(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

blackbatz, krystle;
right now i stay at west permanently on weekdays, fri night i bring bb home - just to make sure my boy is used to this schedule. however, will stay at my own home when i go back to work. but after work must send ebm to my mil place lor. then can go home. all the travelling, sure super tired. still must clear housework during weekdays so that i can spend most of my time with my boy on weekends.

wendyg;
my boy doesnt like to sit in poo too. put him on changing table he stops crying liao.

re: rashes
my boy's face also have the red spots, even if they are not red, you can see that his skin is rough to the touch. i also have medication from PD. one application can clear it up so i use it sparingly. instead, i will use calendula cream daily.

ears:
my boy's ears - at the back, is having a watery discharge and it leaves crusts all around the ear. it has a bad smell. any mummies having this prob? i thought that i didnt clean this part enough, or i left shampoo residue there, resulting in this, but seems like its not the cause.

Itok, I used to bring RaeAnne to the Street 11 PD near the round market (beside Maybank) but she's closed for 2 weeks until 25 March. So I want to try the Blk 828 PD recommended by Kelly, you also go to her? Is she good? Consultation expensive or not?

Pet Pet
Pet Pet is ok, cheap lar, good for 50cents poo but if she poo a lot, it leaks from the back, today got a near miss liao, heng we already put her on changing mat. I also don't know why she always poo like that, probably came out with her fart lor. :p

Milk rashes
My gal also has that, you can ask the PD for cream, my PD gave her Efficort antibiotic cream, works but she also always rub her cheeks against my breast when she can't find the nipple, scared she end up ingesting the cream. So most of the time, I just use wet cotton ball to wipe and in the evening after wiping her down, we apply the "re4 fei4" powder recommended by my CL. It comes in a golden round paper container, sold at medical halls, can't remember how much, a few dollars only.

Yup, I bought the Fisher Price Aquarium playpen that's convertible to a crawl through toy. $89.90, super ex but hopefully it will last longer.

Pixiepixel, your boy is having an ear infection like my gal. The yellowish liquid has a "jiam jiam" smell right?

kitsune;
what is jiam jiam? heehee
its smelly leh. like hmmm...like never wash private area like that for many days. sorry so graphic. not that i never washed my private area for many days tho. muahaha

i really cant find another way to describe the smell. ok lah, like rubbish dump. just smelly lah. chou chou lor

did you bring your gal to see doc? what did the doc says?

Itok, here are some pixs if you are interested. Can also convert into a crawl through tunnel but the pix is too big, I can't upload.

1300560.jpg
1300561.jpg

haha, "Jiam Jiam" is teochew or hokkien for salty, means it smells like salted fish smell. Ee, wish I can use another food to describe cos I like to eat fried salted fish leh... :p Dr prescribed antibiotics lor, take one week already, still haven't recover, tomorrow must bring her to see dr again. :p

kitsune
never sleep ah??
hmmm yes a bit like salted fish...
sianz like that must bring my boy to PD liao lor

your antibiotics in liquid form or what?

Pixie. ya lor, waiting for final feed, she keep fussing tonight but now sleeping so don't know whether to pump now or wait to latch on. :p

WendyG, haha, ya should be 'giam'. You also never sleep yet?

kitsune;
i oso waiting for final feed and pump.

today 4plus my hubby feed my boy and they fell asleep together. i was asleep by then. he woke up at 6 plus and my boy was fussing for milk. i asked him did he just feed him my hubby said yes. i didnt know they were sleeping too.

so for the next hour my boy keep crying his lungs out. in the end i realised my hubby lost track of time and thought that 6plus was still 4plus.
my boy was hungry for an hour...very heart pain. cry for 1 full hour.
dont know laugh or cry at my hubby.

kitsune
dr loke's consultation charge is $30. i havent seen her for a long while so dunno if she increased her charges.

tat dr lee must b off 2 australia AGAIN. tat is 1 of e reason y i hate 2 c her. cos dunno when she'll fly off again.

kelly, guess what...my hb had met ur hb n boy n most prob u at a fren's wedding (Edwin n Shirley). The world is so small...

Kitsune, the FP aquarium is nice but I found it abit small. A fren pass us theirs when we had no. 1. Heehee anyway this kind play awhile can upgrade.

So far my boy seems to like his play mat n mobile. After full feed can usually lie there for 20min +/-. Hope he keeps up but there are times he's cranky n want carry.

Steph, so good urs can fall asleep on his own. Mine long time nv do that liao...boo hoo..now nap also 30min kind

mommies!!
My gal just slept from 10plus to 5plus this morning! I shud be happy but I'm worried instead cos yesterday she hardly hv any afternoon naps..longest was 10-15mins in the morning. Demanded to be carried all the time. Finally after her feed at 705pm, and sponge bath at 830pm, hv to rock her in my arms to sleep and she slept till now,waking up for feed. Counting back, its been 11hours since her last feed! Is this normal or even healthy? Is it advisable for bb to go for so long without food? I'm worried cos maybe she's jus too tired (didn't manage to nap in the day) and not becos she's not hungry...I shud hv given her one last feed when I was rocking her to sleep around 9plus but I was mindful not to make it a habit for her to fall asleep at my breast and use me as human pacifier. How???

Maureen
u mentioned that u nursed ur #1 & #2 to sleep? Means everytime u put them to sleep must suck ur breast for comfort?

Mommies using Yao lan/sarong
u all say only for daytime and night time no problem can sleep on cot. How does ur bb go to dreamland? Jus put into cot dim lights and they fall asleep on their own? Mine needs to be carried all the time! Either tat or suck my nipple, dunno which is the lesser evil. Can't bear to see her cry. Help!

mylife
i think u shd enjoy these rare days that your bb sleep for such long hrs. trust me, its probably a fluke, n tonite she will be back to her regular self again. there was once my girl slept at 8pm n woke up only at 5am for milk - that's 9 hrs. i initially worried too, but i told myself if they r hungry they sure will wake up on their own one rite? anyway since they r now healthy n putting on weight, i dont think missing 1 feed here n there will make a diff lah. so enjoy it!

i hv also given up trying to follow the EASY routine strictly. like u said, adapt it according to our own bb. so far i think i also notice my girl's pattern liao, but some days quite off lah. anyway at least i can understand her better these days, so i know whether she's hungry or sleepy. luckily she is a dirty bb - doesnt mind sleeping in her soiled diapers, so i know when she cries, its not because of dirty nappy hee hee

i'm also rocking her to sleep at nite. actually not rocking.. i hv to walk round n round my room! even go out restaurant to eat, when she wants to nap, i have to walk round n round the restaurant. pple think i siao

Kitsune,
The PD at tampines blk 828 is ok but waiting time is very long. There are 2 PDs. Initially I see Dr Loke (upstairs) but I find her rather nonchalent :p As in, dont look very interested when examining my boy so I changed to Dr Ho (downstairs)last week when I brought Gerrard to see her when I got the BCG scare. I find Dr Ho more attentive when examining. Consultation is $35.

Thanks for the info on the powder for milk rashes recommended by your CL. My neighbour recommended too but dont seem to have much effect. His cheeks are still red
Think I will follow most people's advice that most important is to keep it clean so I'll clean more often with water and cotton wool. Don't wanna go and see PD again to get cream coz the waiting is so long so i'll monitor and see how first.

pixiepixel
Dont laugh at your hubby for losing track of the time coz I am like that too! hhahaha.
I always lose track of time or count wrongly during night time coz I think I am super sleepy. End up my husband is the one who keeps track of the feeding time.

mylife
regarding the sarong during day and bed during night... my boy doesn't fall asleep by himself during the night without the sarong.

Only once in a blue blue moon then he can fall asleep by himself just by lying on the bed. Most of the time, we have to wait till his feed coz he will feel sleepy after a feed then we will carry him a little while then put him on bed to sleep.

But sometimes, after his feed, he will open eyes big big instead then end up, we have to carry him, rock him to try and let him sleep then we put him back on the bed. We do this during the night coz I am very tired and if he dont sleep, I can't sleep. But during the day, if he is awake after a feed, we dont put him to sarong to sleep. We will play with him instead if we are free.

michelle,
girls wanna be carried more than boys? I donno how trus is that,.. but my boy wants to be carried when he wants to sleep but can't get to sleep. Usually after he drinks his milk, he can play by himself for 1 hr before fussing to be carried.

mylife i agree with what u say whatever we dun wanna introduce to baby is all done .... for myself I dun like pacifier but bo bian .... as for sarong my baby dun really wanna sleep in it althought she sleep but she dun sleep long .... sometime let her sleep on bed she sleep longer ....

Pacifier

I use avent cos inside the sterilizer got 2 free one hahahaha .... and I have 2 ... so rotate to use it.....

kitsune well old folks dun really care about us they jus wanna use their method and they simply bo chup ... i dun mind if my baby is with my in law from Mon to Fri I just XIN KU one day which is SAT .... i dun care how u gonna rock her or "dance" with her ...... i dun care but am taking care in the nite and I have to work the next day if she is adapt to what they are doing ... I WILL DIE!

<font color="0077aa">darlings... I'M BACK!</font>

semi-blindness
problem seems to have resolved. donno issit the wolfberries or is it juz the hormones balancing itself. anyway, i'm no longer blind!

1st jab
went for 1st immunisation jab at PD yesterday. weighed kayla, and she's a whoopping 5.8kg! PD say she's gonna be a big tall girl. i hope the tall part is true though.. the jab cost me $150 ahhh!!! is so expensive wan ah!? jab liao now abit feverish, poor appetite. poor girl.

windy

u gave ur girl panadol? last week my boy also had fever for 24hrs. i gave him panadol and paste the cool patch thingy. that day, he only drank half of his daily intake.

Pacifier

I also have 2 avent pacifiers which i rotate to use. cos my boy also like to play with his pacifier. he will to push it out using his tongue and at times, we didn't manage to catch it so the pacifier drop on the floor and he will cry and cry so bo bian have to shove the other one into his mouth while washing the dirty one.

Michelle

i am sure about the part abt baby girl like to be carried more than baby boy. but i do see that babies girls are a lot more guai and patient compare to baby boys.

itok

my boy used to have a lot of milk rash and baby ache too. i used Zaricort cream given by my PD to apply after shower. This cream was given to me cos the last time my boy got really bad diaper rash. so we apply this cream on his buttocks before applying his diaper cream.

beanie u buy those pacifier attached clip .... can clip on baby's clothings ... my girl oso like tat ... hehe so we bought that and it solve our problem

Windy
What is this about semi-blindness? I am semi blind now coz my eyes seemed super dry after delivery. wearing contacts also v dry- is it due to some post natal hormones?? what did you do to "regain" your sight?

QQ

i have the elmo one but my mom compalin and complain said the clip will hurt him when we carry him close to our chest cos the strap a bit short and if i clip at the sleeve sometimes he want to turn his head the clip will fall off...

so how we learn his pattern, we shove the pacifer and use our finger to tahan it so if he push out we tap it back in...

i thto sun everyone go out with babies...

beanie .... or u b uy one longer strap one should have bah .... actually it wont hurt baby if it is designed for babies

Wendyg,
This Nuk teat, whole thing must shove into the mouth or half way ah, at the lump there??? I changed to no. 2, my boy still drink quite slowly.

mylife, normally at nite I don't give him bottle feed. I will let him latch on. So by the time he was hungry and latch on and sleep at the same time after that finish I will put him on the bed. This is what I did when bf my elder son. He was wean off at 19.5mth when I was pregnant. He can sleep himself on the bed at nite.

Beanie
baby gal mor guai and patient? I doubt so that applies to my girl..haha

Michelle
My baby girl always wants to be carried, no patience to play on her own and always have to carry her to sleep. Very fussy.

HI Mummies

I am from the Nov07 MTBs thread.
I have a Babyrock sling (new, not used, black in color) that I want to let go. Bought it at $102 in a BP, and will let it go at a lower price.
You can take a look at this website for more details on the sling if you are interested. http://www.babyrock.com.au/content/breeze.htm

Please PM me if you are interested. Thank you.

Michelle
not fluke leh..she has been doing tis for 1week! Last week she got last feed at ard 10-11pm so I not so worried..past few days her last feed at 7-8pm leh, but still sleep till 5am plus...worrisome!

Maureen
then daytime naps how they sleep?

Thanks for replying on the amt of milk your babies drink. Ashley at 10 wks is on FM and can drink only 105ml at 3hr interval. Her next visit to the PD is in april for the 5-in-1 so I shall see if she has grown. Otherwise, she seems happy.

BTW, do your babies stick out their tongue very often? Mine does, and she likes to blow bubbles too. Any concern?

Pacifier
I'm using this pacifier that I bought from Mothercare. It's shaped like a butterfly so won't touch baby's nose when she sucks. Initially I was using avent pacifier but it was pushing my girl's nose. Din want her to have a pig's nose so I changed. hee hee

mylife :
My girl sleeps thru the night too. If her last feed is at 10pm she will sleep till about 5am. There was once she slept till 7am and I was so happy! But it's only once. Nowadays, she'll wake up btw 4.30am to 6.30am depending on last feed. So I think you shouldn't worry. If they are hungry, they'll wake up for milk.

Krystle :
Have you thought of putting your baby in infant care after you go to work? I will be doing so. I stay with my MIL and she works only 2 days a wk. But still, she won't be helping me to take care lor. She'll only 'help' but she doesn't want to be the sole responsibility for my girl if I go back to work. I'll be taking no pay for another 3 mths den put my girl in infant care when she's 6mths old.

Spots on Face
Ashley also has spots like pimple on her face. I just clean her face with cotton wool and water. It'll go off after a few days.

Btw, I realised a lot of our babies r very similar! Ashley has sensitive nose too. Initially she sleeps in air con at night and I realised she made alot sounds, like phlegm and blocked nose. I brought her to PD and was given nasal drops. Didn't really work. Brought her to another PD and she is given sea water spray. Seems to help. Also, she has not been sleeping in air con room. Now, I will clear her nose by using the extractor. Got big big pisai sometimes. Very happy when I see them comin outha ha!

Combi Stroller
Btw, just to let you mummies know that there's this little shop in Upper Cross St that sells combi stroller cheaper than elsewhr. I got my miracle turn (orange) at $460. Free delivery somemore. If I'm not wrong, the shop's name is Chew Cheong or something like that. boss's name is Winnie. Very friendly

Mum to Ashley,

Same here. I am also very happy when I see the big nose mucus coming out hahaha.. coz I think baby will feel more relieved and for parents, a sense of satisfaction that finally managed to "dig" something out hahaa

Re: Spots on face
My son's one is not just pimple like spots. It is like rashes, a whole patch on his cheeks
used water and cotton wool already but it didn't go away and skin is v rough

Re: combi stroller
where is upper cross street? got exact address? I need to get a stroller too- have not bought any yet. What else does the shop sell?

Also, I wanna check with you gals. need to bring baby along when buying stroller so that can put him down and "test drive"?

mylife,
yeah, I think you dont need to worry too much. If your gal is hungry, she will wake up and cry for milk. You are very lucky man- sleep from 7-8pm till 5am? treasure it.

Hi Itok
If the rashes dun go way, den got to bring your son to PD lor. They'll prescribe cream for him.

I managed to dig out the name card for the stroller.

Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 #03-132 Upper Cross St

Look for Winnie : 65323855

Upper Cross St is at Chinatown. The shop is quite small and old. They sell baby stuff. The other time when I went there, they only have the catalogue for Combi. Prior to that, I went searching for stroller at Baby Hyperstore and major departmental stores. Like the Miracle Turn but found it too ex. In the end managed to find Winnie's contact in one of threads in SMH and thus bot from her cos it's the cheapest.

Did not bring Ashley to 'test drive' though. But so far, she's ok in the stroller. and I have no prob handling it too. It's very user friendly and not very heavy.

Hi Verene

My hubby bought the extractor from Kiddy Palace. I think it's Pigeon brand. It's a long tube that goes with a small plastic container. You put the tube near her nose and den suck out from the other end. The pi sai will go into the container.

if baby sleep longer than the usual 3 hrs, do u give slightly more milk or just stick to the normal amount?

Sling

anyone going Isetan to get the pupsik sling that is on offer? if anyone going can let me dong bang to buy? please let me know

Any one bb drinking Frisco Gold for bb. I have one opened one. Jus used twice only.. more than half tin left.. Wnaa sell it as my bb doesnt like it. Anyone has this to change to Similac a not. If not, I am letting it go $24. How ?

Please sms or call me at 98276473 in keen?

Fern

mylife, normally he sleeps only 1 - 1.5 hr only. He still needs to drink milk 2 hrly. He always need to yao then sleep, stop he will wake up again. Think my maid yao too much liao.

Mum to Ashley,

I have thought of infant care too. But I wonder if my girl is too young &amp; I'm also could not bear to put her there at a young age. Prefer to have an elderly to look after her. Also another worry is that I'm scared she will catch illness easily too. Lastly, I dun know where to look for infant care. I'm staying in Bedok Reservoir. Any idea is there an infant care centre around?

Re: Change of Milk

My MIL has been asking me to change milk powder since my girl has slight diarrhea. She kept saying is due to Similac (my current brand) which is not suitable for my girl. But my girl has been drinking since delivery &amp; I'm not sure if her diarrhea is really due to this. When I brought my girl to PD last Fri, the PD also did not request me to change.

Now in dilemna to change or not. Any opinions? If change, any other good brands to recommend?

Ear infection
Itok, thanks for the info. Brought BB to see GP this morning cos both PDs are closed. He advised to go to KK 24hr clinic cos her ear infection already 2 weeks liao. A&amp;E dr gave a stronger antibiotic and asked us to keep to her ENT appt this Wed.

My gal's cheeks also rough rough, even near the ears also the same. But it seems ok now after using wet cotton wool, applying cream/powder.

Babe, the FP playgym too small for your BB? No leh, my gal can't even reach the ball, or is it maybe she's too short. :p

QQ, I also haven't decided whether to put RaeAnne at my ILs place at night when I go back to work. Hubby is keen to leave her there cos he said we need to work and rest plus he works up very early in the morning for school. MIL actually told us not to bring BB back to our home cos not good for young babies to go out at night. But I bu she de leh to leave BB there day and night, each day only spend 2 hours with her after dinner. Become weekend parents, scared she don't even know who her daddy and mummy is anymore. But don't know whether can cope with night feeding if go back to work. :p

Mylife, your BB sleep through the night, so good, if my BB is like that, I'll definitely bring her home after knocking off from work. You are really lucky.

Hi Kitsune,
I have been a weekend mum all this while. I can empathise with you. I really dun have that much of a choice. I can understand what you mean by Bu She De. My son doesn't have any problem knowing who is daddy and mummy (no worries about that, kids are very smart). Like your husband, I have to wake up very early to go to school. I really need a good night sleep, but I go to my mum's place every night and leave only after he sleeps. By the time I get how, it's about ten plus laio. As for my husband, he works late most of the time.

You may consider bringing baby back once you are settled in your job, as well as juggling with motherhood etc

Help
My boy seems to take a long time to finish his milk le. Changed to Nuk #2 (standard bottle), still like that. How ah?? Must change some more. He doesn't take so much time to finish his milk with latching. If this goes on, my mum will nag again..

kitsune u try 1st loh see how ... if cant then ask IL to help since they offer ....

Krystle maybe u monitor for another few days see how is it bah .. i doubt is the powder leh ... my gal confirm dun like frisco she vomit all her milk out when i gave her that ... similac no ... she really know what is good stuffs ha ha ha choose expensive brand

Hi Krystle, my boy oso same prob, since birth after discharge on Similac. First 2 weeks ok, third week onwards diarrhea. Initially I oso dun believe when my CL said the milk powder may not be suitable. He pooed like 10 over times, some very watery. Eventually, I changed to Enfalac, now only like once a day, normal stools. Think much better. You can buy a small tin to try first. Hope it helps.

Krystle,

Re: Formula

I think individual babies respond differently to milk powder. when my boy was admitted back to mt E due to jaundice, I chose friso for him too. but the nurses feed back that he vomit every feed...=( so PD at that time switch him to isomil. after finishing 2 tins of isomil back home. we switch him to Similac. then switch to Nan cos bb seem to constipate on Similac. also due to the fact that Similac increase price by $2 per tin which is too high I feel. So far, on Nan, he poo 2-3 times a day. I am happy with him drinking Nan. =)

sometimes, got to trial and error like we did for diaper change. I bought small tin to try out first before I change totally. replacing the new brand slowly. (1 feed new brand, then 1 feed current brand) until the current FM finishes, if bb respond ok...then I switch totally.

Mum to Ashley,

thanks for the info. I bought the normal pump...doesnt seem to get anything off his nose. so I use cotton bud. I will go get the pigeon one u mention.

blackbatz
teat in mouth.. dun cover the dent which is supposed to let the bubbles escape.

For #2, there are 3 types: thin liquids, milk &amp; thicker liquids. Which did u let him try? Perhaps u can try within the #2 range. Or maybe he's sleepy when drinking... drink &amp; doze off? that's why take so long to finish?

re: gold digging
>> the most effective one i've used is the BULB. fantastic!

Blackbatz, QQ, my gal sleeps very late leh cos she's still feeding every 3 hourly. End up, last feed is close to midnight or even later if she's fussy at night like yesterday. If I wait for her to go to sleep then leave, it'll be past midnight by the time I get home even though ILs place only 5 mins away. Ya lor, I myself also weekend BB last time, cos my mum can't cope with me and younger brother. :p

Formula milk
When I was doing partial BF, she poo many times on Nan 1, switch to enfalac, never poo for 4-5 days. I scared of going to see PD for her poo poo problem liao, so that's why now doing TBF but hope my SS will be enough cos I don't wake up to pump. I rather sleep late then wake up in the middle of the night to pump. :p

Gold digging
WendyG, which bulb is good? Tried the pigeon nose clipper but difficult to use esp when the gold is deep inside.

Verene, I just bought one from Kiddy Palace recently, the cheap type only $36.90. Sonic control that is it will switch on on its own when BB cries but it's a joke lor. When she started to eh eh eh, it didn't activate. By the time, she started screaming, it was too late liao, got to carry to pacify her. :/ But she did look at it curiously for a short while when the toys went round and round.

verene I bought the tomy disney pooh one n it keeps my boy entertain for 15-20min on his own. But guess for mobiles it depends on bb. My gal used the same one last time but she wasn't even interested.

Kitsune, used it for my gal n found it small especically later when they can flip. Now having the tinylove one which is abt 50-60cm square n my boy enjoys it, can play music too. Haha my boy been talking to the animals somemore.

those mummies who went to the Isetan sale, any good buys? when is the sale ending? I got a $40 voucher to spare. not much but to see whether worth making the trip down to spend more. keke. thanks.

saw the jumperoo on sale...so tempted to buy and keep till Javier can use. haha. but hubby say wait for a friend's child to outgrown it then we see if w can get 2nd hand from her. I doubt so cos she may be planning a 2nd one.