(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

grumpus
fwah, guai hor
my boy will strain until face red, body red. let him be lor...
usually he will be crying because he wants to be held before sleeping, so i will keep my hands on his body. sometimes he wants to sleep but the street lights are flashing by very fast and he couldnt sleep because of the blinding flashes. so i use my palm to cover his eyes. next time must let him wear cap liao. like jay chou

Wendyg, we switch on the car radio but it only works for a while. She'll stop whining/crying only to find out the source of the music and see if it's anything she can grab. When she don't see a new toy, she'll start her 'engine' again. Ya, should try nursery rhymes or 'er ge'. Haha.

Kam, I tend to think like Grumpus although my ILs will agree with you. So when I travel with them in the car, I must sit at the back with the baby, if not they sure 'xin ruan' and release her from her 'imprisonment'. Hee.

kitsune_sg, pixel, grumpus,
I also travelled with my boy buckled up in his car seat at the rear seats. Afterwhich, i'll turn on my DVD player with his Hi-5 programme and he'll have his eyes glued to the screened and keep quiet thru'out the journey. His DVD can play 5-6 time during the trip, but he's still enchanted by all the songs playing from it and i can drive in peace..

My last meal before i deliver was a pkt of Chix rice from KKH Kopitiam as it was easiest to order for my husband.. Kena cheated by gynae that i'll deliver by 12.30am after admitting into delivery suite at 6pm. Luckily, nurses and midwifes explained that things don't go so fast for induce delivery and got hubby to foodcourt to "ta bao" a chix rice at 8pm. I ended up delivering at 10plus, next day morning.

I knew a lot of people will say against me. It doesn't mean we do not care for Hao Re's safety, but we just look at things differently. And I know, we are not doing the right thing. And actually Hao Re is perfectly okay being buckled up in the car seat while I am driving alone. Never made any noise.

Kam,
When I'm driving with my hubby in the car, he also likes to carry Tristan. But Tristan will still focus on his Hi-5 programme only and if his programme stop or ended, he'll look outside the window or pull our safety belt and at times touch the gear knob, "ma chiam" he knows how to drive...

Re: car safety
Do they have this video in sg showing how a bb flies out of a car during an accident? I heard quite scary.
I try my best to keep my children buckled up in car seats. To me a car is not a playground, I see some kids playing and jumping in backseats. So dangerous and distracting. I can drive safetly, but I can't guarantee the thousands on the road will too. left right front back all cars leh!!

blackbatz
I oso "overseas trained"... hahah. cos in france, MUST use car seats or else good luck, the fine not cheap hor... So luckily my girl used to it liao. Or else now i will be having a prob keeping her in the seat.

kitsune
I dun sit with #1 last time, I din understand how come pple sit backseat. I do tat when she is in fussy mood. usually I will sit in front but singing my lungs out so tat she is entertained. ahhahaha....

Hmm... maybe one day I should sit in front seat and try. Maybe without me with her, she can entertain herself more. Hee, I hope so lar.

Hi Mom2nat,

Long time never see you around the forum. Maybe I'm busy as well. Have u been bringing your kampung around for the meet and greet session around the shopping malls.

Just read the news that a Singaporean hostage had died. So sad! 28 years old female lawyer.

i always sit in the back with baby.. to hand him 1 toy after another... when he doesn't want to look out the window anymore. at the very worst, i'll pick him up (oops!) & breastfeed him or smthg.. sometimes he doesn't like it there coz very hot & his back all wet from sweat. and i gotto be the manual fan...

kitsune
the world is coming to an end.... believe it?
"You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come. Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be famines and earthquakes in various places. All these are the beginning of birth pains."
Matthew 24:6-8

Wendy, sometimes I do believe in it but more so the scientific reason ie. Earth's natural resources will be depleted, the Sun may die and stop emiting light and energy blah blah blah. Hopefully, it's not in my time and my baby's time lar. If not, I'll quit working immediately, don't want to waste time working when it's not my passion? Should be off travelling to see the world and trying things I always wanted to do. But now, travelling also very dangerous. :p

blackbatz
I have been v busy lor. Sch hols means I need to work harder... 2 kids at home leh. This whole wee brought my girl to Act3 in the am, ferry here and there until I giddy ah. I oso rushed to CKtang and robinsons sale. hoho... Next week will try to stay at home more lor. *believe me??*
How have you been? Have you sold your pump? Are you on my MSN ah? I v forgetful, sometimes oso forget who is who...

Haro....

I know there were a few mommies earlier who said they're planning trips to HK and some of u have asked me where to find/buy nice and cheap babies clothes. Here's a summary of the shopping places to be found in HK. Cut and paste here. Enjoy
Brrr...getting a bit cold here liao...

Hong Kong – well known as a shopping mecca. Well, yes it is. But forget Gucci, Prada and Burberry. Here are our best tips on getting good deals on baby clothes in Hong Kong:

Tip 1: Hand-me-downs

Babies grow fast and outgrow their clothes in no time. Local culture says that it’s lucky for a newborn to wear clothes given by a friend/relative.

If you haven’t been offered hand-me-downs, plenty of parents will sell off their slightly used clothes for a few hundred dollars.

Try these local sites:

Ebay HK (now in English)
Asiaxpat

Tip 2: Sample Shops

Trail around Johnston Road in Wan Chai and the back streets of Causeway Bay to pick up British, American and Japanese brands for next to nothing. Baby stuff is often thrown into boxes at the front of the store. You’ll often get stuff for $5 a piece.

Stanley market deserves special mention. You’ll find Next and GAP, Gymboree, Gap, Carter's, Osh Kosh and many other famous brands that may have some minor flaw. Often, the labels are cut – these are the originals. If the labels are all intact, check closely the quality of the stitching and the labelling to see of they’re fake.

Also, check out Li Yuen Streets in Central, Fa Yuen St in Prince Edward and Lion Rock Rd in Kowloon City.

Tip 3: Local markets

Chinese-made clothes are very reasonably priced and the quality has improved markedly in recent years. Although you may not be able to find 100% cotton, you can find some very good quality basics such as onesies, bibs and real, cloth nappies!

Wan Chai market and Ladies’ market in Mongkok have plenty of stalls stocking baby clothes and other BABY paraphanalia.

Stanley Market carries children's clothing from most major US brands (Carters, Osh Kosh, GAP, Ralph Lauren) at very inexpensive prices.

Also, check out Marble Road market in North Point.

Tip 4: Citygate Outlets

Take yourself off to Lantau for some bargains. Though not super cheap, you’ll find some huge markdowns (up to 90%) at these outlets.

Tip 5: End of season sales

Mothercare, Kingkow, Chickeeduck, etc all have sales at the end of the season. The key here is to plan your shopping well in advance. For example, if your baby is due in summer, buy winter clothes from newborn to 6 months in the previous end of winter sale. And so on...

Mylife, so good to hear from you.
I'm going to Hong Kong next Sat so the tips are so timely. I think my hotel Metropark Mongkok is quite near to Fa Yuen street right? Stanley sounds good too, is it far from our hotel? We'll be taking Cathay Pacific 714 and arriving on Sat around 3:10pm. There'll be transport to our hotel, think we should reach by 4+pm. Will you be free to meet us that evening? Cos next day got city tour, don't know what time I'll finish and where we will be. Not very sure how to call your HK hp when I'm there. Do I call 02185.... directly? Need any prefix? You still have my new mobile right 9781....?

Hi Mom2nat,
Act 3? Normally first 2 weeks I have no time to bring my boy for the drama classes cos still need to review work / plan for next year. By then, most classes would have ended and it would be time to head for my trip. Managed to watch Madagascar though. Maybe bring him to Bakerzin to bake Pizza next Sunday.

How did u mange to squeeze shooping trips to CK Tangs and Robinsons? Mine would insist that I stay at the toys department with him.

You still remembered my pumps ah? Luckily, my sister is pregnant. So pass to her..

Very hard to stay at home cos it's the shopping season. Hee..Hee..

I try not to use msn cos I'm afraid of getting addicted to it. The last time, virus invaded my computer. so I disconnected it. That's because I didn't have a powerful firewall.

kitsune
err...i think i dont have your number leh...cos saved in Spore phone only. :p

No need to dial any prefix, just call the 8digit numbers directly. I'll PM u my number. Sat evening dinner shud be ok. But have to eat around 6pm..cos by 8pm, have to be home by then to start bedtime routine liao. Metropark Mongkok is near Fa Yuen street.
Let's have dinner at the mall near my place, Elements, then after dinner, u can go jalan at Elements...

hello mummies!
finally tried the ABC pasta that some mummies here have given, ahcapp, thanks for your recipe, my boy likes it but is not fantastically happy about it, maybe not as delicious as yours?

I have another recipe to share, and it is a no brainer, since xmas is near and we all should share...hohoho

if your bb has passed the egg test, and is ok to take eggs, this is a real nice desert. It's actually meant for adults but i tweaked it a little:-

bread and egg pudding
-1 part egg, 2 parts milk
-sugar (you can use fruit sugar if you want your bb to enjoy wholesome goodness. i used sis sugar, bochup haha)
-bread, with the side crusts taken off

-in a bowl, whisk the eggs
-in a seperate bowl, add sugar to milk
tip: you can taste how sweet it is. if it is just alright, the pudding will come out a little not so sweet. if you wish for the pudding to be sweet, make sure this mixture is more sweet than "just right"
-add the milk + sugar mixture slowing into the whisked egg's bowl, stir to achieve consistancy
-in cups, bowls, whatever, shred bread into them. pour the mixture into the cup. soak the bread with a fork/spoon. make sure they are thoroughly soaked
-steam for 12 mins. as i am using a electric steamer, i dont know whether if its high fire or not. if you are using pot/wok, steam 10mins and prod the pudding with fork to check if cooked thoroughly.

voila! chawanmushi-like bread pudding!
as the bread has been soaked in the mixture, it is very soft, no worries about having a hard pudding.

*can add 1 drop vanilla essence for a nicer taste/smell?
*maybe can add some condensed milk into milk mixture, for a nicer "smell"

mylvera
no, clear childcare leave...
i got confirmed in end oct in my new job and i have 6 days of childcare leave, else no rollover. so clear it before work gets bz next year.
thinking of what to do on friday with my bb. bring him out but dunno where

how about u?

gd morning all....

Re: Eggs
i gave my javier a little egg during the weekend, and his butt went abit red.. duno if it is due to eggs or wat... gt to monitor again.

Re: bday party
Javier was born on the 22nd Jan.. so actually i am planning to hold a party for him. but is 4 Jan too early? cos after tat my hubby will be away for ICT liaoz.... then if 18 Jan, i scared everyone busy preparing for CNY, no time to come.
wat do u all think?

jacelyn,

hehe i very "creative" in giving my bb food leh .. he would scream loudly if i dun give him watever food we eat.. sometimes simple rice + soup oso can do .. i would cook those ABC pasta for him? cook bee hoon? buy chee cheong fan?

pixie,

me clearing my last yr leave, else forfeited. will be checking myself into hotel this thurs.. try for #3 there? haha den back home to take care of my sons for the super long weekend lor. hvn plan where to go.. definitely not airport cos went yday.

morning jess
like that hor, i will hold after CNY. thats my personal preference.
my boy born on 29Jan, it will fall on the lunar day 4 of CNY. dont think will hold a party. just tell everyone that im visiting that it is his bday and hope pple will dunk $10 more into the angpao *evil laffs*

mylvera
its rare for me to have a day by myself with my boy, so im going to spend quality time with him. maybe drop by my ex office. all the aunties there will love him

i also nt sure what is the pantang logic about. but so far never held later than actual day before.. hehehee...

then just nice 4 Jan is also my dad bday.... just duno if it is too early to celebrate for javier anot..

jacelyn,
I also have the same question as u. I give Xavier porriage for lunch and dinner. And now I have a problem to bing him out the whole day. Last sat I prepare porriage for his lunch, night time I try to give him cereal, he cried and reject it. It had been long since I give him cereal and he dun like it. Now I not sure how I can bring him out for whole day.. fee bad if I give him milk, like deprive of 1 meal.

jess
I had to hold it on 18 Jan cos ony then my fil back in sg. No choice, I invite close friends and relatives only. I suppose they would be the ones who care to come.

My boy has been having fever since Friday. Do say its viral coz he got no other symptoms. V stress coz his fever alwasy higher than 38. SIGH.. and still no sign of it going down. Today 4th day liao.
Friends say its normal. But quite worried. SIGH

Jacelyn/icy,
I try to give my boy a variety of food...porridge, jar food, cereal, etc so he won't be picky. Normally lunch is porridge if I'm home and dinner will be jar food or cereal. So far he eats whatever we give him although I know he loves his freshly cooked fish/pork porridge. I know I won't have time to prepare porridge if we are going out so I rather he get used to having other food for dinner instead of expecting porridge all the time.

MomMe,
Hope your boy recovers soon.

Any mummies bring their babies to gymboree? I signed up as member but didn't sign up for classes due to the timing but I brought my boy to playgym on sat and he totally loved it! He was busy checking the other gals out and busy crawling after them...haha! But he was really encouraged to crawl, stand and cruise...he was so tired after an hour, nearly dozed off in his high chair while we were having dinner. We go to the Harbourfront branch...intend to bring him there again on Monday (public holiday) if playgym is available...any mummies want to bring your babies there too??? Can let our darling play together.

Myvelra / pixie,

*hi 5* yeah, short week for me too. Will be on leave from Thursday to next Wednesday (so excited!) will be travelling back to hometown (Ipoh, Malaysia). It will be the first time Hao Re going back "home" and for his grandpa (hubby's dad) and many other relatives and friends to see him for the very first time!

RE: What do give baby
We started to let Hao Re join our meal. We rarely cook special dish for him nowadays. We cook for our dinner, bearing in mind to cook something suitable for Hao Re, and so just give him something to eat duing our dinner time. He will sit on high chair with us, and we give him the food, either feed him, or let him feed himself (using his hands), depending on what type of food. And he loves it! The food that he is eating now include rice, and all type of vege that have been soft-cooked. And a bit of meat, tofu, beans, etc. If we go out, it will be milk and cereal, and again, whatever food we are eating that we think suitable for him.

Oh, probably so far in this forum, Hao Re is the only who doesn't like the ABC pasta :-( He is more use the local taste, and don't like ang-mo style :)

Potluck@east cfm 14dec 4.30pm?
venue: Pasir Ris drive 4 function rm.

If not, i'll give up e function rm to other residents..

interested mummies kindly email mi [email protected]

thks..

Yvonne: i bring my bb to gymboree dis sun for e music trial at vivo.. come and join him.

i agree with yvonne
i give my boy a variety of food too...all those that yvonne has described. so that he will not be too picky. lunch and dinner will be porridge, but sometimes my mil too bz to cook porridge for dinner, will have rice cereal, and add soup, mushy food lor. he likes it anyway, since we add in the vege that my mil has cooked for the adults for dinner, just use scissors to cut into small bits. followed by fruits. sure full one...
go out, i always either give him rice cereal, or i go to some places where there is porridge available and feed him from the table. err i know not very healthy (coz of the msg etc) but no choice....
else, i pre-cook porridge, dump into those stainless steel mugs with lid, and heat them up outside with hot water

kam, my boy doesnt like the pasta that much too...
he gives a weird face and gets uninterested in the pasta quickly. hence i need to feed him quickly else he will spit out the pasta, you can see the alphabets on the high chair, his arms, very funny...he likes porridge and all the adult food that we cook.

MomMe,

Hope your boy recovers soon.

When you say >38C, what is the highest temperature recorded so far? Last time to PD told me if virus fever, temp will usually shoot up to >39.5C. Did he have dirrahea? Last time when Hao Re was teething for the first time, he has mild fever, around 38C and dirrahea up to 8 times a day, for about 1 week. Didn't give him any med, he "self-recovered" after 1 week. Monitor him closely, he should be as active as before, and willing to drink/eat (though appetite will be affected, but should still willing to drink/eat). And give him lots and lots of water!

mine prefers "solid" food. if too watery, he will not eat. yday even climb up to me when i sitting down so tat he can eat watever i m eating (end up i give him abit of rice). my mil says he will snatch his gor gor's food.... really greedy haha

Lynn,
Too bad I can't do Sundays. It's reserved for my family...visit my mum's place to play mahjong (for me, haha) and let my boy play with my nieces, aunts and uncles. My boy will crawl after my 4 year old niece and kiss her on the nose...I'm getting worried at my boy's unusual show of affection for girls.....hehe.

last weekend almost died from gas poisoning
dont know what was wrong with our gas heater, when we run hot water from tap, could smell the gas, very strong...all choking from the smell...
this morning was very bad...and i realised that i stuffed some cloth on top of the heater (ran out of space in kitchen, anyhow chuck stuff), and took them out and the heater was fine again.
if didnt discover that, propably you mummies will see headlines scream "family of 3 died from gas heater poisoning"