(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hannah

my baby's chin also a bit rough after the rashes. But her cheeks used to have a bit rash then recover then a bit rough but now ok le. I think give it some time to fully recover ba.

Hannah, my bb face improves a lot after applying California Baby calendula cream... now i understand why it is so popular. U can try seeing if anyone selling at WTS thread, i bot from there. HTHs

<font color="0000ff">mcfluffy</font>
no leh i didnt take neurogain, but i took pdts with dhs in it. r u sure that's teh cause? i dont think so lah. maybe we are just so 'lucky' to get these babies who dont need much sleep?!

<font color="ff0000">yvonne</font>
my girl also like yours. habit to wake up at 3am+ to feed. even i give her dream feed at around 11pm, she still wake up at 3am. so i dun bother to dream feed anymore. last feed will be around 8pm.

<font color="aa00aa">babe</font>
wah your son neck very strong leh! can lift so high! my girl, about 12 wks now, still licking the mattress when i put her on tummy hiak hiak

Hi Dinoltan

Is California Baby Calendula cream safe for baby with sensitive skin? Is it available at local store?
How about Gaia Soothing Lotion?

Hi , i am new here . just want to share my experience . my baby's face used to have rashes and very rough , i applied SebaMed baby facial cream on his face every night after clean his face . it cures within 1 week .

Thanks Shermaine
Welcome on board. I am also new here, just joined for couple of days. ;o))

Is SebaMed facial is suitable for sensitive skin coz my girl has sensitive skin.
sigh

michelle &amp; mcfluffy,
yeah I believe it was not neurogain. But when I was preggy, I keep sleeping like 14hrs a day since there is nothing much to do when I was in tokyo. Perhaps that why my BB can take 3hrs+ nap. I think the environment matters, when we carry or they sleep on our bed, BB sleep much longer.. swaddled the hands even longer.

Hanah,
I tried California Baby Calendula cream for my bb nappy rashes.. cannot work.. in the end, my bb butt so bright red like burnt.

shannon/yen
wow! your schedules look really tiring. *hugz*

michelle
my gal also cant sleep long during the day. thankfully at night she will sleep a longer stretch. During daytime, we got to rely on yao lan to let her sleep. Or i have to nurse her to sleep. Equally bad. But i tell myself cannot care so much liao. Desperate mommy call for desperate measures. Watever routines also out the window liao. We will jus do wat we can and pray for the best. :p

verene/yen/kitsune
wahhhh, u all so FAST planning #2??? *faint* I'm also in my thirties liao, this year 34 le, so age also not on my side, ideally of cos good to have #2 so #1 wont be too lonely BUT im also worried if i chop-chop have #2 so soon, #1 is not going to get the attention and love from us if i preggie with #2 now. Imagine #1 hardly even reach 1yr old, and u're preggie, cant carry her, cant cuddle, dealing with morning sickness in the 1st trimester, etc, #1 will be quite pitiful. Hubby also agree so we think better to have 2-3 yrs gap, if by then im not so fertile anymore, then so be it lo.

godsent
we jiayou la...tell ourselves this is normal (milk ss drop to fit baby's needs) Think of the upside, no more engorgement.

wendy
i jus ordered from the Milk Factory website the Adiri bottle. Just have to pay delivery charge of HKD25 which i think is ok cos if i take cab to Mongkok also about there liao. Will let u know if it's good. If u like, i can buy for u next time and pass to your fren or whoever who is in HK and can pass to u.

mcfluffy/michelle
on the naps during daytime, i second AhCapp's suggestion. try swaddling baby. Yes, they may dislike it at first and may even fight and struggle with u. But it really works. Cos right now, their hands and feet are always flying around, if u dont swaddle them, they will hit themselves, even during sleeping time, so they wake themselves up by their own movements. Swaddling also give them a sense of security. Initially when i swaddle my gal, she also struggle and sometimes she even does a "david copperfield" ie freeing herself! But even put in yaolan, i swaddle, she will sleep longer.

I have also read somewhere before that babies who cant sleep long have very active brain and that chances are, they are highly intelligent babies. haha....so if and when all things fail, jus comfort yourself with the tots that your bb may be a gifted child

Sigh...Today i'm alone with bb again. My mom yday gave us all a scare, after swaddling bb, she suddenly said her left arm numb and cant even lift a plate. Her right side of the head was in pain. All symptoms of minor stroke. My hubby quickly rush her to hospital but HK hospital really damn jialat one. Looooong story, in the end my mom said she wans to go home to sleep. But i scared she will kena stroke in her sleep and...... so i called 999 and they came to check on her. At least she gets some medic attention this way. Now she's warded for further checkup. And me alone with bb and doggie. Doggie also got stomach ulcers lately and have been vomiting...it's like taking care of 1 kid and 1 baby. I hardly have time to eat.

I am new to this thread. For those of you who manage to feed baby only twice at night, can share with me how much does your baby drink in the day and at night, the feeding time and the age and sex of your baby?

My baby is only 10 weeks old, Trying to reduce night feed to 2 times i.e. 12 a.m and 6 a.m but her usual milk consumption per feed i.e. day and night is only 80 to 100 ml. I am worried that she may not be getting enough at night if there is only 2 feeds. Currently, she drinks at 12a.m, 3 a.m and 6 a.m.

Hope to get your valuable advice. Tks.

Hi Lynn,

My gal is 11 weeks old. she is during 120ml per feed, 6 times a day. i feed her ard 8am, 11am, 2pm, 5pm, 8pm (which she will sleep after milk), 11pm (i dream feed her). then she will wake up ard 7plus am for milk. the cycle will continue.

Have not logged on for 1 day and there are so many posts to catch up on!

Mom2nat/ Blackbatz
Elliot is so cute! My son’s head is still wobbly too- he’s 8 weeks now. How about yours? Like Blackbatz, I must hold the back of his head, if not sometimes will suddenly fling backwards.

Mom2nat,
Elliot has colic? How do you cope with his crying then? My boy has wind in his tummy too.. but PD din say it’s colic. However, sometimes he cries at night.. very sad and donno how to handle. When he cries, I feel like crying too!

Re: BCG scar
Mom2nat,
I encountered this too!! Same reaction as you had, I was so panicky and brought him to PD immediately. But they said this is normal.. so I feel more relieved liao. The PD even lectured me that I did not read the paper on BCG in the health booklet. Ignorant mummy.

Godsent,
I am like you too! I applied the nappy rash cream on it coz I thought it was nappy rash!

Re: Pigeon teats
Kitsune,
Yes, there is a difference. M size is smaller compared to Y in the sense that M teat is round hole while Y teat is a “cut line”. Y is suitable for babies who can control the milk flow when sucking.. so seems like your gal very smart, can control the sucking! My son uses Y too but sometimes, he hungry then v gan cheong spider and cant control the sucking, resulting in him “choking” while drinking. We then have to stop and pat pat him.

Diaper bag BP
Kitune,
Thanks for sending me the BP link. I like Paige! ;)
Nope, I have not bought mine. Actually I donno if I need to buy.. coz I was thinking just use the one that TMC gave. I always thought diaper bag is just like any tote bag so donno if it’s worth to spend the $$ on it. But then again, I have not ventured out with baby so far.. so may not know how useful is a “real” diaper bag is. You buying?

Giant sale
I saw from today’s TODAY papers that Giant having sale on diapers and milk powder. Anyone been to Giant so far? I need to top up my Similac supply again!

baby#2
Shannonbaby,
Same here! One is enough… I also don’t have time for myself!

Icy,

U can try desitin creamy (blue colour one). Its good for nappy rash. I have been using it constantly for my gal. So far she doesnt have any nappy rash before. Changing diaper more frequently also help. Best to change every 3 hrs during day time. At nite, apply a thick layer of desitin creamy before using diaper. I heard from some experienced mummies that the quality of the diaper also play a part. My friend insist on using huggies dry comfort cos she says the rest of the diaper causes her son to have nappy rash.

Hannah I dun have the card with me now ... i post here when i get home tonight is it ok? hmmmm to me the charges is quite ok bah .... $50 consultation fee ..... if i dun remember wrongly

oh yen where to get that ?

wowow, i thought baby 3 months old only drinks about 80 ml each feed.
I have been reading and realise that they drink more than i thought. hahhaha
Been pumping milk only 80ml per bottle. wonder if my bb is till hungry after each feed. hahahahah

Lynn

My son is 9 weeks old, drinks about 130 to 160ml per feed. His feeding time is 7am+, 10am+, 1pm+, 5:30pm+, 7:30pm+ (sleep after drinking), 11pm (dream feed) and 3:30am.

I am still trying to get rid of the 3:30am feed. I am not so lucky like shannonbaby. My son seems to want his milk without fail every night at about 3:30am. =S

California Baby Calendula cream

is it good? I am getting my jar next week from Dramaqueen thru her BP. Saving it for rainy days and will try to use it to cure the red bumps on my son's neck.

Yen

Can i ask what are the flash cards for? I read a lot of people are getting it. Is it used to train the baby's eyesight or memory?

JanBB

I guess u must have watched the TV show on Channel 5 with regards to this shicida method. It sure looks very amazing. I first heard of it from my colleague. She sent her daughter there and the course is about $2k. She said her daugher is able to memories her spelling much easier than before.

But babies can go for the class ah?

itok

I was at Gaint 2 nights ago. The best bargain got to be Pampers Active. This is the more expensive pampers. 2 packs (in a box) is selling for only $30.XX (can't r'ber the XX cents already). Normal price is $43+. Worth getting. The sizes are M, L and XL.

itok

Dream feed is u feed your baby even though he is still sleeping. So like 11pm, b4 I hit my bed, I will carry my baby out of his cot, put the teat to his mouth, stroke his lips. He will open his mouth and drink the milk, but his eyes still closed.

I didn't believe it until I tried it. But recent nights, we kept on waking up the baby. ;(

But must be careful when u dream feed. Sometimes my son will gag and cough. So I don't dare to force him drink too much too.

ahcapp
OIC! wow... feed him while he is sleeping &amp; dreaming. I dont dare coz I am very sure I will wake the baby coz he is v light sleeper.
So when it is time for his milk.. even though he is sleeping, you will feed him? why do u wanna do that? why not u just sleep then when he wakes up, then you feed him?

nappy rash

mommies with babies that have nappy rash that just wont go away despite u putting layers and layers of nappy cream like desitin. I was told by PD that it may not be nappy rash but thrush infection. Another way to check is to see if your bb's tongue got patches of white. If u use a clean cloth and gently wipe away, and if u see sore patch, then ur bb might have thrush. But if wipe away nothing, the white patch may jus be milk balance
Best to check with your PD if the nappy rash persisted. And like Blackbatz recommended, use tepid water and cotton to wash bb's butts at each diaper change instead of wet wipes cos it's gentler on bb' skin. I've been doing that since confinement time, unless i bring bb out.

itok

Yes, if u were to look at my son's schedule, he roughly needs a feed at 11pm. So maybe that's why when I feed him, he will still drink even though he is asleep.

The problem is if I don't give him a dream feed b4 I hit my sack, he will definately wake up after I went to bed. So that means I will need to wake up twice at night (maybe midnight and 3:30am) to feed him. I really can't take it considering that I still need to pump and feed all alone at night. =(

So guess in a way those of us who are dream feeding our babies, we are actually 'topping' up their fuel tank so that they can 'tong' slightly longer at night. Something like that. =)

shannonbaby

My son drinks much lesser during his dream feed. But at a steady rate.

mylife

I also wash my son's butt whenever he poos. So my wet wipes still have alot. Btw, do u use soap when you wash your darling's butt after poo poo? I use bc I find the poo poo a bit 'waxy'. But worry if I will over-use soap on him though.

AhCapp,

Ya, u are rite! A bit surprise that baby age 3 mths onwards can enrol the class! Wow 2k, can I know how old is your friend baby? Think the course fees will be higher as baby is older ba. Now they are charging 3 mths infant $700+ &amp; allow one parent to accompany. But I'm not sure how is the session like, u got ask your friend? Is it good? Very curious!

Saw the dec thread, many of them are posting baby pix using this link to make their baby the cover page.. very fun.. try it out gals

http://www.magmypic.com/

Let me start the ball rolling, here's jayden pix:

1323796.jpg

hi Lynn,
my baby is now 11 weeks , drink 120ml every 3 hours during day , 2 times during the night and drink about 150ml each meal . the timing is 9am , 12am , 3pm , 6pm , 9pm , 3am , 6am .

hi, i am currently using J&amp;J top to toe wash to bathe my baby but i find it so so only .
can any mummy recommend me something that is better ? thanks

AhCapp,
I bought those Alphabet and Number flash cards.
Flash card can help increase concentration skills, stimulate the creation of synapses (brain cell connections), increase an infant's attention span, calm a baby (when she is bored),
enhance curiosity...

You also can DIY flash cards in black and white. Research showed baby's eyes hv not matured enough to perceive the values of the different colors. So black and white are the easiest to perceive.

yen
by now 2m+ babies start to recognise colours liao. My boy enjoys looking at colourful pictures.

michelle
8pm to 3am.. to me dat's considered sleeping thru liao. 7hrs ley.

shermaine
go shopping ctr walk walk and see what age appropriate toys available. I think rattles are nice. can buy fr neighbourhood shops.

re: J&amp;J Top to Toe
>> I only re-started using that for my older boy when his skin was tougher, at 1yr plus. When he was a baby, and also now for my #2, i'm using Avent Body &amp; Hair Wash

shermaine
flash cards can be found in Popular. WHy not u try Kiddy Palace, it's a one-stop-shop for all babies' needs.