(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mom2nat,
#1 in K1. Got home work every Friday. On weekdays, I will go through his Kite readers, phonics, penmanship etc. plus reading story together. This will take up about 1 plus hour. He is not the automatic type, so must sit with him.

I agree with your statement : "no one to really relieve me from #2 on weekdays"..Sometimes, my mum is so busy with the cooking. My new maid can't cook, so she can't relieve my mum. She takes longer time to do her work cos she is not familiar.

If #1 throw tantrums and #2 happens to be awake, I will just close the door and pray that the din will go away soon. Then, #1 also don't like the new maid, will try to find fault with her. Sigh..No reason cry and cry..I can go crazy.

mylife wow good leh ... mine wake up one time for fedding ..... consider ok liao heehee cos sometimes she sleep at 9+ to 4+ then wake up for milk.

mom2nat i saw mothercare selling milk bag .....

wendy
we were actually carryg her upright yhtu out her cries, also tried hugging her close to my body, near my heart to shhhh her, cradling her, chg pple from me to hubby to my mom, nothing works! She just contd to cry louder! Last time we also tot overstimulation, but today we didn't bring her out and daytime I didn't to much activities with her.:.so I'm VERY puzzled lo.

QQ
got la...there, me now wake up for 1 feed lo..but yes, to me 1feed is good enuff cos I still rem the early days, I only got 2-3hrs of sleep broke into 15mins each time!

Mom2nat,

My baby used to have the same cries as what you describe especially from 6pm - 9pm. Can rem it really causing me some distress that time cos' dunno what he actually wants. I checked with my PD, he said is evening colic. Is very common for baby at 3-4 mth. He gave me colic drop. So far, i only feed him 2 times. He seemed to quiet down after a week later. Mayb u can check with your PD on this?

mylife,
I don't swaddle my gal since she's slightly more than 1mth. she doesn't like to be swaddled. will keep making a lot of noise and she'll struggle until the blanket will be out of her limps in no time. so now jus let her wear sleeper suit to bed. jus put a pillow over her tummy.

mylife,
Sometimes my boy will also cry like that...for him it means he wants to sleep...NOW! If he hasn't had his last feed I will give it to him. Otherwise, I will carry him lying down with his head close to my chest and pat his backside...must pat hard hard and stuff the pacifier into his mouth. He will continue to struggle for a few seconds but once he starts to suck on the pacifier, he will close his eyes and go to sleep immediately! For him, I guess he's too tired from playing and talking to us. Can't really explain why but this method always works for me but only me lah...if my hubby carry him this way he will cry even louder...hehe.

mylife,

Did u try to burp your baby after milk? Try to put her in sitting position longer even after she burp. Maybe stomach got too much wind & causing her uncomfortable?

mylife,
Must also add that sometimes they are just throwing tantrums...I will tell my boy in a very firm and stern voice "Don't throw tantrums and stop behaving this way! Mummy will stop carrying you if you continue your nonsense!" Usually it works for me...he knows I'm angry and he knows I will really do what I say.

You may think they are too young to be scolded but for me I don't believe in giving in to their nonsense even though they are just 3mths old. My son will know from the tone of our voice and he will start to behave and stop screaming..although still cry a bit but will not be those hysterical kind of crying lah.

Godsent: let mi kw how many packs u wanna order?

Icy: watz e website for Pasir Ris mummies?

will order 11packs for free delivery.. i need 5packs.

janbb
3-4mth still got colic meh? I tot only before 3mth? Do u feed only when bb cries or whole day long? Yes we always burp her

Godsent
ur bb doesn't smack herself awake ah? Mine does if we don't swaddle her...so bo pian

Yvonne
at first I also tot its tantrum, but no use, scold oredi also scream.
Her looks like in pain. Like yday don't tink its tired also leh cos she jus had a nap from 540pm to about 630pm leh. When she's tired, usually she will whimper, make noise then escalate rite? This one like suddenly sit there ok-ok one then suddenly explode and inconsolable liao

Bottle feedings:

Just to share.

I also got the same problem with some mothers that is due to go back to work force soon and my bb rejects the bottle everytimewe try to feed her! Until I feel very tired and dicided not to try anymore, and wait for the day to come..

Suddenly last week, I was attacked by high fever (almost 41 degree). I feel hot and chilled at the same time (can you imagine?). I could not feed my bb by direct latching as i didnt know whats wrong with me. Out of blue i got this symtom. My right breast was so paintful and hard, inflammed. I didnt know until I went to hospital for check next day and found out that my breast was infected (breast mastitis) that coz me having high fever on and off anytime my breast is full and got lumps. This was coz by my milk was oversupplied than what my bb could take. That she didnt "help" me to empty the breast each feeding and i didnt know that I should pump it out...
Dr gave me some anibiotics medicines, and i have to take it regularly. Unfortunately, this medicine by somehow slower my milk supply and make me feel frustrated as my bb needs to eat more frequent because she doesnt have enough milk to eat each time. (this stress me as i always have more than enough to feed my bb and also can pump a bit out if i was a hardworking mother. :eek:)

I and my husband try to feed her with bottle, she refused it.

Until last 2 days, i and my hubby dicided to feed bb with 1 side of my infected breast (to reduce swelling and soreness)and then bottle feed her. How wonderful the plan. She turns out that she enjoys the milk very much and keep opening her mouth for us to put bottle in.

It takes her 20 mins to finish 40ml of EBM.

So, maybe you can try to feed your bb with 1 side of your breast and then some bottle feedings to get your bb to get use to it before letting her/him exclusively bottle feedings??

Just my own opinion. Thanks for reading. Hope it work well for you by anyway. ;-)

mylife,
For my boy, sometimes he also ok ok then suddenly cry loud loud but it's always becos he wants to sleep.

Hmmm...I remember you stay on the 70th floor right? Is it causing Rylee some discomfort in her ears? Dunno whether higher altitude also cause discomfort in her nose eg. difficult to breath, blocked nose, etc??? Just trying to brainstorm some possible reasons that's causing her pain.

hi lyn,
saw u at the PR thread, can sms me if u decided to order with them or on ur own. My going to crash soon, auto-shut down every 5-10 mins so I cant be online all the time.. anywhere u ordered, can just help me includes 3packs of the $8.20? Thanks!!

<font color="aa00aa">Kindermusik Our Village Trial Class</font> - dd-June-08 @ Sun @ 10am @ Tanglin Mall @ Teacher Doreen http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/curricula_village.htm
Mummies keen to sign up, PM me the nec details below so that I can capture in the my excel file first.
Mummy's Full Name :
Mummy's Contact (HP/Email) :
Child's Full Name :
Child's Date of Birth :

<font color="aa00aa">Umbilical Cord &amp; Name Seal</font> http://www.babeszone.com.sg/umbilical_cord.htm
Seller is giving discount if hit min 5 seals.
01. Mei x2
02. C S x1

<font color="aa00aa">Lingenius CDs or DVDs</font> eg. Baby Signing and Nursery Rhymes http://www.lingenius.com/index.php
Seller giving >10% discount if hit $150 and above. Delivery self-collect at CBD/Raffles Place/City Hall or postage (to be paid by buyer).
01. Mei x1 of http://www.lingenius.com/product_info.php?products_id=746
02. Goodbbb x1 of http://www.lingenius.com/product_info.php?products_id=746

blessedbaby
I had mastits 3 times for my #1. For #2, I gana blocked ducts many times and blister at a particular spot. I got a Lactation consultant come to my house to check for me. Then she told me to use football hold so clear tat block part. It works. Since your baby is taking bottle, though drinking little, tats ok, just try. Mine totally refuse. Now lagi best, new pattern... only want left breast, cos right side let down too fast!!! End up I have to pump one side. Wah piang!!

Janbb
At 6 weeks checkup, he gave ridwind for colic, no use. so now he give for reflux. Still like tat. I have to "dong" until next fri go back and ask him again.

I dunno isit he get"scared" cos one day a motorbike went past, VERY loud, and Elliot screamed in high pitch waking himself up! Now i dunno isi "xia dao"... sigh...

mylife
Elliot is taking Motilium and Zantac. He can be a happy baby, all of a sudden really scream at high pitch. DUnno why! He has different cries, when he wants to drink, he give tat sniffing sound and cry. When he is grumpy, he will make " yeh yah ay yo yeh ay oh..." grumbling kind of sound. But the screams are distinct. Really arch back, stiffen up, head wet, face red, perspiring all over, neighbours can hear kind. Doc told me could be reflux, cos my #1 had such traits, and he say usually it runs in the family! I think I dare not have #3. Usually when he cries like tat, we wil take v long to cool him down then feed him. Or my mom will pat him, she got the patience, I will get pek chek with his struggling.

I swaddle him ah. If he din protest then it's easier. If he protest, I need to feed, then swaddle while he drowsy, then feed again to make him zzzzzzz....

QQ
Hmmm... I must have missed it, I went mothercare to buy nursing bras tat day again.

Blackbatz
Hahah... so funny, you close door and pray it goes away!! I wish I can do tat, but I bet my mil will carry my boy and stand outside my door.
My girl has been getting a lot of attention from us, imagine I SAHM, all my time for her, cos I have maid to do housework. (hee.. dun say the time I spend on the computer lah) She wants us to play and read to her lor... She more zi dong than us, always wan to take books and those workbooks, wan to do.. we always tolong... say go and play your toys yourself. So mean hor.

Mom2nat,
My #1 can cry until he tear down the whole house. My maid will carry on with her work (cos she doesn't know how to pacify him), my mum will be busy cooking in the kitchen. My dad will go downstairs for a walk (ta bu le tahan). So I can only close the door and pray..

Ya..the toys!! Bring out and insists that we play. Somemore, always at the wrong time..Like you, always got to tell him to play by himself.

Football hold is not easy to master. I always find the position very awkward.

Did you do a search on the WTS section for the milkbags? Maybe some mummies have extra to sell. I remember Kitsune and Ahcapp bought from someone in our Jan group.

Mom2nat

This morning, my gal drunk 80ml from bottle in 15 mins and she wants some more- so i offered her my 2 breasts and she drunk for another 30 mins more! She is a big eater these few days- wondering if she has got a growth spurt again???!!!! I am so happy now. Shes getting used to bottle- less worried for me. I am using Avent teat #2 for her. ;-)

I am using hot compress method to kill all the lumps in my breast. It works slowly. Everyday, I do about 10 times- and feel good when we press on the lump with boiled hot water. My lumps are getting better- hope it go away soon. At least, I can lift myself up. Last few days, I feel like having a big stone in my right breast- couldnt lie down, couldn't turn around, etc... now much better eventhough i still feel heavy there..

My girl only like to lie down and drink milk (side way). If happen that we go out, she only agree to take 1 side of my breast using cuddle hold- result was that other breast gets engorgement! -o((

At least, i now solve the prob with bottle for my bb. hehehheeh
tot- everthing happens for good purpose huh??

QQ: where are photos of the gathering huh? -o))) can share online for us?? Tks

Just to add in, This morning, I fed my bb with bottle first then if she still wants more milk, then i offered my breast.

Looks like shes getting to the bottle! Big improvement....

;-)))

Lyn/Icy, is it too late to add in my order? I want 3 packs of Pigeon wet wipes ($8.20) too.

Milkbags, I bought Lasinoh milkbags from PixiePixel and Playtex ones from Xiaoyun (Feb MTB).

blessedbaby
Wah, you lucky solve the prob with bottles. How I wish I could too.. Now worse, dunno why my boy dun wanna feed today, kept crying, prob tired. Wan to suck his hands only. Sigh...
If you have your breast hard like stone, means real bad liao leh. Next time you dun pump out so much, so wont have over ss. Dun always clear the breasts, cos the more you clear and the faster you clear, the more you will produce.
How old is your girl?

Blackbatz
Right now, both dun wan to nap, you say can go crazy or not!! Sometimes I find #1 poor thing, wants pple to play, no one to entertain her. Oso can't play too loud or didi wake up, cry. Sigh... I am guilty to take it on #1 oso. Cos she will "fan" us at the wrong time lor. And when you in a hurry or no more patience, sure shoo her off or scold her.

My hb ask me abt #3, I say project terminated.

Mom2nat, I bought 2 boxes of Lasinoh only but if you really want, I can let go of 1 cos I realised after starting work and pumping every 4 hrs that I dun have much extra milk to store. But pixie might have more if you want to get from her directly. Hee.

hi!
myself: 5xpack
Godsent: 4xpacks
Icy: 4xpacks

currently placed my order but oos, stock arrive mid May only.

kitsune: i can still add ur order..

Lynn
Can I take 3 packs? Tks.

Kitsune
I dun need tat many bags, I just tot storing some milk, cos now i pumping, my boy only wan to drink from left side. So tot keep a bit. How mnay bags are there in each box?

i also got lots of glass bottles wif plastic caps.. let me know if u need coz think i wanna sell off.. my supply drops already..

Mom2nat,
I went to NTUC to run errands, come back both awake. #2 chu pattern, wants to be carried and walk around the house. Go near cot will cry.
My boy also likes to suck his hands and pacifier.

I agree with what you say about #1.I'm guilty of the same thing too.

I shudder at the thought of having #3 and turning my house into a warzone. I can imagine my 2 boys "fighting" soon.

Babyblessed,
Good for you. At least your girl slowly like drinking from bottle. Mine was alright for a while but last 2 days again reject. Scratch my head!

I just found out today that my baby is lactose intolerant. I have 2 cans of NAN 1 (900G) 90% full and a small can 90% full.

Selling each BIG can at $15, if you were to purchase both cans it will be at $25 plus small can free.

If you want the small can for trial, it will be at $5.

Cash &amp; collect at Shunfu/Chai Chee Street.

Pls sms/call mi at 98449684 for fast deal coz i seldom check the mail.

haha...blackbatz,
busy ya but not sooo busy till i cannot get out of house for mani pedi lah. just that my gfs wanna do so we thot of doing at home lor. got contact??

Wow, looks like I have lots of reading to catch up...

milk supply drops after going back to work

Went back to work last week. Pumping twice at work. Last week supply was still ok, pumping was a breeze. But suddenly, woke up with a lump in my right breast. My supply then drops. =( *sob sob* Took me the whole of sunday to clear it out with my hot stone. Yesterday and today feel very 'dry up', let-down also lesser milk. Don't know if it's because of stress or what. =(

Any mummies facing supply drops when go back to work? I read Kitsune is facing the same problem. How to get my supply back ah? Looks like I must start to intro formula to my son again, and much faster this time! =(

avent teats no. 3

Sorry, I got my son back on no. 2 again yesterday. My mum complained that my son's mouth kept on having milk flowing out after feeding, even after burping! =( I thought no. 3 was ok, as over the weekend, it doesn't seem to be serious. Just a mouthful or 2. But last night, it was more like a HUGE mouthful of milk came out while burping. So that's when I put him back on no. 2.

blackbatz

I tried variable flow teat. It has no or is it some indication on the teat. So if the number of the indication is facing up, that's the flowrate u r using. If u want bigger or smaller flow, u rotate the bottle (and the teat as a result of the rotation) to match the number/ indication. I didn't like it. My mum long sighted, difficult for her to see. =P So I put it aside lah.

I just saw lots of no. 3 at Robinsons. New stocks I think. U can always find no. 3 at mothercare, but not that department stores though.

Ahcapp,
It's normal. Maybe you can check with Maureen. Think she pumps at work and latch at home.

At work, we are always very conscious of the time taken to express. Perhaps, we are afraid that we may take too long. Noy enough time to eat and drink. When we are at home, can watch TV / read forum and express, more relax. We must be relaxed and calm when expressing, otherwise, cannot achieve letdown.

Ah capp, you can start to take fenugreek again. My friend told me after sometime have to stop it when the supply is stable cos the body already immuse liao. Try not to stretch your interval of expressing.

blackbatz &amp; maureen

Thanks for your feedback. =) Yes, I feel like I have to finish everything within 1/2 hr, so I was basically squeezing my boobs all the time =( Also, although we have 2 nursing rooms, but the first room is fully booked. I have to try my luck all the time for the 2nd time. Already feedback to HR, they said they r looking into building more rooms. I hope they will do fast, before my supply dries up!

Yes, will start to take fenugreek again. Feel so desperate that I am willing to take more to get more milk... Always worry what if not enough milk, my son will be hungry etc etc. *sigh*

yvonne
thanks for the brainstorming...i desperately need it
The 70th floor thingy, i checked with PD liao, he said it's no issue. If anything, taking the lifts may bring some discomfort but babies will adjust to it wor...In any case, i didnt bring her out yday. The staying at such a high floor doesnt bring any harm. I am reading The Baby Book by Dr William Sears and he mentioned quite alot of info on reflux...i am inclined to believe maybe Rylee is hvg pain due to her reflux burn.

Your boy, suddenly cry loud-loud becos wan to sleep one ah...how is his cries? Rylee's cries sounds like she's in pain.

Mum2nat,
My gal is 3 motnhs 2 weeks now. wowowo, this evening time, i fed her 100ml and she finished it in 20 mins. a fast drinker. ahhahah. First 20 ml was slow- she tooks 10 mins. but after I started talking to her about everything, that really excited her and she speed up very fast. Must tell you that when I first put the bottle into her mouth, she was crying. But I just talked to her and she slowly "taste" it and started sucking.
Maybe you try to talk to your bb when you feed her? o
))
I will have to do this again and again everyday until the day she is happy to grasp the bottles by herself ;-)

Lynn Chong
Can i order 2 package of Pegion wipes??

Ahcapp

Yes, I also take green papaya soup today. I feel my breasts are not as full as before. Quickly buy papaya to cook and eat it up. ;o)

Pork Trotters also help. :p

I am preparing to introduce FM to my gal. But dun know which brand?? Anyone can recommend? and how to mix milk powder huh?? -))
Tks

blessedbaby

I was about to ask about which FM is good n the mixing of the FM. I think i asked it sometimes back. But don't mind a refresher course. =)

mom2nat

Ok, will remind my mum to get 1 this weekend. Nowdays, no time to do anything. After work is rush back home. At wk is rush here n there. *phew* Feel like a flat type sometimes.. =P

mylife

Was about to reply u that my son also sleeps at about 7pm+. Latest is 8pm. When I reached home, I feel disappointed that he is already asleep. =( But not choice. My mum said he is cranky in the evening (as he is tired). So have to let him sleep.

He still wakes up every night at about 3:30am to 4am for night feeding. =( But he wakes up every morning at about 7am+. That's the only time I can play with him b4 I rush off to work. So I can understand how disappointed your hb might feel when he reaches home at night.