(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

thks 4 e warm welcome. i'll c every1 on thu, 3pm. i got my hubby 2 babysit e boys liao. anyway, i stay very near ikea. i can walk over if i want but i wont lah. driving over wif my girl. now tiking if i shld try 2 sling her or juz plonk her in e stroller.

mom2nat
i always read tis thread cos i know i'll pop in jan, even though EDD is in feb. more up-to-date info fr e mummies here cos our bbs all e same age mah.

Sagittarius,

Re: Period

I'm also not BFing since my girl turned 1 mth old. I asked my gynae abt period & he said it will come 6 to 8 weeks after we stop BF. It has been 4 weeks since I last BF & my period has not come yet. Only slight brown discharge in the beggining which is quite common. But the brown discharge stopped & these few days, I got very thick mucus.. Think I'm ovulating... So I'm expecting period to come in next week maybe....

mcfluffy, i very lazy already, I only lactch her at night and in the morning, else I usually pump and bottle feed now. :p At least my mum can help me feed her.

re:period, I also dont know I still wearing, coz tot finish then come again.

re:sleep, yup my girl also like us to carry her and talk to her, guess that is also consider stimulation ba? Coz she also seldom play by herself, if she is awake and on her own, at most give her 5 minutes, she will start wailing for attention haha. I put her on her tummy that day to play with her, she started to try and lift up her head and got so pek chek when she got stuck. hahaha, i tot it look kindof hilarious, but my sis say i very evil.

anyway my girl's pattern change again today, been sleeping since morning, my mum now play baby mozart for her to listen, she seems to like it, will sleep for a long time, feed her while she is sleeping and then burp her, and she will still be sleeping.

re:positive infant class
ok, me going to check my girl's pampers and start to head for novena, see those who are attending there k
. will update about the class when I get back. Cross my fingers that my girl will behave long enough for us to attend the class, allow mama to shop around for a while and then head home take a short nap with mama.

Questions about those feeding EBM

I am currently still feeding my son EBM. But yes, I noticed sometimes he doesn't cry for milk so punctually. So do i wait for him to cry for milk or still feed him regularly every 3 hrs?

I am still feeding him every 3 hrs to 3.5hrs (if he doesn't cry for milk). But if he doesn't cry, I will still give him him by 3.5hr. At night just before I sleep, i will feed him. N yes, he will eat and sleep at the same time. So at the end of 24hrs, he will have total of 7 feed.

For past 2 nights, he will wake up for milk at about 4am to 5am, improved from before 2:30am to 3am. I hope he will continue this routine when I return to work next month.

icy

To tell u the truth, too much EBM also a headache. My freezer not very big. I have reserved 1 tray just for the EBM. I have used up 3/4 of the space already. I think very soon, I will need to give up my ice cream and frozen food. ;P

But no choice, I need to save for rainy days as I will be returning to work in a month's time. My work place is stressful, I worry if it will affect my supply. So I just pump pump pump lor.

mcfluffy

For past week, my son is happy just lying there in his cot looking t the animals of his musical mobile. He will take naps of about 1hr to 1.5hrs. If he is not sleeping, he will be cooing, kicking about in his cot. Hmm, he doesn't need us to carry him much except every evening after his bath, when he wants to sleep. But thank goodness after carrying him for about 10min, he will fall asleep and we will put him to his cot.

But sometimes, he will make those 'eh eh eh' noises and want company. So when we go to his room to talk and play with him, he will be happy.

mcfluffy
my gal also like dat!!! I'm also vexed. Apart from eating and sleeping, during her wakeful moments, she can only lie on the rocker or her bed at most for 1-2mins, then she will start eh eh eh and if ignored will get louder and louder!! And she will start crying. Must always play or carry her...if alone, so tiring, cannot do anything else. she cant play by herself also!

angelsky
Yup, the cupcakes are sweet. But I ate some of the icing too, cos without it, a bit dry for me, hee...

Icy
I ordered from a lady online, she lives in Tamp, so quite easy.

Kelly
AY, wanna drive to the other end of Pasir ris to pick me up? Hee.. just kidding. I'd prob take a cab there.

<font color="ff6000">Avent 125ml bottles</font>
Anyone wants to barter trade or buy this? Or I might try selling in the WTS thread. It is brand new still in packaging.

my son drink using avent teat will leak from mouth, any1 facing same problem?? even nuk silicone teat also leak leh... i dun wanna use latex teat lah

anyone use this wipes b4? Very cheap leh. $1.05
1290477.jpg

Vernon
You gotta stuff the Avent teats right up his mouth, meaning his mouth is open wide, not just sucking the tiny part on top.

<font color="0000ff">hammies03,</font>
Pacifier - sometimes i tink pacifier is not dat bad afterall, just don't make it a habit as in giving it to him every now n then. jus gif him when he wanna slp... my cousin's daughter is w/o pacifier (cos my cousin oso advocate NO PACIFIER rule), end up her daughter suck her thumb until now (3yrs old) and her little thumb has a swell at the knucle, looks v ugly esp for gal. and i tink thumb sucking is a bad habit which is hard to break cos my gf who is 31yrs old now STILL SUCKING her thumb!!! Can u imagine??? At least, pacifier is easier to break the habit. Dat's my tots, lah...

Re: TBF
When u say TBF, does it means dat u latch on 24/7 or mixture of latching n bottlefeed wif EBM?

how does it affect the returning of menses? My gal is 7wks old now n i'm latching her during the day n bottlefeed in the nite. Will it consider TBF? Will my menses return earlier? I heard dat if u bf, ur menses will not come at all? is it?

Re:bringing bb out
I've been bringing my gal out so often after my confinement dat i tink she's v used to the outside world. 1wk after my confinement, my granny passed away. So my gal been to the wake practically everyday for 7days and stay at the wake till wee hrs like 1am. Then, i brought her to shopping, etc etc. On Friday, she was out in town fm 11am til 10pm... hahaha, i tink i'm one crazy mummy who bring her gal out till so late... but of cos i'm not alone, i had my mom to help me.

pram vs sling
I personally prefer pram than sling. at least it feels more like a cot and she'll b slpg in it rather than let her feel the warm of the body for long hrs.. Then, she'll have the habit of wanting to be carried nx time. but 1 cons is that u gotta carry up n down the steps, escalator, etc... alone? cannot handle...

<font color="ff0000">audrey ang
Re: bb sick
YES, my gal is down wif slight flu n cough now. Bcos my mom had cough - pass it to her, i have flu - pass it to her... no choice, we r the only 2 caregivers... gonna bring her to the PD later... see her so chiam...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">IKEA outing
I tink i'll gif the Ikea outing a miss this time round, cos i dun want both me n my bb to pass the virus to all the mummies n bbs... although i wanna c the bbs so much and exchange some notes/ideas...</font> so sad

vernon's mum

The other day, another mummy faces the same problem with leak from baby's mouth when using Avent teats. I was asking her if she was feeding her baby while the baby is lying down. Because it might be the flow is too fast for the baby. Is the teat size correct?

I have been using avent teats since 2nd week. So far, the only leak is when I didn't screw the cap properly.

mom2nat
so qiao! my husband bought a pack of wet wipes fr potong pasir. i dun like it leh. e smell not very gd.

u bringing e whole village leh. my car very small. i dun mind. u still hv my HP no? juz buzz me. i can swing by 2 pick u. u not very far fr my plc lah.

Veron
I bought from a stall downstairs my house. the things in tat stall v cheap. Forgot the name.

Kelly
Your hb bought this same wipes? Cos this one put no smell one leh.
No lah, I take cab there easier. Anyway wont cost much oso. I bringing my whole kampong.

RE: carry bb
I have the same prob too... baby likes to be carried. The max he can play by himself is approx 1 hr then the rest of the day is either carry of feeding him . He will sleep very nicely when carried but will start to cry when put down. Stress.
Went my aunt's place and her friends saw me carrying him and one lady actually commented 'wah at home also must carry like that eh?' makes me feel quite lousy. :eek:(
My relatives say I spoil him by carrying him too much liao. SIGH.

ALL the babies so cute!!!!

krystle yes am staying at eunos the 6 blocks new flats ....

steph, my baby oso sleep in the sling when i put her in she can slp till i finish my shopping like hours ... but i dun wake her up for feeding .... she will wake up when she is hungry .....

Period

mine not here yet maybe wont be here soon cos my thyroid not very gd now so will affect my period oso

wanna go ikea outing but is on thurs i am back to work ... last week i almost went over to look for u all .... lucky never cos u all postpone it .... as i am outside .... so wanna pop by lucky i see wanna rain liao so better go home

Ahcapp,
Guess what.. I got another fridge to contain all the milk and what not. I dedicated the entire freezer to frozen EBM and now it’s full! Going to steal space from my mum’s freezer liao. I want to stock up a lot so that when I go to work baby can still have EBM. Most prob ss will drop when I return to work coz I wouldn’t have regular hours to pump.

My gal will look at the mobile for say 15minutes when she wants. Other than that, she make a lot of noise and kicks wildly to attract attention. if you ignore her, she'll c.r.y.

Mylife,
Ya, during her wakeful moments, only being carried will solve her fussing. Sometimes, really get on my mum’s and my nerves. Furthermore, she hardly sleeps lor. She’s such a light sleeper, take very long to sleep but sleep for like 15mins only. This afternoon I wanted to nap with her. She slept for 12mins and wailed so loudly and didn’t go back to zz. Arghhh.. think we have spoiled her.  or rather, my parents have spoilt her. Last time she cry, they jump up to carry her. Now they buay tahan liao.

my milk supply is gng down... any advice on how to increase? besides fenugreek??

oh can we colour and rebond our hair now?? even when we r breastfeeding?

mcfluffy
The tin says must throw after 3 weeks, I also find it too wasteful to throw. Had been keeping it for in case of emergency.

positive infant class
I had attend the trial today. It was quite fun, interactive and informative. The teacher was good and we exercise, sing songs with bb. Already signing up for 8 sessions with angelsky. :D

mom2nat
Did you order from Yummyumkins? I saw them on the last issue Spring Magazine, looks good.

nexyanne
For me, I will take extra dosage of fenugreek, drink papaya soup and pump more regularly.

icy
Nope, lydia's oven. There are a few of these cupcake makers ard, I oso dunno which one nice.
Where is the infant class? Any website?

Sagittarius,

Yes, the mucus is the white colour sticky thing. I read on a book saying that if it is thick &amp; like elastic, it means that we are ovulating... Coz now I'm trying to monitor my period cycle... Read the book "How to choose the sex of your baby". Recommended by my colleague who said that the method is very accurate.

Veron's Mummy,

Yes, milk will leak quite badly. I'm using Avent teats too... Dun know why too? But I can see my girl covers her mouth on the sucking area of the teat. Previously it does not leak that bad... But I just changed a new Avent teat.. need to monitor to see if situation will improve..

QQ,

I know where you are staying now. Coz my friend also stays there &amp; she has just delivered too. You are going back to work so fast? I still have 1 &amp; 1/2mth of maternity leave... Not looking forward to return to work. I brought my notebook home before delivery &amp; check office emails every now &amp; then.. Work load seems alot... Scary.... I prefer staying at home with baby... But too bad cannot rely on single income.

You are also the one seeing Dr. Tan Hang Yang from Gleneagles too? I can't remember... Sorry.

<font color="ff6000">Moms &amp; Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines
Thursday 13 March 08, 3pm</font>

<font color="ff0000">Pls reconfirm your attendance...?</font>
- angelsky ... Yup yup
- babyshannon
- blackbatz
- wendyg... ONZ!
- windy
- Mom2Nat (and her whole kampong)
- Kitsune ... (On, Tues cannot, prefer Thurs)
- Luvv
- Verene
- Yvonne
- Kelly

<font color="ff6000">Barter @ Ikea</font>
<font color="ff0000">Wanted</font>: Petpet S, Goo.N, Nepia S/M
<font color="ff0000">Available for swopping</font>:
Diapers: MP S &amp; M, Pampers BB dry S, Huggies Dry comfort M, Huggies Dry M, Petpet M, Hey Baby M, Sealer S
Nursing Pads: Gerber Medium &amp; Heavy flow, Tollyjoy, Pigeon
others: BN 125ml Avent bottles, wipes

QQ
aiyo if u want to pop by last minute, better to confirm via SMS.

mcfluffy/mylife,
My boy is also like that, cannot entertain himself. If not sleeping definitely wants to be carried. And his eyes will follow me wherever I go, so he will start wailing loudly if I put him down in the stroller and walk away! Mylife, I think becos our babies have reflux/colic problem so they cry more and have to be carried more often as compared to other babies...become hard habit to break since they are so used to the comfort of our arms...haha. No choice lah.

Re: Stroller vs Sling
How I wish my boy can just it in the stroller when we bring him out. If he's awake, he will cry inside the stroller and demand to be carried. Aiyo, so end up we have to carry him in our hand and also carry stroller. But if I sling him, he can sleep most of the time. Of course he can be cranky at times and refuses to be put into the sling. No choice lor, I just put the blame on his colic...hehe.

Re: Avent Teats
Personally I like Avent bottles but I hate the teats! I think my boy doesn't like it too so I change to Pigeon teats which he seems to love. I think the flow for Pigeon teats is much better.

Audrey, yes I am in the first room near the nursery rom.

Have to suck out the mucus from bb nose. You can try to suck. I did for my 2nd child before but after that use neubuliser.

wendyg

is the post-natal hormones ah.. i asked gynae, he say pregnancy can cause eyeballs to change in shape, perhaps need change contact lens. went to optician, she say no change in short-sightedness, so no need change contacts. she say wait baby 3-4month-old then my eyes will be ok liao.. she is the auntie auntie kinda optician.

nuk

i use the latex wan. yes, they turn white after awhile...

Krystle I am seeing Dr Heng Tung Lan from east shore ... she have a clinic at eastern specialist below princess bedok. Oh ur frd jus gave birth?? my frd staying at Blk 33 says that her place dunno below or above have ppl doing confinement smell nice of the food ... hehehe
I am gg back to work cos peak period after tat then i cont my maternity leave

wendy i cannOt go liao am gg back to work on wed

u shld go to optometrist la. that's an eye doctor. optician only good for fixing your specs.. they can't tell u more abt eye problems.

when to change latex teat? wait until turn completely white or when it starts to disintegrate?

I am also a Jan mum. I have been following this thread for quite a while. It's been very informative and comforting for me since I am a FTM.

icy &amp; Angelsky,
I am keen on the positive infant class. How was the trial today? How much is the class? The only problem is I am worried that my baby will be cranky during the class. What was the experience today?

Krystle,
that means we going to have period soon la.Aiyo yesterday just ML with hubby but with protection. Jialet scare i kena baby again. How to monitor the cycle.My one not regular de

Mom2nat,
ya me using the Looney Tunes wipes. Me brought at $1 only at $ Value shop. This wipes not so good la very small piece but got nice smell.

mom2nat &amp; Lynthk
It is over at Novena Square 2. Here's the website for the Positive Infant Class - http://www.babybreeze.biz/.

The free trial was said to be 20 mins, but lasted 30mins.. $220 for 8 sessions of 45mins. We had 5% disct for signing up after the trial. It was quite interesting with music and simple exercise to enhance BB coordination, digestive system, confident etc. So we mummy dance, walk and sing to BB. Move BB hands and legs too. today, all the BB are not cranky cos being carried abt and keep talking to them.

wendyg
I might be joining. Let me see on that day if my BB is awake ard that time. Ikea tampines is just a short distance from my hse.

windy
did u see lots of white spots? Better rest, see less TV, PC and books.. rest your eyes and see more greenary.. Eat lots of wolfberries, have those sweeten ones which you can just eat like that.

vernon's mum

Hmm... that's weird. Perhaps u want to try another new teat or new cap? I noticed that their teats might not be that consistent. I have problem with a avent teat. It flows slower than the other 2 I have.

mom2nat &amp; Lynthk

Like icy said
. I liked the class and I think my girl liked it too, becoz she was not cranky at all. But well, since we touched and carried them throughout which all babies like. But I find the session too short, time passed, maybe becoz it was really interesting and we really had the chance to talk and bond with our babies, away from home and forget about all the pumping and lack of sleep.

But I totally zapped out today, first time bringing her out on my own, with no help at all. Bringing a baby out alone, really need a lot of planning and alertness, such as safety and observation skills. I was like on high alert for parking space, where the lifts are, will I be able to go from where I parked the car to the lift and to the class without having to carry the stroller up and down any stairs. Which was thank god quite smooth.

I going to konk out soon, very guilty about leaving my mum to tend to my girl now, but her dear mama can barely keep her eyes open now.

Dry eyes, I also have them, no wonder my contacts not very clear these few days.

Teat, I use avent, my girl is about 6 weeks now, she uses #2, I threw all the #1 away, she will drip when she does not concentrate on drinking, if she is very hungry and suck very fast, then no drip, but half the time when she take her own sweet time, she drips. There was once she was so pek chek at drinking, my dad ask if the flow is too slow, so I took out all the #2 and threw all the #1 aways, then after that another time, she pek chek again and my dad ask if the flow is too fast. Duh, but bo bian, all the #1 gone.

icy/angelsky

thanks for the info. I am consider joining the class. The problem is i am going back to work in mid apr so means I have to take leave to bring my bb for the remaining classes. Quite waste leave leh.

Hi those c-sec mummies

May I know by how many weeks then you won't feel any pain from your wound?

I'm now 6 weeks after delivery, and these 2 days feel pain at my c-sec wound area, abit scared. Dunno whether I've over-exert myself from slinging my 5.55kg gal over last weekend.

<font color="ff6000">Moms &amp; Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines
Thursday 13 March 08, 3pm</font>

Pls reconfirm your attendance...?
- angelsky ... Yup yup
- babyshannon
- blackbatz
- wendyg (wants M for Goo.N &amp; Nepia, bringing Huggies Dry M)
- windy (semi-blind, praying for a miracle)
- Mom2Nat (and her whole kampong)
- Kitsune ... (On, Tues cannot, prefer Thurs)
- Luvv
- Verene (and her mum)
- Yvonne
- Kelly (wants Huggies, bringing Petpet S)
- Icy (depends on baby's timing)

<font color="ff6000">Barter @ Ikea</font>
Wanted: Petpet S, Goo.N, Nepia S/M
Available for swopping:
Diapers: MP S &amp; M, Pampers BB dry S, Huggies Dry comfort M, Huggies Dry M, Petpet M, Hey Baby M, Sealer S, Softlove M
Nursing Pads: Gerber Medium &amp; Heavy flow, Tollyjoy, Pigeon
others: BN 125ml Avent bottles, wipes

wendyg

wah must see professional all ahhhh... is cost many money wor... like icy said eat wolfberries, i did that for 2 solid days, drink nothing but wolfberries soaked in hot water. and it helped!! then yest i tot "Aiyah ok liao.. no need drink wolfberry water.." VIOLA! is back with a vengence. now before talking to pple, i must warn them that i'm not being rude ah.. i blink cos my eyes are dry. zzz

icy

ok! i will persevere and be diligent about the wolfberry... thanks!

NUK teats

i started with NUK, but when the teats started turning white, i chucked them aside and now use avent ones. i think no need wait until disintegrate then change bah, change them monthly? hygienic mah...

i sterilise all the time, very hygenic liao.. the more i sterilise, the whiter they turn. One day when my boy is more ok with bottle, i shall try Avent again. Keeping the Avent teats aside for the moment.

mommies, can I ask if and when babies sleep long stretch at nite, do we still chk their diapers? My bb sleepg now..she has been sleeping from 11plus till now (4am++). She is swaddled so I dunno if I shd chk her diapers...if I chk, sure wake her up one. If don't chk, I scared its soiled or wet liao! Book says to train bb sleeps thru the nite jus let them be..but I was thinkg soiled liao cannot dun chg rite? How???