(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

we let him perspire... how to stop it?!
just that we aim the fan at him so that he's not so sticky & more comfy then can sleep better.

mylvera,
welcome welcome...hehe

yvonne,
my girl also like that, row from one end to the other and sometimes stuck in corner and she'll make lots of noises..

my boy also got "funny" positions when he sleeps, thats why i let him sleep in the playpen, else he would have roll or flip onto the floor.
some of u let bb sleep together on ur bed, anybody let their bb sleep alone in a room yet?

prefers to dress him in 2 pc suit, find rompers easily outgrown n hate buttons too hehe esp when he cant keep still.

Kam,
When your boy perspires, don't he get cranky?

My boy can perspire until whole head wet and can see the perspiration dripping down. But he gets irritated and starts scratching head, pulling hair, etc. So I try to keep him cool.

I always see people covering their babies with blankets, etc when they're sleeping in the stroller...I wonder won't their baby feel hot? Or only mine "special case"? Never cover already perspiring...

luca,
I'm still undecided when I'll shift my boy to his own room. Initially wanted to start around 9 mths but he's teething so cranky like hell and shifting him now will only make life more difficult for myself. So maybe wait until he's 1 year old...hehe.

Luca, my baby has been sleeping in a cot at her own room since after 6 months old. No air con, just very strong fan cos got mosquitoes in the room. Got to keep getting her out when she cries or when I latch on at night so I'm the one who's suffering lor. But at least I know she's safe, if she's on the bed with me, I can't sleep cos scared she'll roll off or crawl and fall. :p

babe
yup, my bb can drink from straw. Previously she was drinking water from bottle and from spoon. I bought the pigeon mag mag cup for her to learn. Initially also she just bite the straw dunno what to do with it or worse she bites the cap.
But I just keep offering it to her and tell her water, water. One thing is she recognise the word water cos we always tell her water water even when we feed through bottle.
Anyway, I found that if you tilt the angle of the bottle and straw a bit such that it's more like milk bottle angle they are more likely to instinctively suck on it and once they get the taste of water they'll know what to do already. Sometimes the next day she will forget again then have to tilt the bottle for her again. She took about a week to consistently drink from the straw and then subsequently another week b4 she reach out and drink herself.

luca
I shifted my girl to her own room when she was abt 4 months cos she sleeps early and we can't do anything else once she sleeps cos she'll wake up. So can't turn on the light or watch tv. At least with her in her own room we can do our own things.
BUT, last wk I moved her back to my room again cos she kept waking up and crying! dunno why, teething, scared, dunno. So now she's back in my room...funny thing is now if we watch tv she sleep, when we turn off the tv to go sleep she will wake up...sigh

babe, u ever try using syringe to feed ur bb with water?

My boys used to hate water, so i usually use that to feed them, thou starting, they will make a fuss, have to be "hard-hearted" lor.. hehe bad mummy..

Yvonne, me too havent decide whens the right time, but i'll let him fall asleep first before going in the room to sleep, s dun wana make him rely on us for company to fall asleep.

Kitsune, poor u, no wonder u r so skinny.

Rylee sleeps with us on our bed, in our room. Since birth, she's always sleeping in sleepsuits (those that covered toes one) and we on aircon till 23c. My mom keep saying toes cannot be exposed for young babies. Duh. Maybe that's why she perspire so much. But that only happens when she nurses. Funnily enough, only her head perspire, body nothing. Maybe i'll try putting her in long sleeve rompers and see how.

Lately, for the past 3nights, she has been consistently waking up at 3am and just sit up and try to climb around the bed, me, etc. Didnt cry. Just wake up, sit up and play around. I tried coaxing her back down, latched her on, but she jus nurse a while, stay still a bit, then back to wanting to climb up and babble. Aiyoh. This continue until 5ish, if i'm lucky, yday shorter, until 4ish, she went back to ZZZ. Dunno what's wrong...

Yvonne
i rem u mentioned ur boy twitches rite? Recently i also saw Rylee does the same thing! I am so scared something wrong with her nerves leh. It seems pretty harmless BUT defnitely involuntarily. Happens when she lies down or sitting still (which is rare). Sometimes when i'm carrying her, can feel it too. It's like a hiccup, except she wasn't hiccuping.

Yvonne,

My baby perspires a lot also. When finishing the whole bottle of milk, all the hair wet like just wipe dry after shower :) But he is not cranky, sometimes scratches his head and pulls his hairs. My baby very seldom wears sock or long pants even when we go shopping.

Kitsune,

I thought Luca meant for baby to sleep in their own room.

luca,

Benjamin sleeps alone in his own room when he is abt 6 mths old. My hubby worried that if he sleeps with us next time he won't want to sleep in his own room :p So far, no issues and he has been a good boy sleeps through the nite.

Serene, thats what i worry also, so meantime accompany didi to sleep in his own room first.

Actually many of my frens feel its kinda "unhealthy" to sleep with children or in other words, for couples to sleep in separate room.

mylife,
Actually covering their toes helps to keep them warm. Me and hubby also wear socks to sleep...hehe...that's what the TCM doctor taught us. So I make sure my boy's feet are covered when he sleeps at night.

So far I haven't seen my boy "perform" any more of his twitches. But really gave me and hubby a scare when we saw it. I found some information from baby center website and it seems quite harmless. As long as baby is not sick, then it's most likely due to their immature nervous system which is unable to process the brain's signal fast enough. If it's a shoulder to ear twitch (not sure if you know what I mean), it could also be caused by a discomfort or itch in their throat or ears. Shouldn't be a big cause for concern unless the twitching & freqency becomes more obvious. It's definitely uncomfortable for us to look but they don't really feel anything.

mylife,

my gal also having the same prob. only the head perspire when she is sleeping or drinking milk. And its really alot of sweat, until my hand is wet at times. but the rest of the body nothing le. dunno what happens also. she wears long sleeves and long pants (but toes not covered) when she sleeps.
My MIL asks me to give her si shen powder with pao shen, mix into her porridge. she says my hubby also like that when young. but i havent got the time to try yet.

i tink my #2 the slowest haha

duno how to crawl, duno how to stand, every nite still wake up 1-2hrly... for sure every nite will wake up ard 12 midnite. cry with eyes closed till we move him to the big bed den he will doze off after less den 5 mins latching.

Kam,
My boy also seldom wear socks or long pants when we go shopping...he's always in sleeveless rompers. Your Hao Re very good leh, won't get irritated. My boy will wake up and cry if he gets too hot during his afternoon naps...must always make sure fan blowing at him. My in-laws sometimes complain he don't want to sleep in the afternoon or wake up crying after sleeping for a while. Told them a dozen times that he can't sleep when he's warm but they don't believe, say fan cannot blow direct at him. Don't believe me, baby cranky then they suffer lor...hehe.

Luca,

That was what my hubby heard fm friends feedback and decided he shall learn to sleep on his own.But Sometimes, I itch backside will choose to zzz at baby's room :p

Kam,

Indeed he is good a good boy, I think he knows that daddy and mummy are those that needs to sleep well if not cannot entertain him during the day :p

<font color="aa00aa">1 year old mass birthday bash - price</font>
got an email reply from globetrotters.

For lunch, it’s from 11am – 2pm and the menu is priced at $28 nett per adult for a minimum of 25 adults. Kids from 3 – 10 years old can enjoy the same menu at half price; $14 nett

serene_ng,

So far, my boy only slept through a few times only. Plan to let him sleep in his own room in late Nov/Dec after I come back from a business trip. How did you do it? Any tips to share?

Although Hao Re still wakes up once for night feed, and needs patting/comforting from 0 - 4 times per night, I still consider him as good boy. Although he wakes up at night, but after max 10 min, he will be able to fall asleep again, never stay up and refuse to sleep (finger-crossed). I just see this as a very special mummy and son bonding time - once he grows up, I cannot have this special time anymore :) I reckon if I see everything positively, things will turn out to be on the brighter side.

luca
hmm...UNHEALTHY? that's a bit too strong a word...for me i believe that there's never too much love for a baby. And for ours, they're still so young! Personally, i'm a big believer in the benefits of co sleeping, of cos there are 2 school of thots lah, but i believe the disadvantages of cosleeping (kids not leaving the parents bed) can be ironed out in the future with proper guidance. But well, that's just my humble opinion

yvonne
thanks. I checked with my PD and he said to bring rylee in for a checkup if i'm worried. Maybe i will do that. Cos the twitch can happen quite often. I tried searching baby center too but only managed to find that it's relating to seizure! *faint*

hi mums, what do u do after the avocado has discoloured? I put a slice in the fridge but it turned spotty (brown spots) the next day. Can still eat? Must scrape off the brown spots before giving baby ?

mylife,
Don't scare yourself lah. Seizure is very serious and it will last 1-2 mins instead of 2-3 secs thing. Seziure might also lead to unconsciousness. I think ours is more the case of "brain processing faster than the body". Unless Rylee is showing signs of distress lah, but if she's still a happy baby then shouldn't be serious. Even if you bring her to PD, I think PD will need to see the "twitch" to determine if it needs further medical attention. How are you going to make her "twitch"??

I think sleeping in their own room is more important/healthy for boys. I also feel boys need to be more tough, cannot be so attached to mummy and sleeping with mummy all the time...haha.

wendyg,
Avocado same as banana and apples, will oxidize upon contact with air (??). Can still eat lah but don't look nice lor. I will usually puree and freeze the balance...helps to reduce the browning.

<font color="aa00aa">aquaDucks Trial - 1st Nov Sat @ The Pines</font> - <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Not confirmed. aquaDucks will contact you directly to arrange trial for you</font></font>
have replied aquaducks' email, and cc below mummies. due to ongoing classes at The Pines, aquaducks will arrange a trial with u directly subject to availability. if u don't hear from them, please give the person-in-charge a call. tks.

Slot #1. 10am - 10.30am
1. zhu_baby - OK
2. mcfluffy - OK
3. VioletIce
4. BabyG_08 - OK
5. mandygoh - OK
6. hammies03 - OK

Slot #2. 10.30am - 11am
1. Tansy x1 - ok
2. cherylkjh (feb08mtb)- OK
3. Dor11 (feb08mtb) - OK
4. vine_gal (feb08mtb) - OK
5. happymum2b (feb08mtb) - OK
6. leila - OK

Slot #3. 11am - 11.30am
1. freshies22 x1 - OK
2. freshies22 x2 - OK
3. babyling -
4. bebeyan - OK
5. ibu_hakim - OK
6. audrey_sg -

<font color="aa00aa">1 year old Mass Birthday Bash 20th Dec Sat lunchtime <u>11am-2pm</u> - Venue</font>
Globetrotters @ Novena Square http://www.globetrotters.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=75&amp;Itemid=94
S$28 per adult / S$14 per child (3-10yrs old) for buffet lunch from 11am-2pm at Jubilee Function Rm. Party deco/helium balloons would be provided, with goodie bags for the 2-yr-and-above-kids. Have to source own birthday cake. Rm just nice for sit-down lunch, with no extra space for babies to crawl around. High-chairs would be provided on availability (as it's still open to public).

01. mei ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">02. mandygoh </font>
03. blessed_serene ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">04. steph77 </font>
05. shorty_gal ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">06. QQ </font>
07. babyshannon ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">08. elmo_78 </font>
09. blessedbaby ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">10. icy
11. babyship </font>
12. kitsune_sg ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">13. yen2007 </font>
14. janbb ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">15. zhu_baby </font>
16. chaye ==> OK
17. superbee ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">18. mommy2be </font>
19. lyn78 ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">20. mcfluffy </font>
21. tracy_lazy ==> OK
22. mom2nat ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">23. sassymum </font>
24. verene ==> OK
25. ylim ==> OK
26. hammies03 ==> OK
27. bebe_yan ==> OK (may be travelling in Dec)
<font color="0000ff">28. audrey_sg</font>

Kam,

I can't really offer any tips to you as I think Benjamin learns to sleep through on his own. I don't remember doing anything special to make him sleep through the nite. If really I need to point out 1 thing that I did then it will be the dream feed but now I don't do it anymore.

mei
Hee... 11 to 2pm is good. My #1's class ends 1030am, then next class at 3pm. Hoho... But ah, I think their function room not v big leh. Can accomodate all of us?

yvonne
thanks for the link! But Rylee doesnt jus twitch her head wor...it's her arms and body too.
As for co-sleeping for baby boys, not necessarily simply becos they're boys, we have to train them to be tough. Boys also need lots of love one mah...
Think i read somewhere before that men have it harder dealing with stress cos since young they're forbidden to have any weak emotions like crying, etc becos they're trained to be tough!
If i have a baby boy, i would cosleep with him too.

Oops, dont misunderstand ah...having said that, i DO agree that everyone needs to be comfortable with the own arrangement

mylife
Actually, I dun like to co-sleep. My girl always wanted to climb into our bed, end up I din have good sleep for ages, cos she is always looking for me, even after we moved her to her own mattress. Thus for Elliot, we move him out of the room, to sleep with my mom! Prob your girl sleeps v well lor, mine has "wu ying jiao" kick already you can see stars! Haha...

mylife,
My boy twitches his head, shoulder &amp; arms...like doing breakdance...haha. Definitely looks awkward to me...but he hasn't done it again since last week so I'm not too worried. Moreover, he's teething so may have some discomfort around the jaws and gums.

I guess boys have a tougher life...but guess it's every mummy's worry that their boy will be too "soft"...so gotta balance out between loving them and pampering them.

mylife,
Has Rylee's separation anxiety improved??

My boy seems to be getting more and more attached to me. Even refused to let his daddy carry. He will hang on to me with his arms and legs like a koala bear to escape from his daddy...so funny. When he's being carried by other family members, he's always looking at my direction and if they even mention the word "mummy" he will start crying and ask for mama already...cannot stand him sometimes.

Not dat i don't like to co-sleep, just that i want my boys to grow up to be a independent person.

And i don't mind them crying all the time, after all we are human beings with feelings, its very natural to cry when we are sad, thou there's a saying : "men dun shed tears"

Just to share, mummies , u may wish to register with babycenter.com - this website upon register of your child's age, will send weekly email of your child's mental and physical developments and fantastic ideas to help in their development, until 24th months of age.

So for this week, this is wat i got from them, (clinginess and a growing fear of strangers. He's learning you could go far away from him, which is a frightening thought for someone so tiny! This phase, when he wants to be near you all the time, can be very wearing but it will pass more quickly if you don't push him to be independent too soon. Day by day his confidence will grow, as you are there to support and reassure him).

RE: AQUADUCK TRIAL

I have just spoken to the person in-charge. They can't do the trial on the time we proposed, as they have started 'real' classes at Pines. And also, for this round, mummies have to bear the guess fees charged by The Pine, $5.35 which will include parking, towel, locker and use of the F&amp;B facility. This charge was previously absorbed by Aquaducks, guess this is a 'penalty' to us who can't make it to the first trial :)

Anyone interested? As they can't do back-to-back trial for all 18 of us, we have to separate into 3 groups. I will do the coordination for 1 group only. Once I have 6 mummies sign up, I will confirm the trial with Aquaduck a.s.a.p.

Aquaduck trial on the 1st Nov at 5pm-5.30pm. Guess fees of $5.35 chargable (car park inclusive).

1. Kam

Please kindly confirmed your attendance a.s.a.p. so that I can secure that slot with Aquaducks. Thanks!

I m ok for that time.

Aquaduck trial on the 1st Nov at 5pm-5.30pm. Guess fees of $5.35 chargable (car park inclusive).

1. Kam
2. tansy (twin1)

<font color="aa00aa">1 year old Mass Birthday Bash 20th Dec Sat lunchtime <u>11am-2pm</u> - Globetrotters Jubilee Rm @ #02-02 United Square</font>
http://www.globetrotters.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=75&amp;Itemid=94
1. S$28 per adult / S$14 per child (3-10yrs old) for buffet lunch from 11am-2pm at Jubilee Function Rm.
2. Party deco/helium balloons/party hats/gift table/cake-cutting-table would be provided, with goodie bags for 2-yr-and-above-kids.
3. Rm just nice for sit-down lunch, with no extra space for babies to crawl around.
4. High-chairs would be provided on availability (as it's still open to public).
<font color="0000ff">5. Any other questions I need to ask?</font>

01. mei ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">02. mandygoh </font>
03. blessed_serene ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">04. steph77 </font>
05. shorty_gal ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">06. QQ </font>
07. babyshannon ==> OK
08. elmo_78 ==> OK
09. blessedbaby ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">10. icy
11. babyship </font>
12. kitsune_sg ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">13. yen2007 </font>
14. janbb ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">15. zhu_baby </font>
16. chaye ==> OK
17. superbee ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">18. mommy2be </font>
19. lyn78 ==> OK
20. mcfluffy ==> OK
21. tracy_lazy ==> OK
22. mom2nat ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">23. sassymum </font>
24. verene ==> OK
25. ylim ==> OK
26. hammies03 ==> OK
27. bebe_yan ==> OK (may be travelling in Dec)
<font color="0000ff">28. audrey_sg - pls pm me details and headcount</font>
TOTAL 52A + 4C + 27B

<font color="ff0000">Need help on:</font>
1. Birthday Cake - ? Anyone can bake FOC? or lobang to bake FOC?
2. Invitation Card-cum-Lucky Draw - ? Anyone can design? Mummies good in scrap-design?
3. Xmas gift exchange for Mummy - Budget?
4. Birthday presents - mei
5. anything else i missed out?

kam,
u contacted nurun? gd.
when u confirm with her, check with her if she sill have the balance huggies little swimmers diapers from the last trial. if yes, ur can use.

my boy dont wear rompers during sleep. my mil dressed him in long sleeves top and long pants - seperate pieces.
if i let him wear rompers to bed, i will add on another long pants, cant use blanket, he likes to flip a lot during his sleep and he likes to sleep on his stomach.
like wendy, fan is blowing directly to him, he does not pespire much. if he is cold, i will wrap a blanket around his stomach and tuck it underneath him so that he wont wriggle out of the blanket.

Bebe_yan,

Yes, you still have to pay $5.35, as this is chargable by The Pines, not Aquaducks.

Mei,

Thanks. I will ask Nurun about the swim diaper.

re: aquaducks
any mummy who came on 11th oct trial, can help me proof-read my article? i nid to submit to huggies.

<font color="aa00aa">huggies photo contest by 31 oct 08</font>
mummies who came for the 11th oct aquaducks trial, please submit your photo and caption to me as I nid to submit on 1-nov-08.

Huggies Little Swimmers contest: The mechanics of the contest is to snap a shot of your baby in the water with Little Swimmers and tell us why your baby loves Little Swimmer in 15 words. Baby with the cutest snap shot will win a Little Tikes Little Fisher (worth $29.90)