(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

AhCapp,
I bought it when I was expecting her. Think I saw it on some magazine or newspaper, thought it was quite cool and looks really comfy. Initially my mum still say I crazy, spoil my girl, but then when I told her that the material is hypoallergic, then my mum also say good.

Yesterday, I saw this grandpa downstairs my place, gave his granddaughter prunes k. My mum was chatting with him, then I was staring at him with my eyes big big. I ask him how old is his grand daughter since he was letting her suck the prunes, she was making all the chok chok sound, she is only 4 months old okay. Gosh. He says she got constipation, suck prunes good. Its those packet prunes that we eat when we get constipation as adults.

Morning Mummies,

It's Monday blue, again. Do you gals know it's Youth Day today? Wish I can get off day! LOL!

Re: High Chair,

I also want to get a high chair, any recommendations?

AhCapp,

Woohoo! Looks awesome man! Wow, I can't remember the last time I wore a sexy lingerie. Think my baby was conceived wearing one of those! LOL!

How much did you pay for the set? It stated free size but really free size meh?

ah capp
my boy been using the lucky baby but i realised he also hit the base liao so i went to source for the bigger size and realise lucky baby oni have pink or blue. end up i bought the kidopotamus brand the furry material one but end up it is too big for him. now he wears the cotten sleepsuit when he sleep with us. my air con is about 23 degree when he is sleeping.

Dawn,
Same thing happened to me yesterday. Brought my boy back to my mum's place and all my aunties/uncles were also there (they gather at my mum's place every sun). My auntie gave my boy her green bean soup...not 1st time ok...everytime she's eating something, whether it's cake, biscuits, etc, she will try to feed him some. I was playing mahjong so didn't see it and my hubby couldn't stop her in time. So I threw a big temper and told her to stop feeding him all those stuff! That's not what he should be eating at this stage and by giving him all those sweet stuff, all my efforts of making vege puree is going down the drain!...haha...must act angry a bit then she'll get the message. Luckily also got support from my uncle's wife becos she was also very persistent about giving her 2 kids fruits/vege when they were babies...and they turn out very well now...not picky about food and they eat all sorts of vege. Aiyo, now every sun I also have to "watch them closely" in case they try to feed him again behind my back. No choice lah, got to be the bad guy in front of them otherwise they won't listen.

It's exactly what my PD told me...it's more difficult to stop all thgse "relatives" from trying to feed your baby...they will want to put everything into their mouth!

Dawn, kitsune, angelsky,

I am one of those who let baby lick on food..... I together with my mum, auntie, cousins and hubby let baby lick on corn when he was only 4.5 months old :p We did it for fun, and baby enjoyed licking the corn also.

But the most important point is we are very sure the corn was totally natural (home cook), no salt and other additive added. While I have reservation with lipton tea and preserved prune. But I am totally okay to let baby to lick on banana (though haven't tried yet).

Beanie,
U are half right, my DOB is 19 jun but jayden is 19 Dec. He was 1 mth earlier via c-section. How cum u know my Bird-day huh.. heehee..??

Violetice,
this yr entering my first "30s", no more "20s"..sob sob..Youth day was like so long ago thingy...
Btw, what's the parenting course that u attended?

hi, ladies.. me having monday blues.. 9am till now still cant gather enought motivation to start work.

i started my son on the cereals already. i gave him heinz rice cereal, nestle wheat and honey .i think he prefer the nestle one better.

My mum let my son lick the apple..he jus gave that 'are-U-tryin-to-kill-me' look.. then yesterday, i gave him try a tiny bit of mashed banana and he spit it out with a 'yuck' look.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Baby Jumper Gym</font>
http://www.bjg.com.sg/programs.htm
Payment will be made directly &amp; personally to them on actual day. Is $37 per trial lesson

Mummies, we stick to 6 babies per class oki.
Here's the plan:
<font color="aa00aa">26 July (Sat), 11.00am. Follow by lunch at Mayim @ West mall.</font>
http://www.mayimfood.com/

1)Janbb (Any weekend in july, after 11.00am)
2)Evening (weekdays/sat)
3)Steph77 (Prefer last wkend in July)
4)godsent (Any weekend in july, after 11.00am)
5)violetice (Weekend)
6)Lyn78 (Any weekend in july, after 11.00am)

<font color="0000ff">Another class?? Pls indicate your preference, thanks.
1)Jacelyn
2)Serene Ng (Prefer last wkend in July )
3)Mandygoh
5)
6)

Serene - we wait for Jacelyn &amp; Mandy to reply oki. If the three of u having same time, is it ok to put u all in another class?

Any more mummies wanna join them??
I will call &amp; confirm our classes this fri.</font>

Kam, no offence to you, just personal preference bah. To me, banana cannot cos I always associate it with loose stools plus there are so many types, some 'cooling', some 'heaty' but if it's apple, think I'll be less 'ngiao'.

janBB
i read ur blog... hmmm... cos my boy is 19 jan and my bd is 19 june too... so i thot our boys shared same bd and their mummies also shared same bd....
so ur boy is 1mth older than mine.... mine too by c-section

Calling for Mei
Just realised that my hubby has mobilisation on 26 July and I'm also scheduled to work that Sat.
How? Can anyone change Aquaduck swimming trial with me? Will need to bring forward her jabs if can.

beanie
wow wow, so coincidental!! which yr are u in? me in 78. haahaa, scarely same yr somemore, then we will be "tong nian, tong yue, tong ri" ; )
U got blog to share??

Ahcapp,
Wah. So hiong.. Bet it must have been an exciting time for both of you. Since it's free size, think I cant wear liao.

BTW, you not bad..Can still pump for so long.

Kitsune,
They do delivery but I cant remember their number. Can run a search for it in the forum cos mummies always post the number.

janbb
me not so young la...
i got a secret blog which i only i blog and i read... not even my hubby... ha ha but now so lazy to blog also...

but i LOVE to read blogs...

beanie,
SECRET Blog...spying spying on u...heehee..

Yeah, i guess u r a typical Gemini like me.. love to read blog cos kpo kpo rite &amp; LAZY is very me..wanna do manny many things but lazy to complete it sometimes and are u a dreamer too?? that's my fav hobby leh..haahaa..

kitsune/kam, banana i not so angry, but tea has caffeine mah, even young children we dun let them drink rite?

I got a very funny pix to share.. my boy like saying "Tolong Tolong" stop taking pix of me!!!
1538954.jpg

My little "xiao mian yang" ?? haha ;)
1538955.jpg

wow think i am the worst mummy here. I let my boy try white bread, baby biscuits and also sesame seed

thinking of doing apple and banana puree this weekend for him to try also.

actually i sometimes give steamed fish too. but have to be 200% sure to remove all the bones .

by the way ,any of the babies started to teeth already? My little monster have 2 tiny teeth budding from his lower gums..now when he tries to bite my fingers, it hurts (for me)..keke

janbb> your baby still can sit quite well. My boy cannot sit properly yet lei, even if i prop him up with the pillows, he will still slowly slide down or topple over..

akohcp,
he will also slide after awhile but i kind of letting him to use both his hand to sit by himself so that he can hold that position better.

Re: Fish
I tried giving fish porridge &amp; he ended up got rashes all over his face. Brought him to PD &amp; he advised us to start later cos allergy to fish.
So mummies, pls dun intro too many new food in a day or week as this will help u to trace on which item is suitable for your babies easily.

Kitsune,

Sure, no problem. Thanks for sharing info. I haven't intro banana to my little one yet. I follow the book of "First Food" to decide what to intro to him.

Tried avocado last weekend. Don't know he likes it or not, because by the look, he didn't look so excited, but he finished almost 1 whole avocado!!! I bought the Braun blender at $39 and make avocado puree for my baby (and make avocado juice for ourselves at the same time, so convenient :p). This weekend will try sweet potato.

JanBB,
your darling is so cute. keke.
my son still trying hard to sit well...

wah, some of u the babies already growing teeth.. mine have not lei...

kitsune,

Combi's distributor in Singapore is Tai Sing. You can check out their outlet at 758 North Bridge Road. 62912633. Should be able to get good discount rather than buying in dept stores.

Ahcapp,
Did u mention that u r born in Yr of Snake huh? If so, just like me lah... sexy sexy lingerie...wo-oooh... *whistle whistle* I used to have sexy lingerie which i bot fm VS when I flew to US.. but nw, jus like u.. B-C cup became DD cup! It's way too big (&amp; droppy) to be sexy again! I oso became too conscious over my assets &amp; starts to dress up in black more than anything else....

Hi mummies, just to share some info from the Enfa website.

Foods for Your Baby to Avoid
Babies have different nutritional needs than grown-ups do.

It might surprise you to know that doctors advise against giving cow's milk to babies until they reach 12 months of age. There is simply too much protein and too much sodium for your infant's developing kidneys. Cow's milk provides little of the iron or vitamin C your baby needs to grow.

Doctors also advise against giving a 12-month-old low-fat milk. That's because babies need fat to support their rapid weight gain.

Feeding your baby a lot of juice or introducing it too early is also a no-no. The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends that infants only be given juice after six months of age and when they can drink from a cup. Although juice seems healthy, too much can actually stop your infant from gaining weight and reaching a normal height. Set a limit of four to six ounces of 100-percent pasteurized fruit juice a day. And, of course, make sure your baby is getting plenty of water.

Since there is so much to learn when you have a baby, we thought we'd give you a quick reference for foods you'll want to avoid.

Choking Hazards
Many foods need to be finely mashed or pureed so your baby can swallow them easily. Left whole or in chunks, these foods can get stuck in your child's windpipe, thereby blocking air from getting to the lungs. Be sure to avoid giving your baby the following:

Hot dogs, unless cut into very small pieces
Whole grapes, unless cut into very small pieces
Nuts, popcorn, snack chips
Lumps of peanut butter and spreads
Pieces of hard, raw vegetables
Hard candy or chewy candies like "gummy bears"

Allergens:
Before 8-10 months, avoid:

Cheese
Egg yolks
Meat
Soy products, with the exception of soy infant formula
Yogurt
Before 10-12 months, avoid:

Beans (cooked)
Citrus fruits
Chocolate
Cow's milk
Egg whites
Fish
Strawberries

Honey
Believe it or not, something as sweet as honey can be deadly. Honey may contain the bacteria that causes botulism. Before the age of one year, your baby's digestive system isn't developed fully to fight these bacteria.

Tea
Ironically, this beverage is definitely not your baby's cup of tea. The tannins in tea inhibit iron absorption, putting your child at risk for anemia. The caffeine in tea interferes with the absorption of calcium, critical to building strong bones.

Nitrates
Processed meats and even drinking water can contain a high concentration of chemical additives called nitrates. These nitrates may pose a potential health hazard to your little one. That's why it's important to avoid processed meats and to consider using bottled water if you're not certain about the safety of your drinking water.

Processed meats to avoid:

Bacon
Bologna
Ham
Hot dogs; also a choking hazard, unless cut into very small pieces
Sausage
Nitrate-contaminated drinking water

Added Sugar or Salt in Your Baby's Diet
Your little one has different tastes than you and doesn't need any added sugar or salt to delight his tastebuds. The less flavoring you add to his diet, the more he'll learn to enjoy the natural taste of foods.

Any recommendation for pram thats long enough? cos mine seems like too short the baby , when he's sleeping in the pram, not much space for him to space his legs..

akohcp

my bb's legs are hanging outside of e stroller all e time too. i always scare some ppl might walk past e stroller very fast n didnt see her leg hanging out at e corner.

Sigh... a month ago, my MIL gave my boy orange to eat/suck on while i wasn't looking. By the time i realise, he'd suck half of a piece of cut orange. I read before that we should not give citrus fruits until they are about 12 months old (as what Kam mentioned above). Another time, my FIL almost gave my boy the herbal soup that we were drinking. I was so angry both times, had to tell my hubby to tell them off. Now every time we go over to our ILs, i have to watch them with hawk eyes.

Salt
Any of ur PDs recommend adding salt into bb's porridge? My PD advised us to do that and i am quite puzzled by it. I asked him why and he said that they do need a little of it as it has some substance that bb needs. He carried on saying how we all think that no need to add salt, and blab on that in fact we are suppose to. Till now, I am quite reluctant to try it. Hmmm....

Btw, any of ur babies drinking Enfapro A+? I've got a discount voucher which i can post to u.

shooting_star,
Add Salt??? What kind of advice is that? My PD still reminded me not to add salt becos too much sodium is bad for their tiny kidneys. She also told me not to use too much ikan bilis (which older folks like to add to their porridge) which also contains alot of salt. Really don't think you should follow his advice.

yvonne,
ya lor, that's what he said which shocked me. It just did not sound right when he first said it, so I went to read up about it and none of the books said to add salt at all. I think it's time for me to switch PDs again. Looks like i'm becoming a serial PD changer. :p
Can any one recommend a good PD that does not have a super long queue?

superbee,
Just voted for ur gurl. So cute!

my granny-in-law tried to give my #1 some beer when he was 10m old. And they gave him soup/ meat with seasoning etc. Sometimes quite hard for me to protest coz all cooked liao.
Now that my #1 is 3yo, they hv learnt to chk with me or husband before they offer food to him. They may not know he's coughing or sick or whatever &amp; not suitable to eat certain stuff.

akohcp,

Not too worried about the Nestle cereal with honey. That should be safe for baby to take. What it meant was those wild, unprocessed honey. No worries!

SALT!!! Definitely not, a big NO NO NO for baby. Yvonne is right, it's very tuff for baby kidney to clear off the salt. Somemore, the salt that we use it's not natural salt, it's even worse!

I don't have any elderly or relative to help. So consider myself lukcy now, since no one will offer my baby food except myself and the teachers at infant care. I need to remind his teachers not to give him the ikan bilis porridge too often also. But they assure me that they never add any salt when cooking porridge.

Shooting_star,

My baby is drinking Enfapro, but I don't need a voucher, cos I get all his supply from JB :)

seems like it is so scary to leave babies with the elderly. it makes me scared cos i stay with my in laws. i cant imagine what is given to him when i am working... -_-"

my boy is 6 mths 1 week.

Just started little bit of cereal...but he dun seems to like it

think he is taking his own sweet time to take solid