(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendy, I agree with u abt us knowing more than them. My MIL also...like dunno how to take care...I kept asking hb how come I know more than her and how the two brothers grew up. Even gave my gal heaty stuff when she sick.

Painful breast
Had to pump coz left son at my mom's coz this wk mad for me n my gal sick. This morning right breast 1 part v pain. Massage still like that..help..hope not infection. tried to latch him last night but he only drank abit so came hm pump. How come like that?

wat to do?? those can't see so dun hv to bother those can see one...keep one eye close loh

really bo bian...but at least I'm sure that my bb is in safe hands

oh right... so my mom not the only wierdo..
coz u know why, both me and my sis were brought up by my grandma. My dad & mom were weekend parents until i was 11yo & my mom quit her job to be full time housewife. So my sis and i are of the opinion (and we're right) that they dunno how to take care of kids.
And sommore we're girls... girls more obedient than boys... everyone says so! And i think so too, to a large part.

babe
use hot water bottle to rub and massage HARD to get the lump out. Put a towel over breast and massage vigorously. Going forward, u may hv to vary bfg positions.

Been super busy with house moving n work. Finally have time to come online..

My baby shayne has just started on avocado this week! According to the infant care teacher, she loves it very much. So far, she has tried brown rice cereals n avocado only.
Any mummies using the 4 day wait rules when introducing new food to babies?

Can i check with experienced mummies, do we mix fruits into cereal or separate them when feeding babies? Cos when i feed her at home, i mix it together with cereal, but in sch, the infant care teachers told me that its better to separate.

Actually, putting baby in infant care also have its own set of problems. My gal is spoilt by the teachers in infant care! At first i thought only grandparents will pampered grandchild. but apparently, the infant care teachers pampered her so much until she is so demanding at home too. Nw she is the little princess both in school n at home.

shannonbaby
i used to follow 3 day rule with #1. Now with #2, i think 2 days can liao. Coz i dun hv family history of allergies. Same with husband.

re: fruits in cereal
i think up to u? when go into the stomach, in the end also everything mix up right? hahaha

If let other ppl take care of our baby, have to learn keep one eye close la like what babybear said.

You all very good/lucky liao..got parent-IL or own parent to help/advice here n there. Me dun have le. Sometime want to take a break also cannot.

shannonbaby,
I follow 3 days rule, scare she allergy to certain food. I mix veg puree with cereal. As for fruit puree, i give separately. Noon time, infantcare'll give her cereal + veg puree that I made. Then evening time, I'll give her fruit puree.

Wendyg/Mom2nat,
I don't mind teaching and sharing with my in-laws how to take care of bb but they always one ear in one ear out and "gay kiang" do their own thingy...sigh.

re: fruits in cereal
I agree with wendyg, eat already also mixed up in stomach...haha. But I prefer to mix cereal with a fruit or vege...at least taste different everyday. Cereal alone like very plain and boring.

food with cereal.
Better separate when first introduce coz want them to know the different taste but once after 3 days ok can mix and give.

Yen, what kind of veg puree u give?

Wendy I tried..and actually dun really have much of a lump just whole area feel sore on one side..arghh...

Thanks mummies for yr reply.
Guess I will follow the 4 days wait rule since my husband has alot of allegries. my MIL is allegry to raw carrot.

ya, i also feel plain cereal is very boring..hehe.

any mummies tries cooking yr own cereal? as in wash, sun then grind the brown rice, then cook it into cereal. saw it in the super baby food book, seems very nutritious..
thinking of trying out this weekend.

Babe, that time my breast also pain at 1 side without any lump. Ended I have mastitis. Please see don't if the pain is still there. It can develop high fever and can't breast feed if need to take stronger antibotics.

It seems no body replies me on my questions re what kind of cereal is well recommneded? Can somebody update me on that as am really cracking my head on what cereal to give elias etc... I only remembered that my ped says dun give different type of food within one shot as may cause allergies lor..

Also re babies who are 5 month plus and yet cant seat up? HOw many of you babies are still not capable of seating up steadily themselves? Must we train them in seating up themselves or they should be very ready and able to seat up themselves when time comes as every child is diffrent? Pretty worried cause it seems that many of your babies are already able to seat up themselves steadily wheras my Elias is able to flip, jump up and down and crawling backwards at times- which I read up its pretty normal? But wondering if he still cant seat up we definatley cant force him to seat on a high chair yet which mean I can only feed him by supporting and holding him up in a seated position huh?

Hope to hear from you mummies soon

Fern,

U can try Heinz first rice cereal for a start if yr baby is less than 6 mths old. Healthy Times brown rice cereal is also good.
After that, then try out barley, oatsmeal cereal before giving mixed cereal. thats what i will be doing for my gal. currently she is on Healthy Times organic brown rice cereal.

Fern,
There are many brands of cereal so depends on what you want to give cos some are more sweet than the others. Personally, I started my boy on Healthy Times brown rice cereal and oatmeal cereal becos it's not sweet. I started with oatmeal for 2-3 days, no adverse reaction then I started with brown rice....everything ok then I started to add 1 type of fruit or veg into the cereal. My PD say as long as no history of allergies in family then should be ok to let bb try different fruit/veg. If you want to play safe, introduce 1 new food at a time for 3-4 consecutive days before introducing the next if there's no adverse reaction from bb.

As for sitting, have to let bb practice more. Becos they can't sit up on their own so you have to let him practice on the bed or on bumper mat with adult supervision of course. They will become more steady over time. You can also start Elias on solids by letting him sit in the carseat or stroller...at least there's head support and he'll be sitting at 70-80 degrees. Then slowly progress to high chair.

hi mommies!!

long time didnt hv the chance to log in liao. How's everyone doing?

Re: Puree
I also got questions. The veg/fruit purees, we steam and then put in blender to puree rite? How ah? Must we add water?

Re : Solids
I got a stupid question to ask...any BF mommy can help? I am already feeding one solid a day for my gal...tat's during afternoon. I read BF shud still be as per normal. So far, she got take the solids, but STILL got a bit of tongue thrust reflex. When should i intro all those veg/fruit puree to her? And when exactly does a solid meal replace a nursing session? I read that BM shud still be the main source of nutrition for them rite? Dunno when i shud add one more solid meal. Can anyone help? wendy? Babe? Mom2nat? Right now my routine is more or less like this:

8ish - Nurse
11ish - nap
12pm - nurse
1pm - solid (rice cereal)
2pm - nurse
4pm - nap
5pm - nurse
7pm - nurse to sleep
one more nursing session btw 7pm to 7am (depends on when she wakes)

Re: Parents vs Infantcare
I agree totally both sides got pros and cons.

Yvonne
your FIL is exactly like mine, if i'm in Spore and baby is in PIL's care, he will definitely do the same thing. Last time before i moved to HK, we brought baby (then less than 2mths old) to their house for visit, he actually asked me to put baby down on the floor and let her lie there. At first i tot he's joking, then i realised he's for real, he said last time he also let my hubby jus lie on the floor like that! I was like...huh? Maybe he forgot tat time my hubby might be 5-6mths and neck muscle very strong liao bah.

babe
I think our parents generation are like that. They always like to quote "Aiyah...last time we also do this to you/hubby...see u are fine and well standing in front of me wat...." Duh. I always tell them, yah, trial and error lo, lucky, nothing happened la, those not lucky ones, baby's health compromised u all also dunno wat...

Fern
Always start off with rice cereal as baby's first food. Brown rice or not, doesnt matter. Organic or not, up to individual preference, i guess.

For those who replied me. thanks

I thought of using Gerber as I read that its not bad. Heard that Nestle like a bit sweeter then others but its like the more popular brand right? Is that a particular brand that I should look out for? I thought that Gerber and Heiz are more popular brand amongst mothers right? So means whatever brand I just look out for Baby first ceral? Actually, Why is organic prefferd huh? Just a thought? I dun mind paying more but just like to know its benefits too?

Yvonne,

Re Healthy time organice rice cereal, Which kind should I look out for? And can get it at all majour supermarket like COld storage and NTUC? How much per tin? IS it much more ex then Gerber, Heinz and Nestle? Does it mean just mix the cereal with few teaspoon of milk powder? And for cereal how often to give within a day? Just once at breakfast and once at dinner? and in betwwen meals.. still give forumula huh? For my boy, he is taking 4.5 oz of milk day time and also at night? every 3 hourly... SO if he starts taking cereal, means, ceral take twice, and 3 hourly of formula milk still to be given and for night feed stops completly or give him as and when he cries when hungry or what huh? How about juices, maybe give him diffrent fruit per week? Is that ok? Or can squeese him some fresh orange in between meals? Puree, how to do it? Need get a specific kind of baby blender or what huh?

Paiseh...I am really ignornat on such things being a first time mummy lah. hope to get more details from you

Fern,

i gave my bb one teaspoon of heinz rice cereal + milk powder in the mid day or earlier followed
by milk feed and the rests feed are milk. They still required a min of 600ml of milk per day even though u started with rice cereal.

As their system can't really digest that well, try not to give rice cereal too late during day time.

I use braun handheld blender to puree and planning to give her pumpkin.

Mummies...one stupid qns frm me...

Whn u say mix the veg/fruit puree with cereal, is hw to mix ah?? Cereal mix with milk/water liao then add in the puree rite??

pixelpixel/mom2nat...thnx for yr pd info! Had brought my son to the one in punggol which wendyg recommended...no ppl as it's still new! done in 15mins! hee

babybearbear...ya, m seperating it at the moment, cos my hb got allergies, so need to be careful whn introducing new food to my son. Cos saw that some mummies r mixing cereal with puree, so abit curious on the mixing

yvonne
ask your FIL what he would do if your bb chokes on the thick cereal. Dig his finger in to unclog the throat?

mylife
i started him once a day for... 2 days? then i got impatient. now he takes 3 times a day, eg bfast lunch dinner. haha.
For my baby, his pattern is that he drinks his milk in 2 feeds. He doesn't take all at 1 go. So 30-45min after his first feed, instd of giving him more milk, he gets cereal, then water.
Actually i think he was ready for solids from quite early. Maybe i shld've given to him @ 4m. Diffrnt babies exhibit diffrnt readiness. My #1, even at 6m still had tongue reflex.

Wendyg,
Bingo! That's exactly what I intend to do tonight. I told my hubby I can tolerate their trial & error but what if he chokes and they don't know what to do? My son's life is at risk leh. If they start digging at his throat or turning him upside down, they are the ones who will have to suffer the guilt of causing the damage to their grandson.

babybearbear
yes actually i AM quite funny. U should meet my friends. We're all a bunch of funny folks. O'wise how we survive... become crazy mothers.

babe
dun play play ah. faster go see doc. me also same thing but mastitis a month ago. plus cold chills n terrible headache. press very hard towards nipple under hot hot shower to see if can unblock the lump, esp place where it's the aching feeling

RE: Starting solid food

I highly recommend the book of "First Food". I am a first time mum, but after reading the book, I am very confident in what to do, how to do and when to do...... answers all my doubts. Definitely worth the buy!

agree...hv to work, take care of family, some more hv to worry for our bb...sometimes, i think we're really superwoman.

oso can't tahan my mil...tell her she dun believe...others tell her the same things then she kam buan

RE: Puree mixes with cereal

No, supposed not to mix with cereal. As the idea of giving baby vege/fruit cereal is to let them taste the natural taste of the vege/fruit. So later when they grow up, they will be more receptive and willing to eat dif type of food, esp vege. If mix with cereal, the taste of cereal will dominantly cover off the vege/fruit taste.

You can try to mix dif vege/fruit puree later when they have tried out many types of purees.

Fern_Lim,

My approach is never under-estimated a baby, and always provide the baby with plenty of rooms and opportunities for their development, and always look ahead of what they can acheive.

You don't have to wait until your baby can sit unsupportedly, then only you let your baby sit. You can let your baby try something new before she can master that particular skill. You will be surprise how fast they learn things.

Of course, the safety of the baby is the main concern. And don't force baby to do things.

My baby (6 months+) wants to learn how to stand up already. He hold on to the side of his cot and try to pull himself off. He managed to pull himself into kneeling position!!!

Wendyg,

Don't know yet. Last week unsucessful...... arrived at woodlands around 9am, was very long queue and cars like not moving..... then we exited the queue and turned into BKE, and saw that the queue was like 2km long leh..... Don't know why, previous weeks was okay leh. My hubby said if this weekend we want to go, must go earlier.....

Actually you can check the traffic at causeway at lta website. If see long queue, then better don't go. The info very accurate, as it's real-time camera.

ya we chk there also. the previous time, camera showed long q but we still went. 20mins in the queue. Still ok la. Coz immed after Sgp customs, traffic was v smooth.
This Sat i'm going. Wanna meet? kekeke
What do u do there? Go visit your family?

Bebe_yan,

we didn't go, so didn't check price for you (posted yesterday, obviously you didn't read :))

Wendyg,

Ya, sometimes although it looked very jam we still went, and it was okay, only 20-30min wait. So sometime we don't bother the check the website. But last Saturday was obviously something happening, my friend queue for hours!!!

We usually do some shopping, have breakfast/lunch/coffee, and sometime meet with friends (no family in JB).

kam
oh you're m'sian but your family not in JB la. where do u makan? i only know how to go Perling area. When i stay overnight there (before #2 born), we'd go further up to Jusco Tebrau.

wendyg,

We often go to Jusco Tebrau. Makan..... er, very difficult to find good food in JB lah, so we just hopped in any shop and eat lor. I come from Ipoh, a food heaven!!! Still can't food that matches Ipoh standard :)

janice> i saw the posting.. i am keen in S05and S06.. but is your spree only for 3 pairs? cos i dun need that many socks lei.

my MIL is fr Ipoh.. her sisters open restaurant there. She got cooking in her genes... yummy food! My husband been saying want to go up to Ipoh coz his aunties haven't seen my boys before... say say say, dunno when we're going. Very tiring to drive the whole journey la.

Husband v happy with JB food... he loves the char-kway-teow at a particular kopitiam @ Taman Perling area. Everytime we go in, it's very standard to hv b'fast there, then car workshop, then Giant. If u know the Giant @ Perling Mall, we can let our bbs say "hi" there

wendyg,

Did your husband grow up in Ipoh? Which kopitiam with good char-kway-teow? I love Malaysian style char-kway-teow!!! Can tell me the address of the shop? We went to Giant @ Perling Mall before, but not very familiar with that area.

I will ask my husband if we will be going to JB or not this weekend. Usually he cannot confirm until Friday evening leh.... cos he is very busy at work.

Kam
U're from Ipoh? Me too originally from Ipoh. Changed my citizenship a few years back. Which year u're born? Me 1974.

wendy
thanks for sharing. My gal now, give her rice cereal, she plays with it more than eat it. Likes to grab the spoon and bite the spoon!

mylife
then no hurry for your girl la. u can try some veg/ fruit for her.. new flavour, increase her curiosity.

kam
no he's sgporean. MIL came to Sgp to work & met FIL, who is fr China?!?!?!
eh, i dunno the kopitiam name, road name etc, but i know how to drive there. I'm the navigator.