(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i like dogs n there used to have a lot.. now i always bring my bb to vivo's pet safari to see doggy.

Kitsune,
u got any nice spa recommendations? would like to try it out on my birthday too, just to pamper myself.

rabbit41,
i nid mummy name/hp/email/bb name/dob/gender. tks pls pm me.

hammies03
oh it's a mass birthday celebration for our babies. also gathering for the mummies too. and since it's in dec, su-bian celebrate xmas lor. haha.

Anyone has Huggies swim diapers to spare? I'm bringing my boy to chalet in early Oct, so intend to bring him swimming but can't possibly buy the whole pack of swim diapers leh. Anyone can sell me 2 pcs??? I think he needs M size (10.7 kg now).

hammies,
so far, only asking for who can make it in 20-dec sat. lunchtime. am thinkin of holding in hotel function rm. no details yet.

kam
Juz read your blog. Wow your Hao Re is really well behaved boy!! Envy envy!

Re: Out for Meal
I tried to put my boy in the high chair & gave him toy to entertain himself so that we can have our meal. But he always throw the toy onto the floor & make me even more busy cos either going toilets many times to wash the toys or using the wipes to sterilise them. Until i give up, pass him whatever i can find on the table. Like tissue... and guess what.. he tear all of them into pieces & the whole floor so messy. I think biscuit can make him even more messy.

And i muz keep all the utensils away from him (one table away!!) If not, he will grap whatever he can..He even dipped his hand into my cream of chix soup when i drag the bowl to my direction. His hand is too fast than my eyes. Heng, is not those HOT soup.

Wonder is it i took too much CRABS during preggie days...haha... why his hands can be so "busy" outside???

Any suggestion how to deal with them when dinning out & can eat in peace?

Feedback appreciated

Any mummies tried / introduced pull up pants already? I tried the huggies M size pull up pant sample & my boy's urine leak from the side. Any other better brands that doesn't leak?

Any mummies tried any caterer for confinement meals during their confinement period ? I wonder if NewBaby or Natal Essentials is good ?

JanBB

Jayden sound so cute.. My Gisele likes to take everything she can reach too. Usually i will give her pacificer and biscuits (i break them into small pieces and feed her) or receipts for her to play. When she's having her titbits, she will usually eat n talk non stop or just bang her palm on the table. My hubby will play peek-a-boo with her once a while to entertain her lor.

JanBB,
u r not alone...i give teether or rattle to Zander to keep him busy. If all else fails, we take turn to eat loh. Otherwise, hubby carry him sit on his lap while he carry on eating. For me, i can't do that loh...later my back ache le cos sitting position not right, got to tilt one side to eat le...so xin ku

steph, use pull upz only if u toilet training coz they are not meant to hold alot..

Janbb, my boy also..throw things everywhere..haha..

Mylife, u're back??? How u coping so far?

Update stuff on my babies on my blog...babyship.blogspot.com...heehee...whoelse blog I don't have? Can give me link?

Kitsune, me been partial bf since back to work. So siong to pump. Now I am almost skipping pumping at work coz so tired. So dun be too hard on yourself. U did your best.

JanBB,

Thanks! Baby Hao Re is pretty well behave but not always lor.

During our meal time, I can't give Hao Re toys, as like Jayden, he plays for a while only, then throw everything onto the floor. Can't give him tissue and paper (eg receipt) as this is his favourite "food", he likes to eat paper somehow :) And he will reach for everything he can reach, just like all babies.

The only things can calm Hao Re down is to give him food! But I tried bringing puree, but he is not interested at all. SO tried teething biscuit, and he accepts and is a good choice as I am sure he can take it safely and take him a long time to finish the biscuit. Another thing that he likes is the straw. He can play with the straw for a long time. If he drops the straw, I just get new one from the stall. Sometimes got to entertain/play with him a bit also.

Next I am going to shop for those stick type of baby biscuit - my friend told me got 1 type is very hard biscuit, will last baby a long time to bite on the biscuit.

Bebeyan, steph
Huh cute ah. u mean rinsed his hand into my chix soup ah..heehee.. My hubby eyes open big big stared at me immediately when he dip into the bowl. I so pissed. Cos machiam is my fault like that. Somemore baby is sitting in bet us & both our reaction are slower than him. Then i very bad, scolded my hubby "u so clever, u take care of him yourself" and i carry on eating my meal.. heehee..ya lor, in the end, we take turn to eat. No choice. Thot can make gd use of high chair & eat in peace mah ;)

babe,
thks for feedback on the pull upz pants. me so blur la...my colleague say once baby b'come active (crawl/stand/walk), can start intro pull upz liao. I still prefer the tape diapers cos cheaper la

Mine is @ www.st77.multiply.com

Janbb

maybe u dun put e bbchair too near to e dining table lo. Yest my gal put her hand in my hubby's bowl n grab e veg. haha..

Kam
Becareful of e straw, in case he put in mouth or near his eyes.

Kam,
Hao Re can finish the whole teething biscuit? If the biscuit b'com smaller pieces cos he sure bite & suck on it till the biscuit turn soft & break into half, wont it be too small & dangerous for him to chew on? choking hazard? Which brand/type of biscuit did u buy...can share? thks

Kam, haha, very sure, cos we rushed home at 8pm cos I needed to bring RaeAnne home from ILs and feed her. Cannot bring myself to deny her just because of my birthday leh.

Luca, that time I went to Rustic Nirvana cos they had a promotion, quite reasonable, facial and jamu massage/wrap package for less than $100. Maybe you can call and check? Another spa to try if you really want to indulge is Spa Botanica at Sentosa (but super ex) or Amrita Spa (Swissotel Stamford), I like the spa at Changi Village Hotel too, got rooftop jaccuzi (but I didn't get to try cos must take couple's package and hubby don't like spa. :/).

WendyG, haha, then I must take full responsibility for her looks, don't like that leh... ;)

Mylife, the earliest I can go down after bringing baby is 645pm, but that's because I work at Simei. Think most mummies can't rush down so early, will definitely clash with Rylee's bedtime routine. How? Weekend definitely no way? :p

Bebe_yan:

Thanks for the advice. But I think baby Hao Re is smarter than I thought. He knows to close his eyes on time when straw comes near his eyes. Don't have to worry so much as long as you keep an eye on baby. My approach is "learn through play", if I don't let him explore, he will not learn.

Steph:

I only bought the Nestle one so far. Those round big one. Usually the biscuit never breaks into small pieces leh..... once got in touch with saliva, it becomes a bit softer, but still hold in 1 big piece. Only until he finished almost the whole biscuit, then I will start to monitor him closely so he won't put too big a piece into his mouth. But don't think it's so dangerous, i thought this is esp for baby and they should have thought about choking harzard? I just keep an eye to play safe lor. When the biscuit breaks into very small, like raisin size, he plays with his own hand, amazed that how come his hands got so many "raisins", and he tried to pick up the "raisin" - good for training his "pincer-grasp" skill :)

kitsune
saw your family photo slides in your blog, find that your hubby look a bit like "zhang guo rong" leh.. heehee

bebeyan
Ok, maybe next time will try to put him further from the table. Problem is some high chair is w/o traying table. A bit dangerous if dun lean against table edge.
Haha, so funny, your ger want to eat vege & my boy want drink soup...wow wow..

Kitsune,
thanks for the info, will do some homework 1st before i settle on the "best" one. hehe want to make my money worth cos its only once in a blue moon that i allow myself to indulge in such "luxury" treatment.

Kam,
Hao Re is a clever baby. I bought The Healthy Times Teething Biscuit for Zander. And it's very messy when it's quoted with his warm saliva! The rectangular size biscuit break into half once it turn soft (melt). I saw Zander almost swallow half of the biscuit!! Lucky hubby managed to pull it out in time when his tongue reflex to spit it out again. My heart nearly (DIE) stop for a second when i saw the quarter corner of the biscuit disappear from his mouth!

haha, JanBB, really meh? Don't find it so but at least hubby got double eyelids lar. Wish my gal took after his eyes. Hee. ;)

Kam, I agree babies are smarter than we think. Yesterday when we finished the photo shoot, hubby and I needed to go get lunch, it was already 3pm by then. Hubby joked with the photograher and his assistant. Why don't both of you take care of her while we go downstairs and eat? My girl immediately 'bian zui' and want to cry. So kelian like that when daddy want to abandon her. Had to quickly comfort her no lar, daddy bear to, mummy also don't bear to leave her there. :p

Kam,
"Learn thru Play" approach is good but do not under-estimate these babies capability sometimes. My frd's daughter (10mth old) put a manjong tile into her mouth! She choked on it & they took a hard time to rescue her baby girl. Lucky she survived from this ordeal. Last time when i was still a toddler (about 1.5yr old), i put red bean seed into my nose! My parents need to rush me to GP/hospital to suck out the seed cos i have difficulties breathing! Hopefully Zander dun follow my footsteps...being so mischievous & adventurous else i will have a hard time:p
Looks like our eyes gotta be radar on the little ones 24/7 ya. Never take chances!

Kitsune
Ya a bit look like him. To be more precise, is that family pix where the 3 of u in tummy time position & face the front. Heehee.. u post here la & let the rest judge ; )
Single eyelid can be a babe too!! Dun be surprise, her double eyelid will appear someday ;p

Steph,
haha, u are also another notti gal like me last time ah. I still rem i put my head out of the window grilles (those old days window rem?) & kana stuck outside. Almost need to saw it out to bring my head in!! kekeke ;p

Babyprom
Anyone SSO member? I wanna bring my #1 there. not #2, cos the music v loud and my #2 cries at loud noises or stangers. My #1 went when she was 2.5 yr old, oso duno how to enjoy. So now tat she is 4, tot of bringing her again.

<font color="0000ff">QQ,</font>

Voted for TT.

blessedbaby,

Your gal is chubby and cute!

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

I was discussing with hubby and he feels I should bring baby along for the 12th gathering. Said he'll pick us up... grrrr.... How?

re: hard biscuits for baby
i think heinz teething biscuit is reallll hard. good for babies when you want them to occupy themselves. but make sure that at least have a tooth to scrape the biscuit. if not like my gal, i geh kiang buy for her when she don't have a tooth yet and she got frustrated with it after licking it for ages and not result. heehee. now that she has a tooth, she can spend a lot of time on it.

verene,
you saw my hubby, never see me? anyway, u recognise my hubby ah?

Janbb, you mean this one? Resize it and compress, either too big, can't upload or too small to see.
1684352.jpg

Mcfluffy, I let my gal try too and she has no teeth yet, now wonder not much use, she just drool all over it. :p

mcfluffy,

Is it the ultra hard heinz teething biscuits (short and fat ones)? I got it for my son. But they were so hard that he got tired of biting onto them after a well. Aiyo, pretty hard, knock onto the table also won't break. LOL.

I got the Rusks ones in the end. Will melt slowly. But also a problem as they will create a big mess.

I stopped giving my son teething biscuits now. =(

Steph,

Just want u to know that I called Mdm Tan today but she told me that she is fully tied-up already. Anyway, I think I was able to find another helper thru my colleague's recommendation.

But thank u so much for your help anyway. =)

Btw, I called up 1 part time domestic helper agent today. Oh goosh, the 'agency fee' was $248!!! What an horror! =S

Ultra hard teething biscuit

Yes, I think it's from Heinz. Mummy who bought before, can you please share the full name of the product? Thanks!

on hold your career for your baby?

Can I ask if any mummies are on holding any major changes to your career because of your baby or children? Just wondering if I am the only one feeling this big weight on my shoulder right now.

When I was pregnant, I feel that I should be the one to stop any major changes to my career (like find new job or do something totally different). But now that even my son is already 7.5months, I don't really dare to go search for a new job or anything different as I feel I need to dedicate time for my son and my family.

I don't dare to work late every day as I want to rush home to spend the remaining 2hours each day with my son. I wish I have more time each day for my son. Sometimes, I don't know why I have to make the sacrifice though. LOL But then again, everyone said baby will grow up fast so treasure each moment. I love my son a lot too.

I let my hubby build up his career path right now while I took a step back. I am starting to feel drained and tired of my current work. But I don't dare to go anywhere. I think I envy my hubby as he has moved up his career path while I feel like stagnent water. Old and stale in my current job.

Don't know leh.. is it just pure tiredness being a mother or is it because it's time to step out of the shadow and find a new job.

Any mummy quit your job or hold on your major career plans because of your baby or children? Any feelings to share to ease my burden I feel on my shoulder?

Steph,

Haha..... luckily nothing happened to you :)

I saw this one on tv few years back (think it's "House" if I remember correctly), which I think it's very cute - a little boy was rushed to the hospital because his mum saw he stuff a little toy police car into his nose. The doctor then "rescued" the car from his nose. But he is still not well. Later then rescued from his nose - a policemen, a fire bridgade, a fireman, and a bear (or something that is the boy's favourite figure). So the mum asked him why you want to put so many things into your nose. The boy said - I accidentally put the bear into my nose, so I send the fireman to rescue him. Fireman needs a fire bridgade. Waited but policeman didn't bring the bear back. So send a policeman and a police car to help :)

That's how pure and naive a kid's mind could be!

I still think learn through play (and fun) is the way to go for young kids. Of course, this would mean I have to put more effort to observe him.

Kitsune,

Your baby very sticky type? I read that this is the time when baby actually starts to understand what we say. So we should start to talk more to baby, like telling him this is a book, this is tv, a tree, a car, etc etc. Baby still can't talk now, but the motherboard+memory card+hard-disk started to function already.

My baby still hasn't develop stranger anxiety. He loves to follow anyone who is willing to play with him. Except at night before bedtime, he must look for mummy.

The other one, Farley's Rusks, also by Heinz, is round round one. Sorry, but can't find the same package as the one we can get in sg.

This round round rusks will dissolve slowly when in contact with saliva. U can mix it with milk to create a proper meal for your baby, according to the instructions on the box:

1684476.jpg

Kam, what a cute story, ya RaeAnne is a bit sticky. I think it's because she doesn't go out at all when at ILs house cos they don't bring her out so she has stranger anxiety. Tried to tell them but they said they where got time and energy to bring her out so what can I do? :p

Ah Capp, me me! I also don't dare to quit and find new job though I'm here for 7 years liao cos need to pump and need a job with regular hours and family friendly. But see how lar, with my boss leaving, maybe it will propel me to find another job or quit and take a break to be with baby for the time being.

Welcome back to hot and sunny singapore, mylife! =)

But been raining for the past few days... =( so gloomy..

U east side mummies so fun. I stay in the west and have to work. Can't join anything. =(

kitsune,

I worked in my company for close to 9 years! Goosh... but I did an internal transfer 3 yrs back, so not that bad.

But on hold till when leh? Now is for my son. what if my no. 2 comes along.. on hold again? I am not ambitious career woman. But I don't dare to do major changes for the sake of my son right now. I love my son dearly, but feel a bit in the shadow lor. =(

I can totally understand when u talk about the need to pump at work, a job with regular hours and family friendly. My current job is like that. Colleagues are nice and understanding. But I feel like stagnent water.. LOL.. =P

I don't even dare to quit as I think I enjoy work. Stay at home all day will drive me crazy. =P Also, I think we need the 2nd income for now as my hb is still new in his new job.