(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife,
Absolutely agree with you, I just break down recently because I find myself being like 7/11, open 24hrs a day. I still stress on not enough milk, not time for myself.. how to go out alone with baby etc etc.. When my boy can sleep 6-8 hrs at night, I still wake up at wee hr to pump.. else sure lumpy like rock.

icy
sorry have to laugh out loud on your 7/11 comments!! Kekekke

On a more serious note, since u r SAHM why don't u ty direct latch again? Less hassle, no need to do double work of sferilising & pumping, wash bottles etc. We r all here to cheer each other on...jiayou!!! By now ur milk ss shud be well-established liao, so if u wan u can slowly take away the midnight pumping and let ur breasts adjust to the amount tat ur bb needs (lumps = oversupply) By 3-4months, our breasts are supp to feel soft and nice liao, dats the advice given to me..since ur bb sleepg thru the nite liao, u shud get some sleep too to get u energized for the day after

hi mommies

how's everybody?? hope that all are coping well with yr little precious ones
i had been extremely busy eversince started work. tired... tired... tired!!! i miss danelle so much.. when i leave home for work in the morning she is still sleeping, when i'm back home after work she is asleep. so now, all my weekends are all reserved for her.

Sassy!! *hugz*
u went back to work?? I tot u also SAHM??? Then who is taking care of danelle? Ur new maid ah? Sidetrack abit, my fren coming to visit me in early june, I can pass ur wallet to her and u collect from her, do u wan tat?

mylife

yup, i decided to go back to the work force... if not i will go crazy stayin at home and spending money on the sprees. LOL
my new maid is taking care of danelle. great! i will go collect it from your frd then. can you pls sms me how much i owe u? thanks a million babe

Blackbatz, Yvonne, mylife, thanks for the encouragement. Left bb at ILs place tonight cos hubby will be back very late and I have massage appointment at the spa. My mum came to visit today and shun bian "kai dao" me. Told me I'm very lucky to have ILs willing to do night duty for me, most old folks wouldn't want to sacrifice their freedom and sleep etc. Told me I won't get enough rest if I want to look after BB at night plus work. Since hubby's old bedroom is so warm, ask me to buy a standing fan and put there. Stay till 11pm for final feed or until she sleeps etc.

Anyway, tonight when I went over to visit BB, can see that she also fussing when she's falling asleep. Feel a bit better but at ILs, she fusses but does not scream. Will bring back the pink bouncer that ILs use and see if it makes a difference cos tom night will be bringing her back again. :p

Kitsune,
I also stay till my boy is asleep before I go home. Before BB sleeps, they usually fuss. Anyway, you are staying near to your in laws, it's not so tiring travelling to and fro. In my personal opinion, in order to work peacefully, must really rely on parents or in-laws. You will really appreciate the helping hand especially when BB is sick / unwell. I "siam" many cranky nights because my mum took care of my boy whenever he falls sick.

Hopefully, your gal can adjust soon..

kitsune;
my bb also at my MIL place. i also scared that my bb not used to 2 houses so i super kiasu and moved in with my bb 1 mth before i went back to work. and during my maternity leave (the last month), i had the same schedule as now - bring home every thursday night. so he is used to this schedule when i started work. i had a long transition period for him.
2 weekends ago also same as your bb scream and cry the whole weekend non stop. the crying is different from his normal. also dont know what to do....

ahcapp;
with regards to pumping, i am facing the same problem as you. bz at work, supply will drop. so my plan is (and it is working);-
{i am on leave every fridays...}
thursday: pump at 8am and 2pm at work
at home, pump at 8pm and 2am = 6 hourly
same for friday, sat, sun...
on monday: pump at 8am and 4pm at work
at home, pump at 11pm = 8 hourly

everytime i pump more during weekends, my supply will climb up...so on mondays, tuesdays, wendesdays, my milk will gush out *happy* but on wednesdays and thursdays starting to drop liao so i will push the supply up again during weekends...think of it as a cycle...

recently sick so supply dropped very low...so right now weeekends can pump as frequent as 3 hourly or 5 hourly...if supply climbs up, revert backk to 6 hourly...then wait for the week to start again.

can try this if you are interested. good luck

sassy
oic...yah if I'm in sg I'll prob spend a ton on sprees too, now tat my fren comg to hk, I've also been spendg at the bp!! My mom says how come I cnfined at home still can buy things! I will let u know aft I calculate how much to pay me back.

Kitsune
Thats the spirit gal.

Violetice
erm..I've never been a big fan of kate spade but I do know the hkd-sgd exchange rate is droppg, so maybe cheaper lo. If u like, u can let me know which model I can chk the pricing here for u and u see if its cheaper than in sg cos I got a kate spade shop at the mall downstairs.

What happend if a company doesnt allow for us to pump at work huh? **sad face**

Why I also take Fenugreek but I dunt feel my ss up huh? still hard to pump out? Yesterday 2 pumps twice but only can have 120ml which is equal to 1 feed for my girl. How to have enough now??? *cry*
I am due to go back to work in 7 days.... how time flies... so blessed that my gal is taking the bottles and she can suck very well and drink very fast. At least this make me feel relief..

Happy weekend everybody!

Ah Capp, me is expressing in the bathe room in the toilet. All the while I have been standing to express.

Why not you check with the mummies what time are their going to express their milk then you go other time when they are not using. Try not to worry too much. You can do it. Just think of your baby.

blessedbaby, your company doesn't allow you to pump? If not you try to express during lunch time and before going home?

Now my boy is so talkative. He loves people talk to him and he will laugh and smile. Drink milk also must talk.

Check with all of you, beside avent bottles, what other bottles can fix to avent pump?

Maureen

I just sent in the request but just prepare for the worse situation. If I only 2 times like that would my bb have enough milk to drink huh orI have to feed her with FM as well...

feeling headache already... really dun want to go back to work... so trublesome... but still have to fulfill my contract for couple of month before i can go full time mum. *eyes rolling*

mylife,

tell me abt it man... very heartpain to feed meds so many times a day...sigh...but the crying and struggling from the silent relux is very painful to watch too...i feel so guilty now for scolding my bb cos i tot she was being naughty for refusing to drink her milk..

the prob now is my bb has 'learnt' to drink less so she will not throw up...no matter how we force or coax she just will not suck...if i add the thickener dunno whether she will start drinking more again once she feels better...

Blessedbaby, it is better to express 3 times in the office but if got no choice, 2 is ok too. At least your supply will not drop. But once you are back at home, it is better to latch on as much as you can.

slowly one by one going back to work. i consider myself lucky, working part time, can spend more time with baby yet have a chance to take a breather every now and then.

mylife/icy/QQ,
totally understand what you're going through. When i'm at home, sometimes too tired so leave the taking care of my girl to my maid, sometimes i go out to run errands for hubby, thus keeping my sanity at the same time. When i go to work for the whole day, i'll miss my girl a lot and always wish to go home earlier to see her.

My girl will sort of get "angry" with me if i'm out the whole day (my hubby say that's my interpretation), she'll not talk to me or even want to look at me when i go home initially, VERY SAD! but when i'm home most of the day, she'll be quite attached to me. So even when i think of going back to work full time, she somewhat stopped me with that attitude she's giving me.. :p

maureen;
there is a avent converter which allows you to twist it on and attach any standard neck bottle. can try the spree section?
or you can use the via cup adaptor and use via cup during pumping lor. i do that occasionally

Mylife,
No wonder I see you names all over the BP!! ha.. Buying from spree is scary. A few bucks here and there can add up to quite a fair bit.

Where are you staying in HK? Right above a highclass shopping mall?

Blackbatz,
i buy quite a number of things from sprees/bps also, in fact, most of my girl's clothes are from here! Got to keep it under control..else pok kai liao!

Luckily, boys not much choices. If not, I would really buy and buy..My family was wondering what I was doing..My brother was asking me why I got so many things to buy. #1 is happiest cos can collect parcel from postman..

ya girls a lot of choices...so cute some more..faintz! but i never shop outside for her clothes..so balance off la..kekeke (finding excuses for myself)

just came back from Metro sale. Feeling pretty good. ;P

blackbatz, pixel, maureen, blessedbaby

Thanks so much for the feedback on the pumping at work. Here is my situation at work:

There are 2 nursing rooms in my company. The first one is fully booked from morning to night. The 2nd one is free to use as long as u find it empty. But nowdays, I noticed that it's getting more and more difficult to even use the 2nd nursing room. I think there are easily 10 to 15 nursing mummies in my company! So I will borrow my colleague's extension cable and use the 3rd room, which is actually a shower room. I am fine with it, except when someone starts to shower! =S Water will start to flow thru and I think I will need to stand. I don't mind using a normal toilet cubicle, but I need a POWER POINT! *LOL* That's the cons of using an electric pump. =S

Sorry to say that I still am not able to pump within 15min. I need about 20min to 25min for 2 letdowns for both breast, even though I am using a dual pumps. Not ultra efficient, but guess that's the best I can do for now. ;)

I can only afford to pump twice in office. Once around 11am, and another one about 4 or 5pm. Since I can't confirm I can always get nursing room, I will try to check the availability whenever I can. Once it's empty, I bascially run up from level 3 to level 4 to get my stuff and go back to the nursing room.

It's difficult not to be stressed. After the 'lump' issue last sun, I bascially start to wake up at about 2am+ every night to pump again. =S Now that I see a few bottles of EBM on standby in my fridge, I can rest in peace again. *whew*

mylife, blackbatz

Oh, so the milk coming out from the mouth is normal. What a relief! My mum was complaing the no. of bibs and clothings she has to deal with every single day due to the milk! *lol* we have not decided to let my son wear a bib most of the time when he is awake ;P

mylife

exactly... dun leave the house also can spend $$$. there's 1001 things to buy for babies, esp girls. so many beautiful and cute things to buy from head to toe.

blackbatz
Ay, u see my name there means ur also "lurking" there lo! Kekeke. Yah lo, once I know my fren comg only I siao liao!! Its VERY addictive..like wat <font color="ff0000">sassy</font> said esp for gals!! I stay at Kowloon station, u know the Airport express train? It stops at tsing yi and then kowloon..now they develop the place..building a high end commercial building call ICC (Ritz Carlton gonna be on the top floor and W hotel also going to be here, so they build a shoppg mall downstairs call Elements and invite all the branded shops lo..problem is all TOO branded liao want to eat normal restaurants or cha chan teng also cannot find! When u come HK, if got time can come look for me.

today my gal siao oredi..brought her out to harbour city at tst (btw for those coming to hk, ocean terminal basement floor ALL kids stuffs, VERY nice clothes but NOT cheap!) We wantd to look for a better carrier for her cos the baby Bjorn can only carry up to 10kg. But halfway thru, she cries and cries like in pain..jus screaming her lungs out...it was so bad the salesgal all come and chk on us see wats wrong..carry her go take cab to go home also all the shoppers will turn our directions to see why she cry so loud! Mom2nat, my one not jus involved neighbours like yours liao, involved entire Tsim Sha Tsui! Really dunno wats wrong with her, 1001 reasons tired? Hungry?(I jus fed her while eating lunch) silent reflux? Wind in tummy? Overstimulate (not possible leh) I also dunno lah.

Ahhcapp
Thanks for sharing. My milk ss is back to normal now after taking fenugreek. I have to start pumping hard as my milk in the store is running off soon. Only 5 bottles in the freezer and i am back to work in a week time. Have to pump milk at night again... huhuuhuhuhuh

Working hard now!!!

blessedbaby

It's getting harder to pump at night for me now. =P I am so scared of NOT being able to wake up at night to pump that I actually camp out in the living room in my sofa so that I can wake up at about 2am to pump! *LOL*

I know I sound crazy, but once I hit my bed, I am a goner and will only wake up the next morning! ;P

Jia you my friend! =)

anyone using california baby bath products?

How are they? I am interested to get their bubble bath for my son. Wondering if the high price is worth it.

Currently, I am still using Mustela. The bottle of shower cream has been in use since day 1. Good, easy to rinse but expensive. So was thinking of switching. ;P I am also trying out pigeon, like very soapy like that. Wondering if it's bc I squeeze too much out. Woops!

mylife
Sigh... bb crying hor.. I oso dunno how. My boy oso cries like no tomorrow kind. Tat day I went library with him, he eh eh a tiny little bit, I quickly rush out of the lib liao.
My hb see him cry so badly and so hard, he ask isit we are doing something not right. He really cry until v v bad. I oso sian bringing him out, "ren" he dun cry. Cos once cry, dunno how to stop him. Nowadays breasts oso not use liao. Once i put him in tat position to feed, he yell if he not interested.
Actually hor, we are bothered by it, cos we are afraid how pple look at us, like we dunno how to be parents. Tell you ah, this one baby. When my girl was ard 2 yr old, worse!! She can lie on the floor in the shopping centre and cry!!! Did tat in NTUC, the line of counters all turn to look, next day even got fren ask me if I was the one at NTUC!!! She did tat in Metro, suntec.... When she was young, she oso cry a lot, as she grow up, more challenges. I resign to fate tat my child is not quiet kind liao.

Mom2nat
my hb too...he kept shakg his head and frustrated with bb crying, almost quarrel with him cos he is more concerned over how others view us with the crying bb (like u said we all like dunno how 2b parents) than to be concerned why his princess cryg like dat...I can bo chup pple, my motherly instincts told me shes hurtg somewhere and it pains me to see her tears rolling down her eyes and she will sobsob then every now &amp; then will cry very loudly with all her might as if to 忍 some pain

I'm so happy now cos BB fell asleep on her own.
Brought bb back from ILs place at 8pm today. MIL instructed to let her sleep when we go back and let her drink milk at 10pm. Hubby carry and pat walk around but she's more interested in her surroundings than to sleep so her eyelids are heavy. Put her down on bouncer and rock also never close her eyes, just a bit of fussing now and then. Bo bian, brought her favourite Fisher Price toys close to the bouncer and left her alone at living room so that she can play with the hanging toys. Play until 9:40pm, she started crying. Checked, she pooed a bit, so changed diaper. Put back to bouncer still crying so decided to heat up EBM to feed cos her last feed was 645pm. Drank milk, hubby carry and pat to let her burp, cry a bit. Hubby put her down on bouncer, she ok so let her play with her toys again. 10pm so I went to shower. Hubby checked on her from time to time. By the time I came out of shower at 10:20pm, hubby said she's asleep liao. He never carry or rock the bouncer. Sorry, a bit lor soh but so happy. I know that this may be a once off incident where we are so lucky but at least it means it is possible for her to sleep on her own without a screaming fit. Like to think that she's finally rewarding mummy for bringing her home at night. Hee.

Mylife, Mom2nat, my gal is a screamer with a super loud voice so when she cries outside, everybody turns to watch lor. The last time she screamed for 5-10mins at KK ENT clinic, everyone was looking at us, MIL, hubby and I don't know where to hide our faces. Give her milk she also don't want. Wanted to dig a hole to hide. :p

Mylife, my hubby is not as 'face' conscious as me but he has a bad habit of scolding my gal when she is a screaming fit. He'll say this like "cry lor, you cry lor. I'm not going to carry you. No milk for you, nothing for you, you cry lor" Sometimes, he'll even put her down on the bed when she's crying to let her cry it out. I had a good talk with him one night after he did that cos I so pek chek. I asked him why he's so impatient with our gal when he's usually such a patient person. He said something like everyone gives in to me so he must be the bad guy. Told him BB cry sure got reason especially when she's so young. If we don't know what is her need and we don't fulfil that need, just know how to scold her, what kind of parents are we? Told him if she's older and trying to throw tantrum and cry to get her way, I agree with him, he can be 'bad cop' to ignore her cries but not now.

Didn't come to the forum last night cos hubby "pa" the computer for his soccer game and I have to sleep with my two rascal. By the time, they slept, my energy level also zapped till zero.

Ahcapp
I'm using california baby body wash and shampoo for my boys. Quite good, no "dandruff". I think my boys have expensive skin. Use Johnson &amp; Johnson shampoo, all get itchy scalps. Cannot chin chai use anything.

Mylife
Ya, I was lurking at those BP section and Overseas Spree. Look at those nice things for kids, can die. Gerber hankies are good, very soft (even my mum said that it was soft, normally she says I siao)

The shoppers probably thought your gal have some injury. For my boy, if "scenary" is stationary for too long, he will screamm and cry. Then got to move his stroller. Which means I cannot stay in a shop for too long.

Mom2nat
Thought my boy was the only person who would wriggle on the floor. Until my mom said don't bring him out. I always wonder why my son likes to make life difficult for me. I alwas envy others for having kids who can behave at shopping centers. At least, he no longer "sweep" the floor at shopping mall, only at home. I always blame myself for my bad parenting.
I always remembered what my cousins told me : Must be thick skin and ignore all the stares..They went through it also.

Anybody has similar encounter? My boy is now 12 wks old...used to be able to drink up to 140 ml every 3 hours.

These two weeks, he refused to drink during the day...maybe only once or only about 80 ml every few hours. Night feeding is back to every 3 hours break.

Called and checked with PD - he said as long as he still urine and poo, should be ok. Other than that, there's nothing wrong.

Is it normal?

Ah Capp, jiayou. Can your pump use batteries?

Julie Lim, mine almost the same. Sometimes can drink 5oz, sometimes less than that. Mine is 14 weeks old.

julie and maureen

my son same, he use to can drink 160ml. nowadays alway left 1oz.... aiyo.... duno wat wrong. he alway cry after feed.... haiz.

Hi Julie,

My bb at 14 weeks also the same. Recently dun like to drink milk. Always need to distract him him toys at first then he will drink milk. Drink also very little sometime only 2.5oz. Used to be drinking 180ml but not now anymore...Mayvbe this is part of the growing up stage.

I'm starting to suspect if my gal has got the pre teething signs. Today brought her to temple, environment very peaceful.. She cried so loud, tis tmei noticed she kept flickg her ears, will be bringing herto PD tom to clear if its ear Infections instead cos I read both got same symptoms. My motherly instincts tell me she is not doing a fussing cranky cry but an "I'm in pain" cry cos it was bouts of outbursts and can see she was trying to 忍..

If its truly teething..any mommies can tell me how long these pains gonna last? I read the tooth will only erupts around 10months, so does tat means she hv to tolerate these pains until she's 10mths??!

kitsune
I also hv a talk with hubby...tks for ur suggestion.suggestions hubby by nature is NOT a patient person so its worse than urs. I hv to remind him ALL the time tat Rylee is jus a baby and baby cries. Sigh...so tiring...

blackbatz
the Gerber hankies really good ah? Wat kind of material? Is it towel-like soft or those erm...bedsheet like soft (cos both types also classified as cottons)

Mylife,
Don't know how to describe. Previously, I bought those 10 for $2 Hello Kitty/Mickey pix (like those from ladies mkt). I found them very rough till I bought those Gerber hankies, very soft and smooth, plus absorbent. I would say that they are a good buy.

blackbatz

can i check wif u ah, when u were adding thickener to yr bb milk, wouldn't that fill up their stomach more and hence end up they drink even less?? doesn't tat mean they're not getting enuff fluids?
**puzzled*

I brought my son out today for a shopping spree, first time! Everything went smoothly, but lucky got my hb around. Or else quite difficult to eat and handle my son at 1 shot. =P

Went to the foodcourt to order food. D#mn the man at the foodstall! He said "Da Jie (Big sister), what do u want to order?" Goodness me, I have been addressed as "xie jie" since goodness know when, even when I was pregnant. Since when did I upgrade myself to "da jie"??? =S

I think it's time to tidy myself up! Splurge quite a bit at Shu Uemura on Sat, buying skincare. I am slowly falling into the "yellow face woman" trap...

blackbatz

Thanks for your feedback. =) I went to get a bottle of Gerber body wash at Metro today to try try first. I will also consider california baby =) Which is your highly recommended product from CB?

Maureen

Hmm.. mine is an old old Medela PIS. Can't use battery. =( Will borrow my friend's extension cord and pump earlier b4 someone starts to shower again. Tough life..