(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

feng
yes, same with my baby. Funny thing was that his brother (now 3yo) was guai guai during diaper change.
We just hv to find smthg wierd to occupy his hands, he sian of the same toys liao.

steph
yucky pix. haha.

mei
more ex too...? $$

feng
We just hv to find smthg wierd to occupy his hands, he sian of the same toys liao.

>> eg wet wipes box, the tube of Desitin (hv to make sure he dun put in his mouth!), as long as not his toy, it will capture his attn for a while, & the adult hv to be fast to change the diaper.

wendyg

How old is your baby? Mum say as mine is a boy, will tend to be active. Sign..my mum giving up. I looking for infantcare now.

today he is 10m old.
i think there are boys who are guai guai lor.. it's the temperament inherited fr mummy/ daddy. dun blame the child

wendyg

I didn't blame my child..just that i really hope that I can solve the problem or else even if i enroll him in infantcare, am afraid the teachers will go crazy too.. :-(

feng
not u... your mum

i said sometime back, seems like recent generation of grandparents can't handle grandkids.
I asked my dad to bring my baby for jab @ GP, he so helpless and flustered & so many qstns to ask & in the end my husband (who is ill with food poisoning) had to do it. Don't want baby to kena the bug from husband.

Chaye,
Ikan bilis powder heaty ah? never hear b4, i used to give everyday, no prob. But of cos depend on individual bb lor. No harm trying everyday but if u feel heaty then give once every few days lor.

I also have probs cutting my girl's nails, have to give her something to occupy her, have the tv on etc etc. sometimes alternate hands to cut cos she will pass her toy from hand to hand. I also talk to her a lot while cutting nails. e.g. dun move ah, mummy's cutting yr nails wait accidentally cut u. dun move ah. wait wait little while more, just one finger more etc etc after a few times of this she kinda gets what i'm trying to do and guai guai let me catch one hand, of cos still must hv tv, toy etc to distract her but she doesn't try to pull her hand away anymore.

feng,
mine is a girl and exactly like that too so i dun think cos boy then tend to be active. our bbs our 10mths now and are at a very curious age. if they can lie down quietly to change diaper all the time i would be worried..haha!!
like what wendyg mentioned, just find something to catch his attention and then be very quick to change the diaper.

wendyg

yes, agree with you. My mum is fine taking care of my son but as he gets older, my mum's temper get more n more short temper, not as patient as before when taking care of my boy when he is 4mths-6mths.

wendyg,
i totally agree with u abt recent generation of grandparents can't handle grandkids!! my mil couldn't handle my bb when she was 2-3 mths old.
always comment "she dun sleep much ah, how come so fast wake up" etc. and then get peck chek cos she cannot finish housework and the one million other impt things she need to do ard the hse.
even now when we meet for lunch/dinner she will always say "cannot sit still ah, very active ah"....

Same here, my FIL will wave his finger and repeat 'Naughty Naughty' to my gal and I will sit there thinking just what did my gal do so wrong...it's in babies nature to be inquisitive and not want to be restraint in 1 position for a long time. Poor gal...

harnor.. i was asking my aunts how did my grandma manage on her own, SAHM with 12 kids... i hv 2 boys already head big, and my parents also very tired helping me. actually most of the day they only take care of baby coz #1 is in childcare. only abt 5-8pm then they handle both boys, but still they can't really handle well lor.

Grumpus and blessedbaby

Thanks for the tips....nxt to the changing mat are always filled with tons of toys to make him not flip. guess now i can only hope for him to pass this flipping stage...

actually sometimes cant blame the older generations, after all they r so old already, degree of tolerance and capability will not be dat good already, as we ourselves will also complain about taking care of our children.

children in this generation is harder to take care unlike our generation, no wonder our parents can have so many children and never say its tough until now.

Cutting nails
Mine happy will let u cut one or two fingers. After that he will start biting his fingers le... I heard old folks say dun cut their nails in sleep leh.. I duno whats the logic wor

Feng
Mine's a boy and yes he is like yours too ! flip very quickly once u lay him down to change pampers. Nowadays hv to get another helper to distract him with new gadgets to keep him still !

As for pull-ups, I have problem wearing that for him w/o help too cos pull up until the thigh part will get stuck and have to force it up with one hand holding his arm and one hand pulling up the pull ups.. by the time i finish i'll sweating liao...haha

feng,
My gal moves like crazy too during diaper changing. Usually must give her something to occupy herself. Anything near me for her to attract her will do - desitin cream, powder tube, toilet roll, toys, WHATEVER near me! then must change super fast. Usually when I wipe her down in the evening, I perspire also. Coz very difficult to make her sit down or stand in on position for long. Usually need Daddy's help to hold her while I wipe her and diaper her.

So.... not only boys are active. Nowadays, girls too!!

Mcfluffy, I second that. My gal is like that too. :p

WendyG, I'm Teochew too. Hubby is Hakka but I don't find ILs good cooks leh. I thought Hainanese are the ones who are good cooks cos they open and run coffeeshops. Hee.

blessedbaby, i do the same as grumpus, personally I feel when I go out alone with baby, I would prefer a bigger stroller so I can put in my stuff in the basket. My feel is with a lighter stroller, you may end up carrying all the shopping bags or diaper bag instead. I have the peg prego too.

Babe, yes the insurance is a killer, I have tried to save everymonth, but its really tough, sometimes I see all the money go to insurance also very heart pain, but bo bian.

Chaye, I will either cut when my girl is asleep, or I will "kiap" her between my legs and cut real quick. But sometimes its hard to cut all in 1 sitting.

Steph, hmmm they do this rubber pain treatment, I went to my GP, but she dont know how to do, refer me to some doc in SGH, but the appointment time is like 2 weeks, end up I went to a private one at Glen Es, no need to wait and chop chop, but then hor, very ex, I paid like 200-300 plus.

Feng, no le, mine is gal, but she always all over when diaper change, usually she is on pull ups, but at night, need to use diaper, becoz pull ups will leak, there was a time I change her until so angry, I just kiap her again, then quickly change, no time to put any cream.

I wonder, is it because most of our parents did not bring us up? I was brought up by my grandparents, so maybe now they abit lost? Sometimes I see the way my parents act ard my gal, machiam she is my sister and they are the parents. My dad will also shake his fingers and scold her, but the sight is more funny then anything. When ever my girl cry, he will tell me, I think hungry already, tired already, but its either she just ate or she just woke up.

Steph,

i went to a clinic at Jurong west Blk 253. A female doctor. Less than 5 min i got my piles removed. She insert a syringe into the anus to put at the end of the piles. A few days later the piles will drop off. It cost less than $100.

Chaye,

I give him everyday lei. But Javin take in alot of water daily.

milestones... to make kancheong mummies more kancheong. hahaha.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/development/milestones7to12months/

jacelyn
oooh!!! sounds simple. after the procedure done did u hv to sit on rubber tube or smthg?

angelsky
ya my mum is champion on this one. everytime baby makes noise, she will ask him "are u sleepy?" coz she's not the one to make him sleep, so she can hands off. Despite he just woke up 45min earlier.

babe
consider how much $$ u spend on your girl for her childcare & enrichment classes... would u be able to save that amt ?

kitsune
my MIL's sister has a restaurant in Ipoh.. hakka! my prev bf is hainanese.. ya his mum makes fantastic chicken rice also. yummmmm

feng,
My boy is all over the place during diaper change, will cry to protest the moment his head hits the bed...haha. It's normal becos babies want to explore at this stage so naturally they wouldn't want to be confined for diaper change. To them it's a waste of their precious time, they would rather do something else. Just give them something to distract them but their usual toys will not work. Must set aside a "special toy" during diaper change...something they would love to get their hands on but is usally off limits eg. diaper cream, tv remote control...haha. What I do is I dig out one of my old handphones and let him play with it during diaper change since he's so fascinated with the tv remote and our hp.

Thanks to those who reply to my "SOS"! :)
Can I know if given a choice, which will you choose?
Maid or infantcare? Went to visit an infantcare yesteday. Ratio is 7 infants to 3 Fulltime teachers and 1 parttime assistant. Just my thought on this as will infantcare be a better choice than a maid.
The cost come to ard 700 after subs. Maid with experience ard 380 plus food will also add up to ard the same price as infant care.

joyce,
i've. how to pass to u? via post? can exchange a booklet of stamps? kam sia. = )

itok,
tks! got ur payment for bday bash!

Pls confirm and make payment by 20th Nov as I nid to cfm headcount. U can make payment for yourself first if you are unsure if your hb is coming. Pls note that $ paid not refundable unless event is cancelled before i place deposit to pines as there is cancellation charges in pines quotation. tks for ur kind understanding.

Mei

Morning! Confirm I am not coming for b'day bash.
Sorry..

Anglesky: I started bringing my gal by myself with a big pram, very heavy. But I guess, till I can find the alternative, I have to get used to it. Unlike you mummies, I dont know how to drive. So now, I know its advantage, hehehe

Hi Mei Mei

Sorry I cannot attend the birthday bash lei... Hubby say tat day is his brother's ji ri got to go pay respect wor

Lucky I chk wif him man...

Wendy,

No need any rubber tyre after that. Everything as per normal. I did it for 2 times liao. Not pain... The doctor is very gentle. In fact the clinic is famous for doing piles. After the procedure she will give a type of fiber pills to soften the stools for 1 week then go back for review.

Does ur bb fall sick easily? Javin seems to be sick monthly. Either with flu, cough or fever. Yesterday he is down with flu. This morning got fever again! Haiz... every month got to take medicine!!!!

Does any one here give vitamins to bb? Tot of giving Javin some vitamins to boost up his immunity.

jacelyn,
yup, last 3 months, isaac's been down with fever and cold... now coughing ... 2/3 times coz i fell sick first... really thinking of how to wean him off... both suffer in health...

Jacelyn,

Can sms me the full address of the jurong east clinic & contact no. for appointment or walk in will do? Tks

blessedbaby/chaye,
noted. if change mind at later date, feel free to join.

pinkstars/feng,
we've bday bash on 20th dec sat 12pm-3pm. Keen to join?

blessed serene,
tks. received ur payment for bday bash.

Pls confirm and make payment by 20th Nov as I nid to cfm headcount. U can make payment for yourself first if you are unsure if your hb is coming. Pls note that $ paid not refundable unless event is cancelled before i place deposit to pines as there is cancellation charges in pines quotation. tks for ur kind understanding.

re: mass bday bash
so far, have 47 adults with 26 babies. including those not paid and not cfm. pines min 50 pax. more mummies and babies are gladly welcomed.

Hi mei...

i seldom chat here. but everyday will come in to see the posts...

can i join in the bday bash for my boy? is it too late?
how much is it?

mei,

i went to taka xmas fair liao. nothing much for #2 ... but if u wana buy for #1 ...lots of areas to spend yr $$ on

feng,
re: maid or infantcare... think u have to consider lots of points.

Maid - got ppl to look aft yr child + do hsework so tat u wun feel tired daily n when home can have more quality time with child.
Cons - outsider in yr hse. u nid someone to jagar her else u wun know wat u get. i heard stories abt how maids invites their guy frds to e hse n even BD on the master bed? i heard stories abt how they have sewn pockets hidden in their undies and stole the $$ fr e employer? i even encounter my 1st maid that said tis to my #1 (cos she dun like me) "yr mummy no good". my 1st maid took lots of sweet stuff end up toothache? imagine ..1 big bottle of peanut butter finished within 1 WEEK?

infantcare : u dun hv to worry abt the cons of having maids. but dun expect 100% attention to your child fr the centre. once u home, u have to take care of the child + hsehold chores.

Feng,
Personally I would prefer infant care...I simply cannot trust maids! But need to spend some time to check out the infant care centre. Generally speaking, if you see happy kids then teachers should be ok.

Mei,
I'm knocking myself on the head as I write this...will transfer today...so forgetful nowadays even though I see your reminder nearly everyday...

jess_thomas,
of course welcome! i still collecting $ and waiting for mummies to confirm. it's S$36nett per adult. $72 for couple. can u IB to my posb savings? pls Pm me:
mummy nick:
mummy name:
mummy hp:
mummy email:
daddy name:
baby name:
baby dob:
baby gender:

mylvera,
i also went yday. nothing much. wanna buy sth for #1 but dun know what toys to buy.

ylim,
nvm. not yet 20th....

mylvera & Yvonne

For infantcare, I am just afraid my child will get sick often and i have to take leave to look after him.

For maid, my husband is working from home and can keep a look out on the maid. But in the event if he is out for meeting, then only leave the maid and my boy.

Anyone with their baby in infantcare, can share their experiences with me, thanks!

feng
my boy oso flip. if he flips, i change diapers from back to the front lor
sometimes when he sleeps on his stomach, i also change diapers from the backside
he crawl i just follow his crawling and stick on the tabs can liao...or like what other mummies say, engage him with toys...

Hi Mei..

thanks. hee... can share abit more details like what will be the day's program like?
i scared i go get left out la.. cos u all mostly know each other liao. i like gatecrashing.. heehee...

jess_thomas,
got buffet lunch, small lucky draw, gift exchange, cake-cutting, babies crawling ard. chat. play. have fun. u pm me hor cos' ur pm not activated thus i cant pm u my posb savings acct number. tks.

mei,
it seems rather difficult to hit 50 pax. i think 50 pax is really quite a lot leh. Can be quite messy too. If fewer people pay up, can we consider an alternative place?

Wendy,

Actually, i noticed that a few males patients there as well. So no need to worry... I got to go home see the contact not sure still have it or not cos i dun have the habit of keeping name cards.

Re: Windon grills
Hey!
Have all of you made grills for your house yet?
I simply hate grills esp since my hall has full length windows - look like a cage.
You think necessary to make for kitchen?