(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendyg, sorry one of the mummies have asked for the voucher already.

eRnMum, i think it takes awhile for them to get use to it. My boy took an hour initially, but now he takes about 15mins to eat his rice cereal.

Hi Jess,

For the carrot puree, I bought those fat orange carrots from Cold Storage. I peeled off the skin, chopped some slices and steam them. (heard boiling also can but think steaming retains more vitamins than boiling) After steaming, the carrot slices become soft and put them all in blender to blend them into puree form.

Beanie,

Yup, that's the Pigeon bowl, the smaller portion is for mashing food if necessary. The spoon is attached to the cover of the bowl, very convenient to bring out.

shooting star
huh, i dowan any voucher.. my baby still on full breastmilk. where are u located, if near me i can recommend PD to u.

wendyg,
Sorry, i thought u were talking about the vr. Paisei. Sorry again. Keke.

Me at Novena.

hummm... novena area.. Dr EK Ong @ TMC v long queue in the mornings, even if u hv an appt. Heard afternoons are better.

wendyg,
i've called up Dr Ong's clinic before, and his staff said that the wait is 2-3 hours with appointment, or 3-4hours without appointment. I was put off by that, that's why never engaged him as my boy's PD. Thanks for the recommendation anyway, i'm looking for someone with a shorter queue. Are u seeing Dr ong yourself?

VioletIce, thanks for the recipe, I bought a blender too, don't know how to use it yet. :p

My bb gal still has no teeth though she's already 5.5 months old, but her gums are hard and she loves to grab my finger to bite. :p

Wendyg, long time no hear, how's Tobey?

Meng, thanks for the contact, will try calling Tai Sing.

Mandy, the recipe Violetice shared is in the post above.

Anyone giving bb Friso? Is it good? The friso promoter offered to give me a can to try so thinking maybe I should try giving RaeAnne Friso after 6 months.

jan b, your bb is very very cute! =) thanks for making the arrangement for trial.

i agree with kam, salt strict no no. even for #1, i dun put salt in cooking her food cos when she eats food outside or at PIL's has alot of salt content.

any mummies delivered at gleneagles who attended parentcraft session can share the formula for calculating the recommended amt of milk to prepare for bb? TIA

thanks shooting star for your vote.

violetice, glad that u've receive the mail and thanks for the vote. hehee.. my girl top part look(eyes) like my hubby & from nose downwards look like me... :p

Jess,

I think it would be better to use a blender as even though we can try to mash them but it wouldn't be the same puree type. Our babies are too young to swallow anything that's not puree.

Kitsune,

Try this weekend lor? I'm thinking of trying pumpkin this weekend. After trying for a few then will intro porridge.

Mandy,

Not recipe, just trying out different types of food for baby. I think it's wiser to try the veg first before fruits like what some of the Mummies here have mentioned, once you tried fruits, they won't like the vegetables.

SuperBee,

I don't know but just think she resemblances you lor. It's a good thing!

Running Nose,

I'm on mc today. But shucks, am I to stay away from baby bec of my flu?

morning everyone.. seems like i have missed out quite a bit here.me cant access the internet while at home, cos occupied with my 2 children and one fat dog. all eager to fight for attention.

Kitsune,
My "10 kg" baby is a result of drinking Friso since birth...haha. He's doing very well on it, poo poo daily and good appetite. But again, different babies react differntly to each brand of formula so may be suitable for my bb but not yours lor...have to let her try and see how well she takes it.

my bb went for his jab yest and he's exactly 10kg.. PD said he is tall so he dont look dat chubby. hehehee!

my PD is at Mt.A SBCC, went up to kinderclinic to help one of e mummy collect med on her behalf.. wow! dat clinic was like a war zone, super crowded.

Janbb: is e trial on 26july cfm?

yvonne: my bb is a Friso bb too.

i wanna try fish porridge, wat type of fish? muz put ginger into it?

goodbb,

EnfaproA+ is RM59.5 (medical hall) to RM62.5 (Giant) to RM63.5 (Jaya Jusco) - all this is for 850gm tin (not 900gm), and manufactured in Thailand. I have yet to compared the nutrition content for Enfapro at Singapore vs Malaysia. I have got the info, will do it tonight.

Bebe_yan,

For EnfaproA+:

Malaysia - RM59.5 for 850gm = RM7 per gm
Singapore - S$36 (?) for 900gm = S$4 per gm = RM9.2.

So I save RM2.2 per 100gm or ~RM20 (=~S$8.6 per tin).

To me, I think this is a huge saving, my baby consumed ~ 1 tin per week, so I save S$34.4 per month!

Kam

wow, tat's really a lot to me too!! Which shop u usually go to?? I wan to find out how much is nan2 n mamypoko also ler.. how i can find out? email them??

ADVICE NEEDED ON PUREE

Is nt neccessary to add BM/FM into it rite?? Btw, any advice on hw to choose avocado?? Wanna do avocado puree for bb this wkend. Avocado dun need to cook rite?

Thnx!

Bebe_yan,

We go to JB almost every weekend (I am Malaysian :). I can help you to check the price for nan2 and mamypoko if i go JB this weekend.

I only buy baby FM so far. My baby Hao Re very good boy, he adapts very well to the PetPet diaper (think the cheapest!) day and night, never has rash since born, so save me lots already, don't have to buy those expensive diaper :)

Kam

oh.. ok, thanks so much ler.. Help me check on Nan2 and Size L for mamypoko can?? u prefer to sms me?

i find SG sell too exp, very shiong ler, i cant take it. haha

shooting star
no, my PD is in Sengkang near my place. I chose Dr EK Ong as the PD when i gave birth @ Tmc. Only went to him for the baby followup chkup 3 days after discharge. Din go back since. Afternoons not so long queue i think. MOrnings he has to do his rounds & attend to newborn followup cases, so v crowded.

kitsune
tobey is doing fine. growing up too fast tho. wish he could stay a baby forever ...

Kam
I find cheaper diaper than Petpet... Fitti Basic & Hey Baby

hope I am not too late to join this thread. My girl is coming 6 months soon...but no teeths yet...isit ok? She kept salivating, and its a lot. We have to change her clothes many times a day. Any of you face the same prob? What can we do?

By the way, any of you interested for trial classes?

Strawberry

Hi,welcome. My gal drool a lot past 2 months too, now not so much but like to put everything in her mouth. No teething sign though.

wendyg,

Tried Fitti Basic, didn't like the cutting :) Pet Pet M size is only $13.8 (normal price) for 70 pieces ($0.2 per piece). To me, this is very economical :)

And yes, I agree, baby growing very fast! Now already missed the time when he was newborn

Kam
I go for diapers less than S$0.20 per piece. Preferably $0.17 or $0.18. Fitti Basic cutting & absorbency similar to Petpet.. & cheaper. I've used for my #1 previously.

Wendyg, thk maybe i will call up and ask if afternoon is better, otherwise i will try others. My boy now very active and I scared cannot control him. I don't think he can sit and wait patiently for too long these days.

Lynn, which PD are u seeing at Mt.A? Wow! ur bb so big!

Didn't know FM in JB so much cheaper.. but me lazy to go to JB.

Shooting_star,

My son's PD is Dr Keoy at TMC. I find him very good, as he is very patient, he never rushed me off the room, answered my question patiently, and care for the baby. Queue not as long as Dr Ong, but usually at least 1 hour wait (with appointment) minimum. Saturday worse, there was once waited >2 hours, still have a long way until our number.

No mummies can advise/help??

ADVICE NEEDED ON PUREE

Is nt neccessary to add BM/FM into it rite?? Btw, any advice on hw to choose avocado?? Wanna do avocado puree for bb this wkend. Avocado dun need to cook rite?

Thnx!

I heard that the milk powder in JB might be different, so better check. Anyways, I am too too lazy to go JB. I buy Enfa in bulk in Spore and it is cheaper.

strawberry, bebeyan
my bb gal is also drooling tons and kept putting her thumb in her mouth. She changes 5-6 bibs everyday and i give her lots of water too. Scared she thirsty. However, my gal has 2 bottom teeth liao. I guess bb will drool no matter whether got teeth or not.
Don't really have a solution to the drooling xcept to wipe wipe wipe :p

Nez,

No need to add BM/FM. The idea of giving them puree is for them to taste the natural taste (thus no salt, no sugar, etc should be added).

I just made avocado last weekend. So can tell you. No need to cook. Just cut the fruit into halves, remove the stone, use a spoon to scoop out the flesh and put into a container. Then use blender to make the avocado into smooth puree, only take a couple of minutes. Serve immediately, otherwise will turn into darker colour in ~30 minutes. If you don't use blender, smash the avocado until no lumps.

I don't know what is the best way to choose avocado. As long as it looks okay, I will pick that up. But before you cut the fruit, try to feel the food, a ripen avocado should be a little bit soft. If you can scoop out the flesh easily using a spoon, mean the fruit is ripen.

hi, strawberry> welcome to the thread.. my boy also jus hit 6mths.. he drool alot too. i heard different things from different pp. some say that he is teething, some say that he is ready for weaning.. and some pp say that he is not very capable to swallow yet..

whatever the case is, i need to prepare tonnes of bibs to stand by. My hub was wondering how come i need to buy so many bibs...keke

my boi is also putting his finger into his mouth and he have 2 lower teeth sprouting. more often than not, he will stuff his whole fist into his mouth as seems one finger is not enough to satisfy his chewing urge.

he will now try to grab hold of anything and put them into his mouth. the lastest challenge for him, he tries to grab my dog's tail .. sigh..

akohcp

haha.. my gal kept wanting to touch my dog also, everything she saw my dog she so happy. haha but my dog is scare of her

Hi...The worst part is that she dun even like to drink water.
Maybe like me, i drink coke all the time and dun like H20. Sign...

Haha...yes...yes akohcp...my girl also put her whole fist into her mouth. Faint men...

bebe> you have a dog too.. mine is a labrador, even though he is 3 years old already, he still thinks that he's a puppy and wanted me to carry him despite his 35kg weight..luckily he's a loving dog, he loves my children.

Whenever baby aston cries in the room while im in the kitchen, my dog will ran to me and ask me to follow him to the room to attend to the baby..

Kam
oh gosh, i hv a grudge against Dr Koey. I asked for a change of PD when my gynae assigned my #2 to him again.
He looks as tho haven't wake up.. sluggish.. worst of all, didn't give us critical info until it was too late & my #1 had to be hospitalised due to jaundice. I was so upset that i cried in the room, & he still looked at me so quizzically as tho i was THE idiot.

Until today, 3 yrs later, my husband and I still hv a long story to tell whoever says he's good!

akohcp

wa, ur dog so cute one, will ran to u and call u.. So cute ler.. my dog is a miniature schnauzer, 7yrs old. Bought her at 7wks old. She will only cry and run to me when there's thunder. haha.. ur dog sound so cute..

strawberry> my boi can shake hand with your gal liao. he also dun like to drink water. whenever i trick him to drink some plain water , he will spit them all water.. (this is one of his fastest reaction) never see him react so fast to things lei..