(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

heehee... yupzz.. tiger baby!!...

Opsss,

My message came out funny....

I meant to say - my company policy is have to work for >6 months before conceiving to enjoy the maternity leave entitlement.

And I want to try for a baby girl.... cos if get a girl, can seriously consider close shop liao! Any good tips to share. Think last time steph did post a website, extracted as below (some are scientifically correct, some are not, and some are very tricky to do):

You are said to conceive a girl if:
>you have sex a few days before your day of ovulation. Female sperm are thought to be stronger and therefore last longer than male sperm, which may die off before reaching the egg.
>you stop having unprotected sex four to five days before ovulation, to minimise the chances of the male sperm reaching the egg first
>you have sex frequently to lower your partner's sperm count, and so increase the chances of the female sperm reaching the egg first
>you keep penetration shallow
>your partner reaches orgasm before you
>you drink plenty of milk and eat dairy products such as cheese and yoghurt, unsalted foods, rice, pasta, certain vegetables, mineral water, limited amounts of meat and potatoes
>you avoid salt and any salty foods, wine and beer, fresh fruit, spinach, tomatoes and mushrooms, chocolate, coffee and tea.
>your partner keeps his genitals warm by wearing close-fitting underwear and tight trousers (although this isn't likely to do his general fertility any good!)
>you suggested the love-making
>you make love in the afternoon
>you make love on even days of the month
>you put a wooden spoon under your bed and a pink ribbon under your pillow

jess and sharonnbaby, thanks.
i looked after my boy at night and weekend if i'm not working. yes, i'm the no.1 choice when grandparents or maid are not ard. but i just feel uncomfortable to let my maid handle my boy as she was employed to look after my mil but now my mil no longer need her and we can't left her at home with pil therefore she follow my son over to my mum's place in the daytime and there she got chance to interact with my son and my grandma and my mum keep telling me my boy like to look for her and talk to her. feel so uncomfortable when hearing that kind of remarks.

Hi Steph

so how ? the GUG on this Sat NO GO ? Cos just now Janbb sms me abt the comments from Mar08 thread.

Anyway hor I think I have to pull out from this Sat's GUG cos Tate is still sick and I dun think I want to bring him out on Sat to catch virus again or to infect other bb :p

He is given this anti-biotic call Augmentin but after taking he developed ugly rash all over his body legs, hands and face. It's ugly cos it's big red patches as big as my pump ! anybody experience such rash before ? Called the clinic but they said can continue as long as no diarrhoea wor *faint*

Chaye,

yup i sms-ed Janbb abt the comments from Oct07 thread not Mar08. I will wait till tmrl then decide whether we'll give it a miss anot. We need to have min 8 babies for a trial.
Aiyo sounds pretty bad rash, poor Tate. Hope he recover soon!

chaye,
i think u should seek a 2nd opinion abt the antibiotics!! That's one of the signs of an allergic reaction.

my HB is allergic to one type of antibiotic (not augmentin) and he breaks out in big red welts.

both my girl and I have very sensitive skin and we're allergic to various things like perfume, dust etc. We also break out in ugly red patches.

chaye,
btw the trial is on sunday. Me like steph, still waiting for the rest of the people to response. So far I din not managed to get my friend to ask, seemed like she not in town.

If not going GUG, maybe I will go and check on mygym.

Kam,
Me also wanted very much to have a girl initially but my little boy came along instead. Always thought girls will be closer to mummy and more "tie xin"...but my boy really proved me wrong! He will open his mouth big big to kiss me when I fetch him after work everyday. Whenever I say kiss kiss, he will turn towards me with his mouth open...so cute...really melts my heart. Now in a dilemma whether I want a didi or meimei for him...hehehe.

Yvonne,
yr boy soo sweet
i wish my boy will kiss me too!

icy,
i am keen on mygym or gymboree
dunno last minute got slot anot?

Chaye,

Agreed with grumpus. Better seek for 2nd opinion immediately, sounds to me like allergic reaction. Don't think this is "okay".

Yvonne,

I always want boy boy. Because I don't know how to dress up girl girl and don't know how to make them beautiful, might end up growing up as tomboy like me :) Boy doesn't give me this kind of headache. My Hao Re is a sweetheart also. Only my hubby, he wants a girl desperately, I asked him why, he can't tell me a good reason, he said no specific reason, he just wants a daughter. But of course he loves Hao Re, just that he is hoping to have a darling girl. I don't mind a di-di or a mei-mei for Hao Re.

So, Yvonne, are you planning for a cow baby :p

Yvonne..my boy also open mouth when he kiss me too..hehee..so cute hor?? I also tot I wanted girl intiially but i'm also very happy with my boy. of coz, him being so very active now is quite tiring me out..but I wonder if it will be the same for gals anyway.

As for second one, I'm also thinking of tiger baby. But more so for a gap of 2 years at least. Some say Tiger not good, some say good..also duno la. More impt is happy and healthy baby. And as for gal or boy, seriously duno. hhahaa..Of coz it be nice to have a gal too, but if have a boy, can save a lot of money....lol....

steph,
I joined the 9.30am class at Gymboree. both parents can go in cos the class not full. Maybe u can call and ask. It is good cos less traffic on the road and less people there.
Actually, Xavier actually first stand without support there.. maybe so many kids so he just follow.

hammies,
my boy also open his mouth when kiss me, then sometimes go ba ba ba action.. my face full of saliva but I still loves it cos it only does that to me.

Steph,
Can one, must "train" them a bit...everyday also ask him to kiss, eventually he will automatic...hehe.

Kam,
I'm more like your hubby, always wanted a girl. I think we will only feel the difference when they grow up. Nowadays, most guys will become closer to wife's side of family after getting married...so eventually our sons will become other people's son...sob sob. And we'll have to deal with the nasty DIL...hahaha...like talking about myself.

Me no plans for no. 2 yet. Now all my time and energy on my boy...probably will consider 1-2 years later...maybe wait for Dragon baby then we have 2 pigs and 2 dragons at home...but I'll be 36 by then, a bit old hor?

icy,
9.30am too early & rush cos usually Zander wake up ard 8.30am & 9.30am his bath time. Will call gymboree & check slot. Which outlet u went to?

Hammies,
I think girls are just as active nowadays. I don't believe in the zodiac signs, Tiger also good mah. Better still if other people prefer to avoid Tiger, then less kids to fight for primary school admission...haha.

icy,
yah lor, I also very proud about that. My boy will kiss me without me asking but if his daddy ask him to kiss must see his mood first. His mouth open so big like want to swallow me more than kiss me...very cute.

steph,
I went to wake up Xavier to join this early class. lol I went to the one at Tanglin Mall. Actually our boys are in between 2 classes as they are 10 mths. Join the stage 3 (older group) is better.

Yvonne,
i don't get to see my son everyday as my PILs taking care of him during wkdays & i only bring him home on wkends. Abit difficult to train him leh....sad la...i missed out on soo many of his 1st attempt...like flip, crawl, walk etc...but he love it when i hug him close & sing him song like London bridge is falling down etc. I love his generous smile in the morning too when he wake up
simply melt my heart & my backache/leg cramp seem no ache/pain either..keke

Yvonne,

haha, agree. Now my hubby is closer to my family, and his family keeps complaining, luckily we are so far away from them. Some more I am a fierce, not-easy-to-handle, tiger DIL :) But then I don't mind my son later become closer to his wife's family. So that we can have our own time again, tour around the world maybe (big dream!)

I also "train" my son to kiss and sayang us. When say kiss, he will put his mouth close to our face. When say sayang, he will knock his head against our head..... only experiencing these cute acts alone, makes me feel that whatever we do for him it's worthwhile! And I sing to him "I will always love you" in a playful way, and when come to "love", he will laugh non-stoppingly, don't know why so funny :)

Oh, can write non-stop about our baby, can't we?

icy,
my boy is a nite owl...he can sleep at 9.30pm or as late as 11.30pm! I try to make him sleep longer rather then wake up so early otherwise i sure panda eyes wor! I was thinking maybe after i delivered #2 then sign up Gymboree stage 3 for Zander. At least not so xin ku as now pregnant & clumsy:p

kam/grumpus
Seek 2nd opinion ah ? there's only 1 pathetic PD in AMK lei...
I think I better stop giving him tat anti-biotic

Re: boy/ger
for me i hoping for 1 more boy.. at the same time i also dun mind a ger cos can dress up. so my hubby concluded we shld have 3 kids. but i worry cannot provide for them.. hehehee...

wah, ur babies can kisskiss u already... so envy. my javier dun really knw all these yet. nw all he says is mamamama and papapaa... at times keep waving his hands, but duno if he knws its byebye.. hee...
i hope he can auto kiss kiss me soon too!!

Trial at GUG

Hi ladies... I am ok with anything. I will let u ladies decide to go ahead with the trial or not. Majority wins =D

Thanks so much for posting the feedback!

wahhhh few days never come in only, got #6 mommy preggie liao wor! Who is crytal?

Anyone has any backaches? Me have this excruciating pain at the back (above the panty line) when i walk, sit and stand. Even lying down. Whenever i change position, it's like a robot, felt very stiff. Particularly painful when i sit. How to have #2 like dat?

re:GUG trial
I'm ok with the trial. Go and experience for ourselves mah. Maybe different people got different standards? Don't mind going once. But it's ok if majority don't want to go!

heehee.. my baby can "kok tao". As in she'll lean forward and kok her forehead on ours when we say "kok tao". Haha... can wave bye bye and thank kiss too! so happy that she's responding to us. So fun :D

any baby here starting to talk? can call papa or mama or saying other words? my gal still talking in gibberish language... so funny to hear her talk.

GUG trial
Same for me...will go with the majority...sent my gal there before and thot it was quite good but really it's teacher dependent..and probably my gal was 18m then and I didn't see problem of using shaving cream.

Cel first birthday..
Any cool idea?Thinking of doing it on 3 Jan...

gd morning everyone....

mylife
was urs a c-sect? if yes, i think its side effect??? i also have backache at times now.

blackbatz
ya, i working same company as my hubby. i am not sure yet. haven really decide. hopefully really can secure a job first lor. nw everyday is such a drag to come to work...

wendyg...

izit? hmm... think i didnt do my confinement well ba. hee...
that time after my c sect, i gt side effects, went shivering for 2-3 hours then keep sweating also....

like tat if i have no. 2, chances also c sect rite?

morning all,

it's finally thursday!! days passed by each day .. wonder how come it passes by so fast/slow.

jess,
change yr thinkg for awhile. if u daily drag yrself to work, u will nv be happy in the organisation. i am like u, but i do try to tell myself tat if i keep dragging to go work, I will feel worse. am glad that my boss was on holiday recently ... i can have a breather. but the days will be gone soon hhaha she is coming back tmr. hopefully the holi do her some good n she will not b so tempremental. but tough luck man! haha watever it is i keep telling myself... tis job is paying me $XXX and the benefits for this org is not bad (most org dun really allow ppl to surf web or come forum). i come to this forum to de-stress myself. cannot imagine the next coy/org whereby i dun have the benefits, dun hv e priviledges etc etc... but to stick to this org is another issue i have to think thro it lor. meanwhile try to be happy here so tat days can pass by faster

Morning all:

Some tips on what you can play with your going-to-be-11-months-old baby (taken from http://www.parentingweekly.com/baby/baby_information/development/week_49.htm):

Try playing games to help build hand-eye coordination, such as bowling with a large, foam ball and empty 2-liter plastic bottles; or basketball with a foam ball and a laundry basket. You can set up an obstacle course with medium-sized, open-ended cardboard boxes for your baby to crawl through and a small mountain of pillows to climb up. Housework may also be a game your baby enjoys. Picking up all the toys he has taken out and putting them away is a wonderful game that will definitely have you cheering. Be sure to always supervise your baby when playing.

Mylife,

Dunno is it becos during ur confinement u didn't lie on on to rest more frequently that's y not backache. This is wad the confinement lady always tell me muz lie down more if not next time backache....

jess
shivering is common c-sect side effect. For my #1, i had the "chills" for 24hr. For my #2, i had the "itch" !!!
as for 2nd c-sect, I think it will greatly depend on what's the reason for your first c-sect... For me, my first time cervix didn't dilate beyond 3cm even after 10+hr induce. Very slow progress, so cut. 2nd time round (i changed doc), the gynae was very pro natural, she upfront told me 70% success chance assuming all other factors constant. However, i think i'm genetically prone to having big babies, which affect the dilation. So at 41wks, i had my 2nd c-sect.

wendgy,
oh don't remind me! My cervix dilated for only 2 cm after 33 hrs!!! With the water bag leaking, terrible contractions and my poor boy trying all his might to squeeze down...ended up c-sect. His head was too big! I think if I have a 2nd one, it's straight away c-sect for me...don't even want to try for natural again since I'm also prone to having big babies with big heads...haha!

mylvera
thanks.. i am really trying very hard. but everyday my boss will definitely send me stupid emails and have weird actions to trigger me. and my colleagues also add on... which makes me feel more frustrated. haiz...
nevertheless, i will still try to keep myself happy.... i agree, this forum really helps alot.

kam
i see. my c sect was due to baby in breach position.... so i really hope 2nd one can natural. heehee

lets hope today time flies faster

Steph
i canot remember his head circumference. but through whole pregnancy when measure his head, doc say his head is big. and based on head, the EDD is always 2-3 weeks ahead.....

morning mummies
steph, i think your boy sleeps ok timing leh. my boy sleeps as early as 7pm+, or as late as 9pm+
i have a close friend, her ger sleeps earliest 11pm+, latest is into the wee hours...only noon wakes up...super unhealthy...

yvonne
sama sama leh, my cervix dilated 2cm after 15 hours. gave up. c-sect. my mei mei failed me haha

about c-sect, my scar is soooooooooooooooo itchy at times, but cannot scratch when in office, bae tahan!!