(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

morning no milk. He eats 2 bfast - once at home, once at childcare. Maybe cc will serve milk during b'fast. Depends on menu.
actually at 3yo they shld ideally be drinking twice a day, totalling 16oz.

bebe_yan and evening,

Thanks for the compliment!

Wendyg,

I same as you. Since I stopped milk when I was baby, I NEVER drink plain milk, or rather to say, I don't drink milk as it is, but I drink milk coffer. But for the sake of my baby, I faithfully drink 2 glasses of fresh milk, as suggested by my gynae during the whole of my pregnancy :)

wendyg,
i see. she has another breakfast-cum-snack at 10am @ playgroup. me gonna continue the milk bottle den. dun wan her to waste milk.

wendyg & kam
i feel the same way. we mummies bo pian gotta drink milk for our babies...

Shannonbaby,

Glad to hear that your gal’s teahers take good care of her. May I know what is the teacher to infant ratio?

Just read your later post that your baby is at Babies Inc. Then my first thought is…no wonder there is Kindermusik classes incorporated, and that she is well taken care of. Do you stay near Katong? Else the daily travelling is very tiring.

$1080 after 10% discount is before or after $400 subsidy?

Kitsune and Vernon'sMummy,

Maid is my last resort but nany is also one of my choices. The sleeping pill theory may apply to nanny too. My hubby says I’m over-imaginative hehe. But I really am afraid of that.

Kam (zhu_baby),

Thanks for the helpful hints. The infant care centre that I am considering allows me to stay with baby for the first 2 days. The supervisor hinted that I should leave her with the teachers on the third day onwards. Actually I am on leave on Aug 4, 5 & 6 so it seems I do not need to take leave on the 6th since I’m ‘not supposed’ to be there at the infant care centre on the 3rd day.

Mummies, how many days did you accompany your babies at the infant care centre initially? This infant care centre that I mentioned above is located at a hdb block voiddeck and charges $980 before subsidy. Another one nearer my home which is a corner semi-d charges $1200 before subsidy.

And I enquired about the food fed to baby. Basically its only porridge with frozen dory fish added and 1 type of vege.

Prataqueen, can consider asking one of your MIL or mother's neighbours to be nanny so that they can pop over and look see look see when free. Provided they are not the meddling sort lar.

Mummies, I'm seriously thinking of working part time liao cos my boss told me can't put me up for promotion unless she doubles my portfolio. Even then no guarantee cos HR very ngiao, so I'm thinking why work so hard, might as well, take this opportunity to work PT since won't be promoted anyway. Any mummies working PT? What do you think? Any pros & cons?

Just now brought my baby to PD. He was given a nebuliser. See him cough and running nose so hard pain.

Prataqueen, better dont let maid handle the baby alone. I also never trusted maid. Now then I allowed her to carry him. When he is newborn till now I don't allowed her to carry.

Violetice, hurray, TGIF! But weekends even more busy with baby. haha.

kitsune: 1 agree, my weekend v busy with baby.. hardly have any good sleep.
wat do u mean by part-time? every morn ,mon-fri? if the bonus & pay are pro-rated, i tink can consider wrking part time till bb is 1 yr old then u switch bac full time.

prataqueen: u still have hdb void deck infant care, so good! my estate v small, dun have any infantcare nearby...me also considering getting a maid, but nt comfortable with the idea of a stranger staying with me.

aqua
same here. i grew up without maid. i can't imagine stranger in my house all the time. It's like i'll hv to be boss even at home.. so stressful. and i'll always think i'll get a lousy maid who will try to play me out & i gotto supervise everything.

kitsune
I think is a good idea to work part-time as it definately allows time off for yourself and your kids. If money is not an issue, then it is best.

Re: Maids
I have a maid and she is taking care of my bb most of the time. Housework is secondary. However, i have "eyes" on her all the time (whether its me, hubby or MIL). So far she has been satisfactory and she is my 1st maid. I agree that inititally for the 1st 3 months, i cant get use to the fact that someone else is in my home. Slowly and surely, you will get use to it. And if she is good, you will also be thankful for the help/rest you can get. I'm lucky in the sense that she is more experienced in taking care of kids as compared to myself/MIL. So she is a good help.

However, i believe that no matter what u still have to be careful of the maid. Afterall, she is a stranger and is in no relation to you. But i believe that if you treat the maid well, the maid will also do the same. (i hope!)

Wildchillies
my colleague also new maid for less than a month. When she is at work & the maid alone with her Pr 2 daughter, the maid sit around, v eng! When she sees the daughter make phone call to tell mummy that she has nothing to do, she pretend take broom to sweep floor. My colleague ask the daughter, if she has mopped the floor earlier today, why still need to sweep ley?!?!

the next day the maid clever... lock herself in the bathroom for the longest time, the daughter couldn't get to use it & call mummy @ work to complain the maid inside for v long!!!

my colleague is too nice to her maid liao. She says shouldn't supervise everything about the maid, let her do the work on her own. She thinks everyone is like her, so initiative, so hardworking. Haven't 1 month yet, the maid already show pattern!!! New maid fr Indo.

me thinking of getting a maid too, cos my mum is not in pink of health right now, currently my mum will come to my house to take care of aston, and my elder girl. she will bring my elder girl across the road to school, then when i come home at night, then she will go home.

i told my mum that i wanted to bring my children to her house so that it will not be so tiring for her, but she worried that the children will be cranky in the morning to move around.

my mum have high blood pressure, even since she started to come to my house to help to take care of my children, her blood pressure got higher, it got me very worried.

i am thinking of getting a maid, as least she can supervise the maid , she not so stressed and tired mah.
but having maid will mean heavier burden on our finances. Not we are still in the midst of paying off our loan or debt .. hence we need to plan properly lor ..

prata_queen,

yup, recently i jus shifted hse and nw finally staying very near to katong, 5 min drive to Babies Inc every day. I used to stay in Bedok Reservoir which is like 20min drive to reach Babies Inc every morning. I think I am the only crazy mummies who shift house so tat my gal can go BI. haha..actually the main reason why I shifted hse is becos my mum nw staying one level on top of me, so my parents can help me fetch my gal when I am still stuck at work.

The teacher to child ratio is 1: 2.
$1080 is after all discount and govt subsidy. I feel its abit ex too but since my gal enjoys herself very much in sch, thus i decided to let her continue. In fact, I feel that she has become very sociable, esp since she has been in BI since she is 2 mths old.

wendyg
Wah this is terrible! Luckily the daughter is mummy's spy...or else the maid bring people home they also dun know. I had a Indon maid last time, but only her cooking good. She abit stupid, and always "kay kay" go bathroom and sit on the floor (my bathroom's door is sandblasted glass, so can see shadow). Now i change to filipino maid, she is more efficient and do things with more "brainwork". However, they are smarter (good and bad). Still need to supervise.

amy
I think you should get a maid to help your mum. At least she can stop doing all the physical work and just arrow her to do. I think it is worth the money. Just try to cut abit here and there, i think you can manage. Then you also dun need to worry about your mon's health too much. Just need to eye on your maid lor...

amy
just to add - i bring my bb girl and maid to work mon-thur (own business). Everyday leave house at 7.10am. At first a little tiring, but after a while, its 2nd nature already. So i think its worth a try to bring your children to her house. Got maid's help also. If its not working, then revert to normal.

prata_queen,

Meal only with porridge with frozen dory fish and 1 vege..... doesn't sound good to me.

My son infant care centre cooks porridge with different flavour everyday. And sure will have 1 type of fruit. And rice cereal also, they have all types of flavour, which they rotate.

My baby started going to the infant care since 2 monnths old. So don't have to stay there to accompany him. Even on the 1st day, just left him with the teacher :)

My baby Hao Re can CRAWL since yesterday. Actually his teachers said he can do that early of this week already. Just yesterday he managed to crawl around the room effortlessly.

But it is the commandor style though, i.e., his whole body on the floor, use his hands to "drag" himself forward :)

Kam

Hao re can sit on his own already isn't it? I tot is crawl then sit, no? Cos my gal can crawl for more than 1 month le, but she still can't sit without support.

prata queen

mine is also HDB void deck infant care... from 1st day i din stay with my bb. i just left him there... but i do call n ask hw my bb coping... so far they say quite good..

Re: Maid Issue

Actually I'm same like some of you, I didn't grow up with a maid and I don't feel comfortable having a stranger in my house. Hubby and I both feel this way and we enjoy our privacy as well. With a maid, the privacy we enjoyed is compromised and we also will worry how the maid treats the baby and suchs. However, finances wise, I think it makes sense to get a maid as I'm also paying $700 for babysitter and still have to do housework. With a maid, she can help in housework too. Sighz.

Wildchillies, Aqua, part time work schedule is flexi, can choose to work everyday for 4 hours or work on selected days, subject to boss's approval of course. Actually my work is ok, just that I got no time to interact with baby except weekends cos weekday nights, trying to put her to sleep early so that we can rest. Since no promotion in pipeline unless I want portfolio to be expanded, so thought of taking it easy and spending more time with baby since she's growing up so fast.

Hi kitsune_sg,

working part-time, there are pros & cons to it.
pros: -
1) more time wif bb
2) more time dng own things
3) rest
4) relieve from family stress
5) socialing
6) income on ur own to spend
etc

cons: -
1) full time benefit reduce
2) tired
3) work load not reduce(depend on ur company arrangment)
4) income reduce
5) promotion can forgo
etc

it will depend on what u wan to achieve, career or family as your priority....

hi kitsune
i contemplated part time too but after much consideration i gave up my job totally instead. cos tough to work n look after kids. giving em my 100% for 2 yrs den back to workforce. if my phone keep ringing to attend to work + stay up reply emails n i have to neglect em when they demand my attention at home, den back to square one. me at home but heart in office. however if you work parttime plus engage helper i tink can manage. depends on your coping stress tolerance =P i agree with babyling, work load may not be reduced if work parttime. when bb is 2 plus he'll be able to voice his feelings i'll prob place him with MIL + helper or childcare or work part-time... decide that later, took a long time thinking over, hope it'll be easier for you to reach a decision =)

My boy just got his jab today... expensive man but also glad the next one will only be next year april ;)

He is weighted 8.9 kg and 69.5cm long. My PD recommend Nan 2 to him as I wanted to introduce him to FM. she said that Nan is the closest to breast milk. Any other mummies here using Nan can advise?

Serene,
my boy also had his 3rd jab + 2nd dose rotavirus & it cost me S$256.80. Next compulsory jab would be when he turn 15mths.
Wow yr boy is growing well
My boy only weigh 7.88kg & 68cm. Dunno which percentile...i ask PD & he say average but never say how many percentile. He say percentile chart is only a general guideline.

Evening, babyling, actually I've been thinking of PT even before I gave birth but was waiting cos boss put me up for promotion, if switch to PT, can say bye bye to promotion but Dec & Jun both passed over, and now criteria for promotion changed somemore. Always moving target, so sian to put my life on hold to wait for something that may not even happen. So now thinking of going PT lor since just got bonus. If PT don't work out, can still consider to quit, won't lugi much. haha.

Hi Serene,

my boy is on Nan 2 now. I dont know whether if it close to breast milk but I had heard pple saying so in this forum. for Nan, the price is not as expensive as similac & enfa.

hi, how's everyone?

can i check those who delivered in mt e? did u receive call recently saying that they thank you us for choosing them and they will deliver a hamper which consists of fm and some j&j products?

joyce & serene

wow so good... i guess east shore & glene will do the same lor...
anyway i delivered in mt a... hahaha... just kaypoh...

serene, i also checked with jacelyn. she said she also received the call abt 1-2mths back but till now still have not receive any thing from them. when did they call u? they call me 2weeks back and said will deliver last week but till now i also didn't receive. u still have the contact no.?

blackbatz, yes.

aiyo...i never received any calls. by the way, if they do call, can help me get their name and contact number? Thanks...

I also receive the calls.. saying to thanks me for delivering at Mt E.. and will send me hamper.. end up also nothing.

yeap, and the lady tell me will deliver 2 days after the call wor... even say it would be evening time.. mmm.. delivery man "eat up" the hamper?? :p

Any of your bb getting very "sticky" lately? My in-laws look after my boy during weekdays but I bring him home every night lah. He used to be ok with anyone but recently he's so attached to me! Once I move out of his sight he will start to cry (act one lah) and he's always looking for me to make sure I'm still around. Once he sees me he will want me to carry. So fast they got separation anxiety already??

How many times does your bb poo after starting solids? Before starting solids, my boy will poo once or twice a day. After starting solids, he will poo 2 or sometimes 3 times a day...is that normal? But usually it's one time "big" and 2 times "small"...haha. So far, he has tried HT brown rice & oatmeal, sweet potato and pumkin.