(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Verene
take care... speedy recovery for Javier...
if is under GA, u can always ask to speak to the anasthetist before Javier's operation... i am sure they will be able to provide answers to ur worries...

Poor Javier, poor verene. So sad to hear that.
Actually, KK also made me sign on consent form when I insisted to have my gal's BCG jab on the butt instead of arm. Thought they are trying to scare me of the complications. Looks like it can happen after all. Hope Javier has a speedy recovery and he can avoid the surgery to remove the swollen lymph nodes.

Verene, javier will get well soon

kitsune, you mean when they give BCG, they will ask you for permission? I dont even recall when they gave my girl BCG.

verene, take good care. javier will be back in pink of health in no time. do let us know of his lab results on 21st. we're all concerned.

violetice, yah nurse also tell me if too small might be anormality but if he's demonstrating good cognitive skills den should be okie... sigh... everything also can cause worry.

Kam
what's the best exchange rate u get for RM? Do u change $$ in Sgp or M'sia? So far the best i hv is only RM 2.33 @ TPY Central. Dunno where to change $$ in M'sia... Taman Perling, Perling Mall?

hi Bebe yan / Kam / beanie / angelsky / kitsune / evening,

Thanks for the well wishes. Really hope that he can recover soon. The anaesthetist did explain the risk & possible complications, tat's why I worry. Luckily , nothing happened. I don't know whether the PD that gave the BCG jab should be accountable for this but I can comment that I really dislike the PD. He keep telling me to admit my baby in hospital due to his jaundice after birth for 2 separate occasions.

Kitsune,
the doc at the A & E dept in KKH did mentioned that the butt is not a recommended area to jab the BCG. It should not be at an area with muscle. It may happen that the infection may appear at the arm pit area if the jab is on the arm muscle area.

At least, Baby Javier is active and feeding well now. feel more at ease.

Angelsky, ya lor, cos I insist to jab in butt so they made me sign consent form cos all my gal friend plus cousin's bb gals all jab in the butt, not arm mah. Somemore, 'tu' until I want to discharge then jab for my gal, I also not happy then cos they said not all their nurses are trained to jab in butt. Grr... :/ Mummy got too many 'pock' marks on the arm so 'hiao', don't want my gal to have the same fate as me. Lucky, nothing happen. :p

Verene, yup, I see, so even if jab at arm also unavoidable lar if infection really happen. Glad to hear he's active and feeding well.

verene
1. 2nd day BCG jab was done by PD in hosp right?
2. Jab @ non-muscle area... means the butt shld be the best place? Butt dun hv muscle wor.

My baby's 5th month jab was on thigh, & for a week there was redness, then came a lump under the flesh. Doc (GP) said some of the vaccine may be trapped in the muscle area, takes up to a month to dissipate. But as long as bb doesn't feel pain in that area (doesn't wince or withdraw upon touch), & is active & otherwise normal, we need not be concerned.

verene, glad to hear things looking good for javier.

my boy always after his jab, like today, go to sleep haha... too thick skinned liao.

evening> he will be better after his beauty sleep.They tend to be either sleepy or cranky.. you are lucky cos your baby choose sleep..

even though docs always tell me that the vaccines usually does not cause fever.. but strange enough, everytime after my vaccine, i definitely got fever.

kitsune> babies react differently to the jab. when my elder girl took the BCG, she dont have the scar on her arm. Then when my boy took it,he got one lobang on his arm. Luckily he recovered. now got the scar lor..sigh..

wendyg,

For these few years, exchange rate is better in SIN than in MY. The highest we get so far is 2.38 at Raffles Place. Other places like CCK, Jurong, offer good rate also.

hi hi!! so long no login.
which mummy wan my similac follow-on to exchange with dumex mamil gold step 2 with immunfortis? central mrt preferred.

hi, meihua> your name sounds very familiar to me. do you by any chance stayed near bedok area previously..cos i got a primary schoolmate by this name too.

i've the following for sales/exchange

BN unopened Step 2 Formula Milk at S$10/tin (expiry Aug/Dec09) for:-
1 x 400g Similac
1 x 400g Dumex Mamil Gold
1 x 400g Enfapro A+

Or exchange above (any 2 tins) for Friso Gold 2.

Interested, pls PM me. West side collection preferred.

Verene,
*Hugz* May Javier recover soon! Take care.

JanBB,
is the bb gym trial on 26th July confirmed ? Time at 11am izit?

bebe> me too. i only know these two shopping mall in jb, and the prata shop next to the custom. they sell delicious yummy pratas..

hi wendy,

The latest i got for the exchange rate for RM is 2.38. Quite good. THink got that exchange rate in AMk central.

Verene,

Hugzzz.....May Javier get well soon....

Those whose children who ahve done the 3rd jab, would they develop a fever??? Mine going this saturday. He developed a slight fever after his 2nd jab. So am afraid he may develop a fever again.

Also anyone knows where i can get cheap rechargable batteries??? I need 10 batteries for my PIS when i do not have access to power socket to pump.

Jan BB,

Will u be organising a 2nd class for baby gym??

Anyone have the address for Dr Keoy clinic at Bishan.

When will he be there???

Was assigned to him when i was in Thomson. So want to have his clinic just in case.

bebe_yan / akohcp,

I never been to Holiday Plaza for almost 10 years now. And very rarely visit City Square. So don't know if can buy FM from these 2 shopping centre or not. Never had food near the custom.

We drive a further up to Taman Pelangi, Taman Sentosa, but most often, we shop at the Jaya Jusco at Tebrau.

The medial hall at Taman Sentosa is selling at RM59.5, but must pay cash (they said because they don't make money from FM, selling at net price). Giant and Jusco can pay by credit card, but more expensive.

but i can't find petpet in m'sia ley.

i buy Huggies Dry & Hey Baby if i go. Chinese medical hall sell cheaper. Their Mamy Poko not as cheap as Sgp right? Here is abt $22.50 for jumbo pack during ntuc offer.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Baby Jumper Gym
http://www.bjg.com.sg/programs.htm
Payment will be made directly &amp; personally to them on actual day. Is $37 per trial lesson

Mummies, Let's confirm! Mark the date down pls!
26 July (Sat), 11.00am.
Follow by lunch at Mayim @ West mall.
http://www.mayimfood.com/

1)Janbb
2)Evening (PM me your H/P oki, thks.)
3)Steph77
4)godsent
5)violetice
6)Lyn78</font>

As for another class, pls indicate your preference &amp; would you all like to proceed with 3?
1)Jacelyn
2)Serene Ng (Prefer last wkend in July )
3)Mandygoh
5)
6)

<font color="aa00aa">Mandy - would you want to take charge of this class? You may call Erica @ 65630716 to confirm your class once you 3 got a common date? If not, I can still co-ordinate for you all but must indicate your date preference.</font>

Kam

Taman Sentosa? But i dun drive ler.. I intend to take cab there. Cos last time take cab to Holiday Plaza &amp; city square i think e fare quite affordable. Dun dare to go too far, scare later lost or getr kidnap. haha

Any mummies go to JB -Holiday Plaza &amp; city square ??

Violetice,
I was down with sorethroat on mon nite. My boy sort of get it from me, he is still down with fever, flu &amp; cough on tue morning. Brought him to PD yez &amp; back with lots of med. Think i'm overexhausted taking care of him at nite &amp; was down with flu now... Veri heartpain to see him so sick &amp; was kind of my fault to spread to him.
So pls stay a distance from Ian, dun spread to him ah..

Glad that Javier is better liao...
Verene, you must take care too.

mandy, i forgot the block...it is near my house. I know he is at the bishan clinic on sunday. But you can ask the thomas clinic, they will have the address and his schedule.

RE: Sweet Potato puree

Any mummy make this before. I found that it's not that easy to blend cooked sweet potato into smooth puree. According to the recipe in the "First Food" book, don't need to add water. But the puree came out very thick and sticky. So I added water into the puree and further smooth and mix it with spoon.

Any mummy can share how you make sweet potato puree?

Baby Hao Re loves sweet potato puree. Can see his eys brighten up when I gave him the first spoon. Compared to his puzzling look when I gave him avocado puree :)

hi Kam,
the sweet potato is orange meat color or yellow meat color? sorrie ask silly Q cos i saw diff type of sweet potato. There is another type from Japan in purple color...are all suitable for baby?

Janbb, ok noted. see u then! Speedy recovery to u &amp; Jayden

Steph,

I bought from NTUC. The label says "Japanese sweet potato" from Vietnam. It's yellow flesh, with purple skin. All are safe for babies.

Hi mummies who are weaning babies
How can i make rice porridge tastier? Cos i tried to make porridge in the slow cooker mixed with carrots. My bb gave me the YUCKS! look. However she is ok with rice cereal + milk, or carrots puree itself.

Kam
The sweet potato puree is really quite sticky. Must add milk/water and blend it smooth or else my bb finds it a struggle to swallow.

Kam,
ok i see. Will look out for it
thks.

wildchillies,
my mum buy the pork thigh, cut a portion &amp; cook with porridge (plus carrots) but the meat later throw away, cannot feed baby. The meat is to make the porridge tastier since we don't add salt.

i read before.. even if baby's first reaction to a certain type of food is a yucky look, it doesn't mean that he doesn't like to eat it. It's just smthg new to him, after months of nothing but milk. New taste, new texture etc. So dun misinterpret.

our WTS thread have some mummies selling.. if not you can try raffles city robinson.. i saw yesterday when i go shopping again... (sshhh.. better not let my hub tat i went to spend $$ again..keke)

wildchillies,

It's common that baby shows yucky look when taking porridge, as it's not sweet, unlike the rice cereal and puree.

Try few more times, he should like the taste of it soon.

According to the infant care teacher, it's good to introduce both vege/fruit puree and porridge at the same time, so that the baby will be able to accept more difference of taste, not just sweet taste alone.

akohcp

thanks, i found another thread, e girl doing tis spree. selling bb stuff from japan. Their swimsuit for gal is so cute man!! feel like buying all!! but i think e spree is closed.
aRHG!!

Verene,
Glad that Javier is feeling better, you must also take care of yourself. *hugs*

JanBB,
I'm still on MC today. Yesterday night, I wore a mask when I carried Baby Ian, thought he won't recognized me. He gave me a puzzled look then he smiled at me. But when I took my mask off after passing him to my mum, he gave me a big grin. Haha. Very jialat hor, if Mummies are sick, babies also at risk. Sighz.