(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

chaye, wendy is right. pound=motar and pestle...if you have the time. i oredi added the disclaimer in my 1st sentence heehee

put cloth under the motar lah, the noise and vibration wont be too amplified lor

Steph,
Piles
In addition to soak, must go and get the piles cream to apply. Any GP will do. Very painful..I kenna so many times last year..Geez, time flies....We were all still pregnant then!! ha..

Blackbatz,
thanks lotz
yes got the piles cream already but if i strained my bowels or whenever pass motion wif hard stools, 1st time got blood...scare scare la.

wendy,
actually slow cooker makes great soup, u should try, ask hb buy lar, then he sure wun complain as advised by his own mum.. hehe does he complains abt his mum's cooking?

luca
i hv slow cooker at home, but i dun go supermarket regularly wor. and to make the stuff that he likes to eat, that's even more difficult.
ya sometimes he complain his mom cooking ley. She cook restaurant standard ley. He very hard to please one.

hi janbb,

the GUG activities sound fun

hi mandy,

thanks,i bought the wrong 1s from ntuc,bought the 1-3years,going to eat the 6 tubs on my own :<

any 1 can share where to buy the heinz pasta sauce?

steph77

I had a very consipated during pregnancy. ;(( From 8th months of pregnancy until my bb is about 6 months. Everytime I wanted to pass the motion,I prayed and even cried leh.
ALso got piles with blood. I used hot water to wash, and steam that area. ;)
Drink prune juice, eat papaya, kiwi alot alot. Eventually, it gone away. Was very painful and I went to see GP, but made me more scared- they checked by poking me. Hahha. Refused to go to SGH for checking, just do at home as above..

chaye,

i make ikan bilis powder by soaking the ikan bilis, drying in the oven and then putting into the blender to grind until powder. No need so cham use mortar and pestle to pound lah. Just make sure the ikan bilis is really dry before u grind.

MomMe,

so far i haven't sign up for the bday bash yet but if i go will be flying solo, hubby won't be in sgp on that day.
for health insurance i bought AIA, they have different levels of coverage depending on what u want. u may want to check it out.

mandy,

not sure abt unsalted cheese but i use LURPAK brand for unsalted butter. easily bought from cold storage or ntuc

Introducing formula

i need help re: introducing formula. my girl's currently on full EBM so my apologies for the silly qns that are to follow. some of u will probably be rolling yr eyes already but i've never fed formula b4 so i'm as helpless as a new mummy :p

1) how much formula to feed? my girl is currently drinking 120ml EBM every 3-4 hrs, so do i make 120ml FM and feed every 3-4 hrs also? Cos on the FM tin it is recommended 210ml x 3 feeds a day

2) how to make 120ml of FM? on the tin it is 7 scoops of FM to 210ml of water, so to get 120ml it is 7/210 x 120 = 4 scoops of FM for 120ml of water...correct? how much hot water to cold water ratio to get the 'correct' temp of milk?

3) do we feed FM like BM, i.e on demand and the qty that bb wants to drink? the guideline on the tin is only a guideline right? me a bit concerned that my bb will not get enough nutrients if she is drinking less than the recommended on the tin. Also, my mum swears that feed FM must follow exact amt and timing one cos that was how they used to feed us when we were babies.

err, that's all for now i think, thanks in advance!

Grumpus, I'm also reintroducing FM, trying to do partial BF. But sorry, can't answer your questions except question 2 cos I also very new to this. For every 1 level scoop, add 30ml of water, that one I know.

dear all mommies, pls take a look at http://web.singnet.com.sg/~babylittleinc/

we having a promotion for newborn clothes. you can get them for your little prince/princess for their full mth or even CNY!

FOR LITTLE PRINCE
Package A - B0012, B0015 &amp; B0003 (Stock left: 3 sets) at $20/set

Package B - B0022, B0014 &amp; B0011 (Stock left: 2 sets) at $24/set

FOR LITTLE PRINCESS
Package C - G0030 &amp; G0042(Stock left: 3 sets) at $20/set

Package D - G0041 &amp; G0042 (Stock left: 2 sets) at $12/set

Package E - G0040, G0043 &amp; G0023 (Stock left: 1 set) at $18/set

All prices inclusive of postage. pls email for enquiry. Thanks!

Grumpus,
210ml feed is just a guideline provided your BB is a a big drinker. If BB "CC" is small, how are you going to force 210 ml down her throat. You can try 120 ml first. If BB does not have enough, just give somemore. Need to try, then can tell. Different babies have different "CC".

Only when you know your BB cc,then you can determine the timing. Try to stick to a certain timing.

Another factor to consider : all the BB are taking solids now, they may not need so much milk feeds.

For Zach, its 6 oz around 7 am. Then 9 am, he will want to drink another 3 oz (ni gian) before he naps. Then wake up for lunch at around 12. 2.30pm, will drink another 4 oz.

I always use about 3 oz of cold water first, then add mil powder. Followed by hot water to 6 oz. U must "agar,agar" by yourself. Too hot, simmer milk bottle in cold water. Too cold, simmer in hot water.

Kitsune,
Why the sudden change of heart? I read that you were very determined to carry on.

wendyg
our hubbies the same wan. always complain abt my cooking. he likes salty stuff but can't cook salty stuff for kids mah. so almost every weekday evening go MIL place for dinner but fri nite he gotta tahan mine. to make up, he cooks every sunday plus "pu tang" soup for the family. today i baked a birthday cake with my girl for him, he displayed abit "gam tong" =P phew. even though he could discern i substituted coarse sugar for the fine one as recommended in the recipe.

blackbatz, long story why i'm doing partial bf. It started because i kenna mastitis again last mon so supply affected. Because after changing to l teats, my gal suddenly started drinking 160 to 180ml. Then my ils opened 1 new tin of friso2 when my gal cried for 2 hours non stop last mon afternoon. Fil desperate to try anything when she continued crying n rejected ebm. Once opened, must consume in 4 weeks n i already threw away 1 unfinished tin so sim tia to throw away another big tin. Weekend busy look after her so latch n latch but hardly pump so ebm not enough. Anyway, my gal still rejects fm when she's awake. She only tolerates it when she wakes up at night n blur blur. I'm going with her to hk on 6 dec n to shanghai without her in end dec. Thinking must train her to take some fm before i go to shanghai. If not, ils will have a very hard time feeding her when i'm not around. :p

Blackbatz,

thanks for the advise!! I know what u mean abt bb "CC". my bb all the time CC small, max only 4oz. maybe now increase already but cos EBM precious so never increase, after switch to FM can try.

so getting the temp of milk is similar to warming up EBM. too hot soak in cold water, too cold soak in hot water. got it!

my bb feeding time quite similar to Zach, morning 7 plus 4oz, then abt 11am another 4oz before nap, wake up lunch abt 12.30pm then another 4oz at 2.30pm. Zach by 2.30pm will have drunk 13oz, my girl 12oz by 2.30pm

Evening &amp; Wendy: my hb also complain... he said my soup not nice... mil soup got at least 6-7 items inside e soup, mine only 3-4items.
my inlaws r Cantonese, they r v gd in boiling soup. i only start learning to cook 2yrs ago..

lynn
my ILs are Hakka... i think they are better cooks than Cantonese? Or just diffrnt cuisine? I'm Teochew.. the things we eat are not so strong in flavour.

anyways, just to share this lobang with u.. anyone who has StanChart credit card can enjoy up to 35% off website price for ACMAMALL BEAUTY section, up to 31/12/08. www.acmamall.com, click on BEAUTY. Condition is to buy 3 items or more. I ordered last week &amp; rcvd items yest. Cheap Cheap Cheap...
I can help to place order, if anyone needs anything u can PM me the following:
1) item number (look for "SKU" number)
2) delivery address
Christmas is coming, maybe can find suitable gift items for your girlfrens/ boyfrens... even brands not avail in Sgp can be ordered - eg Prescriptives! But not entire range la.

<font color="aa00aa">Our 1-year-old Mass Birthday Bash - 20th Dec Sat @ The Pines 12pm - 3pm</font>
<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Pls confirm and make payment by 20th Nov! as I nid to cfm headcount. Tks. </font></font>

<u>Venue and Price: </u>
S$36nett per adult. Buffet lunch from 12-3pm, free flow drinks, free parking, free use of function rm and free 1kg birthday cake.

<u>Payment: </u>
Need you to transfer payment to me first as I'm afraid of last-min no show. Pls transfer S$36 per adult (S$72 per couple) to my POSB Savings xxx-xxx-xxx by stating ur nick. Already emailed u my POSB savings acct number. I need you to confirm your attendance because I need to secure place a month before event. Tks.

Gladly welcome more babies to join. The more the merrier.
FYI, other than buffet lunch, I'm sourcing around for sponsors for goodie bags-cum-bday presents, and lucky draw prizes.

<u>Volunteers Needed! </u>
1. elmo_78 - Xmas Gift Exchange
<font color="0000ff">2. Birthday Cake (The Pines throwing in free 1kg)
3. Contest eg. fastest crawling baby (if have time).</font>
4. mcfluffy - making e-Invitation Card-cum-Lucky Draw Coupon
5. janbb - making name-sticker/stroller-sticker
6. ylim HB - event photographer

<u>Attendees (Mummies, I nid ur hb name too cos janbb making name tags for all)</u>: }
1 mei + hb - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
2 mandygoh + hb
3 blessed_serene + hb
4 steph77 + hb
5 shorty_gal + hb - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
6 QQ + hb
7 babyshannon + hb
8 elmo_78 + hb - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
9 blessedbaby
10 icy + hb - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
11 babyship + hb
12 kitsune_sg + hb
13 yen2007 (tbc)
14 janbb + hb - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
15 chaye + hb
16 superbee + hb
17 mcfluffy + hb - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
18 tracy_lazy + hb
19 ylim + hb
20 hammies03 + hb - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
21 bebe_yan (tbc)
22 audrey_sg + hb
23 fishia
24 baby26 + hb
25 itok + hb
27 joeey + hb - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Liferacer Swim Wear order (by 30 Nov 08)</font>
http://liferacerswimwears.spaces.live.com

- min 15 pcs of thermal wear to enjoy 40% discount off retail price. refer to excel file. prices in the BLUE cells. (file too big here. will email to u.)
- non-thermal-wear, refer to url above. min 15pcs of each category. discount differs (20%-30%) depending on category.
- collection via postage. postage to be bear by buyer.
- pls indicate your order and we see if can hit 15pcs per category.

Mummy Nick:
Mummy Email:
Mummy Address:

Item No.:
Item Code/Article:
Item Description:
Item Colour:
URL (if any):
Size:
Quantity:
Unit Price (from blue cells):

Total no of items:
Total amount (from blue cells):

wendy,

I am hakka too. Canto are great in double boiled soup. as for hakka, well, I guess more used to saltish n oily food?

prac makes perfect lah.. keep cooking till u master the skill

<font color="aa00aa">Our 1-year-old Mass Birthday Bash - 20th Dec Sat @ The Pines 12pm - 3pm </font>
just to highlight, payment made is <font color="ff0000">NOT refundable</font>, unless i cancel the event before making deposit payment to Pines.
If event is cancelled after payment made to Pines, there is cancellation charges. pls understand.

babyshannon,
noted. understood.

mummy2be,
nvm. i love to organise. just that i scared last-min no show then l lugi lor. have to pay $ out of own pocket. i scared.
btw, u not coming mass bday bash?

chaye,
emailed u le. check ur email for my bank details.

blessedbaby,
come bday bask lah! come come come...

Kitsune,
That's means like me ah. Was worried that Zach would not tae the bottle when I was away. Even consulted the PD. PD told me not to worry too much cos hunger will take over everything. BB will find some ways to survive. Actually, Friso is quite easy to drink as compared to Similac.

Are you going to bring your Medela to HK and Shanghai?

As a guide, if BB chokes on the milk / water, that means too fast flow. That means teat hole is too big.

mei
Let me talk to hubby tonight. Most likely I have to hande baby alone?!!

Mummies, am seeking for tips to bring bb out without helper. Please share with me.. currently i am looking for a lightweight stroller (but which brand is good?). How to bring bb by myself huh??????
) I cant handle both bb and pram at the same time, so prefer to buy a new lighter pram for her.. so I can use it with my 1 hand.. is it possible? My gal is 10kg, I dont think i can use bb carrier anymore.. so heavy

I can't cook too, and it doesn't help that I'm staying with my ILs so they handle all the cooking and not much chance to learn on the job. Moreover, it's their kitchen so everything must do it their way and they have a lot of rules on how to cook for the baby. E.g. I cook stock for my baby... then MIL says the 1st round stock add little bit of water, then throw away after it boils, cos get rid of oil and impurities etc. 2nd round then add more water and use it for bb porridge.. Hmm, never heard of this before but have to follow lor.

Oh, wanna ask mummies who use brown rice for bb's porridge, I find that there will be those yellow husk-like things that can't be soften no matter how long I cook. Sometimes I filter it out but worried that those are the 'nutrients'. And when I dun filter it, I find that my baby can't digest it.. all comes out in the poo... still in the rice form, just empty husk.. keke.... Dunno whether it's the type of brown rice I used, intend to change a brand and see how.

I also find that my baby absorption/digestion like not so good. In her poo, I can always spot the spinach leaves, and carrots bits. Haha, yes, I am the sort of mummy that will go scrutinise my bb's poo.. At first I thot those carrot bits were blood clots. Gave me a shock!

Wow, hear u all talk about cooking for kids make me feel so bad. Mine haven't really taken meet aside from using it to cook soup coz I lazy to mince and don't think those mince meat from market clean enough. Geez...he's been juz on porridge with fish and some form of veg, tofu or egg yolk. Everything sound so yummy. Maybe I shld start to try pasta this wkend.

When is the crocs sale again?

Do u all find with kids very difficult to save? Now with 2 I find it so tough to save up! Insurance is a killer.

blessedbaby,
for lightweight stroller, many mummies use combi which can be opened and closed with one hand. personally i am using my 7kg+ peg perego and still travel alone with bb.
not sure if u drive but i do, so i just leave my bb in the carseat, take out the pram and unfold carry bb out and put her in the pram.
going back that time, same thing, put her in carseat first then settle the pram into the boot.
actually now it's much easier cos our bb are quite big already, when outside, i just park her on a bench or chair for a short while if necessary.

precious moments,
u're not the only one that scrutinises yr bb's poo =)
actually it's quite normal to have bits of veges coming out in the poo cos these are food high in fiber. actually if u were to go scrutinise yr own poo u'd prob find bits of veges too =p

I put in ikan billis powder and Eu Ren Sen brown rice powder into Javin porriage daily. I soak the ikan billis and toast them in the oven till crisp then grind till powder form.

As for dried gan bei, i soak in water for overnite then use the water to cook with the porriage. I also cook frog leg for javin every alternate weeks for 3 days. Usually cook with broccoli and gou qi.

Steph,

I also have piles and pass motion always have blood. For me i take alot of fruits and veg ok already. Then after the pregnancy i went to GP to remove it. Alternatively u can get a cream from the gynea to apply. Dun worry its a small case!!

Blessedbaby: thks for ur info on e costume. see ya dis sat. Is ur hb sending u there or u driving? if not, i can come and fetch u..

As for pram, i'm using Combi..

Jacelyn/Grumpus
Heard from my mum tat ikan bilis powder is a bit heaty cannot give everyday wor... did u guys give everyday ?

Cutting Nails
May I ask how u guyz cut your little one's nails ? I have problem cutting them cos Tate cant sit still ! My action hv to be very quick and cut until so ugly leh... give him toys to play he will need his hands to play ma... so difficult

Jacelyn,
tks
I also thot of removing it thru day surgery after pregnancy. How the GP remove the piles? Izit painful? Need to be hospitalised? Last time i only have a single small external piles, now i think got 2 big ones!

Chaye,
i only cut Zander's nails when he is Zzzz or deep sleep in his yao lan otherwise he sure wont allow me to hold his hands still. When he was 3 or 4 mths old, i try to act smart &amp; cut his nails while he is drinking his milk &amp; guess what? I accidently snip his flesh le!! He cried so loud n pitiful

wendy, im pure hakka, so i understand how gneow your hb is towards food. my parents are very particular abt food too.
when i was married to my hb's family (hokkien and xin hua dialect), i really couldnt take it...the food is...yucks...and very little. so used to my mom cooking a LOT of dishes. we eat more dishes, less rice. at my hb place, we eat more rice, less dishes.

just like yest, i got home to my mil place, only left 2 small fried fish (like the nasi lemak kind), some strings of vege, and few pcs of lor bak (which i hate anyway). sighs....
in the end go home and eat bread and kaya

i cut my gal's nails myself, i got no fear in doing that in fact whenever i see her nails long i will feel very uncomfort. Usually i put her in walker and cut or when my hubby or mum is feeding her milk i will cut. She will move and draw her hand back but i just hold her hands firmly and cut 1 finger play peek a boo with her and cut another one. So it pretty easy. Maybe ur should try to hold their hand firm to avoid accident and ask someone to play with them? Don't give them toys to play cos they tend to use both hands to play so u can't cut at all.

hi all, how's mummies and babies? time flies very fast.. soon they will be coming to a year old.

i would like to check any mummies have NTUC points to give away? i need to buy the plates for my new house.

Chaye: i cut my bb nails once a wk, i'll on e mtv channel for him to watch..
i was watching mtv while giving birth to him, maybe datz e reason y he luv mtv. hahaha!

Me too hakka but cant really speak..

jacelyn
GP can remove? I thought need specialist. Did u do the stapling thing?

steph
www.colon.com.sg
left hand side click "About Colorectal Diseases", then click Haemorroids.

pixie
ya my MIL cook a lot... she always keep the leftovers for next day lunch. At first i didn't know and kept trying to finish the food (my mum and aunt dun like to keep leftovers).. until my husband told me dun finish everything, they keep for next day lunch. I mean... if want to keep, then early scoop aside to keep la, those remain on the table means eat finish lor....

grumpus
I cant drive, that's the troublesome part. Grrhhh.

If I could, I would have no problem now. Huhuhuhu. ;((

Lynn, how heavy is your combi stroller?
I am looking for really really light one. Dont want to bring my helper along, even more troublesome to look after her and my baby so I have to learn ways to handle bb by myself.

Food:
Just now I cook chicken stock for my gal, I added some shallot in the soup, she loves it. ;) Hhehehe. More flavor i think.. but then after that, she made more gas bomb, hahahaha.

wendyg,
great link &amp; gd info. tks

<font color="0000ff">evening,</font>
Re: Tubal ligation
Tubal ligation, or getting one's "tubes tied," refers to female sterilization...err...me not doing it liao cos hubby don't encourage &amp; he unsure abt having #3 (may/may not) few yrs later. I wasn't aware until my colleague told me that must go thru a mini-laparotomy, a 3-4 cm incision is made just above the pubic bone or under the navel for this simple procedure which takes abt 20-30mins and is performed under GA or spinal anesthesia. I think use condom or oral contraceptive bah.

Just want to find out if any of your baby refuse to lay down to be changed diaper and will always flip and cried when changing? Please advise, as my boy is now 9mths plus and has been doing this action. My mum going nuts about his behaviour even though she always give him toys or sing to him while changing..anyone had similar experience as my boy?