(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi any mummies can advise.
My girl got a small boils on her thigh. Intially was very small and just 2days it grow double its original size. Anyone know why? Shld i bring her to see a dr.

I'm new to the forum. My baby is in Jan this year, he is 4 month plus now. Would like to check with you all

(1) Any one with a good pediatrician to recommend that live in the west? ( My boy has been going to KKH for all his doc visit and it cost quite a lot, the polyclinics are fine, but they have random docs for each visit, would like a fix doc to see my boy)

(2) My boy is still on breast milk and doesnt't feed well on bottles. Lately have been trying to switch him to bottles and he developed a new tactic to 'adapt' to bottles; he would feed very little on bottles on daytime and wait for me to come home then drink a lot when latch on, anyone's baby is like that? Any solution? Or will this go away slowly cos i do not intend to continue breastfeeding for long..

(3) when do we start baby on solid? My friend told me to dry some ikan bilis, grind to powder and add it in baby's porridge , say its a source of calcium.. anyone heard of this?

Angelsky/blackbatz/kitsune/blessedbaby
hehe...thanks for the compliment. The pic was snapped very quickly cos she only managed to sit unsupported for a few seconds before toppling sideways! Hehe

Angelsky
gwyneth can also try to sit. When u feel her back support is good, just try to let her "practice" sitting by leaning her to the front...soon when they topple over they will learn to stretch out their hands to balance themselves!

Kitsune
I was worried about her breathing ma cos I read csect babies lost that advantage of hvg gone thru the pushing process via the natural childbirth way. Aiyah some more mine is schduled one...didn't even get to go thru the labour contractions which is supposedly good cos it releases some enzymes for the bb. Well, yes she seems to be quite sturdy now but I believe her reflux/vomiting is due to her scheduled csect lo, she is technically not due to be out yet but literally ganna "yanked" out by mommy!

Blessedbaby
my gal born on 3rd Jan

how much does your darling sleep?

I noticed that my son has been sleeping lesser recently. Not sure if it's because of teething (highly suspect) or he has become active/ naughty.

I have difficulty in making him take his afternoon nap. On Fri, he didn't even sleep at all in the afternoon. =S Makes my mummy quite miserable as my son needs her attention all the time. *sigh*

At night, he needs to be fed again b4 he sleep. I have already been feeding him regularly already. He drinks milk as if he has forgotten he just drunk 2 hours ago (nearly a full feed!).

I think my son is sleeping max 10 to 12 hours a day. I read that babies at this age should sleep about 14 hours. Pls tell me that this is just a pharse that my son is going thru. I will faint if he continues to fight sleep.

joyce

I read that this teething thing can last for quite some time. =( How does your doc know your darling is teething? I can't really see teeth on my son's gums yet. But can see some whitish thingie beneath the gums.

My poor son has been chewing everything under the sun lately! *LOL* His face, mouth and hands are wet all the time. =S

AhCapp, my girl's routine:-

7am - milk feed 50 ml about 5 minutes
1030am - Wake up, play, bath, milk feed
1400pm - milk feed, sleep 30 - 45 minutes
1500pm - play, carry
1700pm - sleep 30 minutes
1800 pm - wipe down, milk feed
2100 pm - sleep 30
2200 pm - play, read book, milk feed
2330 pm - milk feed, sleep
0030 am - milk feed a little, off to lala land till next morning

I calculated average about 11 hours to about 12 hours only.

I also think she not enough sleep and also sleep very late, trying to adjust but very difficult.

My girl can grab the the mobile from the side of her bed and then put it into her mouth. Mind you, I clip the mobile with a clothes peg, she can also pull it off.

I can celebrate!!!! Change the bottle for my girl from avent to nuk and it cut her drinking time from 45 minutes to just under 10 minutes. YES!

Any mummies use NUK, wide neck or the thin bottle better? Any difference? I am using the silicon version. I was wondering if only nuk teats for nuk bottles. I bought from isetan the sale girl was telling me the bottles only a new one from pigeon is free from the BPA and that the rest like avent contain a small amount of BPA. Since my girl is drinking so well on the nuk teat, I thought to change to nuk teat, but wonder if its necessary to use the bottle from them as well.

Mylife, photos can be deceiving too? ;) No lar, Rylee still looks very sturdy to me, my gal can't even sit in that position, she plop in front immediately. ;)

I'm also curious to know, what are the symptoms of teething. My gal also drinks lesser milk. Screams in her sleep, even when I'm latching her on n she fell asleep in my arms. :p

Steph, I finally brought my bb 'swimming' at Hua Xia but didn't sign package cos dun know how often hubby will be free to bring her. Check out her photos in my blog.

Teats
RaeAnne is now 4.5months and still using Pigeon Y size teats, not sure whether to switch to L size. Anyone switched for their babies? Advice please.

08Jun(Sun) Kindermusik Trial Class #2 10AM<font color="0000ff"> presenting 13 mummies, 1 daddy &amp; 13 babies...rest of the daddies were standing outside the class busy snapping photos &amp; videos

<font color="ff0000">*Any mummies capture any better pix, pls share them here! Did any daddies video the session down? If yes, pls PM/email me ok
thk u!</font>

1475286.jpg

1475287.jpg

1475288.jpg

1475289.jpg

kitsune,

RaeAnne looks like she is having a great fun in the tub ya! She is enjoying her pamper massage too
U went to the Punggol outlet izit? We didn't sign up the massage package cos i find it too ex *DUH*. So far Zander has completed 3 sessions of swimming at Hua Xia, still 2 more to go then don't think will renew. After that, we will take him to the pool for a real dip perhaps

Steph, yup, she had fun but was thinking of bringing her for a real dip since we have the Aquaducks trial in July so didn't sign up for package. My mum saw the video we took and preferred us to bring her to Hwa Xia though cos she said the water is warm plus clean. We paid $50 in all since no package, even more exp. Hubby said $50 for the experience. Haha.

Yen
I'll be going in again soon, frequent JB at least once a week. I can help you buy, but how to pass it to u? I'm staying in East.

mylife
Rylee is so steady.. I tried putting my Tristan in that position and he always ended up kissing, *muarks muarks* his toes..

RE: Teething
I suspect Tristan is also teething, but no issues with his milk intake, 180ml/4-5hrly. I noticed that everytime we carry him, he will rest his chin on our shoulders and grind his gums. Other than that, he also puts everything he can lay his hands on into his mouth, haiz.. I was surprised when my HB told me his friend's gal grew her teeth at 4 months and now 9 months already and she has 9 teeth.

RE: Baby flipping
Tristan is getting the kick of flipping after he knew how to do so a week ago and will flip everytime he got the opportunity. But yet to master the skill to return to his back after he's tired and will scream for assistance to be returned on his back again.

RE: Baby crying
Any mummies here ever let their baby cry their lungs out? There was a day that I was home with him and busy doing things that I ignore his cry for a few mins and finish my stuffs. I noticed that he was slightly panting (after sobs) after I carried him up and he still had tears running down his cheeks.. Felt so guilty..

baby flipping

My son knows how to flip over and back. Quite naughty. Once he is on the floor, he will flip over immediately. He has started to 'reverse'. *LOL* he doesn't know how to move forward, and instead, he will reverse in a circle. Quite funny.

But this flipping over creates quite some problem for us. Because at night, he won't stay still on his back anymore. We'll put him on his back. After some time, he will flip over and sleep on his tummy.

Quite worry about SIDS. But I read that as long as he knows how to flip over and back, he will be fine.

angelysky

Ok, looks like my son isn't the only one who can survives on lesser sleep.

My son sleeps late, we are all so tried. So we try our best to get him to sleep early, eg latest by 9pm.

It takes time to change a baby's schedule. Slowly ah. =)

mei: thks for organising e Kindermusik trial yest.. finally get to mt up wif e mummies. Rayden was buzi checking out other babies instead of focus on e lesson.. hahahaaa!

mylife: our bb d.o.b e same but Rayden cant sit, i try letting him sit he will dive towards e mattress within sec.. he can flip over and back a few times. Sometimes will cry becos cant flip back.. dont kw is too tired or wat..

Hi, Mummies,

Nice to see you all on Sunday kindermusik class. I am Zoe's mum. I noticed you are talking about Ducklesson, is it for baby swim?

Actually, I just let my swim in the pool downstaire of the apartment with neck float, and she really enjoyed it except rainning day. At the same time I can swim with her together to lose a bit weight.

FYI.

ambrasia: i wanna bring Rayden to e swimmin pool too but afraid e water is too cold for him althot is baby pool but e water still not dat warm.. ur bb wear swimmin suit or juz a swim diaper?

<font color="aa00aa">Kindermusik Village Trial Class - SIGN UP</font>
thank you mummies and daddies and babies for attending both sessions of the trial. 10am is a good timing. although some mummies feedback that it was too early, it's the best time to do lesson cos' that's when bb is the most alert and can concentrate the most.

Sun 10am timeslot with Teacher Doreen, need at least 10 babies (max 12 babies).
Fees = S$23.80 x 8 lessons, + materials + gst = S$271.14

If you prefer other slots (may not be teacher doreen), you have to call up kindermusik directly to be put on their waiting list (let them know u attended trial before). Pls let me know. Tks.

<font color="aa00aa">btw, mummies who paid me cash yday for the trial, sorry ah. could u identify yourself? I can onli rem ambrasia. which other mummies???

mummies, pls share the photos u've taken, with me one (the one with Hard Rock #71!), please email me. tks!</font>

Talk about flipping, my boy can only flip to tummy or back when he's on his side...hehe.

Now I'm trying to gather information on weaning. Still got a month to go before Brien turns 6 mths and I start introducing solids but there's so much to read up on. Just bought new chopping boards, ice cube trays, strainer, etc over the weekend...hehe. Although in-laws will be giving him porridge when he "officially" starts on solids but I'm very determined to make my own purees to feed him. I think most chinese still give porridge only but I feel that not enough veggies &amp; fruits are included in this type of diet lor. So I'm keen to let him have a more "ang moh" diet when he's at home...pureed veggies, fruits, meats, etc. What about other mummies? What are your plans?

grumpus, do you stay in bishan too?

I am interested but i have never try before and dunno what size to buy

my boy should be 9 kg plus now

he was 8.6kg at 4mths. he is turning 6 mths end of this month

eRnMum,

nope dun stay in bishan but my mum's shop is in bishan so i go there quite often. if u want to order i can meet up with u there or i can pass to my mum n u can collect from her anytime.

my girl is 6kg and still wearing S. the cutting is quite big. for pampers/mamypoko the S is already tight for her but for goon the S still got room. for yr boy maybe M?

Lynn,

Yes, I let my baby wear swimming diaper only. It is necessary since she pooed once in the swimming pool, I guess the cold water stimulate her bowel movement.

I only brought her to swim if it is a sunny day, around 5 pm after her nap and 30mis after milk. First 30 seconds she will feel the cool water and sometimes even scream. but she use to the temperature very soon. I put her in the adult pool and just be with her all the time.

Show you the swimming pic.this is the first time I let her swim at home. The water was warmer.

1475996.jpg

Hi grumpus,

Will like to get a pack of M size Goon diapers to try. Can collect at Bishan. How much is it and how shall I pay you?

grumpus, you mum's shop in bishan...? where? what shop is that? mayb i can patronise...haha

i later go website see the diapers

Solid

Baby Hao Re is now 5 months 1 week. I checked with his PD and PD said it's okay to start on rice cereal. I have started rice cereal (Nestle) on him on Saturday and Sunday. 2 times on each day, each time 1 teaspoon of cereal plus milk. The 1st time, he was very excited when I gave him the first feed. But after a few spoons, he got upset, so I stopped and gave him milk instead. 2nd time, he also took in a few spoons only before getting upset. Things get much better on Sunday. He wanted more on Sunday, but don't think he can swollow well, the cereal kept coming out together with his saliva. In the evening, he finish the whole thing, and wanted more!! And almost all the cereal went into his stomach. So happy, task successfully completed!

Yvonne,

I wanted to make home-made puree for my baby as well. But I am a working mum, with no maids and no elderly to help, I can only make puree on weekends. I got a copy of the "First Food" book (recommended by someone in this forum, sorry can't remember who was that, but a big thank you, as I find the book very useful). I will continue to give my baby rice cereal only for now. And will only introduce vege and fruit purees when he turns 6 months. Certainly just porridge alone will not be enough the fulfill our baby nutrition needs. Purees is a must, in my eyes. Meats can only introduce later (forgot when, either 9 or 12 months).

Hi grumpus, how many packets do you need to meet requirements?

Think i will order one packet of GOON L...if no 2 cannot wear, number 1 wear.

just wanna give it a try first.

Any idea whether it is suitable for overnight?

eRnMum, I used this for my girl overnight, so far okay for her. She is 5.6kg, wearing S.

Kam, I have the same book, useful too

Anyone tried Frisocream? My gf says good.

cloud19

the price is $14.80 for 44pc. you can check the price from here http://www.diapers.com.sg/home.php

once there are enough orders to enjoy the free delivery i'll let you know and you can transfer $$ to my acct. when the diapers are delivered i'll let u know and we can arrange to meet or i'll pass to my mum and u can collect from her during her shop opening hours.

eRnMum
my mum's shop is in blk 502, it's a beauty salon...sure u can patronise...esp since nowadays we need regular facials to get rid of the eye bags!! haha

Goon Diapers

1. grumpus - S x 1, M x 1
2. joyce - M x 1 (self collect at whampoa)
3. cloud19 - M x 1 (collect at Bishan)

anybody else want to join? still need one more to enjoy free delivery

eRnMum,

goon definitely can last through the night. i find it the best value for money so far. i only use diapers at night and when going out. daytime i use cloth nappy.

in the morning even after 10-12 hours u dun get that wet wet, heavy feeling like with some other diapers.

blk 520 is at st 13 ah...near central?

I stay at st 24...near catholic

beauty salon ah....mayb after i finish my current package

Baby flipping

AhCapp - my son is also like your son. He can manage to flip over and back as often as he likes. As soon as I put him down, either back or tummy, he flips immediately, but he usually prefers to be on tummy, then hold up his head 90 degree to see the world better.

And yes, I agree with you, the flipping creates problems. Like what you said, he keep flippings at night. Before last week, he only flipped to sleep on the side, so I thougth that was quite good. But starting last week, he "overflip" that is he flip from back to the side, then side to head down.

I AM VERY WORRIED about SIDS!!!! Although he can flip with ease, but I am still worry that could it be he is too tired, or sleep too soundly, etc, then he won't call for help after stuffing himself for too long? So since last week, I keep woking up every hour to check on him and help him to adjust the position if necessary. Mummies, any comment on this?

High chair

I got 1 from Kiddy palace yesterday. It's the Mamalove brand, cost $159 after discount. It is convertible to become a study table and chair. It's quite sturdy, though a bit bulky. I found that he can swollow his cereal better when being put on high chair. I put him in his exersaucer and stroller for feeding cereal before I got the high chair. But also may be he learns how to eat later.

Mei,
I was one of the mummies who gave u cash yday. thks v much for organising the trial. we learnt alot during the trial tink 10am is not gd timing for my gal cos it's usually her slpg time (1st nap of the day). As u can see, she knocked out towards the end of the lesson. hahaha....

anbrasia,
ur gal look so cute wif the float. may i know whr u get the float? I bot the wetsuit fm Konfidence @ the motherhood fair yday. so intending to bring her to the pool very very soon....

Lynn,
we stay so near, u r welcome to my hse anytime - when i'm home...

Kam,
I'm also a working mum with no maid. In-laws look after my son so they can cook lunch for him during weekdays. So I intend to make purees during the weekends to feed him...make more and freeze then can also feed him the purees during weekday evenings.

I read that the risk of SIDS is reduced greatly once bb learns how to flip &amp; can control their head and body movements. They will not suffocate because they have the strength to turn their heads/body away. My son even has the strength "throw" his pillow away when it accidently lands on his face...hehe.

Yvonne,

My hubby is against frozen food. So I will only give my son fresh puree. And maybe make easy-to-prepare fruit puree, like banana, during weekdays.

My son can also move away the pillow. And he can control his head and hands well. But I am still afraid what if he plays too much during the day and get too tired that don't have energy to move, and also sleep too soundly and lazy too move. I know it should be okay, but I still can't let go of the WHAT IF!

flipping

ever since my son knws how to flip, put him on his back he will flip to his tummy, i think he really like to be on his tummy....
also worried abt SIDS but since he knw hw to flip i think shd be ok lah, he can lift his head left n right so shd be no problem ya....

About the Float on my girl's neck,

I bought it from China, taobao.com. cost about 30S$ including float and outside plastic bathtube. It is cheap but I dont think can get the same deal in Singapore. Later, I noticed it is a kind of waste to use bath tube for swimming since I can just use swimming pool in my condo. so only float is important.

I recall someone was mentioning about the Adiri bottles and there's also recent discussion about BPA-free bottles. I was going through the BP section and came across a thread selling the Adiri bottles. Just sharing in case anyone is interested.

I am using Medela bottles as it came with my pumps. I was initially quite concerned but I guess we can never be able to avoid non-BPA free totally - e.g. when bb starts solid, the spoon, bowl, sippy cup etc. I dun think they have BPA-free right? Is it advisable to use metal utensils for babies?

wow the neck float so ex??? a mummy in multiply webbie told me she bought neck float at 4.90 only leh .... at rivervale plaza

wowwwwww baby Rylee can sit!!! TT is trying to sit while holding on the baby cot side at my in laws place haha