(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

I went to Eastpoint too...i reach at 9.30am i am no.120. And i stay Simei...so many babies!
My husband didnt expect the crowd but i did. I told him the last round at Jurong Pt ppl reach at 8plus got 60+ number....:p
ps: shop owners at level 1 near the stage is very unhappy cos the queue was blocking their entrance and display window. Uncle at a small booth also remark "Take up my space now still want to borrow my PEN!" when i ask him to borrow me his pen......:ppppppp

Seafood in HK.
My friends always bring me to those back alley small shops for seafood. Yummy and cheap. They told me not to go Sai Kung becos there will chop u like Robert. I love the bamboo thingy...Cantonese they call it "Seng Ji"
Another of my favourite dish is Cheese Lobster Ee Fu Mee

go HK eat seafood? I only go there to eat cheap & yummy dimsum. hahahaha. love the har-gow. fresh prawns! So i guess that's seafood too =)
countdown... 3+ months to go... feel so tempted to go for a mini holiday before then. KL? Genting? Sigh when will my kids grow up so that i can go on-sen... Japan hot spring!!!

mylife
baby fever will go up & down, so hv to give fever medication few days at specific timing, even if hv to wake her to take the med. Esp at night, fever tends to spike. And since your girl has a virus thingy, b careful not to catch it yourself huh.

violetice
yah air good good but pity raining every day. supposed to be hot weather. weather getting siao nowadays. yep docs recommend swimming to help cardio, me got mild heart prob so my parents got me to learn swimming when rather young. and yes i'm one of the mummies who heard abt HFMD via swimming. maybe bring baby ian go swimming after he recovers and HFMD die down... take good care mrs panda

mylife
good at leaast found the reason for her illness then can treat =) take care too

holiday
enjoyed lots with my family but come down do all the laundry... wah sianz...

sleeping tog
violetice my hubby mind leh, frequency dropped... worse still during the trip, wear disposable undie n hubby say even he wan, also low morale liao after seeing the disposable hahahahah... can ppl like ahcapp n wendyg with lotsa eca share idea? xxx in same room tog with baby after they fall asleep or separate room ah?

Mylife, think I wait for you to recommend me or else I kenna chop 'carrot' also don't know how to complain cos I can't speak 'cantonese'. :p

Xiaoyun, no reply, guess you not free, never mind I'm late today too cos PT cleaner not free to come, end up I got to do housechores myself. :/

VioletIce/mylife, wishing Ian and Rylee super speedy recovery then you weida mummies can get a break.

wendy
does tat means even if her temp is not high we also got to give?cos the doc say both nurofen and Tylenol only give if temp go beyond 38c wor.

wendy
does tat means even if her temp is not high we also got to give?cos the doc say both nurofen and Tylenol only give if temp go beyond 38c wor.

QQ, nice to meet you this morning. bb TT is so cute!!! Big hugssssss for TT.

do watch out for Channel 8 if you see me and my baby. hahahaha. It was fun for me.. I was so excited and woke up so early....

Been interviewed twice this morning... but dont know when it would be on TV???

evening
same room.. sometimes baby cries!!!! then apply brakes, attend to baby. After that see if still want to continue. haha.
In the master bedroom, there's a queen & single bed side by side. If baby is on queen bed (most times), then we use the single bed. only 10min, cramped a bit nvrmind heehee.
hint: dun wear disposable. Dun wear in the first place. he sure like it. muahahahhaa.

mylife
hum, i dunno abt Nurofen & Tylenol, but for normal fever medicine, the clinic asst advise me to give continuously 2 days at least, coz the fever up and down.. the moment miss 1 feed (dowan to wake sleeping baby, no fever at that time etc), then very fast the fever returns. My #1 kena our 'experiments' so many times liao, we learnt our lesson. If we hv to give, will hv to take note of the timing (usually 6 hourly) and continuously for 2 days. But for those normal vaccination jabs, no need to give for 2 days. The clinic asst said that if we want to, we can just give once after the jab can liao, to prevent onset of fever. So we didn't give. I mean, if i dun hv a headache, why take panadol...
For both my kids, they took the 5-in-1 jab. for my elder son, he didn't hv fever at all, until the 15m MMR. The fever came on the 10th day after jab, the doc predict v chun! It was his first time kena fever. and for several days sommore. quite jialat, i remembered.

May I know when is the gathering? 11th, 12th or 13th? Im confused liao... tatz the price to pay for not logging in faithfully. LOLZ...

Wendyg,
Thanks for your tips..Was wondering how to do it with 2 kids in the room..I must "kowtow" to you and ahchapp for being such hot mama!! Can keep the fire burning for so long..

Ahcapp,
I remembered you went to France recently, is Clarins cheaper over there?

Kiddy palace Play Yard

Hi all, Im looking for someone to share the kiddy palace play yard. I bought 1 set from kiddy palace recently but found out that its abit small as there are only 4 panels (too squarish). Just wondering if any mummy here wants to build a 6 panel play yard for your bb. we can split the 1 set. Interested parties, pls PM me.

sassy 12th is at novena ... 11th is at mylife hse

mylife pls hugz baby Rylee for me hope she get well soon baby Ian too ......

oh christie u are there too hehe

blessedbaby .......hugz ur baby for me too hehe.......n nice meeting u

wa...so many bb sick...
My little boy also fever and v bad running nose and cough...super jiat liat..hope he doesn't have to be hospitalised..

Violetice, can tell me under what circumstances have to hospitalised?

Recently so busy at work and somehow feel so stretched giving sick bb attention..arghhh..

Mylife,

Javin also had the same viral fever 1 month ago. His highest temp is 39.8! it will only start to subside after 3 days. Keep ginve Rylee water to drink and try to sponge her frequently.

babe,

You see whether baby got wheezing sound in chest, like little vibrations, normally if so, is quite serious and likely to admit.

Mylife,
Wendyg is right, must give her fever medication every 6 hrly (or in accordance to the PD's advice) even if fever has subsided. Also remember to keep her cool and don't pile on the blankets, it will only make her fever higher.

I posted about Roseola (fake measles) a few days back, will also have on/off high fever for 3-5 days and once fever subside, rashes will appear over the whole body - a sign that recovery is on it's way.

Not trying to scare you but just fyi. It's about time our little ones start falling sick since their antibodies have been used up by now so they have to start building up their own antibodies and immune system. But it's really tough on mummies to see their babies sick. All mummies JIA YOU!!!

Mylife,

When baby Hao Re had fever about 3 months ago, doc gave 2 kinds of fever med, nerofen and don't remember the other one. The Nerofen is for high fever, ie >39C (can't remember exactly though), the other one is for milder fever. Give med according to doc instruction, once fever subsided, you may want to give 1 more dose to make sure fever is totally gone, than stop. And GIVE BABY A LOT OF WATER/FLUID.

Don't have to worry so much. You keep monitoring her, if she is still as active, and fever going down (up and down is okay, as long as it's not going up and up) and try to be relax. Baby can feel your tension, remember? Take it as one of the part and puzzle of thier growing up. There are so much we can do and we can't prevent them from everything. Like viral in the air, or so-called the air-borne virus, that we can't prevent baby from getting this. Think of it positively, once they recovered from this, they have better/stronger immune system build up!

Swimming and HFMD

As far as I understand, it's okay to let baby to go swimming, as long as baby won't accidentally take in the water from the pool. Virus will not transmit through skin. Only if baby drank some pool water with potential pathogen, then she/he may get infected. Using a float is recommended, but you still have to be extra careful to watch baby closely so to make sure no pool water goes in her/his body.

Violetice: i received an email fr a mummy she told mi her bb was sick and swimming build up her respiratory system and immune system and urgently wanna buy e neckfloat fr mi, lucky my frz help mi get it.. she wrote quite a long email to mi and i almost cry aft reading it. Mummy muz stay strong, speedy recovery for bb Ian.

mylife: can i hav ur add and contact no?
cfm gg ur place on 11sept but i cant make it on 12sept..

sassy: anybody sharing e playard wif u? if not i dont mind sharing wif u..

mylife: i gave bb Rayden birdnest water and barley water wen he had fever 2 mths ago.. and of cse his med too.. he recovered on e 2nd day, dont kw is it e birdnest, barley or his med dat cure his fever..

lynn
the PD ask me not to give my #1 any birds nest. He has persistent cough for months. Some weeks ok, this week the cough returned... middle of night cough

Hi mummies:

Came across 1 article in the "Young Parent" magazine August issue. The artical was about an interview with Annabel Karmel, a famous child nutritionist who has published 16 books on baby, which also earned herself a MBE from the Queen of England.

Visit her website at http://www.annabelkarmel.com/ Lots of recipes!!!

She is the supporter of introducing solid to baby at early age (as early as 5 months, as described in the interview article), and home-made food. Mummies who are very much into solid food, like myself, you will like this website. Enjoy!

wendyg: oh is it?! cough cant tak birdnest ar? my bb had fever and a bit of cough dat time.
i dont kw becos my bb fever so i v worried and boil dis and dat for him.. mi kiasu mum.. hehehee!

Lynn,
My PD also told me NEVER give baby birds' nest. She said birds' nest can cause an allergic reaction and it really doesn't have any added benefit for babies....keep for yourself lah. I really wanna play safe becos I myself is allergic to birds' nest...ku ming ah, cannot enjoy good life and good food...kekeke.

Re baby sick
my son had high fever few weeks ago, fever shot up to 39.8, but PD didnt give me Nurofen, just normal paracetamol, 6hrly. i was so worried, afraid that the high fever would cause "brain damage", and my boy suddenly babbles "neh neh" whenever his fever is high.

The fever shot high n low for about 3 days, (wed -fri) and it subsided with rashes on his face (on sat), which was already prewarned by the PD that its "fake measles". But before the rashes come, on fri, my mum rub a hard boiled egg all over my boy's body to see if its mao dan. Indeed saw some brownish hairy stuff on the egg, and applied some mao dan powder on his body, manage to bring the temperature down.

My mum cooked chestnut and some other stuff, which can only be drank after the rashes come, else after that it will be too "cooling" for the child, my boy got well on mon, the rashes gone off on tue.

nt sure if anybody of u know "mao dan". similar incident happens to my elder boy when hes around 7 months too.

mummies who child dun like solid

may i check how are they coping with solid

mine still dun like....he only like milk and biscuits....

so many baby sick ..... hugz all babies ....

i think maybe because of the weather? I think give barley water is fine ... I cook once a week for TT ... but this week i never cook ....

wish Ian and Rylee speedy recovery!

eRnMum,
You can keep trying to offer after a few days each time. Babies always have a mind of their own. haha, i do try to offer a variety to my girl when she refuse solid and sometimes, trick her with her favourite food. Maybe you can try giving the biscults together with cereals?

luvv, i also offer a variety...but he will shut his mouth or simply open mouth for a few mouthful.....that's it

give biscuits, he open mouth super big ah

eRnMum,
try giving biscult one mouth, cereals one mouth..hehe i always do that. Will separate her fav purees from cereals and feed concurrently. This way, she'll take more cereals/porridge.

so your girl is eating solid better liao?

he never like any of the puree.....tried carrot, sweet potato etc...green peas from healthy times....banana porridge...all no no

eRnMum,
Try to be more relaxed during mealtimes. If you are feeling stressed and thinking to yourself whether is he going to eat his food, probably your boy will feel it and get cranky. I noticed this the first few times when I was feeding my boy so now I adopt the "if you don't want to eat than I let daddy eat lor" attitude...haha. Nowadays he usually finish everything I give him and cry for more.

Or maybe change his "eating position". My boy didn't like to sit in the high chair at home so I let him sit on his bumper mat during mealtimes and he's so much more relaxed and happier.

eRnMum:

There is also an article in the August issue of Young Parents magazine about fussy eater. Maybe can shed some light to you?

thanks mommies for all the advices and jiayou.

Rylee still got fever. Yday midnite 1am still shot up to past 39c altho it went down to 36.7 before she slept at 8pm. PD said give until 48hrs from the time we went hospital. Today is 4th day since she started hvg fever on Friday. Now got diarrhoea some more. Mucuosy and dark green stools. But today turn light brown liao. What is this fake measels thing? Mommies whose babies got it...did ur baby have diarrhoea too?

Re: Fake Measels

Javin got fake measels before. He got this just after his fever recovered. His body started to have tiny red dots. Its doesn't seems to be itchy as i din not see him scratching. Brought him to PD no medication given. PD says it will subside after 3-5days.

wendy
If my gal is hvg diarrhoea bug I think I oredi got it from her, so did my hubby. Both of us sat and sun got diarrhoea but me only once. Well since I'm still bf, hopefully I can build up the antibodies and pass it to her? Sigh. Like that I need to postpone my flight liao

Any gd plumber to intro? Rem i read b4 one of the mummies recommend her plumber rite? Anyone got the contact? Kitchen & toilet leaking babdly...need it urgently. TIA!

mylife
oh poor thing. how to care for sick baby when u're unwell yourself. This week u come back for what ah? Visit your mom?

mylife, do take good care of yourself. understand how you feel...my elder boy also gotta viral fever abt one month back.

festivalwalk shopping centre is at kowloon tong mtr

nez,

Godsent is the one who recommended her plumber to me. My leaking taps were solved

The plumber name is Nelson & his no. 91470348 & quote "Honey" aka Godsent.