(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

I can be in charged of the gathering.. hihihihi
Saturday would be more practical as we have some mummies have to work right? Let me know your prefered place of gathering which is suitable for all mummies and we will choose the date for it. need everyone' vote.

baby26
Your twins are soooooo cute...... *kiss kiss*

icy
I've just called them to inform. Anyway, I'll be joining in the class later (if my boy do't give me problem on e way out *keep my fingers crossed). Cheers!

Audrey, Hmm... maybe in the evening when it's less hot and hubby is back, we can go to the CC for dinner. Are you free in the evenings?

Itok, you busy? Long time no see you in forum leh... :p

No one can tell me which massage lady is also a LC? Desperately need a massage...

<font color="ff0000">Thankful, think I need your glass bottles early cos BB is drinking much lesser after jab so I got no more bottles liao. Milk bags not convenient for refrigerating cos can't stand on its own., also not as easy for MIL to take out and feed BB.</font>

Thanks, blackbatz, did Aunt Helen used to be a LC? Cos I also need to clear my lumps, remember there was one that someone recommended, can't remember whether it was Ah Capp or Steph or ...?

anyone here has tried to feed bb from a cup instead of bottle feeding?
my LC advised me its easier if we feed bb from the cup (get a clear plastic cup so we can see how much bb take in). i am thinking of trying this since my bb is refusing to take milk from bottle.
maybe it only take longer time to feed?

ahcapp
So now u pump every 6 hrs already.. I tested longer hours and seemed like my SS also stable and it producing at a fixed rate X number of hours. Does this means our SS hard to increase already??

Audrey
Great, see you later.. we have more and more mummies joining us. :D

kitsune,
why u always got lumps? did u massage yr breasts b4 pump/feed?
My baby refuse frozen breast milk le bcos my FBM taste a bit bitter. Dun know why? Freezer problem?

i am fine to go gathering too hehehe ... i oso want massage hehehe .... had it last 2 weeks maybe this sat ask my massage lady to come again hehehe ....

Xiaoyun,
my gal now 2 months already still drinking about 80ml per 2 hours. Some rare times she can hit up to 100ml max. She loves taking small but frequent meals. Good for her, bad for mummy. No choice! Asked PD about it, she said it's baby's way of regulating amount of milk drunk. So, don't force baby ba... let it be.

Blackbatz, I'm using Playtex which I bought from spree.

Yen, it's a vicious cycle lor. Whenever I massage before BF or press breast while pump/latch on, I get shoulder and neckache from looking down at breasts and mucle cramp in the bony area between thumb and index finger from squeezing breasts. One day 8 times leh, each time 45min-1hr, no joke man. So the muscle ache will get so bad that I can't tahan to massage for long, then lumps come back. Sigh.

I did a search on the forum, found the contact. Think Ah Capp used Mdm Rokiah when she had a breast lump on the left. But seems like Mdm Rokiah doesn't do massage anymore, only her staff. Don't know which one is good. Will try smsing Mdm Rokiah anyway. :p

my gal coming to 6 weeks and taking 100ml now. i tried 110ml and then she vomitted out the extra. hai.. seems no way to force her to take more..

yen
not your freezer problem la. febm and chilled ebm tastes diffrnt. Some say fishy smell.

hannah
feed bb fr cup.. need lots patience. May spill a lot coz bb tends to push out with his tongue.

blackbatz
re: BBC
>> u buy for me can... i can't travel so far.. my boy still not taking bottle &amp; i'm in the process of "hands off" to my folks coz i'm back to work in a week. Now i'm only in charge of latching on... until can find a solution where bb drinks milk other than fr me.
Really dunno how things are gonna be at home when i return to work, but i can't afford to worry &amp; hv split minds.. coz dat's just gonna give me a migraine without accomplishing anything. So i'm just gonna concentrate on work while i'm at work, and on the boys when i'm home...

Wendyg

me too. dun know what is happening when i am back to work...
good thing is that i have my mum to help me taking care of baby. But if my bb is so used to latch on me directly then there will be a bit of worried.... ;o((((

will miss our bbies huh.

Wendyg,
What is BBC??

When BB cannot smell you and gets very hungry, they will drink from the teats. Everyone tells me must be very patient.

Kitsune,
Now can pump every 4 hours liao cos SS stable. No longer need to stick to 3 hours interval.

hello everyone

MIA for some time liao. All the babies here look so cute!

baby26
your boy only 5.6kg at 12 weeks? But he look quite chubby leh...so cute! Mine pui-pui one, think right now, she 6.8 or 7kg liao.

wendy
my Adiri bottles not here yet....still cannot give u review.
But Blackbatz is right, most of the mommies here also told me to be patient, but must get out of the house, then bb cannot smell u and your milk, survival instinct will takeover and they will drink from bottles. But having said that, i have a fren who stays in Australia said she tried all methods, including getting out of the house, etc, but her gal STILL stubbornly never drink...FINALLY took the bottle after 24hour hunger strike!!! *shudder*

regarding bath, why only use J&amp;J top to toe when bb is older? I have been using since Day 1 cos TMC also used that to bathe my bb leh...so far so good, i tot J&amp;J very mild one? :p

This morning, managed to place Rylee on her tummy. Her neck so strong now!

1328268.jpg

kitsune
why dont u try to relax and NOT squeeze your breasts so much? Think your ss shud have stabilised and established by now. If u overpump, you WILL get lumps and ducts, just slowly let it go. And pump every 4hourly. Otherwise, really vicious cycle leh.

kitsune,
you shld try slowly stretch the interval...pump every 4hrs, then 5hrs...not so stress mar.
Wah!!! You massage for so long...For me, I massage few minutes before pump. If got lumps, I'll use hot hot towel to soften the lump first before massage...easier.

ahcapp
growth spurts will only last 2-3 days.

icy
regarding ur questions to BF, i think when they say stabilised, more like established. Maybe yes, to all 3 A, B or C. But since u're pumping more than direct latch, then continue pumping REGULARLY jus like bb feeding lo. Me no expert.
As for the diff sizes, hmmm...that i'm not too sure, maybe u try pumping more from the smaller one (the one with lesser amount of milk produced) and see if the milk production increased, hence increasing the size?
I'm not sure of the permanent issue though.

mcfluffy,
My gal dun like mix chilled EBM and FBM also. But I still store the EBM and throw away the older one...hope one day she'll accept the "fishy" taste.

icy,
My breast also one small one big...left breast very small. I can get 200ml from right breast, but only 60ml from left breast. Very very abnormal. I try to pump more on left one, but still same. Afraid it will dry off one day.

growth spurt

Ok, looks like my son is back to his normal feeding schedule today. Every 3 hrs once. *whew*

babe

Maybe it's growth spurt. My son was like hungry wolf yesterday. Kept on crying for milk. But back to normal today as what mylife say. Bo bian, can only keep feeding and feeding. Hang in there! *hugs*

icy

Nowadays, I pump every 4 or 5 hrs. Looking after my son alone, so really can't do it every 3hrs already. =( The 6hrs ones happen when I go out, so far only a few times. But like you say, my combined supply is now about 50ml * X hours. =)

Just met up with a friend who did exclusive pumping for both her children. She told me I can slowly stretch to about 6hrs so that life will be easier for me when I go back to work in 2 weeks' time. She was not working when she did exclusive pumping. So when she did notice a drop in her supply, she will shorten the interval between pumpings. Once the supply is back to normal, she will go back to the once every 5 to 6hrs. So I guess there is still chance for u to increase your supply. =) For me, I think this amt is enough for me already. I am struggling with excess milk in my fridge lately. =S

hannah

We fed my son using a cup when he was about 1 week old. Like Wendyg said, needs lots of patience as some will spill and u must continue to top up the cup. It was still ok when my son was 1 week old as his intake was small and he is not so 'fierce' when hungry.

xiaoyun

I did try to feed my son more milk sometimes. But not long after his feeding, he will vomit the milk out. So I guess no point force excess milk, it will come back out again. =(

How to get bb to flip over? My girl is 11 weeks now, and we try to teach her to roll over, but her head is not up. ;o))
do we need to train the bb to flip over? or when the time comes, it comes??

Regarding the gathering, should we set the date soemwhere about 2nd week of April on Saturday? ;o)

kitsune

Yes, the last time I have a lump, I got Mdm Rokiah over to help me clear it. But actually, I managed to clear it b4 she arrived. Anyway, when she arrived, she continue to massage and clear up more hard areas until my breasts become super soft! *LOL* No kidding.

She is no longer doing massage now, only her staff. But she re-assured me that her staff are all trained by her. If no good, let her know. She welcomes feedback.

I have not tried her staff's skill yet.

<font color="aa00aa">kitsune,</font>
What pump are you using? I found out that I am able to remove my hard areas when I massage and pump longer. Usually pump only about 15-20mins. But when I feel a lump, I'll pump longer, 25-30mins and by then, everything soft soft (and saggy
) liao.

<font color="aa00aa">Yen</font>
You throw away your EBM! So wasteful! I got a bit too much frozen EBM now and don't know what to do. Freezer is running out of space. My mum ask me not to complain so much. Haha. Coz last time I complain that I don't have enough. Now, I complain that I have too much and no place to store.

blackbatz
BBC = bras basah complex

if bb whole day drink only in 40ml installments and night time when i'm home i latch him on, does that mean he will need to eat his daily quota at night 7pm onwards?!?! And i gotto latch him on thru the night?!?! and i gotto go to work next morning?!?!

Wow...all babies photos are adorable huh!

babe,
So fast Abel can lift up his head! well done! My Zander still not able to do so leh although his neck seem more steady nowadays.

Can i check with u mummies...
i noticed alot of ear wax buildup in my son's ear. Don't dare to use cotton bud to clear the inner area, only use wash cloth to clean outer area as i can see some solid brown discharge! Izit normal for baby to have alot of ear wax buildup? Any cause for alarm to see PD ?

wendyg

According to Tracy Hogg's book, it does seem to be this way. Her theory is that baby wake up in the middle of the night to feed is because they didn't eat enough in the daytime.

But I don't think the bb can really tahan on 40ml every feed throughout the day. Perhaps it will come to a point that the bb is so hungry that he will take the teat + bottle afterall.

hi steph,

Long time no see u here. =) How's work?

Me going back to join the work force in 2 weeks' time.

Verene

I will miss my son too. But I am looking forward to getting out of the house and interact with adults again. =P

I now still trying to figure out if I should leave my son with my mum mon to fri whole day, but visit him every day after work. Bc on weekdays, I have difficulty looking after him at night when I need to pump and feed him. =( *sigh*

hi AhCapp,

ya lor so tid up with work last week, busy coordinating the Asia Pacific Maritime exhibition which ended 28thMar. Lucky MIL take good care of Zander while i can concentrate working. I will still visit him everyday after work during wkdays. I only bring Zander home look after during the weekends. Alot of pple &amp; my colleagues say i very fortunate but even though this is the case, i still feel very little time for myself &amp; hubby. I returned work on 10th Mar...until now still no time to do rebonding &amp; my hair look messy! LOL*

Here's a pic of my boy at 11wks
1328477.jpg

Wendyg,
OIC. Sure. When I next visit that place.

"40ml instalments" - Very funny. After a few days, cannot tahan. Hopefully, will start to drink from the teats.

Steph,
It's like that once you start work. Like you, I only bring my kids home on weekend. Come Friday night, you will bring a lot of barang barang home, like refugee. I don't know how long I can continue like this. There will be a time when I have to buy a house near my mum or my son's school.

Blackbatz,
ya man, i felt exactly. Of course i anticipate bringing my boy home come Friday nite but hor sometimes i got mixed feelings...i hate weekends cos like never ending responsibility! I am a bad mummy to feel this way hor

Oh, so many of you only bring bb back on weekends ah. This way it's less tiring lah but personally I'm not very comfortable leaving my boy with in-laws overnight..."bu fang xin"...dunno why. But having said that, I will be leaving my boy with them for 3 nights when hubby and I go for a short break in HK next month. I hesitated for a while before deciding to go becos I really want to have a few nights of "uninterrupted sleep"...haha. Still a little worried but hopefully he will be ok for that few days. Haven't even go but already starting to miss him...xiao liao.

steph!
so long nvr cu around! *hugz*. Give zander more "tummy time" to strengthen his neck.
don't feel bad on ur feelings of wantg more "me time" cos before u are a mother, ur first an individual. Its natural to feel tis way, well at least u all workg also hv adult interaction, moms like me SAHM, 24/7 also face bb, sometimes will feel like going bonkers too
no knock off also but I guess every position also got pros &amp; cons.

Yvonne
u coming HK? When? Wanna meetup with me?

steph &amp; blackbatz

Oh, guess i will be following your footsteps afterall. My mum is only 4 bus stops away, so it's quite ok for me to drop by after work to visit my son. But i will miss out on a lot of things like seeing him waking up in the morning.

But really bo bian. Me pumping milk for my son. Now, I don't have to work, still ok. I wake up in the middle of the night to feed and pump. IN the day, I can take naps. But when I return to work, I really can't do so as without naps, I think I will perform badly at work.

I am still planning out the logitics right now. Need to check with my mum if she is ok to look after my son full time mon to fri. If she is ok, I dont have to worry so much. At most once my son doesn't need to wake up at night for feeding, then it will be easier for us to bring him home every night. Really bo bian ah. =(

Yvonne

I know what u mean when u talk about 'uninterrupted' sleep. It has been ages since I last slept straight 8 hrs. My sleep is now broken up into 2 x 3hrs each. =S When I wake up in the middle of the night to feed my son, I feel like zombie.

Anyway, it's good to take a break with your hb. =) When u r back, u will be more refreshed!

mylife

I really pei fu u ah. =) Being a SAHM is not easy. Yes, me going bonkers too, looking after my son alone. But better already. 2 weeks ago, I was actually crying. *LOL*

Steph, yupz he can lift but then his wt. gain still low lehz..only 4.92kg today..barely even 5kg. Dunno if he's really eating enough..he's been napping and feeding 3hly in the day..night still not sleeping thru...aiyo..any mommies can advise?

Mylife, ur gal really put on alot! So cute too!

Ah Capp, I am still observing to see what's wrong wif him.

Boo hoo, today my son suck until my nipples so pain! He suck and push away...unlatch and try to find back desperately..so contradicting..ouch!

babe
recently my gal also behaves the same way as your boy. Latch on and then after a while, pull away and then come back searching again. At the same time some more make complain noises! I am fearful it's due to my milk flow slow?? But i can hear her swallowing, so maybe OAL or something?

ahcapp
haha...i think whether SAHM or Working Mom, well, being a MOMMY generally is not easy. I was crying loads too during confinement. But now yah, better cos baby start establishing some sort of her own routine. Sometimes also throw a bit off-guard, but well, trying to tell myself, this is much better and it WILL only gets better!

Well, at least your mum's place is only 4 bus stops away. Mine is like 25 minutes drive. If take bus, like 1 over hour. I usually leave after my boy sleeps. By the time I reach home, it is almost 10 plus. Watch a bit of TV, time to sleep liao. No life at all. Now with 2 kids, I must take "jing feng san" oso!!

My colleague's husband travelled from Seng Kang to Bukit Batok. After that, her husband told her one is enough. He was stressed out by the driving and baby's crying. Eventually, they found a nanny to take care of their boy.

Wendyg,
Sometimes Punggol Plaza also have those stalls selling children's books/flash cards etc..Normally, they wouldn't go to Compass Point or Rivervale Plaza.

Thanks Mylife, Yen, Mcfluffy, Ah Capp for the advice.
Manage to call Mdm Rokiah but she's in Msia. She said she'll get one of her staff to arrange a session for me. Hopefully soon. Ya lor, I know I can drag the sessions but sometimes, I can only get 60ml combined when usual is 100ml so afraid my SS until now not established. Also, worried that 100ml won't be enough for my BB when she has growth spurt. I look at the avent bottles I have, I can't even hit the medium 260ml bottle leh, don't know how to support my BB's growth with my pathetic BM supply next time. :p

Babe, my BB also like that. Think got 2 theories, 1) forceful letdown and he doesn't like the spray of milk so got to squeeze the areola to stem the flow for BB to drink. I tried that, works for my BB but another reason why I have aching fingers lor.
Theory no. 2) I asked PD and she said some BB full already but just want to suckle for comfort but don't want the milk so get angry when milk flow out. Conclusion, not happy with leaking human 'nee tu'.

Steph &amp; mylife, BBs so cute, they've grown so much liao.