(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

bebe_yan,

We didn't manage to go to JB last weekend. Super duper jam at checkpoint. Didn't want to stuck there for hours, so turned back.

u ate the jar food? alamak, can sell online one la. I'm at punggol. weekdays lunchtime i can go to MRT stations btwn Yishun & Orchard

RE: Jar food vs home-made puree

My husband is very much against jar food, although I told him it's approved and safe for baby consumption. But he still insists either fresh puree or nothing.

So I don't give jar food to my baby. So far, after work, I still manage to make puree for my baby. Oh, he loves it!!! Have tried avocado, sweet potato, pumpkin. Will be added to the list soon is banana and spinach.

When my baby at infant care, they give him blended porridge with vege.

So far, my baby took everything very well. Never had constipation. But it's the other way round - he pooped a lot, now is 2-3 times a day, soft stool. So his teacher said as long it's soft and not watery, need not to worry.

I love giving him solid food, I really enjoy the making and feeding process (despite the mess)

Tips: you can use rice cooker to steam the food. Very easy, will be ready in <30min! Then use hand-held blender to smoothen the food, take a few minutes only, and there you are ready for a fresh and tasty home-made puree!!!

Hi wendyg

Thnx! My son had been seeing Dr Tan @ Sengkang Kidslink, tried calling to made an appt but it's all full till next wk

wendy
u not working? if u interested i can meet up. i normally off work at 5.30pm and i stay hougang. i normally take train till serangoon or kovan.

kam baby
yest i went Giant and i took the carrot and sweet potato... then when is my turn at cashier then i realised have to weigh the items at the weighing counter and not at cashier... and the Q behind me so so long... so i end up only paying my groceries less my baby food

nez
afternoon clinic also full? then try the punggol plaza one. the doc looks younger, but my colleague says she's just as good as Vanessa.

beanie
i'm working.. i dun take NEL.. what jar food do u hv remaining?

wendyg

Do u happen to hv the clinic's name or contact?? Will call the paediatric centre in rivervale plz as well...c which is faster.

wendyg, serene ng
Initially i scared to intro meat, so i use water to cook, then add some carrots. But bb gal doesnt like it ley...eat already like want to puke. So i added a small piece of chicken with carrots and sweet corn to boil stock. Then added the stock to the rice, then put in slow cooker. Cook for 1.5hours. Wah, she open her mouth big big! So i tot maybe she gotten used to porridge, so i cooked with water again, but she damn smart...she refuse to open her mouth!! I never give her the meat, just the stock only. I monitored her for a few days and she seems ok. No rashes...poo poo ok..so i'm fine with it.
Maybe for a start can try veg stock first.

i alternate bet porridge and cereals - or else everyday eat the same thing, very sian.

Re: bananas
I gave my bb girl those small bananas (sweet ones) and she loves it becos it is sweet. So far she doesnt seem to have constipation. Probably becos she's on Nan HA. It helps to soften the stools.

re: jar food
I also find that jar food abit sourish, my bb dun like ley.

Infant care / child care

want to share 1 story with you all. There was this baby girl (2 months old at that time) who was attended the infant care that my baby goes to. But after ~2 months, the parents withdrew their baby from the infant care. Reason being that the baby girl was diagnosed bronchitis, and sick for about 1 week. And the parents blamed the infant care for not taking good care of their baby - the parents said because sometime they saw the teachers mixing the pillows, bedsheets between babies, etc, that's why their baby bay got infected and got bronchitis.

I think this is so unfair to the infant care. Bronchitis, to my knowledge, it's not infectious. If their daughter caught flu, etc, then okay, can blame the infant care. But this is so unjustified for the teachers.

The teacher was quite sad when the parents made this statement. They adored the baby girl and gave the best they can, but ended up with the blame. But of course, the teacher won't argue with the parents, she respected the decision for the parents and wish the best for the baby girl.

The parents now ended hired a maid to take care of the baby girl (with their elderly at home to supervise).

I always thought there are too much blame put on the infant care / childcare centre. Sure, I don't deny there are some bad ones around, but surely not everything can be just simply blamed on them. Baby getting sick is a natural process, which helps them to boost up their immune system. I don't think babies at infant care are more prone to sickness than those stay at home or under the care of nanny.

I respect the teachers, I put my trust on them, I think they are persons you have to work together with, for the good health and happiness for the baby. If anything not right, both parents and teachers have to look at the issue and not just blame either party.

hmm... difficult to find a good infant care centre. some pp jus not pleased with everything, they will try to find fault in anything.

Blackbatz, at least your is clean. Mine is not. She can go toilet squeeze the pimples and without cleaning it away on the wall.

Pixie, ya sometimes have to close eyes. When I am at home,I will solely handle the baby myself. Frankly speaking I don't like her to carry my boy leh. Unless really I need help then I let her carry a while.

Currently I stop giving my son anything cos he is still having flu and cough. He is still unwell. Tonite going to bring him to PD again.

bronchitis caused by flu, which is infectious. Maybe the child kena flu, then developed into bronchitis.

Bronchitis Causes
Bronchitis occurs most often during the cold and flu season, usually coupled with an upper respiratory infection.
Several viruses cause bronchitis, including influenza A and B, which we commonly call "the flu." ...

Info to share:

Common causes of constipation in infants and children include:

Introduction of solid food(s) - breastfed babies may tend to be more prone to constipation when solid foods are introduced. This is because their tiny tummies are used to processing the easily and highly digestible mother's milk

Diets low in fiber

Diets of excessive dairy products (yogurt, cheeses, milk)

Foods such as Bananas, Applesauce, Cereals, Breads, Pasta and White Potatoes may contribute or cause constipation

Relieving Constipation in Babies Younger than 4 Months:

Try giving one to two ounces of diluted fruit juice such as grape, prune or apple-prune twice daily. (Always consult your pediatrician about the appropriateness of new foods/liquids to help alleviate constipation) Learn about Fruit Juice in your baby's diet.

Relieving Constipation in Babies 4 Months to 12 months +

Try strained foods that contain high fiber such as:

apricots

prunes

peaches

plums

pears

peas

spinach

In older infants who are just beginning solid foods, you may want to avoid baby foods such as rice cereal, applesauce and bananas as these may aggravate constipation!

Barley or oatmeal cereals, prunes, peaches, plums, apricots and most vegetables are preferred when baby has constipation.

Juices are helpful, especially apple or prune, but use in moderation, as they are not as nutritious for babies as formula or breast milk.

Recall the BRAT diet for treatment of diarrhea in infants - Bananas, Rice, Applesauce and Toast. An easy and natural way to remember how to alleviate baby's constipation is to cut out the foods that contribute to it - rice cereals, bananas, and applesauce. If you ever forget which foods to cut out, remember BRAT!

kam

when my son kanna bronchitis, i almost wanna withdraw him out of infantcare... but den my fren told me, baby very easy get sick in their 1st yr... touchwood lah.. so in the end i din withdraw him out

wendyg
How come you say I dun buy jar food? My girl ate a lot of jar food and packed food b4 1 yr old, cos in france the PD say buy the food, no need to cook. So I hardly cook for her, unless I din go out. I think ang mo intro chicken and beef earlier than fish, but I think oso abt 8 or 9 months if i dun rem wrongly, Last time i always buy those microwaveable kind for her, go restaurant, ask them heat up. Then stock up, bring back to sg, realise, singaporeans dun do tat, and the resturants here hardly wan to do for me, ask me "HALAL or not!!!" Hmmm...

Kam
You are right, ocnstipation, dun take banana, apple, carrots, potatoes, pasta, rice, bread. So which means diarrhoea, it is advisable to take the above foods.

maureen, kitsune, wendy;

aiyah typo...mine us isis duooooooooooo

i went to philips today, they dont do repair. offered me 20% off the fixed price, must buy at showroom. who is interested in this PM me. offer lasts 7 days from today

i am actually contemplating, should i stop pumping? coz its almost 6 mths, i can stop liao. if i buy a 2nd hand...use another few more mths, close shop...oso like no point...unless i plan to have no.2 but me and my hubby not very keen on no. 2, so, get a 2nd hand pump oso no use...sell off also very mah fan...use manual like wendy...my hands cramping 24/7. i pour ebm also shaking leh after a manual pumping session. salute to all manual pump mummies!!

maureen, i see your post about squeezing pimples i keep laffing hee hee

re: maid, luckily i have a good maid. havent reach the very good level yet but very ok liao. say once and she will do it, use her brains, can understand english very well, and likes my boy.
the downside is she is employed by my bro in law, we share her expenses...so she is not staying with me...aiyah...once in a while as her to come my place to clean i oso paiseh coz very taxing for her...shes here for half yr and she cooks all the meals...my MIL teaches her initially and now she on her own...food not bad...really must source n wait for a good one lor...

nez;

my PD is kidsclinic at rivervale mall, opp my block. got 2 PD, both female, both with patience kind. appt liao sometimes heng, on the dot, sometimes wait very long. if walk in must wait 2 to 3 hours. so i always morning go down, chop name, and go home...they will give you a call when your turn is coming up, you slowly make your way down...no need to keep waiting at the clinic...charges...average lor...got 1st born TMC card got 10% off consultation.

pixelpixel
My #1 saw the PDs at Kidsclinic for abt 2 yrs. The queue and waiting time v long. And consultation oso not cheap, I think I paid $45 or $55. I go down from Pasir ris, always wait so long. Pek chek. Now I switch to a PD at Paragon, consultation $60. My hb and I oso prefer this current one lor.

nez
My girl saw Dr Tan and Dr Lim. V hard to get appt, always queue. And somehow they give me a rushing kind of feeling.

Hi violetice,

Me, My gal got a bareback swim wear. My gf bot for her fm Old Navy or Gap.. I jus brot her for a dip on sat, with a Konfidence wetsuit &amp; neck float. but i tink she wore too many pcs &amp; hence doesn't like the neckfloat on her neck. will post the pix when i upload my cam.

How time flies...

My Elias is turning 6 months old this coming 21st July. Hehe

Am still deciding if Gerber or Heinz better first rice cereal for babies 6 months and above? As I heard loads about it more then Nestle brand.

Can I hear more feedback on this baby first food thingy soon?

Let me know what specific kind of rice cereal or first brown rice should I look out for? Must it be organic? Re puree, how do you make huh? Must buy a blender or something? As for fruits, need to blend it too? As in fresh juice better then those Gerber bottled juices right? Hehe

If not, what other baby first food do you guys recommend huh?

Re baby can sit??

My Elias is still not able to seat himself hence I would not be letting him seat on walker or bb high chair as yet till he is able to seat more steadily.... Suggested to my mil then my mil feed and maid hold him while taking his solid food when time comes as I do not like the idea of making a bb seat up when he cant even support himself yet.

Can anyone share with me if you son is also not able to seat up yet and how you guys manage the feeding process in this instance huh?

Pixie, yes she has alot of pimples. And very big too. That why my mil don't allow her to carry my baby facing to her.

Yesterday brought my boy to PD. Now doc gave him lung tonic to clear phlegm. Hoping after this he recovers. But 2 weeks later need to bring him back for a check. He said my boy don't know which part is a bit big. Don't know is it because of the bacteria as he is sick now and the lungs push it down so that it became big. I also don't know what is that.

Godsent
babies hv natural ability to float.. dun need to wear so many floatation devices. On Sat my baby just wore a swim diaper &amp; went for his 1st swim. He was calm after he got used to the temp of the water. enjoyed himself more than his bro... after a while getting cold &amp; his hands &amp; feet wrinkling, so we had to end the session. Hope we can go more often than we did with #1. #2 enjoys himself in the water v much.

mom2nat
i thought u preferred to cook Nat's food in France ma..?

Kam,
Actually I would prefer to put my boy at infantcare instead of with my in-laws. I also think infant care have the "professionals" to take care of our bb. Doesn't mean staying at home will not fall sick. Classic example is my in-laws, FIL always coughing away and refuse to see doctor and MIL was actually down with bronchitis 2 weeks ago so I had to take urgent leave to look after my boy. So in fact my boy can also kena flu bug and bronchitis at home.

Anyway, yesterday my FIL fed my boy very very thick rice cereal and he poo poo all the undigested lumps of cereal....faint! Told them so many times to make it very smooth and runny since he has only just started solids but my very "te kee" (stubborn) FIL never wants to listen...can still argue with me that my boy can swallow the cereal....arrrghhh @#$%!!! I'm so worried if he'll choke since he'll just swallow whatever that's put into his mouth.

It's another set of problems when you deal with in-laws/parents lah. I'm really contemplating to put him at infant care since the "health conditions" doesn't make a difference, I would rather leave him with the professionals, at least I can have a piece of mind.

my colleague (the one with the new maid) used to hv her Pr 2 girl @ ILs place in the morning before sch. Her MIL cough non stop for months, then her girl got it. High fever, shivering, very weak, very jialat. Blood test showed signs of TB. My colleague insisted her MIL go for testing in hosp, &amp; true enuf the TB was fr her. By now her FIL also got it.
Imagine, a 7 yr old girl with TB. And the girl has phobia of medicine. Whole family traumatised coz the girl was screaming &amp; running away &amp; refuse to take medicine etc.
After many weeks, the girl got better, but my colleague decided to send her to Student Care instd of ILs place coz the MIL still not recovered. The MIL got offended. The girl picked up bad behaviour @ student care.
So now they got a maid.

what a long story...

Wendyg,
Different sets of problems with different caregivers/environment...sigh...if only I could quit and become SAHM...too bad hubby not comfy with single income...must wait until I strike TOTO lor...

the best thing happened yesterday.. my mom took the jar food out of the fridge to heat up. It's not yet completely warmed up, she already want to take to feed my baby. I dipped my finger in and tasted, alamak, still cold ley. My own mother.. 67 yrs old... supposedly experienced coz she took care of my #1. (Skali she also fed him cold food fr the fridge when he was a baby)
When #2 was born, she tells me she forgot how to take care of newborn. And she dunno how to hold my #2 over a potty coz he can't sit on his own yet and the potty too large for his tiny bum. I hv to teach her... and i was thinking, normally this kind of thing is the grandma teach the mother how to do right? And she dunno how to bathe baby.

u say ley...

wendyg
Actually hor, I think our parents oso aged liao. Some of my frens oso say with #1 their moms or mil still ok, then with #2, not so good liao. Can't blame them. At 67, I oso dunno how agile I can be or how well I can think liao.
Btw, I taught both my mom and mil how to take care of my kids!