(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

thanks kam & wendyg on the soy bean thingy. will refrain yah i agree abt us chinese intro fish n pork too early. my gal had those but thankfully no issue.

bebe yan
if this weekend traffic okie will go n keep u posted on the prices. last week unsuccessful.

i got a joke to share again...

This is the reason why we ladies need SHOPPING !!!!

A woman was walking down the street when she was accosted by a particularly
dirty and shabby-looking homeless woman who asked her for a couple of
dollars for dinner.

The woman took out her purse, extracted ten dollars and asked, "If I give
you this money, will you buy a pair of shoes instead of dinner?"

"No," I had to stop buying new shoes years ago, the homeless woman replied.

"Will you use it to go shopping instead of buying food?" the woman asked.

"No I don't waste time shopping," the homeless woman said. "I need to spend
all my time trying to stay alive."

"Will you spend this on a beauty salon instead of food?" the woman asked.

"Are you NUTS!" replied the homeless woman. "I haven't had my hair done in
20 years!"

"Well," said the woman, "I'm not going to give you the money. Instead, I'm
going to take you out for dinner with my hubby and myself tonight."

The homeless Woman was astounded. "Won't your hubby be furious with you for
doing that? I know I'm dirty, and I probably smell pretty disgusting."

The woman replied, "That's okay. It's important for him to see what a woman
looks like after she has given up shopping, hair appointments, and buying
new shoes."

evening

thanks so much, wanted to go this wkend too but hubby say might not be able to go cos he got things to do.

wendyg

ya, my gal started fish for 2wks already, so far so good. my mum says she a bit sick of the fish favour,pumpkin also tried.

bebe_yan,

Most likely I will go to JB this weekend. Will keep you posted on the pricing if so.

Amy,

We only have $75 subsidy for PR. So effectively I pay $925 a month out of my pocket, close to my car loan alerady, ha! Still have to work, as I have got quite a handsome wages after the few years of working experiences. So simply just can't drop my job.

And also, I think I am a better mum if I don't have to be "stuck" with my baby 24/7/365. Now on the weekends, we spend all of our times and totally focus on baby Hao Re. I think he knows it and makes use of it :)

Kam, evening

(BIG HUG to both) thanks for the help!

i feel like buying blender for my mum too, if not she so poor thing got to mash the food herself.

Kam

your blender easy to use?

Bebe_yan:

Quite easy to use and to clean. We may only need to make puree until baby is about 9 months-old. After that, should start to introduce more lumpy food, or cut food in small pieces. So a blender is especially useful NOW.

Kam

only for 3 months.. a bit wasteful.. haha. i will go take a look at e one u bought.

shannonbaby

$60++ a bit expensive esp like Kam say only to 9months. my gal is 6.5months already. so only left 2.5months. haha

bebe yan
my friend's girl very particular abt texture. Until now nearly 3yo she still blends her girl's food, o'wise she will spit everything out.

every child is diffrnt

Bebe_yan,

You may still have to make puree after baby is 9 months old. But if your baby accept lumpy food, then you save a lot of effort!

wendyg

but by 3yrs old should know how to chew already isn't it? Should force bb to chew in state if not go sch already then how.
I will ask my mum if she wants one, then decide whether to buy or not. Cos she is those dun wan u buy she wont use also type

blender

and at least i still can use for 3mths cos my baby yet to turn 6 mths old...

kam

wat model is that? cos i went to taka and only got those very ex type like $70+ and above

Vernon, 450 very cheap. What is the name of the infantcare?..My gal's Carp Diem infantcare charges $1100. After $400 subsidy, I still hv to pay $700/mth.

kam, thanks for alerting me on Soyabeans. or else i blur blur also.

To those mummies whose bb refuse milk sometimes,
I'm experiencing refusal of milk in the day and bb drinking milk from 6pm. That means before 7am-6pm, my bb girl will drink very little milk (e.g less than 180ml) Then come 6pm, she will drink almost every hour till she zzz for the night. she can drink 300ml within that few hours. Anyone got such a problem? Its really bugging me for 4 days already.

violetice,
what do u need to know abt blog? did u try using another template and try see how.. could be because the coding got error.

hey wildchillies,
i thot my boy is the weird one out who refuse milk sometimes. Afterall, i think it's pretty normal as long as they are not dehydrated & still gaining healthy weight bah. My boy refuse milk in the day too. We have tried to give 2 feeds (12noon & 4pm) of wheat rice milk cereal but after taking the milk cereal, he refuse to drink milk. Then come 9pm, he can drink 150ml & at 10.15pm, another 150ml wor! His intake is haywire & we can't seem to judge when he is really hungry

Bebe/Kam

Thank u for sharing...cos i fed him milk rite after his cereal these few days, then i think will he be too full to take milk bo? hee...but he still drinks at least 100ml thereafter la.

wildchillies,
My gal also like that. She sleeps ard 8.30pm. So she dun care previous feed is 6pm or 7pm, she sure want her milk before sleep. I think it is normal. My sis's kids also same, want stomach full full before sleep.

Yen,

My baby likes yours. Before bedtime (8 to 830pm), he has to drink milk (from 30ml-180ml), regardless when was the last feed. I think this is comfort sucking bah.....

Steph and Yen,
Very funny hor. Sigh...it is very difficult to tell whether they are hungry and as a result i have wasted quite alot of milk. I really tot that my bb is the one and only weird one! Thanks for sharing.

bebe yan
force? try lor. U think she nvr try.. try until her whole face & head full of food that her girl spit out. Mama feed, Papa feed, Popo feed etc. My friend earns top bucks in finance firm, but can't do anything abt her 3yo who still likes her food to be blended.
Sometimes talking to us 2nd time moms... we're quite jaded already... been there, done that, seen this, tried that. So i'm just telling u, every baby is diffrnt. First-born and 2nd-born may be worlds apart too, even tho come fr the same mom & dad.
btw, her girl has lunch @ childcare, she eats normally like any of her classmates. Depends on her mood, this girl. Gives her mom a headache.

kam
thanks for your info. btw if convenient can also help check px for Gain IQ for 3 yr o above? scared hubby change his mind in going in

wildchillies,
sorry for poor advice

bebyan, beanie
just got baby first food booklet from polyclinic, can consider using kitchen sieve to mash/puree instead of buying blender

asking all mummies with older kids... mom2nat?wendyg? amy????
when did older one stop drinking milk from milk bottle? my 3 yr o still using bottle, is it alright?

evening,

I will try.

Bebe_yan, beanie,

It's true can use sieve to mash food, but one thing you must be careful is to make sure you clean/wash the sieve thoroughly, as food can be trapped pretty easily and might promote bacteria growth.

evening
no worries, we are all learning and sharing information.

baby first food booklet
I have the booklet also. Their sample menu for bfast is egg yolk , milk and rice cereal. So young can eat egg yolk meh? They also recommend fish for 6 month old.

evening

u got the booklet from polyclinic? where exactly? from the counter? cos i'm bring my gal for Hep B booster tis sat at polyclinic

bebeyan
her girl coming to 3yo, now maybe 10-12kg, 25th percentile i think. If/when your child is difficult, then perhaps u can share your experience. In the meantime, i think she's doing a pretty good job of making her girl eat. If it were me, i'd hv lost my cool long ago.

evening
yeah my boy 3yo still on milk bottle for last milk before zzzz. My colleague's son 5yo also. I dun really care la, coz he's not sleeping with the bottle in his mouth. I myself was on milk bottle until 7yo. Once the bottle was taken fr me, i didn't drink milk. Until today, i only take choc milk. Dun like white milk.

wildchillies
i'm refraining from eggs even yolk till maybe 10 m odd just in case

anyway me giving rice cereal @ lunch n dinner onli for now

bebe yan
when i brought him to jab on tues, the jabbing nurse just gave to me leh. maybe u can ask if yours didn.t give

wendyg
did u take milk when preggie? i forced myself to. keke. btw your older boy only 1 feed of milk now or day feed use cup?

evening
in the childcare he may drink milk for pm tea-break. They alternate btwn milk, milo, green bean soup etc. So in childcare, forced to use cup. But i dunno how much he drinks. At nights i ask him if he wants milk in bottle or cup? He will always say BOTTLE. We give him abt 240ml b4 he sleeps. But if going to toilet train at night, may hv to reduce or drink earlier or smthg.

I drank Hi-Lo choc milk thru both my pregnancies.

wendyg,
morning no milk session before childcare?
yah she drinks 240ml x3 a day. last feed @ 10 before sleep muz pee n bring her to wake up n pee @ 1230.