(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

violetice,
Poor Ian, hope he get well soon. Seriously, u nid talk to your MIL on the "dog issue". If not, try & meet them outside the house for meals?

mylife,
Maybe i can't join the gathering on Fri leh, still trying to confirm my work schedule cos not sure can take PM Leave now ;( Will let u by mon.

Re: Wake up at nite
My boy also wake up last nite at 2am & eyes big big & dun wan to sleep until 3am. Me Panda Eyes now!!! Even more sleepy at such nice weather too...Zzzz

<font color="ff6000">Birthday Bash - 20-Dec Sat Lunchtime</font>
VENUE: Venue suggestions are gladly welcomed. party places discouraged cos' those places are more for older children.
PHOTOGRAPHER: mei's friend, unless a mummy's HB can volunteer to be the event photographer with his pro camera. Anyone?
BIRTHDAY PRESENTS: I've found 3 gifts for each baby. If you've lobang, pls pass to me and I will consolidate.

<table border=1><tr><td>#S/N</TD><TD>Mummy Nick</TD><TD>Adults</TD><TD>Child</TD><TD>Baby </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>mei</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>mandygoh</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>blessed_serene</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>steph77</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>shorty_gal</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>QQ</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>babyshannon</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>elmo_78</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>blessedbaby</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>icy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>babyship</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>kitsune_sg</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>yen2007</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>janbb</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>zhu_baby</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>luvv</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>chaye</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>jerrybeanie</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>superbee</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>mommy2be</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>lyn78</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>split</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>mcfluffy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>angelsky</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>tracy_lazy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>shooting_star</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>mom2nat</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>sassymum</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>bbdear</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>verene</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>rabbit41</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</td></tr></table>

violetIce,
Hope baby Ian get well soon. Maybe is the nanny's hse? Cos day time, Ian is c/o by the nanny right? Does Ian sleep in air-con room?

mylife,
recently i also co-sleep with Zander on our bed. This usually make him sleep better than alone in the playpen. Friends told me try not to fully co-sleep &amp; make it a habit else next time difficult to wean them off our bed. Don't know if i am doing the correct thing. But co-sleep definitely an advantage to me cos i don't need to wake up from bed, bend over &amp; check on him. I just turn my head to check on him since he is just beside me

mei,
Dec still rainy? How about hotel function room for high-tea? indoor &amp; air-con

i am thinking of booking costa sands resort for Zander's 1st birthday celebration...dunno whether booking is full anot...Mm...member get special rate for booking but i am not a member

steph,
currently i managed a quotation in a hotel function rm in orchard area. it's high-tea lunch menu. indoor. air-con.

better book early for chalet. else sure snap up one.

Steph, Mei

Is it more prudent to use condo's function room if any kind mummy here willing to book? We can cater a good buffet, arrange an entertainer (if enuff budget) &amp; even decorate the room as we wish? If estimate the buffet abt $15 &amp; we can have spare cash to buy other stuff (i.e balloons, cake, door gift..etc) Can budget $35 per pax for these stuff? Better?
Rather than paying $40-50 buck per pax to hotel &amp; babies won't enjoy it anyway?

mylife: 12sept 3pm at united sq cfm? itz my 1st time bring my bb out alone.. so far i only bring him out alone ard my hse area market, shop &amp; save... hehehee!

As for 11sept, wat time is it?

Janbb: If u guys wanna come to end of east Pasir Ris then i can help to book e function rm here...

or any mummy stays central can help?

Mei,
Can i confirm attendance...much later? Paiseh, but my company's xmas dinner (family invited as well) may be on 19 Dec so if it's going to be a late night for me on Fri, it will be bit tough to be out again on Sat morning...tiring lah. IF we are going for the birthday bash, my hubby can volunter to take photos with his pro camera...haha.

JanBB, mei,
i anything as long as it's indoor &amp; air-con. Ya with condo function room, can use swimming pool facilities for the babies too
cannot imagine 30 babies in a pool? very cute!

morning mummies

angeksky, i used pureen diapers before, and i find it OK leh, not that absorbant as mamy poko or pampers, but same as....huggies?

yesterday i went giant and bought pampers@56pcs@11.95 only, which i think was a pretty good bargain...not so ex, not so cheap...

mylife: about yawning, my boy doesnt do that very often, but he likes to rub his eys very very often which we thought that he is sleepy. same like u, pat him go to sleep, he open his eyes big big...sian...then keep putting hand in his mouth and then keep rubbing eyes area, now the eyes, nose, forehead all kena rashes....we just keep using face cloth n wipe lor

janbb,
haha. same mah. no matter where u book, the babies won't enjoy it cos' they are still too young to enjoy (unless the activities are meant for the babies, like kindermusik type).

door-gift for baby? not to worry. this is taken care already by me. FOC.

decoration? we can get 2nd-hand items from here to decorate but do we have time to decorate?

budget? if our budget is S$35, i can try to neg with the hotel to see if can reduce.

lynn,
i stay central but not in condo leh. wasted.

ylim,
ok. haha. ur hb can double-up? good. but if not gg then got to look for alternatives leh. most imptly, also wants daddies to enjoy and not tied down by taking photos.

Wendyg,

I am the poor PR who doesn't have the privilage that all of you are enjoying :-( I am not complaining, and I am not going to convert either. I knew about the infant care subsidy but never heard of the childcare leh. Mind to share where you get the info? thanks!

Babeship,

I "cave-in" to co-sleep. Every 2 hours or so, he will wail loudly as he needs his pacifier etc..He will even use his hands and legs to "sweep" for my body. As long as he cannot feel the human skin, he will open his eyes and wail. Every night, I will wake up a few times and walk to his cot to pat him.. On nights when he is more "cranky", I will let him co-sleep. Otherwise, I will let him sleep in his cot till his morning feed.

Maybe will try your method of "consistency" during the Dec holidays.

Mylife,
Healthy Times is available at most NTUC. There's a list on Healthy Times website. You can check it out. Baby Yoghurt by Yoplait should be available cos the NTUC Tampines Mall is the bigger branch, so should be more well stock.

kitsune i read on the top part of her blog.

mylife, I shall see you on 12 sept hehehe I am applying leave and will bring TT along.

Violetice Hugz ..... hope Ian get well soon ....

Re: Birthday

I have ask my cousin to book chalet for TT's birthday.... btw Steph costa sand is by NTUC i think so if you have the card then should have discount. As for the cake I think she wont do mock bah .... you can email her and ask about it ......my neighbour say is ok leh the cake

Kam
i rcv'd a letter from my #1's childcare ctr. but i think it's somewhere in the mcys website. quite busy today, no time to research.

blackbatz
i been co-sleeping with #2 since he started flipping at 3.5m. Last time with #1, i made multiple trips in the middle of the night from my room to his room.. he can't self soothe &amp; maybe didn't drink enuf... keeps crying. So now with #2, i'm firstly used to night wakings, secondly lazy to get up.

Who is eligible for six days of (unconditional, i.e., no need to provide mc slip) paid Childcare Leave?

From 17 Aug 2008, working parents are entitled to six days of paid Childcare Leave per parent per year if they fulfilled the following conditions:

a)Your child is below seven years of age; and
b)Your child (including adopted and stepchild) is a Singaporean; and
c)The child’s parents are lawfully married; and
d)You have worked for the employer for at least three months.

For self-employed mothers, in addition to criteria (a) to (c), you must have been engaged in a particular business or profession for a continuous period of at least three months, and have lost income as a result of not engaging in the business or profession during the childcare leave period.

All other employees who are covered under the Employment Act will be entitled to two days of paid childcare leave.

Kam
i'm eligible. hee hee
my company dun recognise child-MC, ie no such thing as conditional childcare leave. So these additional 6 days are very good. plus the additional childcare subsidy for my elder boy who's attending fullday pre-nursery

Wendyg,

Good for you. For my company, as a PR, I have 2 days of unconditional paid child care leave, and 3 days of conditional (ie to provide child mc), so total 5 days, also not too bad.

Next year will get $0 for child care subsidy. But not too big an effect lah, cos this year we only get $75 per month. $75 is not even enough to buy 2 tins of FM :-(

Wendyg,
ha..No 1 always very "ku lat".

Your company does not recognise child MC ah..Also good, take 6 days anythime you want.

Moe old policy is 3 days CCL, 2 days unconditional. Still waiting for annoucement for the 6 days...

ya. i also thinkin of booking mac. haha. cheap! haha...

Janbb,
tks. let me send an enquiry to jewel box. hope got enuff parking lots. hee.
hmm think S$35 not enuff to cover cake. unless we get FOC cake! hee. anyone CAN BAKE!? but if we can get a big cake and share costs, not very exp per pax right? hmmmm

Seems like quite a number babies from the Dec 07 thread had roseola (fake measles) recently. Usually will have high hever for 3-4 days and once fever subside, whole body will be covered with rashes...

Found some info from website for all mummies info:

Roseola is one of the very common mild viral illnesses that can cause a temperature and rash in babies and young children (aged between six months and three years). Roseola develops around five to 15 days after contact. It usually doesn’t cause problems for the child, although sometimes it can make the child feel unwell. The high temperature and fine, raised, red skin rash can last from a few hours to three to five days.

Symptoms
The signs and symptoms of roseola include:

The child develops a high temperature of up to 40ºC (possibly higher), which usually lasts for a few hours, but may last three to five days.
As the temperature falls, a raised, red rash appears – first on the body and neck, and later on the face, arms and legs.
The rash lasts from a few hours to one or two days.
Roseola may also cause a fever without the rash.
Children with roseola recover fully, usually within a week.
The virus is a member of the herpes family
Roseola is caused by one of the viruses in the herpes group, but this virus can’t cause other herpes infections, such as cold sores. It is not known how the virus is spread. Roseola is most infectious while the child is unwell – from the start of the fever and including the time before the rash appears. Most children have been in contact with this virus by the time they are three years old.

Treatment options
Treatment for roseola includes:
Treat a fever over 38.5ºC with paracetamol, following dosage instructions for your child’s age and weight.
Offer the child lots of water and drinks.
It is best to keep any unwell child home from child care or creche for two good reasons: the sick child needs extra attention, and the other children at the childcare centre or creche shouldn’t be exposed to infection.
Possible complications
Roseola usually doesn’t cause any problems. Some of the complications may include:
The rash can sometimes be confused with measles or rubella.
Sometimes, roseola can lead to ear infections.
The major problem is the possibility of febrile convulsions, as the child’s temperature may rise very quickly. Febrile convulsions are convulsions (fits) triggered by fever. They rarely cause any ongoing problems.
Other complications of roseola are very uncommon.
See your doctor
If you are concerned about your child, always see your doctor for information, advice and treatment. You should always see your doctor if you are pregnant and your child, or someone else who you are in close contact with, has a rash illness. This is to make sure that you are not at risk of rubella infection or parvovirus B19 infection, as these can be difficult to distinguish from roseola without laboratory tests.

mei
can also try Hard Rock cafe. i got their Asia Card, think can get 35% dicsount. Is quite baby friendly too &amp; their staff are quite friendly.
http://www.hardrock.com.sg/

Thinking maybe i can hold my boy's birthday party there ; )

shannonbaby,
Nice one!! But baby cannot eat, mummy eat, heehee ;)

mei.
can make one cupcake per baby (think ard $2.50 per cupcake), placed them in tier form or together as a design with one big cake in the centre writing Jan 08 babies' first birthday??

janbb,
Hard Rock cafe sounds good...

babyshannon,
cannot write 'Jan 08' cos some babies not jan-08 babies. some are dec-07 babies. but cupcakes idea good. can dabao home. haha. or we just do the traditional one - just a BIG 1 digit!? idea idea. keep ideas coming.

janbb,
no good to be 2nd floor. we've strollers mah. and got kids. 1st floor better. anyway let's see what HRC's reply. I just had their reply and they will do up sth for us at their soonest. let's wait.

so now we've a hotel venue in orchard, we've HRC. keep venue suggs coming.

shannonbaby,kitsune,luvv,blackbatz
thanks for letting me know my shopping venues. I sure hope NTUC Tampines can have the Yoplait.

east side meet-up at mylife's house
erm. Shall we set it at around 4pm? <font color="ff0000">kitsune</font> Dont worry about it, if u can only reach around 7pm, im not sure other mommies can stay that long? If can, then will wait for u. If not, i catch up with u in HK?

12Sept Gathering at United Square
JanBB...awww....really hope u can make it lah.
Blessedbaby are u coming to this one or the east side one?
QQ...looking forward to hug and kiss TT

Who else coming?

Co-sleep
babe thanks for the advice. Yah, we've considered this for very long. Anyway, all along, we've been co-sleeping at her first night awakenings. Her cot has always been in our room and i read this is also considered co-sleeping. But during her first night awakening, we'll bring her to our bed and she fall back asleep easily, plus it provides great relief to my backache! But yesterday, for the first time, instead of nursing her and then putting her into her cot (which is like buying 4D) and heave a sigh of relief if successfully put her down with no cry, i nursed her on our bed and left her there. Usually, around 11-12am, she'll wake up and cry. Yday, voila, no cries. I did some research on the benefits of cosleeping and we're convinced lo. I also showed hubby the links and he's happy to share our bed too. As for finding it hard to leave our bed, well, we'll cross the bridge when we comes to it. Will wait until she's older and can talk/communicate with us. Can bribe her to leave gradually...hehe. I read that we can go shopping for her big girl bed and room decor, then slowly train her lah. Furthermore, to be honest,both hubby and i love sleeping with our baby. Can smell her and wake up to a smiling baby every morning instead of her crying. Oh well, i'm a BIG fan of attachment parenting.

Here's some links for those interested
http://www.breastfeeding.com/reading_room/co_slepping.html
http://betterforbabies.com/co-sleeping_faq.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Co-sleeping

the last one did mention tat wat we r doing previously was not good ie bringing her to bed only during night awakenings< then no good wor. So now we try to let her sleep on our bed right from the start.

haha the mummies here so funny.

i think ernmum fly to Hk today?

HRC is baby friendly?!?! wow i din know that. I last went over 10 yrs ago... *hiak*

wendy, i am still here...will ho the week after mext (17 Sep)....i still haven watch my thomas show this sunday...haha, i am as excited as my son.

Wa say janBB, what i list of cakes....i am sourcing for cakes for no 1 and 2 birthday in Nov and Dec. For no. 2 birthday, i have yet to decide...still thinking whether i should spend so much money for chalet leh...but do at home, must pack hse...

where else can i have birthday party without spending much huh.

The nice cakes in the blog...are they nice?

i cant make it for the mass birthday party...cos my work partner wedding in Dec...cant take leave and i have to work on sat

ernmum
oh oh, i mix up the dates &amp; months between u and kitsune.

bday party without packing house, without huge $$.... macs?? I dunno how they charge tho. i think macs suitable if hv lots kids. My kids bday celebration mostly adults/ "grand" generation, so cannot go macs. Same with gorgor, didi will hv 2 bday cakes.. 1 @ ILs place, 1 @ my granny's place. No need to pack house, just spend on cakes.

Hi mylife,

Can I come to both your house and the 12sep gathering in United Square? hehe
Looking forward to meeting all the babies.
Can PM me yr house address? Most likely will be taking bus/mrt since I am not confident driving my gal alone..:p

everyone start planning for yr baby's first bday ah? I still havent decide on anything yet.

wendyg, my no 1 think will celebrate in cc....then with family one leh, shall celebrate together with mine and my father....a few days difference

di di one...since the first one, will make it a big one

shannonbaby
of cos can lah. Me too want to see all babies if possible

ernmum
do u mean the floating boat Jumbo at Aberdeen? If u mean this one, then yes, have dine before. food quite ok, pricing, erm, not too expensive lah. (by HK standard)

ya lor...that jumbo at aberdeen.... a decent meal for 2 will cost roughly how much?

I plan to go after ocean park. Can walk there?

hey, if i'm using a 2300x1400 playmat, shud i get a 6panel play yard or shud i get 2sets of 4panel ah? The lady said, usually 6panel is for 1900x1100 playmat leh

depends if ur going for lunch or dinner. Cos they serve dimsum for lunch and seafood for dinner. If lunch, i guess around HK$100++ per pax. If for dinner, depends what kind of seafood u're eating. Average around HK$500++ for 2pax i think? As for walking, dont think so lah...quite deep in, shud take a cab 10-15mins ride to the pier, then take a ferry to the boat restaurant. Hope this helps.