(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Good morning all .... my gal ah .... yesterday play with me n hubby leh dun wanna sleep *faint* .... maybe she thought 2 days she never go grandma there liao suppose today oso .... me n hubby like panda liao sigh

Mom2nat,

kiddy palace do haf brands like combi, capella, lucky baby and some others dun knw wat brands... but the collection for all brands mentioned are not complete. and the price is not tat discounted. only 10% discount for regular priced items. I saw a discount brochure of 20% off for certain models of capella strollers (smaller ones I think). perhaps u can check it out.

Good morning mummies..how was everybody's weekend? Nowadays, brought my baby out to Taka. It was super siong! Preparation takes at least 1 hr. Feed / bathe No.1. Pack #2 diaper bag. Feed/bathe No.2. My new helper is of not much help (blur sotong). I'm always the last one to get ready. Wonder if other mummies have the same experience like me. I will not unpack my diaper bag anymore. Will just check and do stock take and go next time.

Re : Musical Mobile
I bought the Fisherprice Rainforest but my boy is hardly interested in the mobile. My mum keeps complaining that the "Mozart" music is too soft, not exciting enough to keep my baby occupied.

Playpen / Cot
Anyone using a playpen as cot? Thinking of buying another one for my hougang home. Any brands to recommend?

Wendyg,
Thanks. Maybe he was sleepy. Drank 1 oz and fell asleep. Will try again this afternoon. If not, will try Pigeon M size teats.

Mom2nat,
Baby Hyperstore do carry cheaper range ones, can go and check. Even Toys R Us have. Are you getting another one for spare use?

QQ,
Did switch on the lights? There were a couple of times when I feed my boy around 4 am with the dim lights on. After finishing, he kept smiling at me, like want to play. I told him "no playing, no playing" and switched off the lights.

hi Blackabtz,

I am using playpen...bought the Graco brand. consider a good brand but it is more expensive as compared to brands like lucky baby. Taka got sale for 2 different models. 1 smaller without canopy, and the other bigger with canopy and changing section.

itok

eyes super dry due to hormones after delivery. same same as your case bah. i diligently drank wolfberry. Take a handful of wolfberries, throw into hot water and drank the whole day, for a few days. seemed to have helped leh... hope ur eyes get better soon
very inconvenient to take care of baby with semi-blindness hor?

beanie

no give her panadol leh.. cos she was only slightly hot, not fever fever, PD say only 38deg then give the fever meds she gave us. Thank God, yest n today not feverish anymore

Re: musical mobile

I am deciding whether to get the fisher price peek-a-boo rainforest one or the tiny-love one. Isetan having promotion on tat. Tiny-love more colorful and the rotation different. fisher price rainforest got 1 more music - rainforest to choose from. also the leaves will open & close. scratch head ah...

thanks to all mommies who have offered their tots on my bb long sleeping hours...
sorry cannot name everyone cos time limited!

today REALLY REALLY on my own with Rylee liao cos my mom went back SG for the weekend for Ching Ming, weekend still got hubby, today really alone. Have succumbed to the yao lan, and it really works wonders for Rylee when putting her to sleep. I reckon we're already human yaolan by rocking her to sleep, rock until my back gonna break liao, she still eyes big-big and sometimes fussing. Thank god a mommy in HK lend me her yaolan, she went to sleep very fast...addicted or not, cannot care so much liao..the mommy who lent it to me, bb oredi 10mths old, she said when bb grow up a bit, sooner or later they will "grow out of the yaolan". I hope so lo. After she fell asleep, i took her out of the yaolan and place her back into her cot. Hope that helps to some sort still let her get use to sleeping in her cot bah.

itok
u mentioned during the day, if bb awake after feeding, u will play and will not use yaolan...then WHEN u use?

I've a bath set (Lucky Baby) to sell. You can bath the baby and all bathing stuff can be put into the containers below. Very neat. Selling at $40 exclude delivery. Please let me know if you are interested.

Verene,
Aiyah..The rainforest music nothing much..The forest sound is what you hear at night in the forest. No music..Just ask you hubby how it is like to stay in the forest during their in-camp training. Can go to the fisher price website and listen to the demo sound.

I have not listened to the tiny love one, so I wouldn't know. I bought mine at the ISetan Pte Sale last year but Tiny Love was still expensive even with the discount. That's why I bought my Rainforest. I didn't even know they have the Dreamer range which can shine upwards.

By the way, where did you buy your mattress?

Blackbatz
The one I use for #1 grew mould. Handles oso have mould, so no point washing liao. The things in this house ah, grow mould easily. Sigh... So need to buy new pram lor. But hb say dun get exp ones, in case grow mould. I heard baby hyperstore is v cramp. I haven't been there b4 though.
Both my #1 and #2 use playpen as cot. I bought a Graco one.

Verene
Tks. I tot of gg Taka again today, but mil last min can't come over. So maybe I can only go to Kiddy Palace at Century sq, but need to lug my whole village there leh, my maid, #1 and #2... like tat oso dunno can shop or not!

Mom2nat,
Like that very difficult to shop. I oso like you, go taka with whole villge. In the end, only buy things from Pigeon section. No time to look at gracco. Is it good to get one that can vibrate?

RE: Baby cot
Seems like all babies here can sleep in their own bed at night. My boy doesn't seems to like sleeping in his own cot. Tried placing him in after he fell asleep in my arms, but wakes up immediately when he touches the bad. Not sure if he's used to sleeping on adult bed, think i must practise more and put him in his bed more often.

RE: Musical Mobile
I'm also looking for one to place on my boy's cot so that he can spend more time in his bed, but seems like there is a lot of choices and which is better for him

RE: Domestic helper
Anyone here with maid can advise me on which maid to get? Filipino or Indo? I'm currently thinking of getting one to help out my MIL when I goes back to work, yet MIL totally disagree in getting one.. Sianz. So bo bian gotta get one and inform her later..

RE: PD at Blk 828
Kelly, I agree with you. I visited Dr Loke three time with regards to my boy's oral thrust and flu. But on all visits, she seems not really attentive in my boy and only straight forward qtns and ans and a few checks on my boy. Therefore, my next visit (if any) will be switching to Dr Ho.

Hi Audrey,
Can always wait till they ta bu la tahan before getting for them. My mum also refused to have a stranger in the house. Since she brought 3 of us up without help, she should be able to handle her 1 grandson easily. After 1 week, she became very haggard and couldn't cope with the housework, so she asked me to get one for her.

If Indo, you have to bear with their poor understanding of English for at least 3 to 6 mths. Suay, maybe longer.

audrey
Same lah, my #1 and #2 oso wake up when touch the bed. Have to try over and over again!!

Blackbatz
My Graco doesnt' vibrate lah. No need vibrate lah, exp leh. Oso, wat if buy like your bb dun like the vibration? Mine is simple playpen only. I think the vibrating one on discount.

Blackbatz
My MIL also refuse to have a stranger in the hse. But also gotta depend on the situation one mah. Currently, there is 2 babies in the household, my boy and my BIL's girl. Besides that, she's also babysitting another 6yr-old boy. With so many children in the hse, I doubt she can handle it. As I'm on maternity leave now, I am looking after my boy most of the time and my BIL's wife is looking after their girl most of the time, MIL just on off help in a few feeding and bathing the girl every morning. She also insist in doing all the hsechords herself.. Haiz, she's 60yr-old, so it's time to "xiang ching fu" already mah, i.e. playing with grandchildren and not doing so many things. 2 more weeks and I'll be back in the work force and BIL's wife back to school, she'll be at home with 2 babies and 1 6yr-old boy. How to tahan? So I gotta get a maid on the sly..

hi blackbatz,

I got my mattress at taka as well. the playpen i got vibration. it cost me $199 at the previous bb fair last year. think they got one selling at $179 but i think no vibration. my boy likes the vibration...he can fall asleep on his rocker quite fast when I on it. but for playpen, I dont usually on it cos only use at night and usually put him in playpen after patting him to sleep....so need not on liao. I bought the baby safe mattress. there are foam mattress to choose from too...think from cheeky bonbon.

Re: Musical mobile
I went online to listen to Tinylove ones. somehow, i feel theirs sounds nicer.

Mei,

I bought the bumbo seat form taka bb fair.

Mom2nat,
Thanks for reminding. I only ned it over the weekend..hee..

Verene,
Call Isetan to see if you can reserve it. At least can use your $40 voucher

mylife,
When my boy is awake after feeding, we will play with him until we see him rubbing his eyes and yawning (usually within 1 hr after he has drank his milk) then we will put him into the yaolan to sleep.

Windy,
ok i will try the wolfberries. yes, super difficult to take care of baby with semi-blindness. but i only have this problem when i wear contacts coz super dry. but wear specs seems ok. however, troublesome to wear specs when carrying baby.

Audrey,
I have the same thots regarding Dr Loke if you see my previous post. I find her not very interested to examine my boy :p so I switched to Dr Ho. You also staying in the east side?

Re: post natal checkup
anyone care to share what happens during the post natal checkup? I am going for mine tmr and in my gynae package, it states a pap smear test. I have not done one before... is it painful? (Sorry, very sua ku)

Milk Intake
Been missing for a bit as started working last week and am catching up with work and stuffs. Think will be joining China Panda Club real soon. Baby's drinking 180 ml now, he's in his 12th weeks, is it normal? Seems too much from what I've heard but if give him any lesser, he'll cry for milk. Sighz. He's 7 kg now.

Musical Mobile - I also bought the Fisherprice Musical Mobile, at night can on the light and cast images on the ceiling and it plays music also. Comes with remote control. Baby seems to like it. Daytime, it entertains him too. But not for long lah, better than nothing though.

how u all find time to log in often ah... I'm now trying to type fast fast cos my girl will wake up soon. she doesn't take long naps and when she wakes, must carry her for a while if not she'll cry.

Verene
I bot the cheaper miracle turn cos i found that the difference in price is too much for something so little.

Musical Mobile
My brother bought this mobile from Lamaze for ashley and it has been her favourite eversince! she will smile, laugh and coo when the mobile is turned on. There are 4 diff music and it shows stars and crescents with lights tunred on. Looks pretty at night. However, this mobile quite ex lor. think nearly $100.

Krystle
Infant care is not that bad. the only downside is baby falling sick more often. Compared to nanny or maid, i think it's better. the teachers will sing and read to babies. Moreover, they speak proper English. Nanny or maid can't do that, not even in laws or my mother. There is one Infant care in Bedok Reservoir. I know the Principal there. If u r interested, can PM me.

Formula
Ashley drinks Enfalac and has no prob with it. However, 1 hr after every feed, I'll let her drink 40ml of water. She'll poo poo in the morning daily.

BTw, any babies take gripe water? Mine takes 1 tsp with 40ml of water every morning. Am wondering if it's no good for her to take daily.

Itok
Pap smear not very painful but uncomfortable. but it'll be over in a short while dun wori

My girl sleeps from 10.30pm to 6.30am today! Tot she'll be super hungry but she only drank 70ml and den went back to sleep! For those mummies whose babies couldn't sleep thru the night, u can try this:
- Play with your baby more often in the day.
- Dur last feed, make sure she finishes all her milk.
- Switch off all lights at night.
- Turn on soft music
- Put baby in a swaddler.

I did the above and normally she'll sleep thru the night. She'll wake up between 4.30am to 7.30am depending on last feed. The funny thing is, it doesn't work in the day. So I guess my girl sort of knows when is day n night le.

QQ,
thanks for assuring me!

Mum to Ashley,
I also just grab sometime to log one when baby close his eyes hahaa.. but he is a time bomb, can explode anytime.

Re: combi miracle turn.
What do u mean you bought the cheaper miracle turn? You mean there are 2 kinds? I thought yours was cheaper coz it was from the shop at chinatown which sells it at a cheaper price?

Milk Intake
my girl coming to 9 weeks and been feeding her 110ml. reasonable? her stomach = alarm clock. time's up! ding! has to eat. cannot wait. haha. BB still not sleeping thruout night. Very tired.

itok
thanks...ok, dats wat i'm doing too today, wait till she yawn, then i put her into the yaolan and rock her to sleep.

violetice
your bb 12 weeks=3months=growth spurt, probably.

itok
Yap, I'm staying in Tampines, near to the clinic. You?

RE: Milk Intake
My boy is 9 weeks. Usually, he can finish 150ml on every feed, but after he's down with flu and cough, he can only take about 100 - 120 ml each time for the last 3 days. Sometimes even worse, only 80ml. Kinda worried, and he seems to lose some weight. Glad to see that he had recovered from flu and his cough is getting lesser. Keeping my finger cross that he'll fully recover in a few days time.

RE: BB sleeps thru'out the nite
My boy used to sleep 5hrs ++ after his last feed at night, waking up at ard 5.30am - 6.30am. But ever since he's sick, he's timing went a bit haywired. Usuallly, after the last feed, I'll turn off all lights in the room and coax him to sleep. For morning feed, I'll just turn on night light and after the feed and changing his diapers, the night light will be switched off immediately.

<font color="0077aa">Verene,

u bought the bumbo seat from the current Taka Baby Fair ? I went there on the 1st day but the sale assistant told me out of stock. Can i chk how much u bought it ? I am waiting for Isetan Little Tots Fair, the bumbo c/w tray selling at $59.90.</font>

mum to ashley

how u get ur baby to drink water? my boy hates to drink water. i resort to adding gripe water, spoon feed but to no avail. he will puke to water out. sigh... my MIL always complaining to my SIL and hubby said i stubborn refuse to feed water last time...

how?

mylife,

re using yaolan during daytime &amp; nite time sleep in playpen/cot on his own...normally after feeding, burping (10mins), we put Zander gently in playpen even though his eyes big big. He will make the usual eh eh eh noise, we ignore him but observe secretly from one corner so that it will not make it a habit to have someone (be it mummy/daddy/caregiver) to be around to fall asleep on his own next time. We dim the lights, on the air-con, swaddle (lower body only) him warm &amp; cosy..making sure diaper is not wet b4 putting him in the playpen to sleep. If all else fails, we give him pacifier &amp; after 30mins, he doze off to dream land loh.
It is gd that Rylee can sleep longer hours. One thing that i hope Zander able to sleep longer thru'out the nite but over the wkends, he is still waking up for feed at 3hourly interval...like alarm clock even though we try increase more milk (125ml) at his 10.30pm feed. How ah?? Mummy not enuff sleep...

Hello All!

I am selling my Friso Gold which bb took just once or twice only. HE doesnt like it hence I need switch back to Similac. Any one has exchange for this or I be letting it go at $24. Discount given for very interested buyers

Fern

re: Avent pacifier 0-3mths newborn

Do we need to change pacifier when baby grow older? Recently i bought avent pacifier for 3-6mth for standby. I also found other avent pacifiers range from 6 to 18mths...i wonder what is the difference, like teats size ah? bigger pacifier for bigger baby?

Audrey
I am staying tampines st 71 but I go to my mum's place during the daytime. She stays tampines st 81, near the clinic too

Re: baby drinking water
beanie,
I have the same problem as you. My boy hates to drink water. I think one day only drink about 20ml the most. So far, I didn't add any gripe water/honey... I just try my luck. If he drinks, he drinks. If he refuses, He will cry and be very frustrated if we force him.

Re: Milk intake
Mei,
My son is into his 7th week and he takes 140ml. Last week, he takes it every 2.5 to 3 hours but this week, donno why, he seems to be not hungry and can tahan 4 hrs then want to drink. Sometimes 3 hrs he wants to drink but he end up drinking only 90-100ml. I donno if this is normal- anyone has such experience? I thought the more weeks they are, the more they should drink? Mine seemed to stop at 140ml..

itok,
my bb 11 weeks drink FM at 120ml only.You are bf or FM? sometime he want more within the feeding time.I online read it says depends on baby weight and age.Aiyo he can tahan long good ma.My boy usual every four hour feed once, got one time can tahan til 6 hrs.haha.

Between all mummies out there,
just want to know birth control pill can buy thought watson or guardian? If can which brand good? By the way pills got side effect or not?

candice,
I am not breastfeeding. on Total FM. I worry coz I thought milk intake should gradually increase week by week as baby grows older? Mine like come to a stop.

He was 5.2kg at 6 weeks