(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Baby bandage: any mummy know if there is baby bandage available at any pharmacy? My bb has a blister below her chin, i try to apply cream for her everyday, but its tough as her movement clean off the cream. So thinking of buying bandages to cover it up after cream. Guardian only has bandage for children which is not recommended for infant. Anyone knows??

Precious moment: my bb doesnt want to be held most of the time. She want to lye down in her cot or bed to play until she feel seelpy or has wet diaper. ;o) also find it hard if we have to curry bb most of the time.

Lynn Chong: the gathering is on Sat 19 Apr at 2pm @ Swensen's, Parkway Parade. would you join us?

Msfluffy: ok, you check the local distributor for bblegs and let me know. Thanks a lot.

nez
I do keep my medicine as my PD told me to keep the fever med for future use (injections). I would keep in the fridge, when there are times when need to be use, I will take out from the fridge and wait until it become room temp before I feed the BB with it.

hannah,
better dun use bandages as it may cause more irritation for ur baby.. my bb even get reddish skin at the sticky area.. maybe just apply when she is asleep.

hi icy, thanks
where to buy the pram toy now huh?? I think my bb will love it. I have been looking for one, but so far, i dont like any. ;o(

mcfluffy
i acutally email the babyleg person oredi. she is willing to give the promotion price if i order at least 3 pairs. so i think if u all consolidate the order, sure can get the promo price!

i will probably order directly from her myself as i wanna get 4 pairs. then she can send directly to my friend who will help to bring here for me next mth when she come holidau.

not sure if u all consolidate orders, she will send to multiple address or only one? think u need to check with her...

Baby Massage

Wah, I didn't know they have classes for mummies at home. Hiya, I joined one class liao, at Inspire Mum & Baby. 3 sessions to teach mum and dad how to massage baby. Just went for my first lesson. Quite fun lah...

saw this lobang from Nov thread. Free huggies diapers ...

http://www.reload.com.sg/huggies/

Have been looking after my boy (13 weeks old) alone as my hb has left for training in US a week ago. He will b away for 1yr. Things has been fine except today, when i bottle feed him, his head keeps turning away n cry. had a hard time handling him n i feel so tired n lonely without an additional hand to fall back on. sigh... got to endure endure n endure...

would like to ask if any mummies perspire easily? b4 preggie, i hardly perspire. but now, perspire very easily even at night. is this normal? need to c doc?

Hi Chermaine,

I was looking after my son day alone for 3.5 weeks when my mum was away. Very very stressed man.

N yes, when I bottle feed my son, he kept on turning his head away and cry. Don't know why. The whole feeding session took me an hr all thanks to his struggles. Nowadays, I will feed him, and if he stops and cries or turns his head away, i will burp him. After burping, I will carry him upright for a while b4 I coax him to continue his feed. So far, he seem to back to ok. *touch wood*

I think someone our darlings want to test our patience. =P Hang in there. Every day also new pattern. Just r'ber that your son is not the only one torturing his mum.

See if u need get any help from your parents or in laws. Nowadays, my inlaws will drop by on Sat to look after my son while I take a break. It's really very good. I feel more refreshed after taking a break.

Jia you ya!

Audrey, so good, I'm still in prison leh. Hee. Ya will love to try Pampers Comfort, get from you maybe over the weekend (if you are not working). Sms you first.

Mylife, I'm not SAHM but I realised my bb enjoys being on her bouncer now. We put the Fisher Price Ocean wonders playgym beside the bouncer and she'll hit the hanging toys or talk to them. Sometimes, we also put her on the mattress esp after changing diapers for tummy time to strengthen her neck cos we are inspired by Rylee's 90deg head lift.

Jaceyln, thanks for the review. I'm really tempted but like very ex $39 for 1 pair that only last 2 months. How much did you buy yours and where?

Babylegs
What's the status? Are we going to order from website or do spree?

<font color="ff0000">re: Pram Toy</font>
Eh the pram toy looks really cute! Want to get it too. Kiddy place ah? Shall go look for it. Hehe

<font color="ff0000">re: babylegs</font>
I've emailed them and asked. $18.50 if you get 3 or more pairs. but i doubt they will send to multiple addresses. If you're like michelle, want to get 3 or more, can get from them instead. Ready stock so it'll be faster. If not, can email me and I'll consolidate to buy from overseas. ;)

<font color="ff0000">re:free huggies diapers</font>
Which diaper is worth more than 30cents huh??? Mamypoko?

so DL...i ordered from HK Babylegs liao, then my fren emailed me saying she coming in June, asking if i wan her to bring me anything! DUH, shud have hold back and save some money! So much cheaper in Sg leh!

Blackbatz
thanks, this baby hyperstore, got pic or not? Maybe i can ask my fren to buy and bring for me.

babe/icy
this playgym, do u all put in on the floor? Cos the one i have (fisher price) is jus apiece of cloth, so if i put on the floor, would it be a bit hard (the surface) for her to lie?

kitsune
haha....dont be fooled by her pic, her 90degrees can only hold for like less than a minute, then plop down liao....then she will try again, but all in all, less than 5mins, she'll get pik chik and demanded to be "released" from tummy time. This PD in HK told me to give her 30mins tummy time, 3times a day! She can only last 5mins, HOW to 3x a day? DUH.

I headache see Rylee like so cham, when i need to shower or do some internet banking, my mom always chuck her into yaolan and yao yao yao...always force her to sleep. Sigh

mommies doing direct latch BF
I find that as Rylee grows older, she is starting to lose her "rooting reflex" so no i cant seem to be able to read her hunger cues. I was told that we shud feed on demand and not on 3hour schedule and not watch the clock...but i STILL cant seem to read her hunger cues...sigh...scare i miss her growth spurt.

Mylife, haha, Rylee is my idol. Even printed the photo to show my MIL to convince her to give my gal tummy time. You know my MIL also rocking BB to sleep now, even though I reminded her that her last feed is just 30mins - 1hr away. Her logic is BB will not want to sleep if she's overtired so must make her sleep even if it's a short nap lor. Aiyah, once you have someone as caregiver, it's like that one lar, must open and close 1 eye. At least yours is your mum, easier to talk, mine is MIL, everything must go through hubby. hee.

But to be honest, I do appreciate my MIL's help even though it's very mafan for her to stay at my place at nights. I can't take care of BB alone also cos I'll have no rest, and get very pek chek after a while esp when she is in crying mood. :p

Hi Chermaine,

Hang in there! It's natural for babies to take a while to feed, even when it's bottle feeding. Their stomachs are so small, they need some time to hold all the milk, right? I'm resigned to the fact that my baby's not the fastfood restaurant type, so am used to her struggling.

I think it's quite normal for new mummies to perspire more than normal cos our hormones need some time to adjust back to normal. My confinement period was terrible cos I was sweating like a pig. Now still feel hot easily, but not so bad already. Be patient ok?

Mylife,
This baby hyperstore is located at Kaki Bukit, Shun Li Industrial Building.

This bar, once attached to the stroller, will look like those Combi / Aprica, got something in front of baby. Then can place those crib toys for them to play. I was planning to buy. Just haven't got the chance to drive there. Lazy.

As for the playgym, I place the mattress below. Otherwise it's a bit hard.

My EBM fail miserably cos I was so stress with trying to make sure Zachary drinks from bottle until my milk SS drops. So, reverted back to latching. Sometimes, when I thought he was hungry, he rejects me when I offered to latch him.

Ahcapp

Both mother n MIL is not around already... good n bad in some way, no conflict n no support... my dad migrated. left with my FIL who dare not carry bb till 2yrs old even though bb is the 1st grandchild... well, wait 1 yr 9 mths more if i m looking forward for his support. one support which i hv is my hb's cousin who will drop by on saturday to look after bb n i can go out to do some marketing. my worry is bb will only recognise n stick to me n will not want other pple to carry him...

mcfluffy
i m using pet pet n mamypoko. i plan to use mamypoko else give them 30 cents n c if they accept...

Hannah &amp; mcfluffy,
I think should be available at taka. Over at tomy disney section.. it was all in japanese packaging. Sold ard $19.50 during the baby fair at taka.

Chermaine,
I also take care of my bb at night for 1 mth, day time still have mil to manage the meals else I think I will breakdown too.. try to see if u can get someone to help. Btw I also feel that I perspire more after delivery.. i thought it was due to breastfeeding.

mylife,
I have a thin mattress, so I place the gym at the mattress else like what u mention. the cloth very thin.. else also at least a pillow to support the head.

my mil also let Xavier sit in the boucer and let him watch TV.. I also know it is not good.. but she needs to do housework while I also need to shower/pump etc.. then he really can stay there for a long time.

Reading hunger cues:
Hey mylife, I watched the Baby Language programme. If baby's hungry, he will make "nah nah" or "neh neh" sound. Listen closely for the "N" sound. So far it works for my baby. You can try lor.

hi there mummies

sorry to impose! am from the july 2008 thread and looking for a CL for my 2nd mth (ie august 08 period) ..appreciate if you recently had a great CL experience and could share contact with me. thanks and my email's [email protected]

Oh ya, mylife, my CL is in Singapore doing another assignment in Pasir Ris. Chit chat with her and she said your friend didn't contact her. She found another CL?

blackbatz
thanks...will ask my fren go and check it out...u saw it only in this baby hyperstore ah? Is it specially for maclaren stroller one?

kitsune
hahahaha...u very funny leh..print photo let MIL see? thanks for the compliments, though :p Dont fret la, after all Rylee is a few weeks older than yours...so of cos she will heads up sooner. I know wat u mean on the caregiver thing, but sometimes, heartpain to hear her crying and being force to sleep by my mom when she obviously dont want to. me lagi worse cos feeding on demand, so i STILL dunno if she's crying due to hunger or tiredness or wat...sigh.

icy/blackbatz
oh yah hor! I will use the playpen mattress and put on the floor under the playgym for her!

icy &amp; Charmaine

When I was all alone looking after my son for 3.5weeks, I feel quite miserable. The part where I don't even dare to go down to the coffee shop a block away to buy lunch is just damn sad lor! I have to ask my hb to buy an extra pack of food the night before so that I can heat up the next day for lunch u see. Other times I will cook instant noodles lor.

My mum is back, so this week, I have been going out nearly every day! *LOL* I am such a lousy mum. =P

Someone told me that when the baby grows older, he will recognise and may only want certain people to carry him. If can, it will be good to get our darlings used to other caretakers. =)

Hang in there Charmaine! It's definately not easy looking after your baby alone but I am sure that u r tougher than u think.

Oh btw, since u r alone at home, leave the housework as 2nd priority. I realise that's the only thing which will keep me sane. If I still worry about housework, I would have dropped dead long ago! *LOL*

haha, mylife, a picture tells a thousand words mah. Previously, I printed a photo of our Jan MTb ikea gathering and showed her that most babies are already off mittens then she agreed to let us take off RaeAnne's mittens. Hee.

Mylife,
So far, only at Baby Hypermart and they are the authorised distributor. Yes, it's specifaically for Maclaren cos mine is also Maclaren. Remember to give your friend your Stroller Design (Volvo / Techno Classic/ Techno XT etc). Perhaps can call before going down.

Aiyo, think I better go and get it soon too. Hopefully, can go on Sunday.

Hey mylife, if baby's tired, his cry will sound like "owww" cos his mouth's imitating a yawn. You can also observe your baby's eyes. If he looks sleepy or like what my MIL says "eyes siap siap", then try prepping him for sleep. My baby's brows turn a little swollen and red whenever she's sleepy.

Mylife
Me also SAHM and doing full latch. I also have this problem of dunno when my gal is really hungry. So I aga aga look at the time based on 2.5-3hrly. Sometimes when she fuss, I'll try to carry her and pacify her. But if fails, then I resort to giving her my breast loh.

tbf mommies, have ur bb sleep thru? Mine still waking in the nights..sleep at 9pm, wake at 1230am then 3+am then 6+am again....day time he's on 3hly feeding and somwtimes can overnap by 1h of his feeding...anything I can do to make him sleep thru? Tiring leh...3m already still no good sleep..

babe; my bb last feed was at 8.30pm then wake up at 2am then e next is in e morning 7am..

Hannah; wanna to attend e gathering, but on e 19apr my hb out of town so gotta ask my mum wanna go together wif mi if not i cant handle bb alone outside.

Icy; e toy is cute... hmm... gotta go taka tomoro aft his 3mths jab.. ur bb taken his? heheee!

babe,
I know what you mean. My boy used to wake up every 3hrs for milk at night too. But the week before I started work, he suddenly lasted for 6 hrs ie. last feed 9pm and woke up at 3plus for milk. Now I delay his last feed until 10plus and it will last him until 4plus or 5plus which is 6-7 hrs. I'm hoping that eventually he will wake up at 6plus which is also the time I wake up...hehe. I think every bb will adjust on their own...give your bb some more time. BTW, you started work already? Or you are SAHM?

kitsune

Oh, I have decided to hold on more spending on BFing stuff first. The funnels and the valves I am using right now are actually brand new btw. I intend to stop expressing in 3 months' time, so decided not to spend first lor. =( The PIS doesn't belong to me so I will need to return once I stop BFing.

Shopping updates

Robinson sale has started. Baby stuff has up to 20% off.

JL has 30% rebate till this Sun. So u will get 30% off in rebate vouchers for your shopping.

Thank God, after latching the my boy last night the lump is gone. Am so happy if not I sure cannot sleep the whole nite.

babe, my boy start to sleep thru the nights starting this week. His schedule is as follows:

7.30am - latch him on whild driving to nanny's place
7.45am to 7.30pm - 4 bottles of breast milk @150ml per feed
7.30pm to 9pm - pick him up,play with him &amp; prepare him to zzz
9pm - latch him on before bedtime, will usually zzz after drinking his milk
12am - latch him on while he is zzzz
12am to 7.30am - sleeping thru

During 12am to 7.30am, he will make some noise but I learn to ignore and see if he will go back to sleep and so far he is able to do it. The only problem is if I fall asleep and didnt feed him at 12 plus he will wake up at 4 plus asking for his feed. Hope this help.

babe,
my gal jus like Lynn's. last feed ard 8 to 9pm, den slp off til 3 or 4am - 1feed. wake up at 7am for feed den slp til abt 8 to 9am for bathe.

she's 2mth 3wks.

every bb is unique n diff

<font color="aa00aa">kitsune,
i saw dat u order some stuff fm overseas site. Y my user acct can't post on overseas spree site huh?</font> HELP...

Godsent,
Must be member before 2006 then can post in the overseas site. Those who join after 2006 must email or PM the organiser. Trust me, buying from overseas site is very addictive.

RE: tomy pram mobile.

I saw that on sale at Kiddy palace too.

Re: back to work
It has been 1 week since I went back to work. so far so good, cos my work load is reduced as my colleague has taken over most of my work load. so more or less, I feel free in the office and my boss commented that i am still in holiday mood..keke. and I knock off chun chun everyday to rush home to see Baby Javier. One more thing, on the 3rd day back to work, got fire drill exercise, got to walk down 21 steps of stairs. now still muscle aching.

hi Lynn Chong

If you happen to find the pram toy tom, let me know where you buy it huh. Wanna buy but cant roam around. ;o(

Thanks in advance

verene,
heehee.. wearing your high heels to walk down 21 flights of stairs issit? I very long never wear heels, now feel kinda funny wearing them!

ah capp: robinson sales starts today? then i gg robinson lata.. heehee!

Hannah: Icy bought during taka bb fair so i tink will b ard $20+ if no sales... wanna pm u my contact but u dont accept pm. cos sms u e price, if u keen i can help u to buy.

Verene: how much is kiddy palace selling?

serene, how long do u latch him on for that dreamfeed at midnight?

Thanks ladies...I really dunno y mine kept waking...pick him up only when really cry..dunno izzit habit liao..he's 3m 5days old liao..How long do ur bb nap in the day in total?

I staying hm till june then go back work

Heh.. anyone's baby irregular like my baby? At night no fixed time of waking up. Sometimes this time, sometimes another time. I've given up on hoping she'll sleep through the night!

Babe, my gal like yours... wake up quite frequently to drink. And she really drink her usual consumption. Heh...

Babe, he usually drink 10-20 mins for the dream feed only. I will need to keep poking him or rub his hands to get him to drink. If i miss this session he will wakie at 4 plus asking for milk.

Blackbatz &amp; mylife,

<font color="ff0000">re: front bar for Maclaren stroller</font>

fyi..i've call up Baby hyperstore, they say currently No Stock for the front bar. Stock estimate to arrive End April...exact date of arrival not sure. They ask to take down my contact no. so that when stock arrive, they will call me. I asked abt the price &amp; colour available, the sale assistant say either $29.90 or $39.90 and colour not sure, have to wait till stock arrive. Anyway, she say the front bar is not made by Maclaren company but some other manufacturer &amp; design is suitable for all maclaren stroller.