(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi crystal,
u have MSN or facebook?
can add me at [email protected]
Re: confinement lady
MIL help with #1 so for #2, she also volunteer to do so but i think to lessen her load cos dun wan to tire her out, i will cater confinement food for 20days. Wkends, MIL can cook for the whole family. Currently my PILs not working & looking after #1 so when #2 comes along, i hope they are able to cope else will send #1 to childcare when he turn 20mths. Hubby don't like the idea of maid & stranger at home. Pockets will be tight when #2 comes along so must spend wisely! I am still sourcing for 2nd hand ameda dual pump. Any lobangs do share ya

steph
okay i add you in facebook!

yup pocket would be tighter when #2 comes along. i would put #1 to childcare after my ML. would probably put her at cherie hearts because it's behind my workplace only so i could bring her tgt to work and fetch her home after work. more convenient. don wish to add on my parents' load as well. don tink my dad could handle an active toddler and an infant by then. so have to put #1 at childcarw while #2 stays over at my mom's place then will bring back on weekends. tentatively for this arrangement.

i am considering catering for confinement food too. and maybe a part time helper once a wk. but i tink i saw from your previous post that the catering is quite high too right.

there is this business thread in SMH which i came across does catering for confinement food, pre & post natal massages and sourcing for confinement lady. something like a confinement agency.

by the way, did you do post natal massages for your first pregnancy? i did for my first pregnancy so thinking maybe this time round would not do it to save $$.

hi Audrey,
i think u r under my facebook contacts, are u the mummy wearing spec? Now i recall...cos u not active in thread & never meet u b4 so not familiar, paiseh.
Holiday in Vietnam is safer than in BKK now. I have never been there but heard from my colleague that it's a nice place.
Re: walking
Zander only walk a few steps forward, still not very stable like HaoRe. Recently he don't want to walk, only stand still & love to climb up the sofa!

wendy
my hubby is the one that has got slipped disc. I went to a gynae in HK and she referred me to a physiotherapy. They said my pelvic bone is misaligned, thus causing my spine to be painful and stiff. Did many treatments liao...STILL very painful...i was wondering if it's anything to do with epidural but of cos being in the western meds, they deny it. But the pain spot is exactly where my epi was injected. Im so worried now. Like 70-80yr old woman leh.

Jess
Yup, mine was csect. I oso think it might be due to me not resting well during confinement. I was super stressed cos my confinement lady was damn awful and unhygienic. End up, i took care of baby myself. Lifting up and down, breastfeeding. Perhaps that contributed to the pain too, since they said during confinement, our body is weak.

Thks so much for all the efforts...
Our 1-year-old Mass Birthday Bash gathering back on Sat 12-3pm. 13th or 20th?
1. mei + hb - prefer 13th.
2. ylim + hb - prefer 20th
3. grumpus
4. audrey + hb = prefer 13th
5. Joan + bb - prefer 13th

cystal
ya, maybe u order the confinement food lor. how much is it now? then weekend ask the part time helper to come clean up the house. cos i think it is really a no no for housework. your dad able to cope with 2 kids??

add me in facebook too okie?? my email add is [email protected]

mylife
same as u. i took care of baby myself. my hubby everyday got to rush home to cook for my cos no CL. my in laws dun really care about me. all they care about is their grandson. cos they waited almost 20 years for it.
so now u must take gd care of ur body.
wonder if there is anything we can do about our backaches..... hmm.....

crystal,
actually we r pretty lucky that in-laws or own parents willing to help out looking after grandchildren. I have not source for childcare centre yet, will do so during my ML. There isn't any childcare centre near my workplc cos i work jurong industrial area. Most probably will pick somewhere near my PILs place (JW) so it's easier for them to pick up the kids. Where u staying?

Confinement meal is not cheap nowadays & i can't guarantee i will engage a gd CL so i think better depend on myself, my MIL & catering. For 20days meal cost abt $1.1K & 28days abt $1.4K so i pick 20days will do. I've got a domestic helper & she comes to my hse fortnightly. For post-natal massage, yes i did it for #1 & will do the same this time round too. I told hubby i wont save on this cos i intend to close shop mah so must pamper myself & the massage lady could help in clearing block ducts, engorgement (if any) & i don't have to call LC for home service which can help save $ too! hehe..

steph
i am staying at yishun while my parents stay at sbw. din managed to get a house in sbw because the sales price was very high for the first few months this yr.
i still thinking whether to get massage lady anot cuz it was very comfortable for me and she also helped me with my blocked ducts. would have to discuss with hb again.

jess
i add you later after my lunch ok.

luca, tell me about it man, I was so tired and so thirsty. From midnight onwards already no food and no drinks, all the way till next day 4 plus. Whole time kept thinking of coke and macdonalds. Hehehe.

pixiepixel, no worries la, now I also very forgetful.

mylife, ya the western doctors always say backache is not the cause of epi. My aunt who just gave birth, was telling me that after she took the epi which in the first place she was really reluctant about taking becoz of fear of backpain, end up after the epi, her legs were numb for 2 days when she was in the hospital, till now she still gets back ache. So actually dont know if epi is the cause of it.

angelsky, i had a root beer (those kind can brain freeze, ahhhhh~~ kind of drink) just before i checked into hosp.
i asked my hb to stop halfway and pop into petro kiosk to buy...we checked in at 1am plus...

on behalf of mei: topic for today:-
what was your last drink/food/meal before you checked into hosp for delivery?

Re: Childcare centres
I have surveyed a few centres near my home and have comed across some horrible ones - place is in a mess, looks so chaotic, teachers' lousy attitude, etc. Must really make a personal visit to see the place for yourself before deciding to put your child there. Lucky I found one which I'm quite comfortable with otherwise I was contemplating whether to send my boy to Pat's Schoolhouse or Etonhouse which is going to cost me a bomb each month...more than 1k monthly fees.

re: last food b4 delivery...

i had roti prata with curry .. roti prata is those bot from supermart n my FIL asked my maid to heat up with eagg n onions? curry is home cooked .. den my hb say eat first den check in.. faint lah ..cos emergency c-sec needed but must fast ... so end up 10+ 11 pm den c-sect

Andrey,

Yes, Hao Re can walk pretty well now. But he still crawls :) I posted a video on my FB, better than the one I posted on my blog.

Luca,

You said like it's so easy..... I only experienced 2 times of contraction, then I cannot tahan and ask for epi already. My hubby looked at my face and said, okay okay, I called the gynae NOW. He was very reluctant for me to use epi, but looked at my face, he immediately gave in, haha!

Buffet,

I am looking for a caterer for Hao Re 1st year party. I need a certified HALAL caterer as I have a couple of muslim friends. The one I posted was from ISS catering. Our company used them before, for 600 pax that time, they gave a lot of FOC - glass plate for VIP, plastic plate for all guests, 2 special booth (cook on the spot) set up for mee siam and laksa, etc. But the only thing is I missed the event as I just delivered, so didn't know if the food taste okay. My colleagues said okay, pretty nice woh. But $15 per pax leh..... they got $8, $10 and $12 per pax one, but the menu not as impressive as this one.

Kam,

erm..jz my own experience from ISS. my ILs told me to book tat for my #1 first yr party cos they like the food from their nephew n niece's weddings. OK lor.. i ordered. Turned out disaster!!! laksa given NOOOODLES instead of thick Bee Hoon, food not enuf? not fresh? not in accordance to what we ordered? seafood fried rice only got few sticks of CRABSTICKS n shrimps (hae bee??), promised to give us proper cutlerys end up only disposable cutlerys? etc etc ... of cos i kick up a fuss. end up they compensate me cos they messed up everything lor.

ADMIT into hospital, not CHECK-IN...
maybe u ladies deem your hosp stay like hotel stay ah?!?!?!?

Kam
for halal food, u can also consider www.qzin.com.sg or www.liangfood.com.sg. i'm a big fan of both of them!

i din rest during confinement... i dun any new physical problems. it's all in the m.i.n.d ??????

crystal
wow your dad takes care of baby?! he cooks and feeds baby? very good ley. my dad only know how to play with baby & make him sleep. Cooking & feeding done by my mom, and it takes both of them to change his diaper.

wendy
if i am not wrong, check in can be used for hospital stay.
you "check in" to the hospital, you do it DIY mode ala yourself.
admit into hospital when you do not do the check in yourself

maybe I'm wrong? i understand this can be used. check the web if you want to

mylvera
hv la... hotel hv complimentary buffet b'fast, swimming pool, spa etc..
hosp... pain pain pain. u prefer ah?
actually for my #2, i was able to enjoy my stay a bit more... hubby left the laptop with me and i was on FB all the time playing the silly Fluffy game. hahahaha.
also, less stressed abt breastfeeding, and more brave abt getting off the bed on my own.

wendyg,

The nurse did told us to "check-in". And yes, it's as good as a hotel stay, with room service some more :)

Thanks for the ,links for caterer. I will take a look.

Mylvera,

Thanks for the feedback on ISS. Probably last time we have 600 pax and got minister coming some more, so they die-die must do it nicely.

pixie
oh yes u're right!!! so nowadays hospitals become like hotels liao. kekekekkee

tks for pointing out, i learn smthg new everyday...

i was able to enjoy #2 confinement too. partly cos already "trained" my MIL not to open my door without knocking, more used to BF so can easily BF while lying on the bed n the best part is ... no more gallstones attacking me as i had removed the gall bladder 1 mth after i delivered #1.

wendy,

fyi... at RH, there is really a "hotel room" avail for the patients leh .. no medical services but jz a room for the patients to stay for 1) check up (overseas rich patients??) 2) for parents to be near babies who requires longer hospitalisation? but the room is very SMALL N CRAMP

Can I check with you all, if attending a ROM reception (at Botanic Garden), do we have to give ang-pau? If yes, how much is the "market rate"? Never been to one..... help, please!

hi mei,
That's great! Hopefully this will materialise.

Our 1-year-old Mass Birthday Bash gathering back on Sat 12-3pm. 13th or 20th?
1. mei + hb - prefer 13th.
3. grumpus
4. audrey + hb = prefer 13th
5. Joan + bb - prefer 13th
6. elmo78 + hb - prefer 13th

Kam,

I have tried Qzin b4, nice! My company used them b4.

Re: last meal b4 delivery
i took 1/4 pc hotdog & few spoonful of scramble egg from TMC cafeteria at 8.30am...contraction interval abt 5 to 10mins, damn pain but still can tahan & no mood for breakfast when contraction climb!

wendyg
my dad dont cook. my mom would go home after work to prepare the porridge. my girl would take puree with cereal in the day. the puree i always prepare a week's supply then freeze them. so everyday my dad would thaw them then prepare with the cereal. very easy one. porridge would be my mom preparing. he bathes, play, diapering and feed her milk. quite impressive after all this while.

initially i very hesitant to let him take care cuz he knows nothing at all. my mom and i slowly teach him lor. now okay liao.

last meal before delivery
i eat nothing lei. cuz i woke up at 12pm then water bag leaking liao so rush to gynae's clinic then was instructed to admit to hosp straight away. upon admitting, no food for me liao. so after delivery, i was super hungry !!!

<font color="ff0000">Our 1-year-old Mass Birthday Bash gathering back on 20th Dec 12-3pm</font>
1. mei + hb
3. grumpus
4. audrey + hb
5. Joan + bb
6. elmo78 + hb
pls add on.

sorry, just confirmed. room only available 20th.
audrey/elmo/joan, pls cfm if u ok. tks.

last meal b4 delivery
for #1: TMC fried rice (delicious!!!) in labour ward just b4 they jabbed me with the dunno what poison to induce me.

for #2: dinner the night before, then fasting until after c-sect the next morning. forgot what i ate.. terrible right.

kam,

i also feel that $50 is min amt? depending on how close are u with the newlyweds? and catering amt, heheeh, we shd be more familar with that...$10 ,$12, $15 per pax? i feel that most couples nowadays would prefer cash (to min their loses) den presents.

wendy,

RH oso outta my budget ... i went MOH website to see the ave bill size to determine which hospital i staying wor ... :p (see i soooo "cat" haha)

crystal
wow really thumbs up for your dad. My dad don't want to learn.. he will make a very angry face when we ask him to do additional things eg bottle feed baby. So we just let them juggle the work however they like it. They dun bathe baby.. only me or husband. No matter how late it is, they also won't attempt to bathe him. dat's why i hv to rush home after work. If hb &amp; i go out jalan after work, means my smelly baby hv to bathe late late. Can't afford that.

so i think your dad really liao bu qi.. can even make &amp; feed her cereal &amp; puree. fantastic.

to check ave bill size.. i was looking for reasons to go for TMC. Didn't even need to consider RH or GEH or MEH... to my surprise my aunt went for RH (her #1 is 5m younger than my #1), coz she "follow" her gynae. so ex $$$$$$$$ ... for her #2 she went to Mt A (i think?!?!?) Her #2 is 1wk younger than my #2.
So my boys hv an aunt and an uncle younger than them.

wendyg / mylvera,

Thanks. So I set at $50 should be save hor.

Last meal before delivery,

They ordered for me an egg sandwich and milo and some fruits to be delivered to the labour ward. Had that before I was induced.

wendyg,
My youngest aunt is also still TTCing...if she succeed, then my boy and nieces will also have an aunt/uncle who's younger than them.

Re: Last meal before delivery
I was in the observation ward and my gynae ordered fish porridge for me cos he said it's going to be a long labour, better eat something first otherwise no energy later....true enough.

wendy,
RH ex ah? initially i tot RH will also be very ex, but i bo pian cos i 'follow' my gynae there. i took single bedded, total bill for c-sec was abt 4k. after medisave deduction paid abt 1k cash i think. but i like RH leh, very nice environment, really machiam like hotel stay like tat...haha
hopefully my #2 can deliver there too :p

RE: last meal before delivery.
mine was scheduled c-sect so my last meal was the night before. i had a huge bbq seafood dinner =D

kam, last time all the ROM that i've attended, i gave $60.
I will give $80 if i know i will not be attending their wedding dinner.
if I know will be attending their wedding dinner, and now attending their ROM, then i will give $50 - $60.
i think this should be the market rate leh...

Re: meal before delivery
hmm.... mine was planned c -sect, thus i had blk 85 bedok .. minced meat noodles at 4am when my hubby knocked off from work.. then 8am check in hospital.. haha...

pixiepixel,
ya lor, we were quite pleasantly surprised when we saw the bill. we were thinking to ourselves 'eh quite ok leh'
somemore, during my 3rd tri i was seeing my gynae every wk so we made full use of the antenatal package :p

pixiepixel,

Think most likely will be attending their wedding dinner next year also. But you all mentioned $50 is for 1 person hor, if me and my hubby going, so will be $50x2??? Sorry lah, me very the blur, never been to any ROM and only attended 1 wedding dinner only :-(

kam, if i were u hor, i will bao $80 or $90, for 2pax
1. i save $$
2. the amount sounds good
3. im going to attend their wedding dinner anyway liao, so will bao full market rate that time so i dont think they wont mind??

i hope i make sense here
dont say i teach u ah!!

grumpus
ok next time no.2 take RH hahah!
nolah, should be getting back same gynae but she is so bz all the time, sighs

<font color="0000ff">Steph,</font>

Not going GUG lah, since feedback not so good and $50 is rather ex for a trial class.

If other Mummy want to go, can take my slot.

mine c-sect @ TMC is Total 5k plus. minus CPF, we pay abt 800 cash

last meal b4 c-sect is dinne the day b4, with whole big grp of MTB