(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Violetice, may be worse, best to go early or very late but air tickets will be snapped up lor. For my trip, lucky i book b4 natas, went there only to pay. If not, instead of taking 11+am flight, got to take 4+pm instead. :p

kitsune, agree, we were contemplating if we should go, then I was flipping the papers, realised that natas was starting. So I chop chop went to chan brother's and book. We staying at Langham, but I going in Sept, 5d4n , per pax about 1100. Actually there was a promotion package, but staying at Panorama, but I never research on that place before, I also dont know where, so end up I could not decide, ask the agent, he also cant really help, so went with Langham still. I going with my girl, so its just us three, I was telling my hubbie we very gungho, of my girl fuss during the trip, I were pass her to him and ask him to handle. :p

angelsky, yours is cheap, mine only 4d3n with disneyland admission already $895, somemore 3 star hotel. :p

Violetice, Hope all the kiasu early birds (like me) don't go tomorrow lor...

kitsune
u know what, this time i'll try booking via zuji. 2 yrs back we tried, but too near travelling time, no seats left, so had to go via agency. This time round, 4+ months of lead time, currently i chk'd still hv hope. Zuji 5D/4N @ Metropark Mongkok = S$650, flying UA depart 20/12. I'll chk with another couple friend then book soon, then i can stop thinking about it.

but online booking dun hv freebies like disneyland admission tix (how many free tix for your pkg?), and those Natas gifts like trolley bag etc. But husband and i are really not keen on jostling with crowd. We hate to wait!

hsbnd has physio for his slipped disc sometime back. He can't stand still for long, his back will hurt. Not supposed to lift heavy things, but he still does ley.

kitsune, I never go disneyland, no time
. I wanna go though. SIGH. I actually wanted to book via zuji, but they dont have air port transfer, so with my baby, so we decided to go via travel agency.

I know its a bit early to be thinking and planning, but I cant figure out how I going to manage with my girl in terms of hot water for milk during the day and night when we are moving around and food preparation. Mummies any clue or tips to share? Now think back, I should have gone when she was younger and only drinking milk, that would have been easier for us. Means need to bring jar food right?

metropark mongkok.. just downstairs across the road there's a clean cafe, like sgp coffeeshop/ foodcourt but not so big la. There's another not so new small restaurant on the way to the MTR. Cross the main road there's a "Da-Jia-Le" which is like a foodcourt chain, u know, like our "Kopitiam". We also stumbled upon a yum-cha restaurant one morning and had fantastic cheap cheap dimsum for bfast. It's really those heartland types, not those restaurants out to "carrot" tourists.

I looked around, and decided to stick with Metropark Mongkok for this year's trip also. Other hotels too far fr MTR or more ex $$$...

angelsky
*bingo*
2nd time moms hv been saying the best time to bring baby to travel is when they're infants, doing nothing but drink milk & sleep. Cannot talk, cannot flip, still small and lightweight..

Wah, you ladies can stay up till soooo late!!! Since I gave birth, I never went to bed after 12midnight, simply my eyes can no longer open after 10-11pm. You all very energetic leh! What kind of "po" your all taking huh :-0

Mylife,

My nephews are good examples. The #1 super super good boy, then my SIL said quickily get #2, then the #2 super super difficult (also a piggy, but earlier of the year). Now very siong for them. A lot of headache with #2, luckily the #1 still very guai. But then, still a myth lah!!!

Steph, congrats.

Anyone PD in CCK? Is he good?
I was thinking of bringing my baby Willy to seek for 2nd opinion. Cos my own PD told me his spleen is a bit big. He wants me to send him for blood test. I asked him is it serious but he seems like no. He say will become back to normal. Me and my hubby decided not to go for the blood test first.

violetice
u scaring me leh...me also got my 4legged baby at home. Since Rylee's birth, me also very paranoid cos my dog also quite prone to shedding fur. But as time passed, lots of people reassured me there's not much harm and there's no diseases transmittable from dogs to human. So now a bit relax...until u said "My PD said..."
Having said that, i can also understand your anger of what ur MIL said. My own mom also capable of saying something like dat, cos she also super sayang my doggie one. Very "gou chi" one.

And hey, as for Rylee's appearances, heh heh, havent u "learned your lessons" yesterday of how appearances can be deceiving? haha.

Kam
Your nephews only what. I have got lots of friends, either both guai guai or both noti one.

kitsune
ok, will do!

angelsky
actually, u cud book from Zuji cos airport transfer is very easy here via the Airport Express train. Personally, i'd prefer the train than the buses by the agencies. Sometimes, still got to wait for others to come. The train, buy tixs, then can go liao. It stops at 3 station, Tsing Yi, Kowloon and Hong Kong station. If u're staying at Kowloon hotels, jus stop at Kowloon, then take a airport express bus that serves alot of hotels (it's free if u have the airport express train tics). Quite simple.
As for hot water, u can bring a tiger flask and fill it up with hot water each time u leave hotel. Depends on hotel, you can ask them for kettle and boil water inside ur room. Solids, u can buy those jar food from supermarket here. If u dunno, i can buy for u, then, u arrange to meet me and i can pass it to u. If ur hotel dont have, and u dont mind coming up to my house, i can also provide hot water for u daily!
kitsune, this applies to your trip too! Cos Mongkok is very near to my place. 5mins taxi ride. If u all dont mind the hassle, just pop by my place everyday after setting out from your hotel. Hehe.

Thanks, WendyG, I'm going to print the stuff when I get there in case I forget. Haha. The zuji package sounds cheap leh, go for it!

Mylife, thanks so much, I'm also worried about hot water and already found out Metropark mongkok don't provide kellte so we are going to bring our own travel jug, hong kong power supply plug same as singapore's right? Intend to buy some pigeon porridge and bring there too.

Brought RaeAnne to pd today for her 3rd 6-in-1 jab, sadly I didn't get to witness cos hubby brought her in when I went to kfc to buy some whipped potato (was hungry cos no time for breakfast). Was so mad at him then. Anyway, she's 7.285kg and 65cm, don't know which percentile though cos hubby didn't ask her.

Kam
Lucky your bb is good. If you gana my #1, you faint. I used to carry her in a baby bjorn while hanging clothes. I put her in a car seat and bring her ard the house, even when I bathing.

My boy sleeps with my mom, she attend to him at night when he fusses, and knocks on my door to go over and bf him, then i pass him back to her. She is working. She says less siong than she face a bb all day and night. She enjoys the closeness of sleeping in the same room as him, as she dotes on him. But she can't imagine confined at home with bb all day. So ah, I stay at home, my mom works! Hee...

Mylife
Well, when I had #1, I oso say I wont let my maid look after my child. And as the time passes, I find it harder to pass over to anyone, cos we tend to be more im chim and sensitive to our kids' needs, cos we at home all days with them, we know best... But I realise tat if i dun have anyone to relief me, it is very very siong. So now, sometimes I bring my girl out, and leave my boy with my maid at home. Just go to tampines mall or run some errands. I know maids can't be fully trusted, but if I need another person to "maidsit" all the time, very siong lor. I think you should slowly train your maid to help you, cos "touchwood", if fall ill how?? If your maid can handle, at least you can be more relaxed and oso when you have #2, easier... hee...

Blackbatz
Is your email working? Cos I email you, but no reply. Did you manage to sell your pump?

kitsune
metropark mongkok has kettle la. nowadays kettle is quite basic amenity, like attached bath

mylife
i'd like to try the airport express thingy, but i've got reservations coz husband has bad back & he has to handle luggage plus a 3.5year old, while i'll hv my hands full with #2. It'll be much hassle to transfer from train to bus etc..

mylife thanks in advance.... u know where can I buy my melody stuff?
I was trying to figure out about the logistic part, I ask my mum for advice, she say still got months to think about it, say I gan cheong spider. kitsune, wendyg, one of my gf usually she will take taxi when she reach the kowloon station to the hotel if she takes the express train from airport, she usually stay at marco polo. She actually advice me to stay at marco polo, coz can shop till I drop, since harbour city is next to it. But I took mylife's advice and decided to stay at Langham instead, since I also promise my hubbie that I will shop sensibly. He still quite bitter about the fact that during our honeymoon in tokyo, 90% of the time we did nothing or rather he did nothing but follow me around and shop. kekeke. So this time, must sayang him abit, since he is paying for the trip.

Mayb my girl just started on solids, so I still very inexperience, so alot of anxiety, but hopefully by then I would be better and she will also be good, then we will have a happy trip. My hubbie super look forward to a trip that belongs to only 3 of us, without my mum tagging along.

I will likely bring my stroller, if really can managed then I use, else as backup also not bad.

baby bjorn, I have a question about the the carrier, any one of your experience carrying your little ones in the carrier and your baby's legs turn color? A few times, I carry her in the sling, her legs will turn bluish, its no circulation right? But the sling not very tight le, how come like that?

mom2nat
if i have a fairly capable maid, i would lo. But my maid VERY scaredy cat. She can forget to do important things and just stick out her tongue, shrug her shoulders and say "Sorli Mam". Call it my instincts, but i really dont trust her at all. She has explicitly told me she dont dare to handle baby, dont know how to carry baby, see baby wan to cry...so with this kind of revelations, u think i dare to let her try? It's at MY expense leh. I'm not about to let my gal be her trial and error to further enhance her CV. So yah, i prob wont be passing her and run out to Tsim Sha Tsui to have dimsum but when i go for shower, i'd put her in the cot and ask my maid to watch her and do what she does best ie make faces to entertain my gal for that 10mins. In any case, my gal STILL doesnt take milk from bottle, so i'm still latching her direct, next time wean, wean straight to cup lo. What to do. Tat's why i cannot, cannot fall ill. Got tendennitis (injured wrist tendon) also bo pian. Back spine misaligned also bo pian. I told hubby just take it this is my job challenge lo.

Eh mom2nat, that means u debunk Kam's myth liao lo, both ur #1 and #2 also quite "difficult" rite?

wendy
was about to tell u my hubby also got slipped disc. Why dont u try ask him go either osteopath or chiropractor. The physiotherapy useless one la...always use heat pad, heat pad, still did nothing for him. The osteopathy therapist i went to in HK have healed a person with slipped disc before. Anyway, i digressed. Airport express quite easy. U can push ur luggages all the way to the entrance of the train, leave the trolley and board the train. Parallel platform, no need to climb up and down. When u alight at Kowloon station, just take a cab if u dont want to climb to the free buses to the hotels. If want to save $$$, then take bus lah. Otherwise, a cab doesnt cost that much cos Mongkok very near only. Very convenient. Ur #1 hard to handle meh? U can put #2 in a carrier lo. So ur hands are free to help hubby carry some lighter smaller luggage? Shudnt be a problem lah.

angelsky
i had a good laugh reading ur hubby's bitterness on your honeymoon, hahahaha. Sorry.
Then if not shop, what he wants to do? Go sightseeing lo. Or bring him shop for his things, then u "shun pian" buy ur things too. Langham is jus above Mongkok MTR whereas Marco Polo is above Harbour City mall. Personally i'd prefer Langham cos if u drop ur hubby at hotel, can also take a cab quick quick go Harbour City. But if u stay at Marco Polo, everywhere u go also must take cab or walk a distant to get to the MTR. Dont be stress lah...wendy got 2 kids also no stress, u only got one. I'll be to help for sure if u need me. My place very near ur hotel.

angelsky
dunno leh, last time i use Bjorn, i dont see my gal's leg turn bluish! Forgot to add, ur gal sit in stroller or not? If she does with no problems, then yes, jus bring along, BUT BUT BUT be reminded HK MTR stations (esp the older ones like Mongkok, TST, Causeway Bay) full of staircases instead of escalator. End up u have to carry up and down. And if i rem correctly, ur stroller is MacLaren Techno XT rite? Si beh heavy 7kg! No joke carrying it up and down flights and flights of stairs hor! Get an Ergo. I just love mine. Ask hubby to carry Baby Gwyneth.

mylife, ya lor, I will bring and if really need to use, I will carry my girl and ask my bell boy (my hubbie) to carry the stuff. I was telling him bring her along very xin ku, then he say he will sling my girl, since walking too long can get quite heavy with her, then I say, if he sling her, I got to carry her barang also very heavy, carry her also heavy then how? Then he look at me with a resigned face and say, "I sling her in front and barang I carry on my back lo". Kekeke. About our honey moon part, very funny right, everytime he bring it up I will laugh at him and tell him he got cheated by me, but sorry no exchange nor refund :p

Anyway, sometimes I think too much la, jus relax and have fun, at most take things slowly and look see look see lo. I put sight seeing in the morning and afternoon, then evening come back shop till we drop before going back to rest for the night. My girl ok with sitting the stroller, anyway she loves to gai gai.

On my baby carrier part, think I need to experiment a bit more and use more often before we go.

violetlce, so how was NATAS today? Papers say alot of pple, did you manage to get any good package?

WendyG, Chan bros girl help me ask, she said no kettle leh. Website also never say got kettle. Mine is standard room though, is your room better class so got kettle so they give me wrong info? We got 7 people travelling leh, 3 rooms in total, I already told them must bring travel jugs for their coffee/tea, if end up got kettle, I sure kenna ham tum by them. :/

Angelsky, I also thinking of bringing a stroller there but actually with so many people going with me, maybe thay can help me carry bb, also no need to bring. I chicken lar, that's why got entourage. Hopefully, can even have late night shopping with hubby without bb. Haha.

angelsky
Xavier legs also turn colour if I let him in the carrier for too long. Some people say becos his legs been hanging there w/o circulation.. and I let him face out. But mine carrier was from lucky baby. Only use it when I think the place would be very crowded.

mcfluffy.. just wanna share w u .. i brought my ger to the NDP preview with my hubby and in laws yesterdae. At first i was quite apprehensive abt bringing cause scared will be too hot and super crowded and stuffs like that. But still i brought her cause nobody to look after her and i thot it will be fun.

I was a bit late cause did not want to subject baby to the heat. Reached at abt 6 pm i think.. was ushered to the last row.. which was in fact gd for us.. more breathing space at the back and also the sun did not reach us cause it was setting by that time. Felt quite good.. baby played ard.. slept quite a bit, me and my hbby took turns to carry.. we did not bring any pram.. i think better not bring pram.. not much space to leave it. Baby wasnt scared by the loud noises, at times we cover her ears. She was so fascinated by the fireworks and the bright colours of the screen.. took many pics also.. and we left the place only when most of the crowd has dispersed at abt 8 plus.. so din really squeeze w the crowds.. i think quite gd experience.. so just bring her there k. Celeste will luv it..

Kitsune,
No kettle? Maybe you can email the hotel direct to ask for confirmation.

Peronsally, I think stroller is a must. Babies may sleep and definitely more comfortable in the stroller. I will always bring it with me. Depending on the itineary of the day, I will then decide if I want to bring it out or leave in the hotel. In HK, most malls do provide stroller FOC.

Wendyg,
The airport express train is quite convenient. For me, I took the free transport/ coach provided in the package. Sianz..Got to wait at the lobby for the bus at 4 pm when my flight is 8 pm. Then Coach went around Kowloon picking up others. Suay suay got latecomers and some hotels do not have lobby, so the people got to walk a distance with their luggage. BTW, I reach airport, 6 o'clock liao. Clear custom, eat a bit Popeye, time to board the plane. No time to think whether to buy Longchamp or not.

If I had taken airport express, check in at aiport express Kowloon, take train reach airport 5 plus, still can go Citygate.

Angelsky,
Depends on what kind of things you are looking at. Habourcity has all the brand name shops under one roof. It's so huge until I can't find the LV maindoor (as per the magazine). My hubby even saw champage being served inside La Perla.

As for Langham Place, the shops are Esprit, A/X, H & M, CK, ..more normal. Then outside, they have those Ladies Mkt..Very crowded at any time of the day.

Like what Mylife suggested, I did the same thing. Always back at hotel around 7 plus. Then they shower and rest. After that, I take taxi to Miramar to continue to shop till 11.

Hi Hana

how about we book the class on 31st of august,sunday 1130 to 1230?

Baby Jumper Gym
(6-7 Babies in the class, 1 hr per session)

23 August Sat 230pm

1)Jacelyn
2)Chaye
3)Goodbaby (10th of august or 17th of august or 24th or 30th??)
4)Serene Ng
5)Hana - (23/8/08 Sat PM)
6)Ahcapp (prefer weekend)
7)blessedbaby (23/8/08 Sat PM)

Do you book for us or we book separately? -))
Where is BJG? Thanks

I promise not to be so gei kiang. I thought I should let my girl explore, so she wanted to chew anything I just let her, I was holding a piece of name card just now and she kept reaching for it, then if I put it away she actually scream, so I let her play with it. The next thing I know, half the card gone and she was looking at me with a smug look. She actually ate down half the card. PENG!

angelsky,

Haha...... not bad, meaning she can swallow things very easily now.

My baby Hao Re had "eatan" a small corner of my bank statement and a small piece of tissue paper. I was very worried at that time, but he turned out all right. Now I only gave him those cannot-be-eaten type of thing to bite/chew only. Just in case lah!

mylife
Comparably, I find my #1 more difficult. *touchwood* Maybe I din have help tat time lor. and she more grumpy, screams a lot, got very bad stranger anxiety. Oso, with #2 I am more relaxed. But ah, compared to my sil's 2 sons, mine are more difficult liao.
I tried Pigeon wide neck botle, my boy better with tat, though he doesnt' drink much. YOu try everyday try bottle once. Let him get used to the feel see how.
Why dun you change maid? Is she very good with housework and cooking?

mummies, a bit upset today. My MIL put my bb on potty for poo poo. I told her a bit too early, somemore, MIL bought the small one, and when my bb sit down, her leg a bit long compared to that potty... she cried but my MIL said she needs to be trained???!!!!! She told me: she has no strength to hold my bb when she poo poo.

How?? mummies, pls advise me is it too early to train bb like that?? When is the right age for toilet training????? My bb is only 7 months old.

Very angry.. wanna to throw the potty away... but my MIL bought it liao...

How huh??

Steph
Wow??? u'r 2 weeks preggie! gosh! When I saw you dat day in BJG, you still look so slim and I commented to my mom:" Look at the sexy mummy, totally lost it all, so envy!!" CONGRATULATIONS!!! Very happy for you.. Just like some of the mummies here, my menses is not even here yet..

Lynn,
Enjoy your Rome trip, ok? Eat more gelare ice-creams, my fav when i go to Italy! Don't burn big whole in your pocket hor?!

blessedbaby, about toilet training, I think there are lots of theories, no offense though. I used to teach children with special needs, and parents always insist that they want us to help toilet train their children younger, however some kids are not ready we must not push them, else in the long run may have psychological problems, but thats with regards to children with special needs. But some of my friends to toilet train their babies when they are really young, because they feel should start young. So I guess, it really depends on how ready the child is?

blessedbaby, my mum told me she trained me and my sister to poo every morning b4 she leaves for work since we were 1 month......asking me why i never train my kids like that also?
I suppose different pple different theories? my colleagues' dad will dutifully set alarm clock to wake up 5am daily to toilet train his 6 month old granddaughter to poo.....

Hi mummies, relating to the toilet training thing, how many times a day does your baby poo?? Esp those that have started feeding cereal/porridge either once or twice a day??

I'm a bit worried for my boy. Previously, there were occasions where he poo only after 2 days interval..then very hard. NOw, he poo every day, and almost like after every meal!! My hubby and I think it could be what he is eating. Coz we give him cereal and also some veg every day. Like carrots or sweet potato or pumpkin or even banana. I donno why it's like tt...is it a matter of indigestion or digested too well coz of veg..giving more fibre?? Sigh...

Hammies, my gal used to poo once a day when she was TBF. Now, 2 meals of rice cereals, she poos once every 2 days but two times instead. I think it's ok as long as stools r soft bah.

hi kitsune,

for ur hk trip,is it 5 days 4 nite?which airline are u taking?$895 is inclusive of taxes and fuel surcharge and disneyland tics?now go shanghai also around this price,so ex to travel now

<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to organise Babycentre spree? Me wants to buy some carters clothes but spree has closed.

goodbb, no lar mine only 4D3N, so exp, it's by cathay pacific. Yes, it includes all the taxes, surcharge and disneyland tickets. CP has promotion ticket to Shanghai with stopover in HK on return leg, maybe you can call and check?

<font color="0000ff">Angelsky,</font>

The Natas fair is extremely crowded, we have to queue to even go into the entrance to buy the tickets. Car park full everywhere! Super exaggerating. We reached there at 3pm and left at 10.30pm! Baby Ian was out of the house by 12pm and he stayed there all the way with us. Poor thing. He was such a good boy. He had milk once there, then cereal in the evening, even pooed there. Haha.

hi kitsune,

what is CP?for the promotion,how much is it?how many days trip?now go aust also around same price as hokkaido

Blessedbaby,
When Zach hit 6 weeks, I put him on the potty every morning to poo. I will hold him upright and sit together with him to "en..en..". At that time, his bowels timetable weren't quite stable yet. Sometimes, it's just urine. Sometimes, you get a big puddle of poo. I did it cos I didn't want his buttocks to be smeared with poo, harder to clean.

Over time, he got used to the idea of sitting on potty for his big business. Every morning, we will put him on the potty for about 15 minutes to do his big business. Now, if he wants to do his business, he will make the "eh..eh" sound and we will get the potty. The first few times when he made those sound, it took me by surprise. My dad even took special note of his facial expression during pooing. When Zach is done with his business, he will try to stand upright. That's his cue for "I'm done, clean me!"

I think your MIL is training to establish a routine for your daughter to poo at a specific time. Not need to be angry with her, I think she meant well. Give your daughter a bit of time, she may get used to it too.

goodbb, now I dont even dare to think about going aussie, with the exchange rate, everything there must be expensive. In comparison, hokkaido sounds so much cheaper.

hi kitsune,

which travel agent to call?ur bb going,need to pay?if cruise,bb need to pay taxes etc,everything also $

hi angelsky,

think i most prob go shanghai,but heard things in shanghai also ex,shanghai exchange rate better than hk?

goodbb, I was booking with chan bros when I heard it but should be any travel agent also got bah. Anyway, even for my hk trip, my baby's ticket is already $388 including all the taxes although she doesn't even has a seat. :p

blackbatz, dawn, anglesky... Thanks for your advices. I think I just let it be and do hope that my girl is adapting to it...

Do you have any advice on which potty should we buy?? Suspect the one MIL is not good enough for young baby as it has no handle and looks so short for my bb..

Btw, my daughter know how to give kisses since yesterday afternoon... We was so touch that she could give us a kissy kissy kissy with a noise. hehehhee... "LOL"

blessedbaby,
My potty is not very tall, like those we used when we were young. For babies, usually very short (with cover).

Angelsky,
Ya lor. Perth was not so expensive when I visited two years ago. When I looked at the prices and taxes, I almost fainted..How to bring 2 kids there? Besides, they cannot remember veyr much. Most probably, bring whole entourage plus maid to cruise.