(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

My bb boy is 3mth 2 weeks & wearing M size. I was using Drypers previously & juz bought Huggies @ $29 x 2 packs (84pcs each pack). Like it very much coz its soft & it has tis "miracle tape" dat is not sticky & wil not stick onto bb's thighs while changing.

Also, I was tinking of bringing bb for a swim. Is it safe to bring 3mths+ bb for swimming??

Chevaun is so sweet... voted liao

<font color="ff6000">my vote goes to Chevaun too

Wow...Baby Elias, Abel &amp; Deon pix also in the newborn category...must support January babies ya!</font>

Luvv,
maybe Zander can fit into M size but i still have many balance of S size MP, Goo.n &amp; pampers baby dry so intend to use finish then upgrade to M

hammies,
nope i never shave Zander's hair b4. He not much hair when born. I can't bear to shave his hair now since it's still short &amp; neat!keke

Luvv
<font color="aa00aa">Huggies Ultra seemed to last throughout the night. I haven't tried Mamy Poko yet but am considering to buy 1 pack and try. How is Pet Pet? Saw that NTUC is having sale, $35++ for 3 packs of 70/pack!</font> About 16 cents a diaper!}

Steph,
<font color="aa00aa">His temp went a bit up but went back to normal soon. Babysitter said he recognized different house, different environment so he cried. When I called her just now during lunch hour, she said he slept through and never cried at all. How ar? So worried he won't like being in his house. Headache man.</font>

JanBB
<font color="aa00aa">I want to go toy sale but need to wait for hubby or else how to carry back? I think he's scared to go toy sale with me! Haha!!</font>

<font color="119911">Aiyo, Zander and Jayden so cute, chubby leh, why my Ian not chubby? Also on Similac what. I want chubby thighs!!!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">TongTong seems to enjoy her swim hor. Oei, QQ, Ian booked TT liao hor!!! Don't anyhow matchmake her! LOL!! </font>

Hammies,
<font color="aa00aa">We shaved Ian when he was full month, he had fine hair then. Now in his 4th month, we trim his hair, hair is coarser and more now. You need evidence? Can go my blog and see the difference. LOL! </font>

i was tinkin of bringing my bb Rayden for a swim too.. any aft swim shower gel for them?

Verene: teething? so fast? heard some bb will hav fever during teething.

wow! all bb so cute! nice to see bb pics especially on Monday.

QQ,
I passed by the swimming place at HarbourFront last Sat...they have 4 tubs there and the babies seemed top enjoy themselves very much. Hubby and I also quite tempted to let Brien try out...hehe.

By the way, a huge Mothercare just opened on 3rd floor of Harbourfront centre...lots of strollers, car seats, etc.

Talking about last sat, brought Brien to Vivo City and Harbourfront Centre. We were out for 6 hours and he was in his stroller most of the time...even slept through while we were having dinner! He used to hate sitting in the stroller and would cry but I guess he sort of enjoys looking around now...so much for him to see that he kept dozing off in the stroller. At least we can bring him out for longer hours now. I used to carry him in the sling and my back nearly broke after 2 hrs. I'm secretly happy that he now looks like the "little angel sleeping inside the pram" baby...hehe.

hi experience mummy here,

i am fr May thread.Just give birth last thu, i have some question here.

my bb did latch on, but he just lathch like 10min for each breast then rest.follow by another breast.

1)he seems to latch every 1-2 hr leh, i cant tahan, coz i din sleep for whole nite, he want to suck, then sleep on my breast.

2)do i need to give FM at day time or night time?

3) what is the interval btw FM n breast?

thanx

Lynn,
No shower gel, we just dry the baby and changed him. Bring your own towel if possible. They do provide but I prefer to bring my own.

hi piggy mummy,

usu your BM flow for the 1st week is not much. dats y ur bb gets hungry v easily coz din feed enuf. initially i did supplemt wif FM until my BM comes flowing. meanwhile, do let ur bb latch on whenever possible 2 stimulate BM. mayb u can oso try express out ur BM so u'll noe how much BM u hv. my bb's feed interval was always abt 3hrs, even during the wee hrs. i oso dun get much zz during my 1st mth.

dun worry, aft 1st mth, ur bb wil slowly get into routine &amp; tries 2 zz longer in the nite. juz hang on, it'll only get better.

Me long time didn't post liao.. Busy with work and baby. Shuffling baby between mine and MIL's house. I agree with most mummies that our darlings do recognise house. Therefore, been doing the shuffling since his 2nd month. Tiring, but bo bian. If not, he'll not "kuai kuai" come back to his own house in future.

My boy is sick again. Its like once every month that I need to bring him see PD for cough and flu.. Thanks to Daddy that he kept feeling into trap of Cough and Flu.. Tired of administering medi to him very 6 hourly, but lucky thing is that he's not that diff to feed the medi. Hopefully, he'll recover in 2 days time as his cough is gone except for a bit of runny nose.

Today, we went to class at Square 2. Together with Xavier and Abel. I took Tristan's weight before the class starts and arhh...., he loss weight!!! 200gms in a week!!! Me heart pain!!

QQ
TT look so cute with that enjoyment expression on her face while swimming.. I wanna bring Tristan there also, but wait for him to fully recover from cough and flu first.. Can ask TT along also, both swimming together.. :p

blessedbaby

Not kitsune here... Mdm Rokiah used to do my massage during my confinement. She is very good, but she doesn't do massage now. But her staff (trained by her) will do the massage now. Not sure how much does her staff charge her though.

But u can contact her at 92716091. Sms her, she confirm will reply u.

Btw, the other day I got a lump. So I was trying to massage it away myself. Quite difficult to do it with my own hands (Due to the angle). So I get my hubby to massage. It really works. Perhaps u can get your hb to help u. Because when he faces u, it will be easier for him to massage the lump away for u.

what does your baby do when he/she is looked after by others?

My mum is currently looking after my son Mon to Fri. Sometimes, my mum will let my son watch a bit of children program like Barney and Friends in the day time. This will free her up to do some work.

Although my son can't concentrate on the TV program for more than 1/2hr, I am wondering if I should let my mum give him better things to do/learn in the day when i am not with him.

I can't expect my mum to read/ teach my son english as she can't read english. Also, I totally understand that she will need time to do bath/cook/rest in the day too. My son is too young to play by himself. Even when we give him a toy, he will drop it in no time. He loves it when people talk to him. But I can't possibly ask my mum to talk to him non-stop all day right? ;P

What do your babies do in the day? Perhaps can shed some light so that I can ensure my son is learning something as well as being entertained at the same time.

Thank u!

cos I am at SAHM, i think i dun want to keep too many FEBM in my fridge.. some expirying in 1 mth time.. what can I do with them?

Any mummies want it? or where can donate it? I had ard 20+ to give.

piggy mummy

tried to PM u, but you dont accept PM

With regards to your questions:

1) For the 1st few weeks, it's gonna be tough. I also rem waking up every hour to feed. Altho it's tiring, it's actually good to let baby suckle as OFTEN as he likes so that your milk flow can be established. Dont be discouraged by the amount you pumped, becos some mommies (like myself) dont react well to pumps initially before milk flow is established. At your stage, babies feed every 2hourly, and this is counted from the time u START feeding, and babies this young usually will take quite a loooong time to suckle (cos they have a tendency to fall asleep!!) Sometimes they take almost an hour to feed, so, if u start at 1pm, finish at 2pm, then it's almost time for the next feed liao! Hang in there!! Just try to rem u're giving your baby the best headstart to life with your breast milk!

2) Dont supplement with FM at such an early stage. If u can, persist in the feeding as this will increase your milk flow. Supplementing with FM will make u miss one feeding session, thus your BM will take longer to establish...vicious cycle!

3) refer to the above.

U can refer to the this website for more breastfeeding help.

www.kellymom.com

It's a very very good website...loads of helpful info. Jiayou!!

Hi Ahhcapp

Was you using Mdm Rokiah ah? -) Tks for the contact, I will contact her next week after my appointment with KKH regarding my lumps. Feel stresed when we try to pump soe milk but not much was out. -;(

How r you coping with your work and life nowsaday? I am heading back to work next Mon. Feel tired already.

Ahcapp,
Now it's exploratory stage for babies :p

They enjoy talking to people (communication)and their attention span is very short, can "dong" 20 minutes to 30 minutes only. Rattle toys, musical toys. Barney and Friends will come in very useful later. Sing songs, learn numbers and ABC. Ur boy can understand Barney liao..maybe I should let mine watch TV. I will let him lie on the play gym, he will play and talk to them for at least 20 minutes. Once he starts to fuss, it's time to bathe him. After changing, he will talk to his musical mobile.

blessedbaby

Mdm R is very good. I hope her staff is as good as her. =) Why don't u use a hot towel or hot something to apply onto the lumps. Then get your hubby to massage. I didn't think much about it, until after 5 to 10min of my hb's massage, the lump slowly goes away. Give it a try.

Work and life has been tough. Every day goes by faster than I can cope! Work is piling up but all I want to do at the end of the day is rush home to see my son. =P I am still seriously sleep deprived... *panda eyes*

Who will be looking after your darling when u return to work?

blackbatz

I don't think my son can understand Barney. I am just a bit worried if I let him watch TV at such a young age. =P Worry about his eye-sight or TV addiction mah. But aiya, really cna't expect my mum to play with him all the time. Will remind my mum to let my son lie on his play gym like your darling.

Oh yes, my son loves to walk to his musical mobile too. It's the best toy I bought for my son. =P

blessed baby, sorry, too busy at work to reply. Brought my BB from MIL house at 8+pm. Now then she fall asleep. Sigh, screaming and fussing to fall asleep again. Imagine, she's been awake since 5+pm, no wonder so frustrated.

Can anyone share tips on how to make BB sleep on their own? If she continues to be like this, I may not be able to bring her back every night anymore cos hubby has no time to do his work.

Ahcapp
Well, your mom can sing to him. But dun attend to him all the time, or else he will grow to have a habit want pple to be with him all the time, once walk away cry. Sometimes leave him alone to play with hanging toys, sometimes ask your mom to sing, sometimes on the cd for him. My #1 was v sticky to me, so end up she looks at me all the time, I hang clothes she face me, I talk to her or sing to her. Just talk and talk to them. THey learn faster. I used to let my #1 watch tv while I rush cooking or some chores... well, not tat good, but sometimes no choice lor. Just dun make it a habit, or think they will learn a lot from TV.

I bought my baby to PD yesterday...waited for almost 2 hrs. no signs of teething. the LS is caused by virus infection. the poo is slightly acidic, Javier's butt is bit red liao. he pooed too much, 7 times yesterday. watery &amp; creamy kind. tummy keep churning. so sad and worried. I took leave today to watch over him with my mum.

Verene
Hope Javier is better now

Ah Capp
I left one bag of story cum picture books to my mum. When she free she will flip and show baby. If not she will on some music for him.

QQ
The package if sign up at Punggol can use at Harbourfront?
I am thinking of going to the Punggol one on 1st.

FOX
There is a FOX warehouse sale starting today. Mummies who went, please share share what are the good buys.

Kitsune
I normally carry him till he half doze off then I quickly put him down to pat. Most of the time I off the lights till room dark dark he will turn turn his head then realised nobody to disturb then he will fall asleep.
Sometime he don't fall asleep we will amke him milk like 1oz just to warm his tummy... i guess the milk theory works well for baby &amp; adults

Thanks, beanie. We also carry her and walk around but she'll be crying and screaming for the whole time until she falls asleep. It's frustrating for her and us. Will try the milk method, also suspected she may be hungry cos when we feed her milk, she'll usually close her eyes so easier to make her sleep I guess.

Fed my BB at 2:30am and 6am today. Hubby can't help with 6am feed cos he scared he'll be late for school. So tired, drinking tea now. Heck care about the caffeine liao, cannot tahan.

Hi Luvv, Joyce, Babe,

Haha... Seems that all of your babies are in the AIA pic of week thingy.. Me and hubby have placed a vote each for you liao...Haha!! Jia you okie? One of your darlings will definatley be Pic of week! We must all support the Jan babies men!
Baby Elias is there again if you realised. haha! I just it put for fun:p But for this time we didnt vote this time round.. as we'll leaving to the public cos he has already won pic of week for last week!!

Baby Elias would like to say a "BIG" thank you to all who has voted for him

Fern

kitsune,
i'm stalking you *hee hee*

re raeanne, maybe you can try setting a routine for sleeping so that bb can learn thru association. get MIL to follow the same. for eg, use the same words "raeanne it's sleeping time", followed by swaddling, singing the same lullaby, draw the curtains, switch on air con etc.

over time, bb will know that it's time to sleep when the steps are applied so she will hopefully struggle less and fall asleep more easily. she may not be able to do without the walking / patting etc, but at least it will be without the struggling and screaming.

QQ

how much u sign for the 4in1 package? Consist of 4swim n 1 massage? Feel like bringing my Gisele go too.

My Gisele at 4months old.
1386889.jpg

I've a tin of NAN 1 HA (900g) opened on 27 Apr 08 to let go at S$25, bought it @ S$32. Self-collect @ East. Interested pls sms me @ 81887299 to deal.

My boy, Tristan only feed on it twice. Previously he was on it until I changed him to Similac as he was sick, now wants him to switch back, but he support Similac liao.

I oso agree Gisele &amp; TT look alike esp both have long beautiful tresses!!! How I envy!!! My gal boh moh one... like boy..

Bebe, I like the name Gisele.. v nice - reminds me of the supermodel Giselle who is gorgeous!

icy,

Re FEBM
i oso have plenty FEBM dated back to February. Already thrown away around 20 pks few wks ago. its difficult to donate out as others do not know ur condition or any medical issues. unless someone close n knows u well will take it... read from other thread where one mummy bath her bb with EBM n she felt bb skin is so soft after that. i intend to try but as my boy is having a lot of rashes at his neck area, will keep until he recover then try.

wendyg
weather is definitely hot... i perspire even at night while carrying and pat pat my bb to sleep @ 11pm, with fan turn on... finally gave up, turn on the aircon...

Teething
i get to know 1 new neighbour yesterday with her 10 month old girl. she told me her girl has no teeth yet, but always eh eh eh for food when she see adults eating... hmmm... babies grow differently ...

hair drop
though it is expected to have hair drop after giving birth, but it is a little too shocking to see the amount drop... my new neighbour told me to get some hair tonic n apply on. any mummies using any product?

kistune
I let my bb cries until shes tired then she will sleep on her own. Dare you do so? It will take about 12 weeks before she can get adapted to it. ;o)) Everytime, she could cry for half an hour, but we will keep quite and only pat her every 10 mins to assure her that this is time to sleep and leave her alone.

But evrytime my bb cry, my heart is really painful as she always cry out with her loudiest voice. But I do notice that she will have a sound sleep if she falls sleep on her own.

Ahhcapp

I have try to use hot compress (real hot one) but the lumps still there. Further more, I think I have blcoked ducts thats why 1 side of my breast is very tough and when I pump there is almost no milk come out.
;((
How many bottle of EBM you store before you go bac to work? I target 10-15 bottles at least so that I can have a peace of mind knowing that my bb has enough food. hehehe.
Stored quite a ot last time, but when we trained our bb to take from bottle we ended up throwing the milk away as she didnt want to consume from bottles. But now, she take it happily.
I do take Feugreek everyday and feel that the milk is up again but not as much as before. Is it normal that our milk supply is reducing as our bb growing huh??