(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hammies, i brought isaac to beijing when he turned 4mths. flew bk to sg when 7mths, to bj again when 8mths
going bk to sg again just before 10mths ;p

now both of us down w cold again. hopefully can recover before our flight, else not safe to fly..

i know of a handful of expat mommies who fly babies after 1st month!

Rosella aka fake measles

Ok, my son's fever was gone last night. But he started to have rashes at his butt. This morning, we noticed red spots on his back. As the doc has warned us about the possibility of measles on the 3rd day of the fever, we brought him to see the doc. The doc confirmed that my son got "fake measles", which is Roseola.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/health/roseola/

As the fever is gone, the only thing which will come now is the red spots/ dots will spread to his face and his feet. Doc said it's common among baby though, and the child will only get once in his/ her life.

Nothing to worry as the rashes will go away between 24hrs to 7 days. No need to take medicine or apply anything. Not life-threatening for sure. What a relief!

The doc told me that the virus might be spread from we adults. As we are immune to it, the virus will be spread to my son.

Something a new mummy (me!) learnt today and want to share with u ladies...

chaye - pasta

My son has 7 teeth front teeth now. But he doesn't use them to bite his pasta. Hahahha.. He uses his gum. =P

Anyway, yes, I think the ABC pasta is ok as long as u cook it until soft. Give your darling 1 'number" or 1 "alphahet" to try first. I am sure your darling will loves it since it's a new food. ^_^

My son no appetite as he was down with fever. But he ate his tomata sauce + ABC pasta happily. =) U can give it a try.

AhCapp

My boy also had high fever for 3 days and followed by fake measles (red rashes all over his body) for 3 days. His poo was watery for that few days. That was abt 2 weeks ago and I found out that 2 of his upper teeth is growing out, might be a reason for the high fever. Appetite was also affected.

dawn - onion in pasta sauce

Ok, I will take your Q to put onion into the pasta sauce. =) I intend to put in some red/ yellow pepper too. I want to make it as nutritious as possible.

I hate the mess I made in the kitchen after cooking the pasta sauce. I think it's because I am a messy cook. =P But I am happy when my son eats my pasta + homemade sauce happily. hehehehe

audrey

Oh yes, my son's poo poo was all watery yday =( He poo poo until he cries when I wash his butt.

But wil take note of your feedback and watch out for his 8th tooth to see if it's popping out soon. =)

Thanks for your tip!

a...nid a pic that shows "unusual" and "awkward". can help me find? i search thru google. cannot find suitable ones. (or maybe i din look hard enuff. very sleepy now). tks.

wendy
dont follow yahoo weather. Not very chun. Follow this one. Much better. And always quite accurate. Last time HK Dec time not very cold, then again, when the wind blows (which is pretty often), even though it's jus 16c, it's quite cold.
http://www.hko.gov.hk/contente.htm

kitsune
refer to the link above. It also gives a 1 week forecast. Now night time very cold.

Egg
Sigh, now the melamine issue has extended to eggs and farm fish. Esp in HK, almost everything come from China. So worrying. At least in Sg, most things are from Msia. So now we got to be careful and buy products from US or Australia. Si beh expensive

Sassymum
Actually it's 7.5, one is jus about to pop out. Not fast lah, some other babies already got 8 liao lo

Ahcapp
Wow, ur boy can walk around the house already! Hehe.

hammies
i brought Rylee to HK (when relocating) and return to Sg recently.

WendyG and Pinkstars, thanks for your replies.
For Wendy, when u travelled into Malaysia, you drove in and not took coach is it? Then generally what did you feed your baby other than milk? I'm planning to go KL then ccan't possibly cook porridge. Thinking of just letting him eat cereal and those baby food (heinz etc). Any suggestions?

But the thing is, I'm taking coach in, also duno how to handle my bb for those 5 hours!! He may not sleep tt long also...

Pinkstars - so any advice how you handled your baby during flights? Just to share share experience. Did you baby act up, or very active wanna crawl here and there? What about food wise?

teehing
My boy just started teething at 9.5mth, just see 2 little whitish at the gum.

Mense
I stop BF ard 1 mth back.. then the mense came for 2 days but aways little and seemed like spottings only.. Anyone like my case??

But i am not pregnant. Already tested... phew!

mei,
I will pay u later.. hahha Xavier went sick then i also sick for past 2 days.. sigh.. so tired

itok,
i stayed in the east as well, Let me know if u are organsing a playgroup

Hi Mei,
Wanted to suggest doing away with the baby crawling contest thing. Haha..tot it can be more a relaxing lunch..just mingle around..let the kids mingle with each other too...is that what u mean by playgroup at Pines??

hammies
when my #1 was 8m, we drove to Genting. We gave him cereal. He joined us during meals and there was porridge at the buffet table so he ate that, plus egg yolk. smthg like that. mom2nat took coach to Genting with her #2... but then again, she had the whole village to help her =)

U can consider Pigeon ready-made baby food... just soak the whole "tub" into hot water for few minutes and can serve. But quite salty wor.. and the portion v small. Expensive!

hammies,
haha. anything. i just want babies to come!! hahaa....icy suggested the baby crawling contest, but hor, maybe end up only ur baby and my baby crawl nia. haha...

icy,
Ok, i will include you in next time I organise.

Re: Fake measles
AhCapp, Gerrard had it when he was around 7 months too. I was ignorant like you coz I have never heard of such thing before. But after that, heard that it is actually common among babies, esp after they had a fever days of viral fever. There is nothing much we could do coz no medicine to take. Only calamine lotion to apply in case he scratch- it seemed itchy leh. But was ok after 3 days. So don't worry ya.

violetice,
I only have the number for Similac- 62786220

swimming classes- Aquaduck
WOW- I see the classes pictures - all look so FUN! But from the ones posted by Kam, I see is the parents holding onto the babies in the water? Does your baby wear any swimming costume or floats? I am so scared scarli my hands slip then baby fall into the water how? I feel like letting my boy play in my bath-tub- anyone tried this before? Any recommendations on what kind of floats I should buy? I have never let Gerrard tried any swimming before so very inexperienced in this.

itok,
in public pool, u can let bb wear swim diaper (reusable or disposable). no nid floats cos' u will be holding on to them for a start. some mummies gotten the neck floats.

Count me in...Buangkok quite near for me too. But when and what time??

elmo_78's house @ Buangkok
1) mcfluffy
2) yvonne

Actually I can also volunteer my house next time if you all don't mind the mess...haha. But I'm at Hougang lah.

hi itok,
you can let your bb wear swimming costume to keep them warm. you can also try to shower your bb at home starting from the head, so that bb gets used to water flowing down from his head to his face.
So when bb goes into the swimming pool, they won't be so afraid of water.

hi all... so sleepy and tired now... just came back from PD and din go work...cos #1 been coughing whole nite and fever at 39.5 ! sponge her also dun go down.. keep whining... arghhh...

Now #2 is sleeping I can have some time to chk emails if later he wakes up the whole hse will shake again with his thunder scream ! haha

<font color="0077aa">mylife</font>
Juz wanna ask u abt the weather in HK, so "zun" that u posted the link. My hubby &amp; I will be going to HK on x'mas eve ;)My hubby very tempted to bring Jayden along but i find that it will be too tiring for baby cos' i expect myself to be like a crazy woman shopping from day to nite. Is HK weather suitable for baby huh? I'm trying to convince myself not to bring baby along but also a bit "heart itch" to tag him along. Aiyo, dilemma mummy here!! today gonna confirm ticket liao..help...

<font color="0077aa">mei,</font>
i will go atm &amp; transfer this few day &amp; msg u once done ; )

<font color="0077aa">Itok,</font>
u can buy neckfloat or donut float. Actually is also fine w/o float. Cos baby naturally know how to float. U can start to do it in baby pool first ; ) Check out my blog's video, got many float photo &amp; Jayden's demonstration...haahaa ; )

Itok,

I have let baby Hao Re "swim" with the neckfloat in the bath tub (at Hwa Xia) once when baby was about 4-5 months.... don't like it at all. Not fun leh..... now that he has grown up, will never go back there.

No need to worry lah. Just let your baby wear the swimming diaper and enjoy! If you are really really that worry, start with baby pool (some swimming pool has one). Then move him to deeper and deeper water. You would be surprised how brave your baby is!

Hi kam

May I ask... do u just wear swim diaper for Hao Re and naked at the top ? will he be cold when wind comes ?

hi mummies, how often do we have to change the milk bottles? coz i know the teats mus be changed every 3 mth.

all the babies here r so chubby n cute.. my girl is onli7.8kg though she is 9mth plus liao...

mylife: Maybe we will bring Rayden to hk during early Jan.. probably 4th Jan juz aft his 1st birthday which is on 3rd Jan.. which hotel is more suitable for 2adults and 1 bb? normally i go hk wif my frz and we stays at Kowloon hotel but itz v cramp if hav bb. and btw, do hotel hav bb cot or bb sleeps wif us?

chaye
just keep baby's body in the water, he wouldn't feel the wind. When bringing baby out of the water after the swim, quickly wrap him up in towel, dry him &amp; go into sheltered area (eg toilet).
U dun go swimming one ah? This dun just apply to babies wor...

Chaye,

No lah, I still let my baby wear swim suit (though my hubby very tempted to let him swim naked (only with diaper)). I was saying swim diaper is the minimum a baby should wear, if you don't want to buy a swim suit (buy a bigger one, else baby can't fit in after a few months).

Thanks Wendy/Kam

I brot Tate to dip in the pool once but with clothes one.. din wear any swim diaper ! hahaha I saw those bb swim suit selling at around $50 wor.. so ex. If buy one size bigger will hv to buy size 2 ah ? like v big leh

hi elmo and mcflurry,

elmo_78's house @ Buangkok
1) mcfluffy
2) mandy

I am also interested. I stay at Punggol.

Wendy,

Where can i get the heinz pasta sauce that u mentioned. I checked out NTUC Punggol just now but i cannot find it.

chaye,
hmm. can't rem. usually 30-40% cheaper than retail. got a range of thermal and non-thermal.

it was my fren's lobang. i can ask her.

chaye,
if rem correctly, usually 30-40% cheaper than retail. got a range of thermal and non-thermal. it was my fren's lobang. i can ask her. but must be min pcs since it's bulk.

AhCapp,
Re:Rosella aka fake measles
How does it look like ah? red rashes &amp; where it usually start from? the body first? or neck/face etc?
Recently, suspected my boy kena nappy rash cos his anus red red after i've changed to Huggies Comfort L size. I wonder if diaper size too big/loose will also cause rashes?
Yesterday, Zander gave a very big slimy POO in the car &amp; stain the car seat! OMG..the poo even leak out &amp; stain his romper too! We quickly put up a changing mat &amp; change him at one of the corner of the common corridor (to be discreet) in IMM on the floor...yes in the open public, no choice la cos poo all over &amp; no time to get to the nursery room liao:p Aiyo...very messy but me &amp; hubby had a good laugh while changing Zander cos his poo also very smelly!

wendyg,
me back from Genting last Friday. Didn't bring Zander along. The coach journey was ok but b'cos we travel in the nite, reach Genting only 3.30AM &amp; still cannot check in hotel till 1PM. So tiring man! Lucky no bb tag along. Pple say pregnant lady got bb luck &amp; i won some $$
My hubby's friend's wife kept touching my tummy b4 she gamble but she didn't win any:p

WendyG - ok, thanks for the info. Ya, thinking of cereal as mentioned. As for trying out food...hmm..maybe can let him try porridge indeed if happen to have any that we eat. If not then just cereal again since it's only a few days..hope he be ok. Hhaha...me planning to go Genting and KL via coach with extended family. So in a way, will have some help looking after my son, but afraid he very active and cranky on the coach!!