(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i hav been using avent since my girl was borned, but tot it is time to change her milk bottles, is pigeon good?

re: Photoshoot
I took my gal to The Studio Loft for her photoshoot. Not easy trying to make her laugh, we were like mad people behind the photographer doing all sorts of movements and sounds to catch baby's attention. Heh. Package wise, please go to the thread to enquire :p But I think my money wasn't really well spent :p think because My girl's mood wasn't the best that day.

grumpus,
my gal would sometimes fall back to sleep at 6ish, but sometimes don't! So, sometimes she sends me off to work. Hehe. I do wish she sleeps longer into the day so that I don't need to wake up at 6ish on weekends too. zzzzzz

hi mylife

The recipe here will give u more details about the recipe I gave u:

http://www.annabelkarmel.com/recipes/babies-9-12-months/baby_food_recipes_cheesy_pasta_stars

I cook the carrots separately. 1 cup of chopped carrots cook in 1 cup of water. Cook till the carrots become soft.

Then cook the tomatoes in the butter until mushy. I use the diced tomatos in the tin as the seeds are already removed and diced up nicely already. But look for one without salt added. Stir in the carrots and the juice it was cooked in. By right, supposed to stir in the grated cheddar cheese too. Then blend till puree form. Then stir in the cooked ABC pasta.

But I had a hard time washing up as the melted cheddar cheese stick onto my blender and my wok. =S So I intend to put the cheese only just before serving.

For the ABC pasta, u cook it into boiling water. I think it took me about 20+min. Soft as in u take a pasta out n bite it. If it has this al denta (partial chewy texture?) feel, then cook longer. If it reminds u of the pasta we have outside in the resturants, then cook longer. Pasta doesn't really break up so easily, so just cook till soft. When u bite, it breaks up easily, then ok already. =D

ahcapp

thanks!! After stirring in all ingredients (tomato, carrots and cheese) STILL got to blend into puree form ah?

janbb,steph
as requested. already emailed studio loft discount email to u (and all jan mummies contact that i've in my inbox)

mylife

Yupe, or else the tomato + carrot is still abit chucky. The tomato although already diced beforehand, will not really break up further too much. If u want, don't blend too long. The sauce will have some 'texture' which your darling can learn to bite. =)

janbb,steph
since ur interested to sign up package with studio loft, icy also keen, maybe can ask if can get a better rate if x number sign up. how??

luca/ mylife
sure, i guess u can let the child 'auto adjust' once he starts cc. For us, we tried to make the transition one less stressful. He had to handle separation anxiety (18m), new environment, new faces, new activities... at least get the nap timing in sync so that he doesn't get cranky at lunchtime (11.30am @ cc). Imagine starting to get sleepy at his usual nap time 10am, tahan for some time, at some point sure get cranky. If it happens during lunchtime, means he'll rather sleep than eat, means he won't eat enuf, means insufficient nutrition, means weakened immune system blah blah. u get the picture.

pasta sauce:

just to share, i din blend the sauce, the tomato if deskinned, cooked for 15 to 20 min...should be v soft liow. then i will throw in the carrot puree and minced chicken meat puree (which were all in baby cubes prepared earlier), stir...then add cheese to it, once it melts, will throw in the pasta, take out n serve the kids. they like it.

Pasta: I didnt blend it either. After it's cooked, it's soft and very easy for bb to chew on. ;)

Dawn: bb can eat chicken? I havent tried for bb yet..

Mei: I will have to re-confirm with you re bb bash by next week.. Still dont know if I should go as my hubby is not around. *headache*

Mcfluffy,
Same thing happened to me also. My #1 cried when I brought him to Studio Loft..All his pics "black" faced..
Then when I brough #1 and #2 to Foto-U, #2 was sulking..Took a while to warm up to the photographer.

By the time, BB cheered up, almost time up..That's why $$ like not well spent. Did the photographer at helped to cheer BB up?

mylife
thanks anyway! =)

my son for 2 days held his fists and shook alittle. is that twitches? pls advise. dunno wanna see doc or not. my gal dun have last time so no idea

Mcfluffy
Aiyo, you ask me how to make her sleep longer ah, I oso dunno. My son likes to nap 9am and again ard 1pm. If wake up at 2pm ah... dong until 6pm cranky liao. Try to put 5pm nap, but struggle lor. To make him nap a little better, he naps in aircon room lor. V siong lah, cos my 2 kids nap separately, 2 aircons on. But no choice leh.
Oh, your girl looks so cute!! I wonder if Elliot will smile for the camera.

Icy
Wah, your boy sleeps so late, but will wake up late oso right? Or else peng san. Mine refuse 3rd nap, try for v long, he will get upset. But KO by 730pm most days.

grumpus
Hmmm... your girl's timing quite ideal hor. I try to make my son sleep at 9pm, but he will be super upset and still wake up at 6am leh. Sometimes even 5am. I guess every child different. Who takes care of your girl?

mylife
My girl oso needed to latch last time, and oso can't be pat kind. And I need to lie with her... Tat's one reason why I din wan to bf her too long, cos she v sticky. And err... last time I used to lie there 1 to 2 hours waiting for her to sleep hor!!! When she can walk, I have to sto her from walking ard the room!!! Hee... you co-sleep with her right? And 1st time mommy righ... can't bear to train right... hoho... then train your #2 earlier lor... tats why my PD told me when Nat reaching 1 yr old!! Hee....

today cooked pasta based on ahcapp's recipe...my gal loves it! Kept open mouth big big to eat...think it's becos got "flavour" thanks to the cheese and unsalted butter.

mom2nat
yah i co sleep. If i latch her, it's not as bad as you last time lah. If i latch, max 30mins, she'll knock out liao (provided i catch her sleepy wind) Sometimes, 10mins, she knock out le. She draws the milk very efficient now. 5mins finish drinking, then 5mins comfort suck and knockout liao. I am jus wondering how to proceed in the future. And how to have #2??? Ideally i'd like to have 2 yr gap, but if by then still nursing to sleep, dunno how liao. For Nat, how did u proceed? When u wean her and how was the transition? Did u let her cry eventually? Teach me leh.

hi mylife,

which brand is the cheese and unsalted butter u using?did it for babies?for the yogpliat yogurt,does it say baby yogurt?

Mom2nat,

I'm a SAHM =)
Ya the timing I give u is the 'ideal' situation. But not consistent lor, sometimes 9 plus still dun want to sleep esp if we go out for dinner or her grandparents come over for dinner etc etc she now bigger can dong and refuse to sleep.

Sometimes 2nd nap back fire, she sleep longer wake up only abt 6 then how to sleep by 9 leh?

babe

I very chi-chai mum. I blend the pasta sauce when it's still hot. But quick quick one. Now that u mention it, i will wait for the sauce to cool down first b4 blending.

1 thing to note... as the sauce contains melted cheese, the blender blade will be a bit difficult to clean up after blending the sauce. The cheese will harden up and will stick onto the blade. So u need to soak the blender blade in hot/ warm water.

mylife

hehehe.. so cute! when your darling opens her mouth big big for the pasta, I am sure u feel very happy right? =) That's how I felt too.

I started to add in minced pork into the pasta sauce. I will blend the mince pork or else a bit 'rough' for my darling. U can do so when your darling is ready. =)

AhCapp
Yah very very happy!
anyway I didn't purée the sauce cos it was soft enough for my gal to chew. Minced chicken/pork/fish I oredi started giving to her in her usual Chinese porridge. Anyway thanks and pls share more simple recipes with us yah?

Grumpus
Oh ur sahm too? Me too! Our babies very similar in napping/sleeping/waking timing. How u put her down to nap and sleep at night ah? Mine too if got late afternoon nap will sleep late. BUT u will be surprised, sometimes they wake up 6pm also they can still zzz at 8plus or 9pm becos sleep begets sleep. Just don't overstimulate them from 6pm onwards

HK weather
For anyone interested, yippee, the weather here has FINALLY turn cold between 19-23!

Babies head perspiring
Despite weather being cold, Rylee's head always perspire so much when she plays and especially when she nurses. Her whole hear can be all wet, I can even see my bedsheet is wet (she's lying on it during nursing)! I know newborns are like that cos they release heat thru their heads but are 10mths olds like that too? Any other babies like that too?

mylife,

yup i'm a SAHM. Actually went back to work after 2 mths maternity leave, was supposed to take my 3rd mth maternity leave as flexi. Had it all worked out with my boss, I would work from home from 3rd to 6th month and work only 3-4 day wks to clear my 3rd mth maternity leave. The main reason was that I wanted to breastfeed till min 6 mths and also wait till she was a bit older b4 passing her to my MIL to take care.

Unfortunately, all my well thought out plans went down the drain because:
1) My girl could not latch properly. She was very small at birth (1.86kg), spent 1 wk in hospital and after she got back had trouble latching too due to her size.
2) My MIL who was staying with me at the time could not handle my colicky, refluxy and very cranky girl.

So I made the decision to quit when she was abt 4 mths and haven't looked back since =)

Sorry for the long story haha...

Anyway, I put her down to nap and sleep at night by either bottle feeding her (she's currently on full EBM) or carrying her until she falls asleep then put down on the bed.

*high 5* I think our babies are really similar. My Lexie also major 'hot' girl. Always perspiring!! A short half hr playing on her play mat can make her whole head wet already. Nowadays it's 24/7 aircon in my rm. Sit in her car seat for 10 min journey also back of head wet. But u know chinese believe baby that always hot is good, means healthy. Baby always feel cold is no good, tend to be weak health wise

*sigh* I really miss my yearly jaunts to HK man..hubby and I use to go at least once a yr to shop and eat..hehe...haven't gone since Lexie was born =(

mylife,

haha, was typing my reply to u halfway when u posted again.

my gal does not officially share my bed, she has her own cot and gets put down to sleep for the night in her cot.

But most of the time by the time reach morning she's on my bed liao cos she wakes up multiple times and i'm too sleepy to coax her back to sleep so I just dump her on my bed and she goes to zzzzz by herself.

My bed always very full one, one hubby plus one dog plus one baby and one mummy.
Mummy only left with one very small corner :p

mylife

Does your daugher love minced chicken/ pork? My son is ok when it's cooked with the pasta sauce. I will cook and chop up the minced pork again before putting it back to the porridge. How about u?

I am trying to buy the ingredients to make the chicken stock for my son. But still no time. There are quite a no. of easy recipes from Annabel Karmel which I have yet to try. If u try any, pls share with us your experience too ok =D

Yupe, my parents are now in HK. They are there to visit my bro who stays there permanently. My mum said the weather is cooling and nice. How envy! =D

blessedbaby, can bah. i have been giving them minced chicken/minced pork/fish on rotational basis. so far ok. buy 1 whole chicken breast and cook in boiling water for 10 to 15 min. then pull off the cooked meat and add some of the chicken soup that is gotten from boiling the breast meat and blend...v yummpy chicken paste. the rest of the chicken stock can use to cook porridge. hee hee.

minced pork, i juz use it as it has been bough...din chop it again. my boy could take it v well...but my gal hates the lumpy texture of the minced pork, so really must depend on individual kids one.

where to buy the pasta sauce for bb?which outlet?i cant find the sauce in ntuc or cold storage,been to tampines 1,sengkang 1,still cant find

hi janbb,

i am curious,how come need to bring additional clothings for baby, non-slips socks & jacket for the class?they will dirty themselves for some activities in the class?

Re: Tiny red dots ard the body
My boy has these tiny red dots ard his body, mainly legs and some on hands and body. The comes and go. For a few weeks liao. I can't really tell isit an allergy or dirty leh. But I know if he crawls or perspire a lot, then will have more. Anyone experienced this?

Babe
My braun blender melted hor!! The food too hot, then the plastic stick stuck there, can't take out, so I tot ok lah, nvm still can use. But today I dig into my son's pureed pear, realised got a small piece of the plastic and metal!!!! I wonder how much has he eaten, cos I dun think my maid checks! Fainted. sigh... now I use back my old blender which is like 6 yrs old liao.

mylife
Your girl sleeps well right? then it's ok lor. My last time now tat good sleeper. The transition was tat I pat lor, and waited for her to sleep. But wait v long lor. and as she gets more active, harder to control her liao. Anyway I think Rylee sounds like an easier bb lah.

grumpus
I used to be like you, cos reaching am, bb trying to wake up more often, then end up share bed. But wah piang, your dog oso in the same bed ah!! Fainted. Kids always perspire.

grumpus
no lah...not long story. No apologies needed. But it's a great decision u've made to be a SAHM...i can totally understand what u mean by colicky, refluxy AND cranky baby. I had the same. I guess only the mommy (us) can take it? My mom also couldnt handle her, and she used to be a babysitter/nanny. Kept telling me of all the years she took care of so many babies, none of them like mine. DUH. U dont say yearly jaunts to HK lah, me now STAY here in HK also no use, i'm in the thick of all the sales also, didnt really get to go for a good shopping...it's been soooooo long since i last go for a good retail therapy session. Everything also done chop-chop. Either i rush home to feed her or if i have her with me, she'll start whining and fussing and we had to go.

Wahhh.... u can still carry her to ZZZ? Do u carry cradle hold or those her head rest on your shoulder kind? Cos mine ah, carry sure flip here and there. Refuse to zzz one. Last time she also sleep in her own cot. I'd nursed her in my rocking chair, then placed her into her cot. But ever since she's 6mths old, we decided to co sleep full time cos :
1) my back very painful
2) rocked, nursed so long, only to put her in and she wakes up, end up can do 2-3hours, so now i nurse her lying down on our bed, and she zzz, so much better
3) we read up on cosleeping and love the benefits of it.

ahcapp
she doesnt really like it cos i suspect she's lazy to chew. Sometimes she'll spit it out and jus swallow the porridge. Cheeky girl. I dont really try Annabel Karmel's recipe cos si beh ang moh one. A lot of herbs and spices named not applicable to our diet. I guess, my goal is ultimately to let here graduate to our kind of dinner table food and join us what we eat, so if i prepare too ang moh one, she'll have a hard time adjusting to our diet, then die gotta prepare two meals, one for her, one for us. :D

mylife,

i nearly laughed out loud when u said yr mum who used to be a babysitter also cannot handle rylee. sounds like my girl too, my MIL, hubby all cannot handle her. Only my mum can...fortunately!! otherwise really peng already. but unfortunately my mum works full time so cannot help me look after.

why does rylee whine and fuss when u're out?? so far lexie lurvves to go out...she's on her best behaviour when we are out. 4-5 hrs dun sleep also can and not cranky also.

yes i still carry lexie to zzz!! thankfully she's small size, but i think soon got to think of other method liao cos my back and thighs always ache like hell from carrying her.

err right cradle hold, left cradle hold, head rest on left shoulder, head rest on right shoulder, starfish, koala bear, u name it i've done it. basically whichever position her highness decides she's comfortable lor.
same lah, carry that time will flip here and there, every night machiam like aerobic workout, keep changing positions until she find a postion she happy then KO

mylife

I have not really tried all annabel karmel's recipes. Like u said, all ang mo =P But I found some are quite interesting. Cheese + Brocoli or something. Fish baked with orange juice etc =D Will see if I have the strength to try out or not.

Just chopped up chicken thigh n veg to get ready for a chicken stock mass production tmrw. Going to freeze and use it in my son's porridge. He became a bit picky after his recent fever. =(

Mylife, LOL when I read about doing everything chop chop. I went to do hair loss treatment and cut my hair on Sat afternoon. As usual, was trying to rush the hairstylist cos had to go in between pump and after work. My hairstylist ask me why everytime you come, always rushing like this. Also why so long never come for treatment. Sigh, told her bo bian lor, I'm a mummy who is still breastfeeding. Always trying to cramp so many things in short window. :p

thanks for feedback. then doesn't sound like twitching then. today and yez dun have that scary action. if persists gonna see doc liao...

kitsune

I also chomp chomp nowadays. =( Sat I managed to venture into orchard and left within 2 hours! Can u imagine.. last time I stayed for 1/2 day. =( Even when I go supermarket, it's so fast that I always forget to buy something. =S Aiyo, we mummies lives are on the fastest track! =D

mom2nat
nxt time elliot's stomach will b v strong, can withstand bugs, plastic, metal etc. fwah!

mylife
my boy also head perspire, so as much as possible we will aim the fan @ him. Once i thought my boob leaked so much bm, how come the bed whole patch wet?! Then realised it was my boy's head, phew.

i used to latch my baby for all his zzz, yest discovered that he needs to be carried to sleep for his nap. He protested & screamed - with eyes closed, means he was tired but couldn't zzz coz wanted to be carried. I guess this is thanks to my dad who carries him for daytime naps. But hai hao can easily put him down after he's asleep, unlike my #1 - hv to carry him for entire duration of nap!

re: dun over stimulate after 6pm
>> ya heard of that before, but after a while (esp for #2), everything forget liao.. more thank God that people are willing to take over baby from me, dun bother what they do to him. Every Sunday my extended family will gather @ my granny's place for dinner... my aunts can't wait to get their hands on him.. .one after another will carry him, talk to him, make him do stunts etc. i'll only take over when he's tired/ hungry.

Cheese:
Realise some of you have been feeding pasta. May I know what kind of cheese we can give?
A bit confused le... why we cannot feed cow's milk but can give cheese huh? :eek:(

Teething:
Can I check, teething will cause loose stools is it?

MomMe,

Can give those sliced cheese like Kraft cheese or the cube type of cheese.

According to BabyCenter.com
If you're wondering why cheese gets the green light ahead of milk — which you should hold off on giving your child until he's 1 year old — it's because cheese contains much less lactose than cow's milk does and is therefore less likely to cause a reaction in babies who are lactose-intolerant."

Yes, teething can cause loose stools.

<font color="0077aa">GUG TRIAL:
http://www.gugifted.com/main.htm
Date: 30 Nov (Sun)
Time: 2pm - 3.30pm (1.5hrs)
Venue: United Square Mall
Fee: $50 (pay to them on the actual day)
What to bring: Additional clothings for baby, non-slips socks &amp; jacket. Parent can wear socks too.
One parent to accompany in the class, can do a switch during their break.
Pls be there 10mins to register before class starts. </font>

Mummies (highlighted in Blue), pls PM me the following info that requested by GUG. Thks.
-Mummy's name
-Baby's name
-DOB
-2 contact no. (i.e Mummy H/P &amp; either daddy H/p or Home no.)

Onz:
1) janbb
2) babe
3) icy
4) violetice
5) mcfluffy
6) AhCapp
7) elmo78
8) Steph

<font color="0000ff">(Pls PM me your details by today, thks)
<font size="+1">9) blessed baby
10) Mandy </font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Goodbaby - Re: Additional set of clothings for GUG</font>
Yes, was told that the babies will do some outdoor activities &amp; may get wet (i.e water or paint - Depend on age group).

mylife,
my gal also perspire a lot. Especially when sleeping. Sometimes she'll wake up crying with a big wet patch on the mattress and one side of her head covered with perspiration despite the fact that we switch on the fan full blast at her. I always feel that we shouldn't point the fan directly at her coz scared she's cold or something but no choice, she'll perspire like mad. guess it's normal for babies to perspire so profusely?

I got some party lobangs to share :

<font color="aa00aa">1)Big sized Cartoon AgarAgar </font>
I have ordered a Poon Bear Agar Agar from Beauty World Centre &amp; is selling at $25 only!! You can find cartoon designs like Poon Bear, Sesame Street, Mickey... It is not very sweet. Can buy their small agar agar at their stall to try. But muz self collect.

Address : 144 Upper Bukit Timah Road, #04-25, Beauty World Centre.
Contact person : Alice Teo (90686047)

<font color="aa00aa">2) Party stuff</font>
Found few shops around Middle Rd (Bugis) selling party stuff. They are previously from Concourse. Check out this one cos' got more variety.

Address: Heart Link Trading
116 Middle Rd, #01-02.

But i didn't do price comparison...heehee. Cos' oredi very happy when I found my Party Theme Stuff (i.e table cover, balloons, party hats...)

MomMe

I also give normal cheese we adults eat. But no no for blue cheese or other un-pesturised cheese. So far, I have tried cheddar cheese &amp; those kraft singles. But I don't dare to give too much as both have salt in them

JanBB

Wow, got outdoor activites ah. Cool. =)

Re: Cheese
The sodium / salt content in Kraft singles is on the high side. Can give Kiri cheese...it's from the laughing cow brand and comes in square cubes in a light blue box. It's made from pure milk so sodium/salt content is lower. I tried it, very creamy and not salty.

The place i mention before is designed for kids, very spacious and got many themes. I think it's a great place for kids.

there are birthday parties packages available. check it out! =) Like that we don't need to organized until so tired. Cos got host and cakes and deco, food, etc. we just need to go n have fun