(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

AhCapp,
Don't use powder for the rashes on bb's neck. PD say it will clog the pores resulting in more rashes. Use Johnson & Johnson Diaper Rash Cream...works like a miracle and everything will heal nicely in a few days.

Sweetie,
I'm also looking for the J&J diaper cream. Can't seem to find it anywhere. The one and only tube I have was given by TMC. It's so effective but really cannot find hor? Anyone know where can buy??

<font color="aa00aa">michelle,</font>
my mum and I are going bonkers too. 15mins is hardly even called a nap to me! I spend more time coaxing her to sleep... I doubt my gal is getting the required 15hrs of sleep per day. At night, she wakes up 2-3times too. :s Want to swaddle her but she refuses. Put her on tummy to sleep, sometimes work, sometimes don't. Now, she must suck pacifier. Pacifier drops, she cries. We put it in for her after hearing her cry for sometime, she sleeps and then when it drops, the cycle continues. No proper sleep for her (and me)
Wonder if it was a wrong choice to give her pacifier!!!

long time never post here already... how's everyone?

danelle havin rashes all over her face, body n hands. went to see pd but he say just leave it. any idea how to get rid of it? so heart pain to see her with all the rashes.

mcfluffy
my boy dun like pacifier. anything artificial that touches his mouth, he decides not to suck. eg silicone, latex. But if i put my finger in, he will suck suck.

jacelyn
u din bf right?

sassy,
My gal also like tat, but only on face and elbow. I bought the SebaMed facial cream to apply and bath with SebaMed Bath also...now much better liao. Have to always clean the rashes area. I use only boiled warm water. My gal's skin cannot use baby wipes. I also stop eating egg and spicy food, afraid she allergize to it bcos still TBF.
You hv to try everything and slowly find out the cause, c what can and what cannot.

Hi, i m MTB in june.
JTS:NTUC Income giving Free EXCLUSIVE gift to new born

Congratulations on your new arrival. To celebrate this joyous occasion, NTUC Income is presenting you with an EXCLUSIVE gift.

To receive the gift of love, register with us now.

Rules &amp; Regulations:

Promotion is open to all with new borns 12 months &amp; below.
Each participant is allowed to submit only 1 entry.
Gift is not transferable or exchangable for cash.
You will be receiving a call from us for gift redemption
Promotion is only applicable for Singapore Residents.
http://www.income.com.sg/newborn/

those who can apply, share with me what the gift ? Thanks

hi, i am back....started working half day since last wed and been so busy clearing emails. Today onwards will work full day liao. Been reading the msgs here but rarely post cos no time.

My boy also refused bottle...no can accept slightly better...but drink much lesser cos can see that he slim down liao....a bit hard pain. Last wed when i started working, one whole morning he only drank 90ml leh....hard pain ah..quickly went home and latch him on...he gave me a pathetic look when i reach home. But what can i do, i need to work ma. Now he drink much more but still not drinking sufficient according to his weight. Lucky he put on a lot of weight during the 3 months...else think he will become bery skinny.

At first, we gave him NUK teats but he keep crying when we put it in...then we tried pigeon. He took the wide base teat. I thought dun waste the nuk bottles so bought one normal size pigeon teat but he reject. Ask the pigeon ppl at taka fair then they explain got difference cos wide base one more like mummy's nipple...cos when their chin can touch the base (the wider part)...hence it is like breastfeeding. make sense too.

Btw, pigeon M and Y size difference is that M size the hole is bigger and the milk can flow out even if baby dun suck. For Y teat the cut is really a Y shape...so milk will only flow when you suck...that's why is leak proof.

As for no pooing, if you see reduce intake or baby's behaviour become different, you should bring them see doctor liao....cos their tummy maybe very filled up and hence no appetite and uncomfortable.

Milk supply, i only pump twice a day at work....aiming at 400ml during work. At least another 100 ml in the middle of night cos i feel that my baby should at least drink at least 500ml during day time. Calculation for one whole day milk drinking is 150ml X baby's weight in KG.

For my number 1, as i pump for long period, my milk supply will become less, so once i go home, i will let him latch so as to tell my body that i need the milk. It will make a difference bet latch on and pump.

hi mummies who started working, can I check do u gals managed to get to work in time? I am late for work almost everyday! That is even though I wake up at 6plus to pump milk, feed my gal, prepare her for infant care, then I need to send her to infant care before going to work. Feeling so stressed as I have so much work to clear in school but so little time as I need to leave on time to pick her up from infant care. It doesnt help that my hubby is always working late, thus the moment i reached home, i need to settle her and clear some housework. by the time i finish everything, its almost 12mn. Feeling so tired everyday.

I just came back from BKK. got some good buys for bb clothings and toys. =) also my own clothings. I went to the Siam underwater world. not very fantastic lah..and it was more expensive.

shannonbaby,
here is my daily schedule... also very tiring
1am - express milk
4am - feed her
5am - wake up, shower &amp; prepare myself
5.30am - express milk
6.00am - packing (pump, fridge-to-go,...)
6.10am - take breakfast (nutrition beverage)
6.20am - wake my gal up, feed &amp; burp her
6.40am - change diaper
6.50am - leave house
7.00am - reach infant care, drop her
7.10am - leave infant care &amp; hubby drop me at bus stop.
8.00am - reach office ("zhun zhun")
11.30am - express milk
4.30pm - express milk
5.30pm - go off
6.30-7pm - pick her up
7pm - reach home
7.10pm - bath her
7.20pm - normally she'll ZZzzz a while. I take this short period of time express milk. If she still ZZZzz, then I'll take bath. Then, normally she'll wake up for milk liao. Feed her then play a while with her then she sure want to sleep liao. Normally sleep at 9pm.
10pm - I sleep also

<font color="0000ff">mcfluffy</font>
u hv described exactly wat i am goin thro everyday! sometimes in a whole hr i will be tryin`g to make her sleep then put down she cry, carry another 10 min then put down sleep 1 min then cry again , this happen until 1 hr later n its time for feed again n then cos she so sleepy, end up she fall asleep at hr breast! aaaaaarrggghh!

shannonbaby ... for me i should say i am lucky lah cos morning my MIL will come pick up my gal .... i still reached ofc where i use to be ... but when at home I find so little time for myself cant even have a proper meal cos my baby will be cranky and have to coax her cant even sit down and rest so many things to do. By the time can rest is 12 plus 1 liao same as u

I bought a packet of Kodomo diapers by Nepia back from BKK. my hubby wants to laugh at me when we pack the diapers in the luggage bag. it occupies almost all the space in the small cabin size luggage bag.

<font color="aa00aa">shannonbaby,</font>
are you a teacher? I don't know how I'm ever going to survive when I go back to work. Usually wake up at 6am to prepare for work. Now, even though my mum can take care of baby for me, I still need to pump before I leave for work. Meaning must wake up so much earlier! :s

<font color="aa00aa">michelle</font>
Is your baby very active? Did you eat a lot of NeuroGain during pregnancy? I wonder if it's because of NeuroGain that makes my gal so active and so alert that she is unable to fall asleep properly. Overactive? Coz my SIL also consumed a lot of NeuroGain and her child like mine. Super active. Don't take much naps. Naps are short. At night, always wake up. Sometimes, I really dread taking care of her.

<font color="aa00aa">ernmum</font>
If according to your formula for the amount of milk baby should drink, I think my gal is drinking below requirements! She's supposed to drink around 800ml but she drinks only 600+++ml leh. But she drank 700+ a few days ago, now resume to 600+++.

Today even worse. She drank 30ml and can last 1+hr. From noon till now still like that. Cry a lot too. Managed to burp her but she still don't want to continue. Don't know what is wrong. :s

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg</font>
No take pacifier then how you pacify him?

mcfluffy,
yup, i am a teacher. But I teach in preschool. luckily, I only need to reach school by 10am and i can bring home my adminstrative work to do thus, usually will leave school by 545pm so that i can fetch my gal by 7pm.

My gal also drinking below requirements! She only has 6 feeds of 120ml a day.

mcfluffy,
my gal also drink ard 600+ml....6 feeds per day, 110ml per feed. Her weight at 3mths is 6.2kg...a big heavy, average is 5.8kg. So dun worry la.

Some of your bb already sleep through the night right? For those of you not following any GF method, etc, did your bb sleep through on their own or did you wean them off the night feed? My bb's last feed is usually around 9plus or 10 and he can sleep until 3 plus 4am and wake up for feed. It's becoming a "routine" liao so I'm wondering if I should increase the amount of his feed during the day in order to wean him off his night feed??? Any advise?

Yen,
Seems like my bb is drinking too much! He's taking 140ml for 8 feeds a day...he's 7.2kg at 11 weeks. I think a bit overweight...haha.

yen,

here is my daily schedule... also very tiring
4am - express milk
7am - wake up n feed my gal milk, burp her
730am - express milk, sterilise
8am - shower, and prepare to go work, prepare breakfast to bring along
9am - pack my gal milk for her day, n pack my pump
910am - leave house
930am - reach infant care, drop her
940am - leave infant care, either hubby drop me at bus stop or drive me to work (depend on his schedule)
10am - reach office (always late if take bus)
10 to 1230 - teaching non-stop!
1230pm - express milk
1pm - lunch
130pm to 3pm - prepare lesson plan
3pm - do my admin work
430pm - express milk
545pm - go off
645-7pm - pick her up (my parents will drive us)
7pm - go for dinner with my parents
8pm - reach home and feed her milk
830pm - my gal will sleep and I will wash my pump and sterilise all the bottles she used for the day
9pm - do some housework then shower
10pm - do the work i brought home for the day
1030pm - pump
11pm - feed my gal n burp her, change diaper (usually she will drink very slow as she is sleeping)
12mn - sleep or continue with my work if not finish

No more 2nd baby for me!
One is enough..hehe
I find that I dont even have time for myself..

i always give my bb last feed at 2am then go slp together. Usually she will wake up for milk ard 9 or 10am. I just put her in yao lan n she will slp on her own.

shannonbaby
I also thinking one is enough, no time for myself already. Moreover, I've not yet start work. Can't imagine if start work, sure cannot handle so many thing.

ahcapp
Yes, they say talc powder bad for BB lungs etc etc. Some mummies dun use at all, used lotion instead. I buy non-talc powder.. I think after 3 mths, it is quite okie to use normal powder already.

kitsune, babe, mon2nat &amp; GodSent
The diapers will be here tonight. Will contact all of you again on the collection.

Yen, Verene &amp; Kitsune
peifu peifu.. so fast think abt #2. I got consider before, might as well quick quick have #2 since mil ard to help. But then just with #1, 2 person consider just nice to cope, can't imagine if #2 comes out.

mcfluffy
I don't think it is NeuroGain issue. I had NeuroGain since 3 mths pregnant and still eating them since I am breastfeeding. My BB take nap quite well, he sleep 2-3 hrs nap on my bed and maybe 30mins-2hrs if on mattress at living room. He consider active when awake, always kick and kick.. lol

Yvonne
My bb also like urs, sleep ar 6 hrs then will wakeup for milk. I din train him, it just come naturally 1 day.. Sometimes, when he make noise, I would offer him pacifier and he will go sleep a bit longer.. else sometimes when i come back with the milk, he went back to sleep already.

mcfluffy
how much neurogain did u take? wat is considered alot? my gal is also very very alert and active. she's only 6 weeks old but she gets bored easily and always wants to look around and observe things. like when i bring her shopping, she refuses to sit in stroller, wants to be carried so that she can look around. and very very hard to put her to sleep. in the day time, she hardly naps at all, maybe 1-2 hrs max if im lucky. very tiring to keep up with her. i have no time to do anything else. when i had the detailed scan, doc already said her brain matter a lot and asked me is it i took alot of dha. sigh...now too active le.

icy

I am trying to get rid of the red bumps at my son's neck crease area. =( Don't know if I should use powder or lotion or what. Any idea?

shannonbaby

Wow, I look at your schedule I also want to faint. Peifu ah! But u sure u can continue such packed schedule in the long run? U r only sleeping about 4hrs each night! =( Poor u! Hmm.. perhaps can leave the housework for weekend.

yvonne

I have been trying to fill up my son's tummy to get him to sleep longer at night. Total 7 feeds each day, each feed between 130ml to 160ml. Last feed 11pm+. But he still wakes up every night at about 3am+ for milk.

I read that we should fill up the babies' tummies in the day time and also do 1 last feed b4 we hit our bed. But look at my son. He can drink 1 whole feed at 3am+ nearly every night. According to Tracy Hogg, I am to take out this feed and divide it among all the feeds in the day. But I look at my son, every feed he also drink till ful already. How am I suppose to increase his day time feed further? I really have no idea. =(

Btw, my son drinks so much still not very chubby leh. =( Your darling's weight makes me envy ;)

yen

Can I ask how do you reduce the no. of feeds to 6? I am still feeding my son on schedule. Every 3 hrs in the day and about 4hrs in the night. Wondering when is my turn to reduce the no. of feeds though.

trying for #2

Jia You to mummies trying for #2! ^_^

For me, I am still struggling with motherhood. Really no time for myself. My time has been devoted to my son solely. I don't even have time to take a bath in the afternoon even though I smell of sweat and sour milk! =S Think will concentrate on him in the meanwhile b4 I venture the trying route again.

Hi all working mums

Pls share with me how to bring sterilised pump and bottle to work??
How to bring milk from work back home and how to keep express milk during office hours?
How much milk is enough for 4 months old baby? right now, i feed my baby every 3 hours, direct latch...
Sigh, dun want to go back to work att all... sigh

AhCapp,

i sleep ard 6hrs (4hr wake up pump, then sleep another 1-2hrs). so far still can tong. But dunno whether can tong or not in the long run. At times, if I am really tired, I will send my gal to my mum place for overnite. And I will get more sleep during that day.

Did u swaddle yr baby at nite when he sleeps? My mum told me to swaddle my gal at nite when she sleeps n indeed, she sleeps longer. usually start swaddle her at 8pm feed, after feed she will doze off, then i will dream feed her ard 11pm, and it can last her till 6 or 7am in the morning. My gal drinks 6 feeds a day also. Only once awhile she will wake up for a nite feed ard 3 or 4am.

Hannah,

I used hot water to sterilise pump at work. I buy a few more bottles which is enough for 2 pumps at work.
U can buy fridge-to-go to transport yr milk. It can last abt 12 hrs outside.
I only express 2 times a day in office. once during lunch time, and once ard 430pm.

shannonbaby

Yes, i swaddle my son, but not his arms. Maybe I should try to swaddle his arms too tonight. Thanks for the tip =)

Currently, I am still at home. So like u, I will sleep total about 5 to 6 hrs (3 hrs, pump, 3hrs). I can feel part of my body dying already. At least I can still nap in the day. It must be really hard on u =( Take good care ah.

Btw, u just put your pump into hot water for sterilising? But we still need to use soap to clean up the pump right? Btw, are u using manual or elect pump?

Yvonne

btw, forgot to ask. Is it ok to use the diaper rash cream on the neck for the red bumps? I am currently using Desitin.

AhCapp,
My worry is that even if I increase the day feeds he will still wake up at night then how?? I think he's already drinking too much so he may end up drinking even more if day feeds are increased and he still insist on the night feed. Any mummies suceeded in this method?

Yvonne,

actually yr bb quite gd already can sleep 6 hrs straight...the thing now is to try and adjust such tat the last feed is ard 11 to 12 then he'll wake up abt 6 lor, like tat considered sleep thro the night liao..

for me wat i do is an extra feed at 12am before i sleep...usually she won't be able to finish a full feed cos she's still half asleep, but it's kind of just a top up and then she'll wake up at 6am for her next feed