(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i also drop a lot of hair....one more month to go and shedding should stop....6 months liao ma

yesterday i went guardian buy hair tonic that cost $100 plus leh

brought this cos on the box says recommended for after child birth...also got shampoo...but i didnt buy

didnt buy those off the shelf cos think those hair loss one is more for other reasons...so opt for that.....forgot the brand tho....its a green box.....locked in the cabinet

oh! so the shedding will stop at 6m? Good good...will look forward to it and hope i still got hair by then...haha. ok...will go guardian to take a look at the tonic

babe...my son no more cradle cap liao, but i still let him use the shampoo daily lor. His son also still dropping abit despite shaving him on his 4th mth

Babe: i put oil then comb off e cradle cap.. some of his hair came off wif it..

Hair drop: my hubby always complained my hair everywhr in e hse..

Does ur bb cry wen strangers talk abt them in e lift or at e shopping mall? my bb will cried v loud wen ppl talkin abt him...

babe,
My son have a bit, I apply baby oil for 2 days, on the 3rd day it come off by itself when I was washing his head.. but then my son head botak liaos then I realised he got the cradle cap hahaha... so come off also very easy, whole pc one..

Hair Issues

My hair also dropping a lot! So is my bb's. She used to have cradle cap, I also used baby oil and comb off before her bath and shampoo. Took a few days to remove all.

I wanna check if any mommies have checked with the PD on whether hair treatment containing "Minoxidil" are compatible for use when breast-feeding? I was given a bottle by my aunt, for hair loss. I searched on the internet, some say it's compatible with breast-feeding some say not. *confused* I have not tried using it yet.

lynn, icy and nez, my son cradle cap is quite bad. I applied olive oil and let it sit overnight and shampoo next day but no use. I even use my nails to try to flick some off but dun dare to do too hard. What kind of comb do we use?

Nez, is the shampoo effective? I abit dun wan to spend the money on such shampoo. Lazy to do the proper washdown. Now I still use water with bathform to wash my boy.

Can anyone recommend a good baby studio photographer? I want to bring bb Klarisse for a photoshoot to capture her cutest moments. Cos they will be baby once only. Dun take now very "pa sng"

anyone wanna get a carrier? Either Baby Bjorn or Ergo..? Any mommies here own either and can comment on the usefulness of each? (i search the forum liao and it seems Ergo is more popular).

hi prata queen,

i'm using the baby bjorn active now. my girl sits rather comfortably in there facing forward. I chose this partly becos it can face forward and she simply hates it when we tried to let her face inwards!

I was choosing between baby bjorn and Ergo (which has a heavier carrying capacity). Glad i choose baby bjorn instead.

re: dropping of hair

it's everywhere!!!! and i also dropped a lot! really will stopped dropping when bb reach 6m? better be else i'll go botak also..haha

the weekend is here. Been busy at work. But still actively reading here while pumping. =P

hair drop

Oh yes, my hair is still dropping. =( Alot! I wonder when will my hair drop will stop.

baby refuse to sleep

For the past week, during bedtime, my son will like like crazy. Always start to cry after we switched off the lights. For last night, my hb brought him back to the living room to join us. He stopped crying. I now suspect that when he is not tired, he doesn't want to sleep. So he cries non-stop. So anyway, last night, after feeding him at 9:30pm, he dozed off. What a big relief!

Anyone's baby always like mine? Will fight sleep till tired? =( I am still trying to get into a routine here. Looks like singing, reading books will not work, until he is tired and ready for bed lor.

milk intake

My son has been drinking like 200ml x 5 to 6 feeds per day. My supply can't cope liao. =( I think I need to intro formula faster than I though. He HATES my frozen EBM. *sob sob* mix also can taste the difference.

So anyway, how do I intro formula? Mix formula milk with EBM or just replace 1 full feed with formula milk?

mei,
looking forward to the kindermusik class this sunday also! but hubby will be going in with my girl, so i become the MAID waiting outside..hahaha

Prata_queen,

I am using baby bjorn active so far my boy enjoy sitting inside when we go shopping. Baby bjorn seem better to me but depends on individual la.

think mothercare hving discount for baby bjorn.

btw, any mummies here feel that their milk supply starting to drop. Wonder is it becos I am tired these few days or supply is dropping. I hope to breast feed my boy at least 6 months before introducing FM to him.

yep the original is selling for 148.50 now, blue color only. The others (active, air and synergy) have 10% with mothercare card which is all yr round.

Hi babe

The shampoo was given by PD whn he first started having cradle cap. After using i found his scalp is not so dry and those "dandruff" no more lor, but of cos those "dry skin" will still be there for awhile b4 loosen lah (hope u can understand wat i mean..hee) and i'll apply bb oil and use soft brush to comb.

Bought another bottle of the shampoo yesterday frm guardian n i intend to continue using it till he's older. Ok lah, one bottle like that can last for abt 4mths, so i think it's quite worth it lor since it helps, if not see him like v itchy ley...haha.

I tot baby bjorn can only last till bb is 10kg right? What's the diff with the bjorn active?

Icy/nez
I read in a baby care book not to use baby's oil for cradle crap leh...tom will dig the book out and let u all know. Supposedly will actually make it worse?

Serene
why do u think ur supply dropped? U pumped har? For me I also dunno leh cos I do direct latch...but I do notice my gal feeds shorter and more frequent...I hope I can BF her for at least one year.

VioletIce, it's $168 before 50% off. By the way, this red bag is featured in latest issue of Shape (June 08) cos we had a promotion with them.

1455722.jpg

Hi Serene,

I am wondering the same cos I also feel that my supply has dropped recently! Normally after latching my gal, I can still pump out 60-80ml but yesterday when I pump, it was almost zero both sides even tho my gal only latch on 1 side for like 15mins. Also, it's harder for my let-down to kick in now. I used to feel it every 2-3hrs but now I can't let down unless my gal sucks for a few mins. Can see that she gets frustrated when latching cos maybe no milk is coming.

I'm getting quite worried cos I hope to minimally bf my gal till 6mths, ideally 12m. But I kept telling myself not to worry, or get stressed cos it will only make it worse I think. Now I'm trying to pump after every feed or every 3-4hrly. Hopefully will pyscho my body to think that supply cannot meet demand

Is drinking the papaya soup at this stage still helpful? I heard some other mommies take fenugeek to up their supply. Any mommies tried it before?

Ahcapp

My bb' intake also increase. So I introduce her 2 times EBF and 1 time FM. This help me to worry free when I am at work. 2 weeks ago, I pumped 3 times at work (rushing like mad women ;o). Since I can store a number of BM in freezer, I decided to pump 2 times at work only, give me lesser stress. Each time about 220ml, not enough for my bb'intake during day time. I introduce FM milk alone, not mixing with my EBM. My bb is ok with it. It really depends on individual. -)

My right side breast recently got engorgement. A lot of milk this side, where my left breast has lesser milk- maybe due to mastitis last time?

re: cradle cap
my gal still having cradle cap. Initially was much worse but after using the cradle cap shampoo i got from guardian (Dentinox?), it became better. Now still got a bit so everytime my mum baths her, will use that shampoo and apply baby oil to slowly remove it. Think the cradle cap is verrrrrrry stubborn. So difficult to remove!

re: milk intake
my gal's intake never really increase, but frequency increase leh. She's back to drinking every 2hours in the day and about 3-4hours at night! Gosh...so tiring! Furthermore, we need to force her to drink in the day.. sigh. what is happening.......?

Ah capp,
I heard it's better not to mix EBM and FM coz if tbaby doesn't finish the milk, your precious EBM will go to waste! So far, my supply still can meet my gal since she's a small drinker. I'm wondering when I should stop all these pumping. Quite tired liao... but find it so wasted to stop since i worked soooo hard to get to this stage. How many times do you pump now? I pump 3 times only, but need about 25-35minutes each time. Always have to sacrifice my lunch time...

Quite funny... =P

From our little darling's point of view:

BABY DISCUSSION BOARD
Mothers STTN Discussion Thread:
Posted Feb 13 2008

OK, here's my situation. My Mommy has had me for almost 7 months. The first few months were great--I cried, she picked me up and fed me, anytime, day or night. Then something happened. Over the last few weeks, she has been trying to STTN (sleep thru the night). At first, I thought it was just a phase, but it is only getting worse. I've talked to other babies, and it seems like it's pretty common after Mommies have had us for around 6 months.

Here's the thing: these Mommies don't really need to sleep. It's just a habit. Many of them have had some 30 years to sleep--they just don't need it anymore. So I am implementing a plan. I call it the Crybaby Shuffle. It goes like this:

Night 1--cry every 3 hours until you get fed. I know, it's hard. It's hard to see your Mommy upset over your crying. Just keep reminding yourself, it's for her own good.
Night 2--cry every 2 hours until you get fed.
Night 3--every hour.

Most Mommies will start to respond more quickly after about 3 nights. Some Mommies are more alert, and may resist the change longer. These Mommies may stand in your doorway for hours, shhhh-ing. Don't give in. I cannot stress this enough: CONSISTENCY IS KEY!!

If you let her STTN (sleep through the night), just once, she will expect it every night. I KNOW IT'S HARD! But she really does not need the sleep, she is just resisting the change. If you have an especially alert Mommy, you can stop crying for about 10 minutes, just long enough for her to go back to bed and start to fall asleep. Then cry again. It WILL eventually work. My Mommy once stayed awake for 10 hours straight, so I know she can do it. Last night, I cried every hour. You just have to decide to stick to it and just go for it.

BE CONSISTENT! I cried for any reason I could come up with:
My sleep sack tickled my foot.
I felt a wrinkle under the sheet.
My mobile made a shadow on the wall.
I burped, and it tasted like pears (I hadn't eaten pears since lunch - what's up with that?)
The dog said "woof" (I should know. My Mommy reminds me of this about 20 times a day. LOL.)
Once I cried just because I liked how it sounded when it echoed on the monitor in the other room.
Too hot, too cold, just right--doesn't matter! Keep crying!!

It took awhile, but it worked. She fed me at 4am. Tomorrow night, my goal is 3:30am. You need to slowly shorten the interval between feedings in order to reset your Mommies' internal clocks.

P.S. Don't let those rubber things fool you, no matter how long you suck on them, NO milk will come out! Trust me.

Don't know what happened after using the teat for a while he start to refuse to drink milk again. Me have to keep on changing the teats again.

hi maureen,

It happened to my son yday. Turned out that there was a slit in the teat. So that's why my son kept on pushing the bottle away.

This is not the first time that an avent teat has a slit in the middle. Think I must change them out regularly after some time.

hi mcfluffy

I am currently pumping 4 times per time. 6am, 11am+, 4pm+, 10:30am+. So it's 2 times at home and 2 times at work. Same, I also pump 30min each.

Oh yes, I can understand how u feel. It's very tiring! =( I am basically dozing off during most of my pumping sessions.

What makes me stress up is my supply has already dropped a bit so sometimes I can barely make it to leave behind 4 feeds at home when I go to work. So yday, I slot in 1 more pumping session (total 5) to try to increase my supply again. Will do so for today and tmrw too. Perhaps u can try.

blessed baby

Ok, will try to follow u and mcfluffy on how to intro formula. I have a tin of enfalac ready in my shelf. But I just can't bear to open it like that =S

mylife,

Yes I pump everyday that's why I know my supply drop. Now my boy drinks 170ml per feed during his time with nanny. My concern is whether I can catch up with his intake and recently he keeps waking up in the middle of the nite.

I am thinking of starting him with cereal as he doesn't hv the tongue reflex when I tried feeding him a bit to try out.

Ahcapp,
Same here. I already gave my boy Enfalac. Eversince I came back from holidays, I stopped latching. Switched to full EBM. Less SS than before. Partly I drank less water and papaya soup and had stopped my fenugreek. However, I had a lot of SS during the trip. I don't know what happened. Probably go to pump more but no time..

Prata queen,
I'm using ergo carrier...highly recommended. My son is on the heavy side...was 8.9kg at 4mths so he should be more than 9kg now! If I carry him in the sarong sling, my back will break in 30 mins but the ergo really takes the weight off your shoulders. My hubby likes it alot becos he can use it without looking "weird". Can carry for long hours and still don't feel the strain on your back/shoulders. My boy also likes it and will usually fall asleep pretty quickly inside. Another plus point is you can piggyback your baby when they're older, can use until 2-3 years old.

One more thing, for ergo carrier, he baby is sitting whereas for baby bjorn, they are "hanging" in the carrier if I'm not wrong. So it should be more comfy for baby to be in the sitting position especially when they're getting heavier.

hi mummies, finally my acc have reactivated.

may i know what is cradle cap? is it brown brown thing like danduff?

yvonne, here is the pic of my pass down sterilizer. do u think still got hope to clean?
1456899.jpg

hi yvonne, thanks for the feedback on ergo.

I just returned from orchard road. First headed to centrepoint mothercare to try out the Baby Bjorn Original, then headed to Metro to try Ergo.

Bot Ergo in the end at $150+. One thing though, I find it difficult to fasten the clasps for Ergo. Baby Bjorn seems easier to handle if I'm alone and have only 1 free hand.

Ergo definitely takes the weight off the shoulder and that's why I bot it in the end. Hope it doesn't become another white elephant!

Paragon's nursing room is nice, clean and comfy!

By the way, baby's legs are spread wide open in the Ergo carrier. Is it comfy for baby? She's not very long and her 2 feet like barely sticking out cos it is spread so far apart.

Will taking fenugreek cause the milk to taste different? I found that when I start taking he refuse to drink milk. But latch on no problem. Last time don't have this problem leh.

blackbatz,

Everyone says that latching is easier to keep the supply stable. I can only pump. I think u can go back to latching on to see if the supply increase again.

Today left with 2 spare bottles on hand. Will start to intro formula tmrw.

Ranting about motherhood

Feeling a bit pak-chek. Decided not to join my parents for lunch tmrw as I want to spend some time at home. My mum then made noise that I should bring my son out more often. =S Who doesn't want to bring him out every day?? Mon to Fri I need to work. Sat I need to run errands. Left with Sun. If have time, it's spent either looking after him, pumping milk or doing other stuff which I have no time to do on weekdays. I am already trying my best, but time is never enough. *sigh*

N then she reminded me to cut my son's nails as he scratched her by accident recently. She is also worried that my son will scratch himself. I was like, I also know. But when I reach home after work, it's already pitch dark. N it's so difficult to cut his nails at night. Can only do so when he is asleep. N when he is asleep, I need to take my shower and then quickly pump b4 going to bed. It's like a line filled of activities are waiting for me to execute b4 I hit my bed. *phew*

N then, just now was arguing with my hb about the bedtime routine. My son is already dead tired but as soon as we put him in his cot, he will cry. My hb said must carry him until he fall asleep. I disgree as I will carry him and try again n again to put him in his cot. In the end, my son only fell asleep only after I fed him milk. *sigh* I am not being harsh here, but there is only so much which I can carry him each night. Can't be carrying him and rocking him to sleep every single night right?

Don't know why but I am really trying my best with work and being a mother. But still feel that it's never enough. Tough life man!