(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Good morning mummies

How have you all been coping with ur bb? Hope you all are doing fine. Well, i managed to train my my boy used to be slping on his tummy to slp in sarong during the weekend. Indeed sarong babies are more easier to handle. Didin't regret introducing him sarong.

By the way how much milk does ur bb drink now? Javin is at 3mths2wks drink abt 150ml at 4 hrs interval. I tried to feed him at his usual 3hrs 180ml he refused and now he is willing to drink at a longer interval.

<font color="aa00aa">zhao!</font>
blackactz, aqaua, aiyo u asked me to pm u but ur pm not activated leh. haha

mom2nat, i always get my milk bags from Metro/Robinsons/Kiddy Palace. Quite readily available.

Avent no. 3 teat, where got ah? i went metro and robinsons last wk, no see leh.

Verene,
pm-ed u the price of the seal.
and I went to the same supplier to make the hair brush. did u came for our gathering at fish and co? if yes, then u shld have received the discount coupon I gave to all attendees that day.

hey uob cardholders, bobbi brown is having a tete-a-tete session from 1-7 May. Any of u interested in going together? We can arrange a common time to go together if keen but muz register on your own. Heeheee....

<font color="0000ff">violetIce,</font>

re: Lasik
i spent S$2,469.95 (aft less 13% for Safra member/card) for Standard Lasik. If astigmatism above 100deg, advise to do wavefront but cost additional $1.1K more. What is yr myopia power &amp; astig ?
oh btw, i added yr blog to my multiply blog ok?

<font color="ff6000">Lynn,</font>

They 'The Lasik Surgery Clinic' can give MC for up to 2weeks but it is recommended to rest for 2 to 3days then back to work cos we'll face computer which is not gd for the eyes.

<font color="aa00aa">Kindermusik Our Village Trial Class</font> - dd-June-08 @ Sun @ 10am @ Tanglin Mall @ Teacher Doreen http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/curricula_village.htm
Mummies keen to sign up, PM me the nec details below so that I can capture in the my excel file first.
Mummy's Full Name :
Mummy's Contact (HP/Email) :
Child's Full Name :
Child's Date of Birth :

<font color="aa00aa">Umbilical Cord &amp; Name Seal</font> http://www.babeszone.com.sg/umbilical_cord.htm
Seller is giving discount if hit min 5 seals.
01. Mei x2
02. C S x1

<font color="aa00aa">Lingenius CDs or DVDs</font> eg. Baby Signing and Nursery Rhymes http://www.lingenius.com/index.php
Seller giving >10% discount if hit $150 and above.
01. Mei x1 of http://www.lingenius.com/product_info.php?products_id=746

Any mummies feed baby "Jin Feng Shan"??
Cos my baby always get startled easily &amp; my mum wants me to feed him this. Any side effect?

jacelyn
u r lucky your bb likes the sarong. for my girl, she still sleeps such a short time in it only - at most 1/2 hr then wake up liao :p i really dunno how to make her sleep any longer! i give up trying liao

Hi JanBB:

Read from newspaper saying that if the Jin Feng Shan is not of top quality, it may contain a high dose of mercury which is really bad for the infant. If you die die must give to your baby, buy from the "branded" shop which guarentee quality.

Of course the best thing to do is not to feed baby any. End of story. What the older generation used on kids, may not suitable now as the biomedical field are much more advance and we should be able to tell what is good and what is not good for baby, scientifically.

Mei,
Mothercare got alot of Avent no. 3 teats...other sizes as well. I got alot of mothercare vouchers so I use them to stock up on bottles and teats...hehe.

michelle,
Sleep on tummy also short time wake up?? If I let my boy sleep face up, usually 30 mins max. but if he sleeps on tummy can go on for 2-3 hrs. Sometimes sleep until don't want to wake up for his feed.

yvonne
i cant get her to sleep on tummy either leh. how do u lay him down on his tummy without waking him up? i try to roll my girl over fr her back to her tummy n she scream even louder

michelle,
Hmmm...I dunno how to explain in words...haha. Usually I'll transfer him from my shoulders onto the bed face down...very hard to explain, must demostrate. Have to master the technique of turning him over before you put him down.

Otherwise, put him on his side first then roll him over...less chance of waking him up this way unless your girl is a light sleeper.

JanBB,
my MIL gave Jin Feng Shan to Zander when he was 2mths old. That time, he startled by loud noise &amp; cry badly so MIL went to buy gd quality cost abt $12per small bottle. The Jin Feng Shan mix with little water (5ml) then let bb sip abit, apply some on bb outer lips/mouth will do. The gd quality Jin Feng Shan also can be use to prevent wind in bb tummy. We only feed when necessary otherwise don't have to. No side effect so far.

michelle
must post video on u-tube..

here's how i do it.
- bb's head on my left shoulder, his bum resting on my left arm
- my right palm will grab his left shoulder under the armpit
- for a moment his chin will rest on my right wrist as i bend &amp; put him tummy down in the cot

re: jin feng shan
>> I thought someone said this product contains mercury.... ?

michelle,
aiyo, i try lah...hopefully you can "imgaine" what i'm talking about!

Usually I carry my boy upright and his head will rest on my shoulders. When transferring, I will support his chin/neck with my left hand and hold his bottom/legs with my right hand. Then put his bottom down followed by his head and slide my hands out...got it?? A bit abstract to understand lah.

michelle,
yes yes...Wendyg is better with the explanation...haha. When you carry under the armpit, their chin/chest area will be supported by your hand.

wendy, yvonne
thks! i think i know what u mean.. shall try this with my girl now! she's in the sarong but eyes big big after napping for 5 min only :p

Wendyg,
Your despcription is very gently. Think I too "chor lor" liao.

How's your baby taking to bottle?

Mei,
PM off?? Can email me at [email protected], thanks!

blackbatz
max 100ml... normally abt 70ml.
NUK wide neck silicon, #1 medium. But my husband insists baby can take faster flow &amp; made a cut in the teat. Tried Large but cannot.. will dribble.
Daytime ebm, last feed Nan1. I also hv a tin of Enfalac. Actually he night time eats v little.. last feed max 70ml. Last night only 40ml. Middle of the night he will still wake up, so last feed give formula can't sustain him thru the night. Maybe when he drinks more then can la.
His arm jerking reflex still v strong ley, sometimes he wakes coz his arm escapes the swaddle.

weekdays he eats so little, he only poos maybe once or twice fr Mon to Fri. But this past weekend he was latched on &amp; drank lots. Poo'd on Sat evening &amp; this morning.

RE: Jin Feng Shan

Thks for the feedback ; )
Juz called Eu Yan Sang, they are selling "Bao Yin Dan" also same as Jin Feng San which is suitable for infants. Cost abt $16+, think shld be those "gd quality" one hor..

Wendyg,
My boy cn be very pai si. Use his hands to beat the bottle. Very soon, he will remove the bottle liao. I bought NUK wide neck latex #1 small hole but never try, think I got to cut a slightly bigger hole.

Same here, bought 1 tin of Enfalac (400g). Don't seem to be able to find Nan1 in 400g, usually bundle with the big tin.

wendy
long time no see you here!
Salute you...your day sounds so tiring...btw, do u still swaddle your bb?

Me too long time never post liao.

Anyone else still swaddling baby? I am...but wondering until when...cos her arms still jerks about, if i dont swaddle, she will "slap" herself awake when sleeping. Nowadays when we swaddle her during bedtime, she doesnt "object" anymore, lie there and let us swaddle, probably associate swaddle=bedtime bah...but when she's sleeping, her arms kept wanting to break free from the swaddle and will she will grunts and puffs like very xin ku. I wonder when will their jerky arm movements will stop so i can stop swaddling her?

Sleeping
Now my gal chun-chun around 730-ish will start getting cranky and making noises indicating she wans the rub-down and wan to sleep. Upside - after we put her down to sleep, we get our own "me time" but downside - hubby returns around 7pm, hardly have time to play and bond with her, end up only get 30mins and weekends. And that 30mins is to eat dinner.

mylife
yes i'm still swaddling my boy. His arms will jerk until he wake up.. or he will rub his face until he wakes up.
Sometimes while he's asleep, he struggles to free his arms, so i help him take out his arms fr the swaddle. Lo &amp; behold, 10min later his jerking arms woke him up. Moral of the story - still need to swaddle. Dunno why he so contradictory.
aiyo waiting for the reflex to go away.. supposedly 3 months ley. still waiting.

Jacelyn,
i am
During my recent haircut, i ask stylist to change my partings &amp; he cut more fringe to cover the parting area, not so obvious now. Recommended scalp treatment for thinning hair! Hope it helps.

QQ
my gal sleeps from 8-ish to about 6am..dats if I'm lucky, sometimes she wakes up ard 3ish for a feed.

Wendy
your description matches my gal exactly!! Mine 3mths 2wks liao, still jerking around. My fren swaddled her bb till 9mths!! *faint* sigh, dunno how to let her sleep better.

My gal now dunno why in the evening will cry until like she in pain. He cries are very scary, loud until like her throat is going to burst, and her expression looks like she got frightened! Last time chk with PD liao, not teething, no ear infection, and she's already on reflux meds. She is not like tis daily, its very different from the usual cranky cries, my mom says she might hv "seen smtg dirty" but I'm not inclined to the superstition side YET that seems to be the only answer cos its so inxplicable

mylife
My boy oso start his crying in the evenings.Usually 6pm or so on off until he sleeps. Worse comes when I cleaning him up for the night halfway, ard 7+ 8pm. He will cry until head all red and wet! The PJ oso wet ard the neck part. He oso taking reflux med... Sigh... me still clueless.

But you lucky leh, your girl sleeps so long. MIne jerks ard oso and hates to be swaddled, but I still try to. Otherwise will rub his face until all red patches then can't sleep oso.

Janbb
Today my mom oso help me to buy the bao yin dan... sometimes oso dunno why I need to resort to such things.

Mei
Tks. I wil check the milk bags.

Blackbatz
How old is your #1? How come got sch work liao?
Today my #1's sch teacher called. say she has been crying in sch for the past week and today quite unconsolable kind. Ask me any changes recently. She say Nat seemed very insecure. Sigh... I say prob everything happen together. She gana stomach flu 2 weeks ago, then we sent our maid back, now maidless. I can't give her enough attention, blah blah... No one to really relieve me from #2 on weekdays, cos mil can't handle him for long. So subconciously it affected #1. So now I have to find more time for her, and dun scold her oso.

mom2nat
how is ur boy's cryg like? I know its hard to describe bb cries but I'm jus tryg to gauge if its normal of rylee's cries. She seems to be in pain, cryg and screaming on top of her lungs, she will sob sob and then let out one aft another LOUD cries. I dunno wats wrong, this cry is very different from her cranky cries..dats y I'm worried. How u handle ur boy's cries? I feel so helpless watching her cry

Wat kind of reflux meds ur PD give? Mine gave Losec Mups

mom2nat
last time my gal also fights with me when we swaddle her, then slowly she sort of recognizes that this is part of the routine: swaddle = bedtime so she jus coos when we swaddle her and she lay still and jus let us. Just dat at night, involuntarily she struggles to get her hands out only to smack herself awake *lol*

Why don't u try to swaddle ur boy (despite his objection) and see if he can sleeps longer?

mylife
your girl's cries does seem like she's in pain... stomach ache? need to poo? apply ru-yi oil?
try carrying her upright, head over your shoulder and thump her back?
overstimulated? bring to quiet room?