(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mei & Mom2nat,

Thanks for sharing the bathing method.

mei,
TOYS!!! thanks for sharing this info... since it is at west side (not too far from my place), will plan to go there tomorrow afternoon. any mummies planning to go n need "tongpang"?

Metro Sales...
I've got the 20% b'day voucher to b used in month of April. can arrange to meet up n avoid the crowd to shop till drop...

Today's weather is so sleepy... bb prefer to sleep most of the day...

mei
I've tried Voxy many times and have signed package with them. So far so good but they do not have many fancy colors to choose from. But then again too many colors you will end up having problem choosing one.

Steph
Wow you mean Zander can flip liao ? so fast ! how many weeks is he now ? Tate still cant flip yet. He is 5 days short to 4mths le. And he likes to suck his thumb ! Yucks !

TO: mummies with reflux babies

can mummies with reflux babies help advise me how u manage the reflux? I know carry upright for at least 20 mins after feed and prop them up to sleep are some of them. How u prop bb up to sleep ah? Also, how old r is yr bb and do u find the reflux getting better?

my bb is 3 mths + but reflux seems to hv got worse over the last 2wks although PD said she should be growing out of it by now. She was on anti reflux meds for 10 days, at first seem like getting better but towards the end of the 10 days like back to square one.

for mummies whose bb was on anti reflux meds, how long did u hv to give them the meds b4 they were better...anything different u did to help the reflux??

my bb now doesn't want to drink much milk and her weight gain has dropped drastically....dr wants me to add rice cereal to my BM to 'thicken' it so it won't come up as easily...which i am very reluctant to do so...

mom2nat
i guess i hv to try n see how. like vio, if i try to make my girl sleep after 2 hrs, she will eye wide wide stare at me, or worse, cry cos i hold her in he cradle position!

babies are so delicate. too much sleep cannot, too little, oso cannot. aaargh! wanna tear my hair out sometimes

Just came back from PD visit cos my baby gal has diarrhoea 3 times in 1 hr in school. The teachers called me up at 4pm and asked me to bring her to doc. Guess what the reason that causes it - the teachers feed her EBM which they have taken out from the fridge for more than one hr!! I am so angry with them. make my gal suffer becos of their mistake. nw my baby has to take medicine becos of them. my poor gal..

my gal also have reflux prob since birth and it seems to get worse these few days. she is abt 3 and 1/2 mths old. jus got some medicine from the PD today. will try out whether is it good. she always throw out her milk or refuses to drink her milk. not gaining much weight too. today i weigh her in clinic, only 5.7kg.

shannonbaby
How come can't drink EBM tat has been taken out for more than 1 hour? I give leh. I tot EBM can be put outside for a few hours??

Grumps,
My #1, premmie, had the same problem and very severe. Couldn't remember how he got out of it, probably when he was 6mths. The other alternative (prescribed by PD) is to add a "thickener" to the milk which is available at the pharmacy / supermarkets. I think it's called "Thickener" too. This will make the milk "stick" to the intestine for absorption, thus reducing reflux and increase in weight.

It will take some time for babies to grow out of it. What's your misgiving about adding cereal to the milk? I thought that you're worried about your baby's weight gain.

Brought my gal back earlier today, thought can avoid a screaming session since she was just fed 1 hr ago and not time for her nap yet. True enough, she was happy and played with us for a while but she started screaming at 9pm again. Heat up EBM, refuse to drink, let her suckle also cry. Hubby carry and pat her, walk around the house also inconsolable. Hubby also impatient liao. Bo bian, let her latch on again, this time willing to take breast, after 5 mins, 'pian' her with the milk bottle and she finished nearly 80ml. Happy for a short while more then started crying again, found out that she pooed, changed diaper and wiped her. Tried to put her to sleep, she screamed non stop again, tried to latch on but this time didn't work but she cried until she keep panting and choking. Hubby carried and pat her for nearly half an hour before she finally fell asleep on his shoulders.

Blackbatz, I tried the old wives tale many times but it doesn't work leh. Honestly, I'm starting to be a bit scared about this 2 house arrangement. Last time, even when my ILs not free and we look after on our own on weekends still not so bad. If I really leave her at ILs place from Mon - Fri, Fri night when I bring back, I'll die. Wish ILs can look after BB at my house instead but know it's a selfish request, alternatively, we can move over to ILs place but hubby's old room is very small and only has 1 single bed. Sigh, don't know what to do. Lack of sleep also affecting my SS, pumped only 80ml at 7:30am and 11:30am today. :p

Kitsune,
It will take some time for BB to settle into such an arrangement. My advise is not to be too bothered by the milk supply. What about those babies who are cared for by nannies? I'm sure their mummies face the same problems like you. Give BB sometime to get used to the travelling. Besides, BB may be used to latching. Sometimes, when BB "mang zhan". Anything also cannot.

My job is the same as your hubby, no way can I "tahan" disturbed sleep. Next day, sure die..Why would you die when you bring her back on Friday night? BB will also be used to it.

Mei,
Nailspa at Grandplaza Hotel

There's one just outside the hotel building. One of the shops that faces Excelsior hotel. Can see traffic junction.Can't remember the name of the shop. You can call the hotel to ask.

Blackbatz, so who looks after your bb? Actually, so far, she only stayed 2 consecutive nights at ILs place, Sun night and Mon night, brought her back from Tues night till tonight so 3 nights liao. If like that, she also not used to it, if Sun - Thurs, she sleep there, Fri night I bring back sure die cos she'll be even more not used to it. Actually, all the night feeds I've been doing cos hubby is a heavy sleeper and sleeps through baby's cries until I wake him up. So actually, if I'm willing to tahan, it's possible to bring baby back every night but it's tiring and frustrating without hubby's support for sure. :p

Blackbatz,

thanks for sharing!! will try and look into this thickener thing...
i'm worried abt my bb's weight gain but at the same time i'm not sure abt the cereal cos cereal is really meant for older babies...worried it stress out her delicate digestive system even more

Kitsune,
My mum and dad helps me to look after them. Give your gal a few weeks to adapt to the environment. Once baby is used to the travelling, they should not have any problem.

Most man are heavy sleeper, mine won't even be able to wake when BB cries loudly. Actually, I was quite lucky. My mum took care of my #1 whole night, using her own method, so she won't have to wake up for night feed. #1 premmie, my mum was worried that he would stop breathing at night, so she would wake up to check on him.

Grumpus,
Thickener is also used to feed old folks with intestine problems. Rice cereal can start from 4 mth onwards (labelled on Frisocream).

last nite my girl really tekan me. woke up at 1.30am, 3.30am, 4.30am, then finally at 7am.

let her latch, then she drink little bit n fall asleep. so i dont think she's hungry.

what's goin on?!?!

mom2nat,

cos my gal drank 50ml at 1230pm then refuse to drink. so the teacher gives her the balance at 1330pm again. she has already touched the milk so cant keep for more than an hr. thats why in the end she gana diarrhoea. i had already told them to throw away any milk that she cant finish. dunno why they jus cant understand such a simple instruction. last mth, they even feed my gal the same bottle of milk which she cant finish earlier on 2 hr after. i got a shocked when i know it. the milk would have spoilt liaos since she has already drank half 2hr earlier.
today going to school to complain to the head of the school!

Hi, mummies.

Another "panda" mummy here..... So lack of sleep.. Not used to working full day & looking after baby at night. So far, my girl did not fuss too much. But my MIL said she refused to sleep in the day!! When I was on ML, my girl took afternoon naps... so dun know why she refuse now. Maybe different env.

After work when I go to fetch her, she was always sleeping. Realized that HB & I had little time to interact with her. So sad. Then in the middle of night, she still wakes up once for milk. But by then, I was soooooo tired & most of the time, my eyes were closed when feeding her!!! Felt so bad!

what kind of fish we buy to cook papaya soup huh? my MIL bought me for and now want to buy some more by myself to eat to help increase my milk ss. need help urgent! Thanks

Grumpus,
My boy is now 3 mths plus but his reflux was very bad after he turned 1 mth. I gave him Zantac and ridwind and substituted his formula with Friso Comfort. He was on Friso Gold and was taking 120ml then, so I substituted half with Friso Comfort as per PD's advice. When his condition started to improve, I slowly cut down on his ridwind and also substituted only 1 scoop of formula with Friso Comfort. I continued with Friso Comfort until he was 3 mths. Now he's on regular Friso formula and so far his reflux has not returned.

Another method which not all mummies all willing to try - let bb sleep on tummy. I'm not sure if it's a coincidence or what but my boy's reflux started to improve after I let him sleep on side or tummy. That time I resorted to let him sleep on tummy becos he had alot of rashes on his neck which took a long time to heal. Then we realised he could sleep much better as compared to sleeping on his back.

michelle, mine has always been like that...I am so sian that nightly still have to wake up 3hly to feed..now I give up juz latch n I go to sleep. Sometimes wake up my nipple still in her mouth after 1-1.5h since I latch..haha...I am really lazy..mine last night slept 9.30pm and woke 1am, then 3.50am then 5.50am...

Kitsune,
Does your in-laws have any particular bedtime routine with your girl? Try to follow what they do before her bedtime so she doesn't feel so "different" from her usual days. If they carry her to sleep or pat pat her in a certain way, try to do exactly the same thing. It also pays to give her "ample warning"...keep telling her that she'll be going home tonight so she must be a good girl and not cry. It will be frustrating in the beginning but have to let her get used to it otherwise it will be a struggle for both of you to start trying again.

violetice hahaha I wanna share with my contact ur handsome Ian .... he so handsome *muacks*

eh mei u can do before hand like on Sat need not on that day wor ... somemore u jie mei .... till she go hotel u follow rite ... then only a few hrs left .. very rush de

Sorry to intrude. I’ve a couple of Enfalac HA (400g) brand new tins for sale at $16 each as my child has gone onto his Step 2 formula. Price negotiable if buy more than 1 tin.

Also have 1 tin each of Similac Step 2 and Mamil Gold Step 2 for sale. Each tin is 400g. Asking price for each is $6. interested, pls PM me. thanks!

mom2nat,
milk left outside cannot be left too long. u know sg weather lah. even if it's kept in cooler bag, max is 4 hrs.

chermaine,
wanna tompang u for the toys leh. but hor, i can tell u by the time u there, u will be busily grabbing toys for ur own! haha. no hands to tompang for other mummies one. cos' toooooo many liao! haha...

blackbatz,
tks for the info! will call up hotel later to ask. have u tried???

QQ,
me doing my rough hands and rough-peeling feet on sat. but hor i called leh. boh slot. i booked a slot at fave nails citylink but hor, when i called hor, the staff already sound so "pushy" over phone. cannot imagine if i'm physically there. *faint*

QQ,
so TT want who? Handsome Ian or yao-dao Zander?? cannot san xing liang yi hor. haahaaaa

michelle,
did u give ur bb a warm bath in the night? try warm bath and a short bb massage and on some soft music. bb would feel better. she may feel insecured.

Toys Sale
I'm also thinking of going for the toys sale to get some Fisher-price toys for my baby. But still thinking about it cos Jurong is so far for me!

Can those mommies who have gone, kindly share if it's worth going? Thanks!

Yvonne,

Thanks for the advise!! I'm currently feeding my bb full EBM, but will consider substituting half with Friso Comfort...better than cereal which is meant for older babies huh..

how long was yr bb on Zantac for??

I'm willing to let my bb sleep on her side or tummy prob is if put on her side she tend to struggle and flip back onto her back herself...on tummy even worse..she will struggle and scream for us to get her out of that position..

hmmm maybe muz wait until she's really asleep and somehow put her down gently on her tummy...

rachel (jsmommy)

my girl also drool often, she also suck her thumbs. Even when drinking milk :S i always have to pull her hand out.

My girl can flip n lift up head already, now seems like trying to move but can only shift a little bit then she will make noise liao.

mei, hmmmmm how abt suntec .... i kw there is one mani pedi shop opp topshop .... that one like not bad oso heehee .....

zander handsome Ian oso handsome leh hahahahah both oso want hiak hiak

grumpus,
Initially I gave my boy zantac for 3-4 days then I stopped but all the "crying & arching backwards" came back so when I went back to PD, she told me it's safe to give him zantac continuously until his condition improves. So instead of twice a day I slowly cut down to once a day...I think that bottle lasted him for about 3 weeks?

grumpus,
If your bb doesn't want to sleep on tummy then let her sleep on her back but prop up mattress slightly. For me, I survived that period by letting my boy sleep in the stroller...day and night!

grumpus
Rylee got reflux since birth. But her reflux getting better liao...she was recently put on meds (Losec) by my PD in HK. Basically, i tilt her cot mattress up and also hold her upright after feed. For tilting of mattress, u can take a towel, roll it and place beneath the cot mattress.

steph
yes, SAHM can witness all the developmental milestones, BUT no one can hear us scream when we're alone at home with baby. It can be quite boring and challenging esp when baby is cranky and u have no help. Talking baby talk to baby can be cute for only X no of times. Haha...sometimes i do crave "intelligent adult conversations". Dats why i think both SAHM and WM (working moms) also have its pros and cons. As for the pillow, i rem my PD back in SG warned me dont give babies sleep on pillows, not even those with holes in it. My PD in HK just ask me to use either bolster or roll a towel and tilt baby to the direction u wan her to. So, every night aft i nursed her to sleep, when i place her down to the cot, i will place her strategically such as the bolster is tilting her, voila, she turns to the right lo.

yvonne
sleep on tummy for reflux babies? wont the pressure on the tummy make it worse? *scratch head*

kitsune
*BIG HUGZ* We all go thru this...jus try to take deep breath and remind yourself THIS WILL COME TO PASS. As Blackbatz say perhaps they're not used to it...give her some time, im sure she will adapt.

Re: Toy Sale
My cousin just went and she said really got good buys, especially for Fisherprice toys! But the thing is how to bring baby there as they said it's chaotic and very dusty. Sighz

yvonne and mylife,

thanks so much for your all yr advise. sigh...why everyone's bb reflux getting better but mine getting worse...

my bb was on zantac the last 10 days now switched to losec. PD said losec is stronger...now trying to feed her smaller meals more frequently..hope it works

babe
OMG.. and you are still able to laugh when ur baby wakes up so often during the nite? i salute u man.. i'm goin crazy! now i dread going to bed at nite cos i know she will keep waking up and i wont be getting any sleep
i think she is getting too attached to my nipple n using it like a pacifier. she refuses to take the real pacifier - each time i remove my nipple fr her mouth she wake up n get angry. then she continue to suck, then drink milk, then become too full, then cannot sleep cos tummy uncomfortable, then cry, then vomit! then after that wanna suck again.... vicious cycle. i wanna faint.

mei
i oredi giving her warm baths just b4 she sleeps and play soft music for her. doesnt work...

is this reflux?

I noticed my son has this problem for the past few weeks. Even after burping and holding him up-right for a while after feeding, he will slowly have 1 or 2 small puddle of milk coming out from his mouth. Not a lot, just a tiny mouthful here n there. Not sure if it's because I didn't hold him upright enough or is it he is moving about too much after feeding.

is this reflux??

maureen

I started taking fenugreek after the lump 'issue' last Sun. With my hb's help, I managed to clear the lump after a few days. My boobs are back to normal, ie can be jelly soft after pumping and massaging. Thank goodness!

I took max 4 fenugreek capsules each day, but only for 2 days straight in a row. Supply did increased and goes back to normal. What a relief! But I stopped taking now.

It's getting harder to pump at work now. Another mummy has just came back. I only managed to pump ONCE at work today at about 12:30pm! =( In the end, I rushed back home and started my pumping at 7pm+.

I am still not used to the loud noise in the nursing rooms. The nursing rooms share the same toilet as the gym shower cubicles. =S Sometimes, the nursings rooms are soo packed that I actually sat on the floor inside 1 empty shower cubicle and pumped. But I have to pump when the water from someone's hot shower came thru. =S

Every day is a mad rush. I just can't get rid of the worry I have every day. Can't find nursing room, milk supply drops etc. Guess I am still trying to cope with pumping at work now. =P

michelle, there's nothing I can do lehz...dunno y he doesn't sleep thru. I even give 130ml in bottle one night 8pm and latch, he still wake up at 1plus-2am and next at 5am. My #1 slept thru like 1 mth plus or 2mths..so u can see for this one it's a torture to me who needs 8h sleep. That's y now I can't be bothered especially if tired, juz carry onto bed and latch while I sleep. Too tired to try to pat him to sleep without feeding. I know it's not a good practice but sometimes really can't tahan to sit up and feed.

Ah Capp, u pump once a day at office still can have enough supply ah! Pei Fu...When I had #1, pump 2-3x in office still not enough to meet her needs. At 4m, she could drink 160-180ml 3hly...

ahcapp
that is not reflux lah. What your bb is doing is merely what they call posetting, which is VERY normal for babies, cos sometimes when bb eat too full, they will "wisely" spit up a bit. Reflux, on the other hand is vomiting COPIOUS amount of milk, and forcefully, like merlion/water fountain.

michelle
u just have to self console yourself that u have a VERY intelligent baby in your hands, haha. Sorry, didnt mean to offend, jus trying to console u.
Tell yourself this mantra (which i find myself doing all the time when my gal cries!!) <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">THIS WILL COME TO PASS!!</font></font>

grumpus
Losec is stronger ah? Frankly i very heartpain when feeding her meds daily. Now left only 3more days worth of meds to go. Hopefully it wont return. But i tell myself, better this than to see her cry due to the silent acid reflux burning her oesophagus.

Ahcapp,
Reflux = feed 1 bottle but baby regurgitate 1/2 bottle. Yours is normal, most babies will have a small puddle of milk coming out of the mouth even after burping. Now you can imagine why grumpus is so worried cos her BB is only taking 50% of requirment.

Inspite of the "competition" for the nursing rooms, you are still able to meet BB's demand. Your SS is superb ah..

Enjoy weekend cos it's also another madcap weekend.

Grumpus,
Forgot to tell you. My hubby used to carry my #1 sit upright and walk around the house for 40 minutes after every feed. I added the thickener to my EBM.

QQ
It's a different story when u're on the other side...WM always see SAHM and think we have it better, but at times, SAHM also wish they can get away awhile and have some adults conversation. I am NOT saying i'm not happy being a SAHM, but i read this book on Post Natal Depression - At Home, No One Can Hear You Scream...which literally describe my situation to a T. I can joke now, but will feel helpless, bored, sad, gancheong, worried, panic, anxious at very different time of the day. Jus trying to take one day at a time now.