tell the difference even in the middle of the night.

blackbatz
ahhhh, if i'm going to hv #3, i won't buy so early. I'm buying now for #2... delayed reaction haha. When most mums already done with bfg, now then i buy nursing cover haha. As for the warmer, my dad been bringing my warmer back & forth daily.. only recently then struck me to buy 1 to put at their home hahaha.

hey your nursing cover is pupsik issit?

my life,i am still nursing my boy to slep at nite. Sometimes we are outside I nurse him on the sling. I have nursing wrap brand new washed already and want to sell.

angelsky, congrats.

morning to all and happy holidays

Mom2Nat,
i am not sure if gerrard got the flu bug.. it started since last sat then PD said he caught a cold. then brought him back 4 days later.. coz he was having on and off fever, she said he got sore throat..
now he is still coughing.. and ocassional running nose. ya, very heart pain when they cry. i think he eat medicine until scared liao.

violetice,
no, i didnt buy coz i personally feel it's too small.. so i used the pampers active boxes instead.

mylife,
i can understand your problem- gerrard also dont like to sleep in stroller when we are out. coz in my case, he sleeps in the yaolan during the day and on the mattress with me at night. in the day, he needs to suckle the pacifier for a while until he falls asleep then he will spit out. at night, we usually let him roll around on his own after his milk, sometimes v fast he sleep, sometimes damn long. so i end up not sleeping until he sleeps. if i cannot tahan, then will put him back to yaolan then he sleeps faster.

there were a few times when we were out and he fell asleep in our arms.. then we put him in the stroller and the most he sleeps 30 mins only.

mylife,
I don't bf but my boy used to rely on his last bottle of milk to fall alseep. But recently, he rejected the last feed and will only sleep when we switch off the lights. So nowadays it's TV and lights off around 9.30pm and he will go to sleep with his pacifier. Usually he will roll around on my bed for 5-10 mins before he falls alseep and we will transfer him to his cot. Sometimes we just let him roll about in his cot but he will sit up or stand up and we will have to get him to lie down.

Talking about milk intake. Now my boy is only taking 3 feeds of 150ml each...sometimes don't even finish the milk. But he's big on solids, eat everything and in huge portions. Can we switch to fresh milk after they turn one? I thought he might be more keen on fresh milk than formula milk...will be alot easier when we're out as well.

angelsky

I am very tempted to give my son rice. But people say wait till 1 yr old. My son has been eating ABC pasta since yesterday. Feeding him with pasta + homemade pasta sauce is now a breeze compared to porridge. =(

My part time helper suggested separate out the plain porridge. Like we adults, eat plain porridge + other simple dishes. I will try to give my son a bit of rice like u do. Hopefully he will not reject it. Not very good for my son to go "italian" and eat pasta every day mah =P

Oh, I also feed my son Gerber puffs when we go out. Yes, it will shut him up too. hehehehhe.. besides that, can train him up to use his fingers tips to pick up things. I also feed my son bread when we are out. Or small piecse of fruits. Or else, we can't eat in peace =S

nursing to sleep

My son needs his bottle of milk in order to nap or sleep at night. Sigh. I also worry if this is good in the long run... but how know how to wean him off. When he sees the bottle of milk just before his nap/ bedtime, he will make those coughing sounds like so poor thing like that..

Violetice

The other mummies said the sale will replenish the toys every day. I was tempted to drop by tmrw morning... but well, maybe not. =P

Actually, some items are not that cheap. I don't know why I bought the musical potty also. Must be people buy, i also buy. Told u mummies I am very auntie. hehehehe... it's good u didn't buy much, can save $. But u know the next Isetan Private sale is on boxing day right? *wink wink* =D

Ahcapp,
My boy is exactly like yours. He will say "nan, nan". In fact, he alwsys utters "nan, nan" and "mum, mum" (not mummy or daddy).

After seeing ur loot, I also went down today. Bought tonnes of Xmas gifts. Spent close to $100. Some things can buy. Yes they do replenish some toys but the newer and more expensive ones. Must really hunt around for the good deal. Thought the Dora toy set at $19 was a good deal, includes the doll and some playhouse etc..Even furniture set for dora is at $8. They marked down some of the toys that were not so popular, from $10 to $5. Not all ah..Only those at the end of the shelves.

Some of the fisher price stuff are qutie dusty. Cant give away as Xmas presents.

blackbatz

Wow, your boy so smart! Can say mum mum already. Mine is just pure 'coughing' sound when he sees his milk bottle. LOL just like some old man with a really bad dry cough! hahahah

Oh yes, I think the Dora sets are pretty cool! Worth getting. *2 thumbs up* I was also hunting high and low for some 'cleaner' toys. Anything with exposed parts which cannot be cleaned get rejected by my hb. =S

AhCapp, is it? I dont know le, coz she dislike all baby food. So I gave up. EVen pasta she dont like. She will look at us when we are eating, so end up I gave in and tried rice and she loves it. But she does not eat much too. I have been trying to give her the porridge separated for quite some time, but she still dislikes it.

Anyway, my MS is BAD, arghhhhh. I was just complaining to my hubbie, dont know why I wanna go through it again. Last pregnancy, though I had bad MS, but I can still eat after that, at most waterfall only. This time, dont have appetite, MS also lagi worse. SIGH. Full also wanna puke, hungry also the same.

Ahcapp,
I just hope he doesn't grow up to be like a glutton. His mouth will open and close whenever he watches us eat.

Hubby finally saw the toys and commented that they are quite good actually. Should have gone on the first day.

wah blackbatz...*blow whistle* u r one HOT Mama!
i dun dare to wear my bikini now cos of stretchmarks

u hang yr boy upside down but he seem to enjoy ya!

soooo many toys!! They looked gd & clean. The last Mattel toys sale didn't get anything cos hubby commented dusty & dirty so this time gave up!

blackbatz,
my girl will also saay "mum mum" non stop when she's hungry (hubby say she's like me coz i always chant that i'm hungry when i'm hungry and there's no food). Or she will open and close her mouth and look as though she's chewing food when she sees people eating. look at us verrrry intently, hoping we'll give her a mouth or 2 too. super greedy. i think she's going to grow up FAT^. Worried... heh.

mcfluffy,
I also worry my boy will grow up fat. He's super greedy when it comes to food. He will reject milk when he's not hungry but he never says no to food! He will also say "mum mum" non-stop when we're eating and he's super impatient when he sees me bringing out his porridge...never give me time to smash up his fish to check for bones. He can eat non-stop and I worry if I'm overfeeding him since he doesn't seem to be full leh...

mylife,
Just to share my experience with jar food for my boy. If you're feeding Rylee when you're out, try to select jar food with fruits eg. Heinz Apple & Banana Cereal, Heinz Creamy Banana Porridge, etc. Fruit based jar food doesn't taste horrible when eaten at room temperature. Those meat/fish based jar food taste horrible at room temperature but are quite ok when heated up so save those when you're at home. So far I prefer Heinz and Only Organics brand of jar food. I find Healthy Times and Gerber too watery/bland (more suitable for younger babies) and doesn't taste as nice.

Mattel sales:
i bought a push walker fr FP $40 (UP 79.90) and a music barney $5.(UP??)

Potluck@east 14dec 4.30pm
Venue: Pasir Ris drive 4

1) lyn78 2A+1bb
ikea meatball,drinks
2)Godsent 2A+1bb
sandwich
3)Icy 2A+1bb
logcake
4) Pris 2A+2bb
bee hoon or baked chicken wings
5)Audrey 2A+1bb
curry chix
6)Jess R u comin?
7)Irene Coming?

Any more mummies keen to come?

Lyn I want to come but still not settled with plans. Can confirm later? I know it's drawing near.

Mommies, I need some help to destress. I am moving off back to school but feel so scare suddenly that I find there's alot I've gotta learn again as I going in to head. It's kinda an unconscious stress that I can't sleep and I try not to think. On one hand I'm happy to be back in school but then again a new environment, new ppl and new jobscope makes me scare. I'm still working in my current place coz got unfinished work. Will only clear leave 2 wks b4 starting school. Feeling so unprepared.

Home side, I find I do nothing much with my kids when they are home with me. FEel I should teach my kids through play but I'm just too tired to read up. Then see other kids progressing faster than my own, I feel I didn't do enough as a mommy. Help help..

Then here in forum I see so many working mums coping both at home and at work. I find my energy level so low! Don't even follow much the forum now.

babe,

dun follow the "trend". let yr kids grow at their own pace.

I also din really teach or play with my kids, till the extend that my #1 sort of know that "if mummy is at home, I can go out n play!!" so every weekends I have difficulty in getting him to nap! He would cry n scream to go out of the hse even if it is raining. Guess, I failed as a mummy too
But I do try to "argue" with hb to bring the kids out on weekends. at least 1/2 day outing. jz brought them to singapore flyers. they loved it
end up I signed for the family m'ship.

babe

I cope as the day goes by. Of course there are days when I totally drained out and feel like a dried prune. N there are days when I am all ready to challenge the whole world. I work full time and look after my son full time every weekend. If not for my hb's help, I would have dropped dead llloonnngg time ago.

I noticed that it's more tiring to stay at home with my son walking about at home. He just will not sit still. So I make it a point to bring him out at least once each weekend. At least his movement is confined for a few hours in his pram =P

Don't be too hard on yourself. Take time out to destress. If need help, ask for it. Like me, I don't like to depend on my in laws, but sometimes, really bo bian. =(

I also don't read to my son that much nowadays. He just will not sit still and he will bite the books! Aiyooo.. so i just play with him and teach him thru playing. Like when we go out, I try my best to talk to him as much as I can. Like look, that's the meow meow cat etc etc.